123 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

happyhaka
post Apr 25 2019, 07:48 AM

242 posts

In terms of sound bar setup what's your experience with this. Does it decode dolby atmos as well?
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 25 2019, 09:13 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(happyhaka @ Apr 25 2019, 07:48 AM)
In terms of sound bar setup what's your experience with this. Does it decode dolby atmos as well?
Nope. There is no Dolby Atmos here. You can always buy an Android box with the functions that you want, then passthrought the Dolby Atmos from your box->Soundbar->TV
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 25 2019, 09:20 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Apr 24 2019, 04:48 PM)
Should i buy the newer version 4TC50AL1X since now the price difference is only rm200 compare to the LC50UA6800X? (saw the price difference in LAZADA).

4TC50AL1X is newer version launched last year, and has direct LED lighting for 50" size. Suppose the screen should be brighter? I'm assuming the other features not much differ apart for the HDMI and USB connectors they relocate some to the TV side for convenient sake.

Also I saw the Petronas voucher redemption dateline on 30-Apr, is it true ? Like that has to buy before end of this month!
Actually, not much difference in the brightness. You can check it out in showrooms. I would prefer the UA6800X for 2 reasons:
1. Cheaper by RM 200- RM300.
2. Slimmer. (Yes, thks to edge lightning, it is only thick at the bottom half of the TV. The AL1X model is thick from top to bottom because of direct lightning. You can compare the images at Sharp's Malaysia website.)

And yes, by 30th April. Buy now or forever hold your peace! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 25 2019, 09:44 AM
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2019, 09:40 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Apr 25 2019, 01:32 AM)
Hmm, I think I tried that, it only seemed to mirror the browser. Lemme try it again.
that wud happen if u set to tab.
set to desktop, keep chrome in the background.
any app u call up will be mirrored.

QUOTE(happyhaka @ Apr 25 2019, 07:48 AM)
this tv can do dolby digital only.
applies to whatever audio that goes thru it.
stasio
post Apr 25 2019, 09:41 AM

18,503 posts

Seems new software....30800_20181205 => 31000_20190326.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 25 2019, 09:45 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Apr 25 2019, 09:41 AM)
Aiks. Got update ah? Later check tonight.
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2019, 10:25 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 25 2019, 09:13 AM)
Nope. There is no Dolby Atmos here. You can always buy an Android box with the functions that you want, then passthrought the Dolby Atmos from your box->Soundbar->TV
decided on which box yet?

atmos capability is not commonly found in boxes.
.. most cheap priced ones will do 5.1 only.
.. the mid ones can do dd/dd+/dts 5.1.
.. only a handful higher priced ones can do dtshdma, ddtruehd, atmos, dtsx... smoothly.
.. the price of one at the top can be 10 times that of one of the bottom.

QUOTE(stasio @ Apr 25 2019, 09:41 AM)
yep, took just 15 mins in total.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 25 2019, 10:35 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 25 2019, 10:25 AM)
decided on which box yet?

atmos capability is not commonly found in boxes.
.. most cheap priced ones will do 5.1 only.
.. the mid ones can do dd/dd+/dts 5.1.
.. only a handful higher priced ones can do dtshdma, ddtruehd, atmos, dtsx... smoothly.
.. the price of one at the top can be 10 times that of one of the bottom.
yep, took just 15 mins in total.
Eh. I was not looking for Android box lah. haha.

AVFAN
post Apr 25 2019, 10:36 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 25 2019, 10:35 AM)
Eh. I was not looking for Android box lah. haha.
my bad.. tot u were... biggrin.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 25 2019, 10:49 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 25 2019, 10:36 AM)
my bad.. tot u were... biggrin.gif
I have more serious problem of Centre Speaker now. Still haven't decided if wanna buy soundbar or buy shelf from ikea and drill holes and stick Centre speaker to wall. Still thinking YAS-108...many good reviews, can cucuk my existing subwoofer and looks sexy!. But if i can't sell my current setup, i will be stuck with even more speakers in my living room....

If i get the YAS-108 soundbar, i will use the YAS-108 soundbar for movies from the TV (Netflix mainly), while maintaining the HT system for music and video games. But this is not ideal at all.....ultimately my target is 1 soundbar + 1 woofer. No more freaking speakers....(i also have 2 subwoofers and 1 guitar amp in the living room...not counting other small satellites for PC and other stuff..).
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2019, 11:46 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 25 2019, 10:49 AM)
I have more serious problem of Centre Speaker now. Still haven't decided if wanna buy soundbar or buy shelf from ikea and drill holes and stick Centre speaker to wall. Still thinking YAS-108...many good reviews, can cucuk my existing subwoofer and  looks sexy!. But if i can't sell my current setup, i will be stuck with even more speakers in my living room....

If i get the YAS-108 soundbar, i will use the YAS-108 soundbar for movies from the TV (Netflix mainly), while maintaining the HT system for music and video games. But this is not ideal at all.....ultimately my target is 1 soundbar + 1 woofer. No more freaking speakers....(i also have 2 subwoofers and 1 guitar amp in the living room...not counting other small satellites for PC and other stuff..).
i can feel yr headaches. biggrin.gif

it is impossible to optimize when u have many pieces of old and new equipment, house not time for renovation, etc...

if u go soundbar route, i wud say u gotta bite the bullet somehow, get rid of some old stuff - sell cheap, give away, junk...

i personally do not use soundbars, never liked them.

had always used full 5.1 set ups, makes it a lot more enjoyable whether watching movie with hd audio or just 2.0 music.

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 25 2019, 11:52 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 25 2019, 11:46 AM)
i can feel yr headaches. biggrin.gif

it is impossible to optimize when u have many pieces of old and new equipment, house not time for renovation, etc...

if u go soundbar route, i wud say u gotta bite the bullet somehow, get rid of some old stuff - sell cheap, give away, junk...

i personally do not use soundbars, never liked them.

had always used full 5.1 set ups, makes it a lot more enjoyable whether watching movie with hd audio or just 2.0 music.
I have actually throw away the surround speaker stand (huge wooden heavy stand...) and speakers not too long ago.

bye.gif
stasio
post Apr 26 2019, 12:35 AM

18,503 posts

Anybody notice any difference updating software......30800 => 31000....?
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 26 2019, 09:15 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Apr 26 2019, 12:35 AM)
Anybody notice any difference updating software......30800 => 31000....?
Updated last night.

Absolutely no difference me thinks.

Lol.
AVFAN
post Apr 26 2019, 09:50 AM

24,449 posts

the update is a minor one, likely just a new security patch, still android 8.0.0.

so, to users, nothing really changed.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 26 2019, 02:30 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 26 2019, 09:50 AM)
the update is a minor one, likely just a new security patch, still android 8.0.0.

so, to users, nothing really changed.
I was hoping got new features...like delaying the video so that i can sync with the audio...

Anyway, the auto restart i have been experiencing haven't occur recently. I think it might have to do with my KeepSolid VPN. I have not activate it for 5 days or so.

This weekend maybe turn it on again and monitor.
ruzaini88
post Apr 26 2019, 05:45 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 25 2019, 09:20 AM)
Actually, not much difference in the brightness. You can check it out in showrooms. I would prefer the UA6800X for 2 reasons:
1. Cheaper by RM 200- RM300.
2. Slimmer. (Yes, thks to edge lightning, it is only thick at the bottom half of the TV. The AL1X model is thick from top to bottom because of direct lightning. You can compare the images at Sharp's Malaysia website.)

And yes, by 30th April. Buy now or forever hold your peace!  laugh.gif
But direct lighting gives little bit more brightness compare edge lighting. Other than this all pros goes to edge lit.
Correct me if my understanding is wrong wink.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 26 2019, 05:51 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Apr 26 2019, 05:45 PM)
But direct lighting gives little bit more brightness compare edge lighting. Other than this all pros goes to edge lit.
Correct me if my understanding is wrong wink.gif
Like i said earliar. Compare it in the showroom of the two models. Set to max bright if you need to.

Theory is useless. Must see the actual performance.

I think Harvey Norman Ikano got UA6800AX. Maybe got the ALIX also, but i can't be sure.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 26 2019, 05:52 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 26 2019, 07:15 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 26 2019, 02:30 PM)
I was hoping got new features...like delaying the video so that i can sync with the audio...

Anyway, the auto restart i have been experiencing haven't occur recently. I think it might have to do with my KeepSolid VPN. I have not activate it for 5 days or so.

This weekend maybe turn it on again and monitor.
No new features unless upgraded to android 9.

No chance, i say.
voncrane
post Apr 27 2019, 10:51 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Properly done Back-lit trumps proper Edge-lit any day any time.. Makes for better PQ..Especially localized dimming. This is just plain fact and backed by multiple tests. Whether on a personal level, one enjoys it? That's butt feel and inconclusive.

123 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:46 AM