8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

Chaud
post Jun 19 2018, 10:23 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jun 19 2018, 05:34 PM)
Hi, i have a question about using passes for Shinkansen (in my case, it's Kansai-hiroshima Pass), do you still have to go get tickets even when you're opting for unreserved seats? If you do want reserved seats, the extra seating ticket can only be bought over the counter?
unreserved usually just go in and take your seat.

reserve seat you can reserve online. but have to collect your ticket over the counter
Chaud
post Jul 16 2018, 10:27 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Jul 16 2018, 10:01 PM)
Im going to japan early december..searching for hotel in tokyo for 7nights.. any recommendation for 2 adults? Most important is nice and convinient. I read before that there are many many train lines in tokyo.. but i dont rmb which line is the 1 recommended to stay near.. .any thanks!
you have a budget? APA hotel if you dont mind small room biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Chaud: Jul 16 2018, 10:27 PM
Chaud
post Jul 21 2018, 08:41 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Jul 20 2018, 11:17 PM)
Anyone flew ANA before? Thinking between ANA or MAS.. mas 3.3k for 2.. ana 3.8k..
would definitely pick ANA if the price difference is small biggrin.gif
Chaud
post Jul 23 2018, 09:23 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Jul 23 2018, 06:57 PM)
Hello sifus. Will need all your kind input and advice. I have never been to japan, and am planning to visit tokyo next year in March. May I know what’s the airfare pricing that’s considered cheap/reasonable?

From what i checked, cheapest is around rm1.8k return
as long you can pay. then its good
Chaud
post Jul 23 2018, 10:46 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Jul 23 2018, 09:39 PM)
bro, hopefully you are not being sarcastic here.. its not bout me being able to pay or not.. i have not been to JP, therefore want to ask and check the rates..
ok. then it depends on airline, and also season

since march is sakura season, its usually more expensive. i see cheapest so far is 1.4k

not sure about AA coz i never keep track
Chaud
post Jul 24 2018, 10:01 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jul 24 2018, 11:33 AM)
Hey guys. Am planning second trip to japan this time from tokyo instead. Since the planned trip is in January, I plan to see Nagano and I want to go see snow monkeys and try the onsen town nearby. Anybody have any recommended accomodations or keywords to search for that area?

I am also keen on seeing the castle perhaps see the castle, the togakushi cedar forest and some of the ninja stuff. Not really sure if I can do it within 3 days. Anybody tried this one out?
i went to Nagano once for 1 night. I stayed in Smile hotel, near the main JR Nagano station. You can see the castle in Matsumoto. but the journey is about 30 mins from Nagano
Chaud
post Jul 26 2018, 10:10 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jul 26 2018, 11:18 AM)
Thanks. Do you recommend if I do one night to stay near snow monkey area and move for another night nearer to see matsumoto?
i didn't know how far is it to travel from Nagano main station to the snow monkey area.

depending on the distance and time needed to travel to your destination. If it take hours, then its recommended to stay a night. If only half an hour, then not necessary
Chaud
post Jul 26 2018, 10:16 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(skzisghost @ Jul 25 2018, 12:35 PM)
Guys any tactic on booking which date to catch sakura full bloom for sure in 2019? Without booking 1 month prior to sakura season ofc, as the accomodation will become a big problem.

This year the forecast is inaccurate and many tourist end up arriving too late to see sakura.

Planning to bring my parents there as sakura viewing is their dream, it would be real disappointment if we arrive too late/too early.

Plan to go from osaka-kyoto-tokyo-hokkaido - 14days++ trip.

Thanks in advance.
book from mid march to mid april. Travel for 1 month. Confirm catch full bloom biggrin.gif
Chaud
post Jul 30 2018, 09:06 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Jul 28 2018, 10:26 PM)
Guys, i have one voucher by Klook to purchase buy 1 free 1 USJ ticket to let go. PM me if you are interested.
free? you should buy the ticket first, then only offer biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Jul 29 2018, 11:48 PM)
I plan to book hotel around tokyo through agoda and seem like they will charge tax on it. Did anyone know whether this tax we are able to claim back like other tax such as duty free tax in japan?
hotel tax cannot claim. the tax you can claim back are those goods that you can export out of japan in sealed condition
Chaud
post Jul 31 2018, 09:05 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Jul 30 2018, 09:49 PM)
Usually i traveling by tour so never have experience booking the hotel. Plan to go japan march next year without taking any tour package smile.gif
for tour, the price offer include tax from the hotel tax. so its usually more expensive than planning your own
Chaud
post Aug 1 2018, 08:58 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(billysiah @ Aug 1 2018, 02:58 AM)
i was thinking once i land then straight to osaka first, then tokyo will be my last. because my return air ticket will be at tokyo. so i got no choice but to buy the 14 day japan rail pass? i was thinking if there is a the cheaper solution..sighhhh
you do know that there are many type of pass JR has to offer right? not necessary need the 14 days japan rail pass for just that 2 cities.

i think you should plan your itinerary and figure out by which day you will need to travel using pass, then only finalize the final pass you need

This post has been edited by Chaud: Aug 1 2018, 09:00 AM
Chaud
post Aug 5 2018, 09:10 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Aug 3 2018, 02:11 PM)
Hi, i have a question about flight transfer and transit time from Narita to KIX.

My flight is suppose to land in Narita at 7.20am, but the flight from NRT to KIX i'm aiming for departs at 9.40am. That's about 2 hours and 20 mins. Will there be sufficient time to make the transit? If i'm not mistaken, i still have to clear the immigration, exit the arrival hall and then enter again right?
if your flight is connecting flight, there'll be representative waiting for you upon arrival that will escort you to your next flight
Chaud
post Aug 5 2018, 06:48 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Aug 5 2018, 02:54 PM)
I plan to use kansai wide 5days pass when arrive at KIx at 740pm or should i just get single trip ticket, i plan 5 days osaka n 4days Kyoto. When in kyoto better to use Kansai Thru pass 3 days or local Kyoto rail/bus pass or Kansai Area Pass 3days?
what is your itinerary like? if you are not going anywhere far from the main city or not taking shinkansen, then its better to not take that pass.
Chaud
post Aug 5 2018, 08:37 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Aug 5 2018, 08:01 PM)
Yeah planning to go Okayama
then you're good to go with that

https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361_08.html
Chaud
post Aug 6 2018, 08:56 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Aug 6 2018, 08:33 AM)
Sadly, mine isn't the same flight. I'm using MAS to reach NRT and then planning to take Jetstar to KIX. Will it still be possible to make the transit? Since it's a different airline, do i have to exit the arrival hall and go into the departure hall normally again?
since you book your flight separately then yes. you have to claim your luggage then check in again

This post has been edited by Chaud: Aug 6 2018, 08:56 AM
Chaud
post Aug 7 2018, 09:28 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Aug 6 2018, 01:35 PM)
Hi.

Asking for suggestion.
How many night should spent on Kyoto?
Some say 1 night will do and some say 2 nights.

Also, any hostel recommendation in Kyoto?
Going there in end of Nov.

2 nights definitely not enough. there are actually many things to see and enjoy in kyoto
Chaud
post Aug 8 2018, 09:48 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Aug 7 2018, 08:35 PM)
hi all, I would like to get your opinion on my itinerary to Osaka-Kyoto-Takayama-Toyama, as this is my first time to Japan:

Day 1
Arrive at Kansai Airport 9.40pm
Check-in to nearby hotel

Day 2-4
Depart to Kyoto via Haruka line
Stay at Kyoto, go around Kyoto / Nara

Day 5-6
Check out Kyoto
Depart to Takayama
Takayama Old Town
Hida Folk Village
Shirakawa-Go
Old Town

Day 7
Depart to Toyama

Day 8
Toyama Alpine Route (whole day)

Day 9
Return to Osaka

Day 10
Universal Studios Japan

Day 11
Osaka

Day 12
Return to KL

1) Is the itinerary too hectic / just nice?
2) I need to buy the tickets to the Alpine route upfront? Will there still be snow wall to see?
3) On Day 10 is a Friday, will it be crowded to go to USJ?
4) Any idea where is a good place for proposal?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Appreciate your suggestions or ideas on where to eat! I just booked the accommodations so far..
you can go there and buy, but the day before you travel. now is already August, no snow wall. Snow wall April only got

QUOTE(zWinceZz @ Aug 8 2018, 09:14 AM)
this tokyo wide pass can only be purchased in Japan right?
you can purchase here, then go japan collect
Chaud
post Aug 8 2018, 10:31 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(zWinceZz @ Aug 8 2018, 10:26 AM)
i checked the JTB Malaysia Online, but i cant find the 3 days Tokyo Wide Pass...
Can anyone help me with that ?
i check their site. Don't think this pass can purchase anywhere online except in Japan when you're there
Chaud
post Aug 12 2018, 10:04 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Aug 10 2018, 10:11 PM)
Hi guys,

My plan is to visit Tokyo on end of march next year until around ealy april (total of 12 days)

Below is my plan to visit those place, want to seek opinion from you guys whether is it do-able or not with my planning?

Day 1 (Yokohama)

Sankeien Garden
China Town
Yamashita Park
Yokohama marine Tower
Hikawa Maru 
cruise 
Osanbashi Pier
Cup noodle museum
Minato Mirai 21
Sky Garden

Day 2 (Kamakura)
Great Buddha
Hase dera temple
Engakuji temple
Tokeiji temple
Jochiji temple
Meigetsuin temple 
Hachimangu
Kenchoji temple
Hokokuji

Day 3 (nikko)
Toshogu Shrine
Rinnoji Temple
Futarasan Shrine
Shinkyo Bridge
Taiyuinbyo
Lake Chuzenj
Kegon Fall
Chuzenji Temple
Akechidaira Ropeway

Day 4 (Hakone)
Odawara castle 
Lake Ashinoko
Komagatake ropeway 
Hakone shrine
Owakudani
Hakone ropeway 
Hakone Tozan Railway
Hakone checkpoint 
Gora Park 
Hakone Open Air Museum

Day5
Disneyland

Day 6
DisneySea

Day 7 (nothern Tokyo)
Ueno Park 
Asakusa (kaminarimon gate/sensoji temple
Sumida River
Sumida park
Tokyo Skytree   
Option: Edo Tokyo Museum
Tokyo National Museum
Ikebukuro

Day 8 (Southern Tokyo)
Odaiba
Tokyo Tower 
Onepiece 
Zozoji temple
Sengakuji temple
Roppongi HillRoppongi
Mori Tower   

Day 9 (Western Tokyo)
Meiji Shrine Yoyogi Park   
Harajuku (Takeshita Dori)
Omotesando Street/Omotesando Hills
Shibuya
Shinjuku
Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office
shinjuku gyoen
Nakano Broadway

Day10
Akibahara (Laox,Sofmap,maid café,don quijote,radio kaikan,super potato,gamers,mandarake,tsukumo robot kingdom,gundam café)
Imperial Palace
Imperial palace east garden     
Tokyo station  Marunouchi Nihonbashi
Tokyo Dome City
Koishikawa Korakuen
Ginza
Hama Rikyu

Day 11 (free Activity)

Day 12 Leave Tokyo
where do you plan to stay? coz I think your itinerary is very rush. especially day 3 and 4

QUOTE(jackieatbtu @ Aug 11 2018, 07:33 AM)
Hi, can I ask fellow travelers on my planned next year trip?

April 19th (Fri): Arrive at Nagoya from Sg at 9.30am. Bring luggage to hotel and explore Nagoya. Take bus to Nabana no sato for illumination. If no illumination, stay in Nagoya city walk around. (Nagoya shortened to one night to make more room for Takayama) Or should I still keep it as two nights?

April 20th (Sat): Check out hotel. Explore more Nagoya city. Start Alpine-Takayama-Matsumoto pass. Train to Takayama after lunch. Check in and walk around old town. Try to find Hida beef for dinner or next day lunch. Any recommendations?

April 21st (Sun): Morning market. Bus to festival museum. Back and do Higashiyama walk.

April 22nd (Mon): Check out hotel and send luggage to Tokyo. Bus to Shirakawago. Lunch and walk around. Bus to Toyama.

April 23rd (Tues): Alpine route. Proceed to Matsumoto after collecting hand carry luggage at Shinano Omachi.

April 24th (Wed): Matsumoto castle and surroundings. Evening train to Kofu for overnight stay.

April 25th (Thurs): Bus direct from Kofu to Kawaguchiko. See shibazakura. Take train/bus to Shinjuku depending on availability. Check in hotel at Kanda/Oimachi.

April 26th (Fri): Hitachi seaside park for nemophilia. Will either join tour or take train or direct bus.

April 27th (Sat): Tokyo - Kameido tenjin Shrine for wisteria if blooming. North side Tokyo Ueno and Ameyoko.
April 28th (Sun): Tokyo - Shibuya and Harajuku
April 29th (Mon): Tokyo - Shinjuku, Shinjuku garden if still got nice flowers
April 30th (Tues): Asakusa and Tokyo Station for final shopping . Currently considering taking 10pm flight back to Sg. Previous plan was May 1st 9am.

Disclaimer: Traveling solo. Fifth time to Japan. Tokyo section not planned out as I have been there in previous trips. Plan to just walk around and do some shopping. Currently, KIV showa kinen park or any festivals going on at the time. Due to golden week, not traveling far.

try to avoid golden week if you plan to go alpine route to see snow wall.

Chaud
post Aug 12 2018, 02:14 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Parfate @ Aug 12 2018, 01:01 PM)
Will visit Tokyo and Sapporo from 23/12/2019 - 4/1/2020
Below is my plan, cam you guys have a look at it and maybe add in some thing if that day looks empty and vice versa.

23/12/2019 (Arrival date at Tokyo)
Oedo Onsen Monogatari (Stay the night)

24/12/2019
Night time: Tokyo Skytree

25/12/2019
Noon: Mori Art Museum
Night: Roppongi Hills Winter Illuminate

26/12/2019
Disneyland

27/12/2019
DisneySea

28/12/2019
Mt Fuji one day trip

29/12/2019
Oedo Onsen Monogatari (Getting all the srrvices they have)
Spend the Night

30/12/2019
Tokyo to Sapporo
Prefer by (bullet) train
31/12/2019
Sapporo Art Park
Historic Village of Sapporo

1/01/2020
Mt Moiwa hatsuhinode
Hokkaido Shrine hatsumodo

2/01/2020 and 3/01/2020
Grand Hirafu Ski Resort

4/01/2020
Probably an onsen nearby before coming back to KL

Portable Wifi + Insurance RM264

Question
What train pass is most recommended with a reasonable price
Planning to eat the local foods, is 5000 yen enough for one day? (not those fancy restaurant, maybe just specialised ramen shop, family restaurant. NO CONVENIENT SHOP FOOD)
Is it easy to find capsule accomadation (1 people ) if i dont want to book in advance?

Thanks in advance
5k yen is more than enough. An average bowl of ramen is about 800-1xxx Yen

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1634sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:00 AM