Grab Driver Discussion V4, Info and FAQ
river.sand
Dec 2 2018, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(CarrotMilk7517 @ Dec 2 2018, 10:11 AM) 7.5KM for Rm9 job. 4.5km PUP, no bonus. Straight cancel without thinking much. This new scheme is totally fuck up. Waiting crap bungkus soon. Before this week, a 7.5km trip would give you: 7.5 x 1.10 ~ RM9 So no different wat. Pickup distance is hit or miss - sometimes near, sometimes far.
river.sand
Dec 2 2018, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Dec 2 2018, 10:35 PM) TB is a hit or miss stuff. All down to luck. Underestimate or overestimate but i guess is still based on location. My guess is: Weekdays 5:00pm to 6:30pm, traffic will get worse, and Grab will underestimate duration; After 8:00pm traffic will ease, and Grab will overestimate duration. So drive after 8pm 😬
river.sand
Dec 3 2018, 06:44 AM
QUOTE(coolstore @ Dec 2 2018, 10:50 PM) need not wait july, starting from 2nd quarter , march onwards only 100 litre ron95 subsidy ppl in pavillion bukit bintang area should all take mrt and monorail to leave KL then only book grab at nearest station Most of us drive small car, can still get subsidy. GrabCar Plus fare probably will hike. QUOTE(zinglicious @ Dec 3 2018, 01:14 AM) Luckily they are not civil engineers..otherwise one building would be underestimate and the other overestimated where there would be twin towers of different height and size. The Crappy engineers would have created MMCC Bengkok Towers. MMCC : Mong Mong Cha Cha  According to one of our friends in Miri, Grab uses Waze estimation.
river.sand
Dec 3 2018, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(tankx3 @ Dec 1 2018, 11:06 PM) I guess it’s the same rate everywhere? For Jb is the same rate. Starts on Monday. KV rates... JB rates same as Melaka? Attached thumbnail(s)
river.sand
Dec 3 2018, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 3 2018, 05:40 PM) useless one, wait gojek enter Malaysia then they will listen to your voice. Now monopoly liao mah, profit must come first, if not how grab staff get bonus wor. Softbank also wants dividends. Anthony Tan maybe doesn't care so much. He was born with silver spoon, Grab is just an expensive toy
river.sand
Dec 4 2018, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(ys2233 @ Dec 4 2018, 08:58 AM) We don't expect miracles to happen overnight. Afterall a journey of a thousand km begins with the first step. When we first started campaigning against BN some 10 years ago, we knew it was not easy but we did it in 2018. One thing is for sure - nothing is gonna change if you do nothing. If you are happy currently, so be it but don't complain la when more changes come to disrupt your comfort zone. In 5 years time Grab will have a fleet of autonomous vehicles.
river.sand
Dec 4 2018, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(cfl @ Dec 4 2018, 10:10 AM) Uber already started unmanned vehicle Crap want to be unmanned? Won't be so soon, fix the location pin point accuracy first, otherwise who dare to hop into their unnman vehicle? Nanti langgar tiang or masuk longkang...  Grab no need to develop autonomous vehicles itself. It is partnering nuTonomy for this purpose... QUOTE Ride-hailing company Grab has announced plans to launch self-driving taxis in Southeast Asia before 2022.
Grab’s president, Ming Maa, said the company wanted to commercialise its robo-taxi operations and that the project would be unveiled within the next four years, reported Nikkei Asian Review.
Ming added that Singapore was the likeliest launching destination as it was the most adaptable country in terms of embracing new technologies. It is not yet certain which other countries Grab will aim to introduce the project in.
In 2016, Grab partnered with Singapore-based company nuTonomy, a leading developer of software for self-driving cars. The two companies have already tested self-driving cars in small areas of Singapore, but are now looking to expand their operations. http://sea-globe.com/grab-aims-for-self-dr...ia-before-2022/
river.sand
Dec 4 2018, 08:08 PM
Back to the question of auto insurance: Other than msig, what insurance providers have policies which meet the requirements of the new regulations?
If the add on is not call e-hailing, what is it called?
river.sand
Dec 5 2018, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(lznce2679 @ Dec 5 2018, 04:23 PM) KV just now red..suddenly clear.. very funny.. Heavy rain.
river.sand
Dec 6 2018, 06:48 AM
QUOTE(andrwss @ Dec 5 2018, 09:59 PM) As first batch of time booster drivers since 2-3 weeks ago, I already told grab do not use Waze for time estimation, they should use Google map if want to implement time booster mechanism, but seems too difficult for their programmers. Waze = To get the traffic condition, someone drove by have to be using Waze to upload the traffic condition. The km/h shown is very inaccurate and fade out very quick if no more Waze user drove by that road. Google map = Anyone with mobile data on, using Android, traffic condition will get uploaded with/without using Google map. That's why traffic condition updated on Google map is much more stable and accurate. I estimate Android users with mobile data on vs Waze users on the road ratio to be at least 20:1. What if an Android user is walking along the street? Will Google Maps thinks it is standstill traffic
river.sand
Dec 6 2018, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(forever1979 @ Dec 6 2018, 03:21 PM) now no more incentive, replace by time boaster bonus. time boaster only appilcable when AA is on. yes, Set destination (SD) and with AA will entitle boaster bonus. TBB is incentive.
river.sand
Dec 6 2018, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(Artak @ Dec 6 2018, 07:08 PM) earlier i dropped off a hot amoi that turned out to be a yoga instructor. I was staring at her ass as she left my car. luckily i was already moving because im already blocking the road hahaha One of the fun of grabbing
river.sand
Dec 6 2018, 10:36 PM
I believe it is easy to obtain actual job duration. Just calculate it after we press Drop off.
We wouldn't know the bonus at the beginning of the trip, but that shouldn't be a problem.
But Grab is reluctant to do so, for fear of driver gaming.
river.sand
Dec 7 2018, 03:53 PM
Guys, tomorrow anti-ICERD rally in KL. Be careful...
river.sand
Dec 7 2018, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 7 2018, 04:11 PM) Road around Dataran Merdeka close starting from 7pm tonight, i better gantung kunci and relax  News say starting 6am tomorrow QUOTE Six main roads around Dataran Merdeka will be closed to facilitate Saturday’s anti-Icerd rally, says Comm Datuk Seri Mazlan Lazim.
The Kuala Lumpur police chief said the roads are Jalan Hishamuddin (before the tunnel), Leboh Pasar, Jalan Tun Perak (from Masjid Jamek LRT station onwards), Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman (near Sogo), Jalan Raja Laut (near Summit Hotel) and Bulatan Dato Onn.
“The roads will be closed from 6am onwards on Saturday. https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018...kMQ7dAkXTJEk.99
river.sand
Dec 7 2018, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 7 2018, 10:47 PM) Tomorrow got icerd rally at KL. Is it advisable to drive or better stay home? If you plan to drive, be prepared to cancel trips to areas near the rally. This post has been edited by river.sand: Dec 7 2018, 11:19 PM
river.sand
Dec 9 2018, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(d-realm @ Dec 8 2018, 11:37 PM) Today Sunway demand so high, incoming jobs non stop.. Anti-icerd rally, many drivers not working.
river.sand
Dec 9 2018, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(Ashbun @ Dec 9 2018, 11:37 AM) After the psv implement nexr year grab will reduce their exiting staff in ofis surely and by the end of next year grab will bungkus.. Now even the passenger are angry with grab.. If Grab bungkus, Mycar, Jomride will also bungkus. You think they can survive longer than Grab?
river.sand
Dec 9 2018, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(Ashbun @ Dec 9 2018, 05:46 PM) Juz dont make the same mistake that grab is doing and everything will be ok for sure Didi Chuxing is still in red, even though Uber had retreated from China long time ago... QUOTE Didi Chuxing, China’s largest ride-hailing platform, has not made a profit in the six years since its founding and recorded a net loss of 4 billion yuan (US$585 million) in the first half of the year... https://www.scmp.com/tech/start-ups/article...585m-loss-firstDo you think Grab and Mycar are profitable? I doubt so. How long can they keep losing money? Grab is backed by Softbank. It can probably hold on a little longer. Mycar will die first...
river.sand
Dec 9 2018, 08:51 PM
Today dropped off a rider at KLIA2... Not wanting to wait, I decided to return to KL. To avoid toll, I used the Kota Warisan way. Mistake. I was stuck at the cross road near Dengkil for 20 minutes