8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

Chaud
post Apr 10 2018, 02:29 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Apr 10 2018, 02:26 PM)
I'm aware of Suica and that it functions like TnG.
I didn't know that using Suica to pay for JR would give you a discount than buying a ticket.

Yes, I'm aware of the distance and where the cities are located. My question was about the cheapest way of going about the trip especially since I'm not interested in going to the other cities covered under the JR Central pass.
that's why i recommend you to get the pass. a one-way ride alone with shinkansen from one city to another can easily pay off if you have the pass

This post has been edited by Chaud: Apr 10 2018, 02:29 PM
Chaud
post Apr 13 2018, 04:22 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 13 2018, 10:36 AM)
Have an upcoming trip soon and it's places I've not been. Just want to get second opinion on whether there's anything I should include or exclude. Generally what I'm looking forward is a good balance of sight seeing (nature), some shopping (shopping street, snacks etc) and fun (something unique/ different to see or experience).

Yokohama
Note: I know Chinatown is not in the list and it's something iconic, but I'm not sure about it. Have been going 50-50 on the place coz I heard it's typical Chinatown. If there's anything interesting inside, perhaps you can share. I Google-d but mostly only talk about food.

Kamakura
Note: It's only a day trip so I don't think I want to squeeze Enoshima in. Unless it's a 2 day trip then it's more reasonable to do Enoshima IMO. Not sure if there's any bike rental in Kamakura with bike trail, or is it only for hiking/ walk?

Any (other) places you will recommend to include in? The Zeniarai Benzaiten Shrine looks interesting, that's why thought it'll be interesting to make a trip there.

Maybe you can add Ramen museum also for your Yokohama trip if you have time. Its different from instant noodle cup museum.
Chaud
post Apr 26 2018, 11:23 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 14 2018, 01:12 AM)
Due to shortage of time, we were contemplating between the ramen and cup noodle museum, but at the end of it finds the cup noodle one more interesting. Unless someone who had been to both can share their view on which is better and why hmmmm
on second thought, go for cup museum. I just went to the ramen museum few days ago. unless you wanna find out the history of ramen. go for cup museum for better activity.

The ramen in the museum is not cheap either
Chaud
post Apr 28 2018, 04:41 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 27 2018, 10:06 AM)
Owhhh dang, no luck then.

The flight from SG -> Tokyo (Haneda) is via SQ636 while return is SQ637.
Good info. Yes Shinjuku Gyoen is good - whether it's Sakura or autumn foliage. When my friend went last April, the sakura in Ueno park is a little irregular so he said it's like "patches" of flower here and there but not all fully bloomed.

For Kawaguchiko did you take up tour or went on your own via bus?
Ah... I would love to bring home more but unfortunately cup noodles are bulky, so at the most I'll get 2 back, with 1 of it for a foodie friend laugh.gif can only buy stuffs like this for people who appreciates it.

The marine tower? It's an Observation Deck right? I think it's fine. Have 1 scheduled in Tokyo, will give it a shot at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building  hmm.gif
Good info. Yes Shinjuku Gyoen is good - whether it's Sakura or autumn foliage. When my friend went last April, the sakura in Ueno park is a little irregular so he said it's like "patches" of flower here and there but not all fully bloomed.

For Kawaguchiko did you take up tour or went on your own via bus?
Ah... I would love to bring home more but unfortunately cup noodles are bulky, so at the most I'll get 2 back, with 1 of it for a foodie friend laugh.gif can only buy stuffs like this for people who appreciates it.

The marine tower? It's an Observation Deck right? I think it's fine. Have 1 scheduled in Tokyo, will give it a shot at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building  hmm.gif
i didn't really do much in yokohama because I went there the last day, which means also the time when I got exhausted and want to slow down my pace. The only places I went is the Ramen Museum, Cosmo World, and some shopping in BIC there.

But if you're lucky and going on a clear day, you can take the ferris wheel in cosmo world and see mount fuji from far. It was cloudy when I was there, so no luck bangwall.gif
Chaud
post Apr 28 2018, 05:06 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 28 2018, 04:57 PM)
Oh yes im interested in the ferris wheel. So its worth riding? Was there a long queue?

Seems like i need to put this in my itinerary happy.gif
worth. Can see yokohama (and also mount fuji if its not cloudy). No queue. Just pay for the ticket, then straight go queue and its my turn already laugh.gif

i think its 800yen for a ride

This post has been edited by Chaud: Apr 28 2018, 05:10 PM
Chaud
post May 1 2018, 09:57 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Apr 30 2018, 02:33 PM)
Guys i going under group tour to Hokkaido in mid Oct for five days

That time very cold ar ? Need prepare anything serious like go artic ?
you can ask your tour agent also. they do the planning they should know
Chaud
post May 2 2018, 10:57 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(billygoh @ May 2 2018, 10:50 AM)
I'll be using ANA for the first time. Is it necessary to do online check in before departure?
no need

as long you provide the required information, they will automatically check in for you
Chaud
post May 2 2018, 11:00 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(billygoh @ May 2 2018, 10:58 AM)
Ah i see. So I just need to bring printed boarding pass and go to counter to drop baggage?
no need.

just bring yourself, your passport and your baggage and straight go to counter to drop baggage. they will print the boarding pass for you somehow
Chaud
post May 2 2018, 05:38 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 2 2018, 05:37 PM)
These 2:
http://www.uniqlo.com/jp/store/goods/411289003
http://www.uniqlo.com/jp/store/goods/410900001

Luffy in gear mode and an undecided choppaaaaa wub.gif

Hnghhh just noticed the online requires RM20 shipping fee one time off. Am wondering if Uniqlo stores locally carries the collection in their retail. But even so, I can only drop by MV next Monday.
you can use click and collect. no need to pay shipping just go there collect
Chaud
post May 2 2018, 06:01 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 2 2018, 05:53 PM)
Thanks, that's 1 thing solved. At least can get my Gon shirt there.
Any idea how long do they keep for you?
Wait, really?  I think men's size is a bit bigger right? Coz I thought of ordering XS since it's unisex. Guess I should change to S size ohmy.gif
I thought the sizes are consistent, didn't notice this part.
they will set date and tell you collect by when

but if after the given date you didn't collect then I dunno la laugh.gif
Chaud
post May 7 2018, 10:10 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ May 7 2018, 10:02 AM)
No worry mate, I travel to these 2 places in cherry blossom season. The crowd in train at kyoto and osaka not as crazy as you see in those social media. Basically not fully crowded. is like 30-50% full and They have priority seats for traveler with infant and senior citizen.

just don't travel in train during the peak hours. otherwise confirm pack like sardine
Chaud
post May 7 2018, 02:47 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 7 2018, 02:44 PM)
Yes they have. I remember seeing them before and totally agree with it. Most of the tourists carry a bag pack around and often hit others with it. I have also gotten hit before when this guy turn around to exit  sweat.gif

They're a very stressed nation, be it students or working adults. You'll only probably see a smile if it's a group of happy girls giggling and you happen to make eye contact with them hahahahaha
japanese people mind their own business most of the time. its not even easy to make a simple eye contact with them unless they are servicing you in a restaurant laugh.gif
Chaud
post May 7 2018, 03:13 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 7 2018, 03:02 PM)
It is to destress! hahahaha and to build relationship. Most of them can't escape from these entertainment in order not to be shunned in office or get on the bad side of their bosses.

Even so, I heard the trend had changed in some places where they encourage staffs to go home after work.
Indeed. I did say towards a group of giggling girls wink.gif  And, I have spoken to an elderly man when one of my friend gave up his seat to the ojisan.
that elderly man must be very thankful. kidda surprise that priority seat are usually also taken up by normal people. sometimes even some elderly may refuse to seat when you offer
Chaud
post May 8 2018, 05:20 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ May 8 2018, 05:07 PM)
May I know what time is the rush hour for subway ?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=May+I+know+what+time+...+for+subway+%3F
Chaud
post May 13 2018, 09:09 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(javeds @ May 11 2018, 04:00 AM)
Do you guys recommend to order taxi transfer online in advande in Tokyo? I am going to visit it really soon, and I don't know if it is worth it. I would appreaciate any tips on taxi services there. Thank you in advance!
i dunno where you wanna go and how you define worth it

The first minute, first meter already 700yen
Chaud
post May 15 2018, 09:15 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(reinloch @ May 15 2018, 09:11 AM)
Can I get some advice? I'm planning a one week trip and I need to bring along some gastric medication. Can I do that?
yes. of course. its not illegal drug after all right?
Chaud
post May 28 2018, 03:02 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 28 2018, 01:38 PM)
P/S: FINALLY HOME!!! Had a pleasant trip but also a fair share of misfortunes; some of you in the chat group and my FB will know. I'll share it again on a separate post here.
oh you post it in FB? can i follow?
Chaud
post May 28 2018, 06:23 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 28 2018, 06:14 PM)
Continue from Lake Kawaguchiko:

Part III continuation @ Lake Kawaguchiko

Part IV: Tokyo

Part V: Kinugawa-Nikko

That's all for the 10 days! (out of the 10 days, 2 days were on the plane ^__^;; )
sweet! can link this post in the first page for itinerary idea?
Chaud
post May 30 2018, 09:09 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(april @ May 29 2018, 02:44 PM)
is it for 7 days. this is the iternary

Day 1
Airport> kyoto airbnb > Arashiyama romantic train >bamboo grove > >gion street
Day2 :

Fushimi Inari Taisha > Kinkakuji > Nishiki Market

Day 3

Kyoto > Osaka airbnb> Kuromon > Dontobori

Day 4 : Nara
TODAIJI TEMPLE 東大寺 > NARA DEER PARK > NIGATSUDO TEMPLE二月堂 > KOFUKU TEMPLE興福寺 > HIGASHIMUKI STREET

Day 5 : kobe
Harborland (MOSAIC) > China town > Old Foreign Settlement (Kobe City Museum) > Back to osaka

Day 6 : use osaka amazing pass
Osaka Castle > Santa Maria Cruise Ship > Tempozan Marketplace for dinner > Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan

Day 7 : use osaka amazing pass
Tennoji zoo,  天王寺 > Shitennoji Temple > Tsutenkaku Tower > Osaka museum of natural history

day 8 : balik malaysia
what time you're landing? I think day 1 not enough time if you wanna land then go check in then go for the romantic train like that

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ May 29 2018, 03:59 PM)
Thank you so much for the info, I drop Ginza for this round. For the water bus, it's quite expensive to buy roundtrip ticket (3000yen). I decided to take on my way back to Asakusa only. I have move my Meiji Shrine to the morning before visiting Shibuya.

The updated itinerary will be like below:

Day1 - Asakusa>Ameyokocho>Akihabara

Day2 - Asakusa>Disneyland

Day3 - Tsukiji Market>Odaiba>Skytree/Solamachi Mall

Day4 - Harajuku/Meiji Shrine/Takeshita dori>Shibuya Area>Tokyo Tower

Day5 - Hakone>Shinjuku

Day6 - early flight back to Malaysia

Anything to add? Amend?
for day 5 you have any particular place you wanna visit? I would suggest day 5 to put only Hakone so that you don't have to rush. you can put shinjuku into day 4. shinjuku and shibuya are like neighbour city
Chaud
post May 31 2018, 03:51 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 30 2018, 06:09 PM)
Page 1 updated with:

- Seasons in Japan and details
- Malaysian Embassy's contact
- Emergency contact number
- Emergency/ Disaster Announcement
- Tsukiji inner market moving to Toyosu
- Tokyo Discount Passes
- Links on tips, recommendations and information for Tokyo Side Trips
on the "Basic ethics and some useful words when visiting Japan", you can add a note to put away all water bottles from the table in restaurant. since most restaurant provide free water, if one travel and holding a bottle water, best is to keep it in the bag biggrin.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0554sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:05 AM