31 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

ronaldjoe
post Dec 2 2008, 05:37 PM

3,569 posts

My FOC cable and M1000 yield different results icon_idea.gif
I never look back ever since then ... wink.gif

Added on December 2, 2008, 5:41 pmIn case your lcd is full hd, you can consider dvd player with upscaling.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Dec 2 2008, 05:41 PM
iman_210
post Dec 5 2008, 09:01 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(kkng77 @ Dec 2 2008, 04:49 PM)
Hi all, need assistance from u guys...

I am using component cable for my dvd player (do not have HDMI) with my 32" LCD, show that it is running at 576p...

will I get better quality if I invest a HDMI DVD player and link to my 32"LCD? will I get 720p or 1080i or 1080p?
depend on ur 32 inch lcd capabilities...my best guess it can only upscale max 720p with the HDMI cable. check my sig if u want a hdmi cable mate
ar188
post Dec 6 2008, 09:15 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Dec 2 2008, 05:37 PM)
My FOC cable and M1000 yield different results  icon_idea.gif
what kind of results to be more specific? and what length cable between this 2 (FOC vs M1000) ?

htkaki
post Dec 6 2008, 09:25 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Dec 5 2008, 09:01 AM)
depend on ur 32 inch lcd capabilities...my best guess it can only upscale max 720p with the HDMI cable. check my sig if u want a hdmi cable mate
Giraffe cable is quite good. Btw, a very good you got there thumbup.gif
myqd
post Dec 6 2008, 01:31 PM

2,247 posts

so conclusion is if u need longer HDMI cable like 10m,it's better to choose GOOD HDMI then normal non-brand HDMI cable? The thing is a GOOD hdmi count on length so 10m easily cost u arround RM800-RM1000,so mind to share what's the 10m hdmi cable u guys using now ?
aiman04
post Dec 6 2008, 01:45 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 6 2008, 01:31 PM)
so conclusion is if u need longer HDMI cable like 10m,it's better to choose GOOD HDMI then normal non-brand HDMI cable? The thing is a GOOD hdmi count on length so 10m easily cost u arround RM800-RM1000,so mind to share what's the 10m hdmi cable u guys using now ?
I'm only using 2 and 3 meter HDMI cables only because I don't use a projector. Some forumers here use quite a reliable long one but really affordable. Htkaki should know it.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 6 2008, 01:46 PM
myqd
post Dec 6 2008, 03:16 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:45 PM)
Htkaki should know it.
ya,i bought a 10m HDMI at quite affortable price from HTkaki.wonder any clear diff if replace it with a better QED hdmi cable at 7m,less then 1k. hmm.gif

mys_terious
post Dec 6 2008, 05:27 PM

882 posts

mine i think 9m jin biru
myqd
post Dec 6 2008, 05:36 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Dec 6 2008, 05:27 PM)
mine i think 9m jin biru
apa itu 9m jin biru ? u mean brand is "jin biru" @ 9m? good kah? hmm.gif

btw,apart from future shop,can anyone recommend some online shop selling cables and can ship to M'sia ? ( too bad amazon cant ) sad.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 6 2008, 05:38 PM
myqd
post Dec 6 2008, 05:51 PM

2,247 posts

i'm thinking of getting this QED hdmi 7m,now offer with shipping arround $60 pound,any advice? ( what's the rate today huh? )

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 6 2008, 05:52 PM

bryanlee
post Dec 6 2008, 06:32 PM

111 posts

[quote=myqd,Dec 6 2008, 05:36 PM]

I think jin biru mean Blue Jean Cable.

www.bluejeanscable.com

mys_terious
post Dec 7 2008, 01:26 AM

882 posts

[quote=bryanlee,Dec 6 2008, 06:32 PM]
[quote=myqd,Dec 6 2008, 05:36 PM]

I think jin biru mean Blue Jean Cable.

www.bluejeanscable.com

[/quote]

betul betul laugh.gif
ar188
post Dec 7 2008, 10:47 AM

9,206 posts

yes that's a good conclusion based on length required..
and if the HDMI cable does show problems, they show DIGITAL artifacts like "image snow" or Purple video, video flashing white frames etc.

HDMI DIGITAL cables doesn't give you improved color, improved visual definition, improved Y/C definition etc. those are S-video/component/composite analog cable attributes. I'm gonna laugh to death if another HDMI cable seller start claiming these beneifits for their digital cables.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Dec 7 2008, 11:06 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 7 2008, 10:47 AM)
yes that's a good conclusion based on length required..
and if the HDMI cable does show problems, they show DIGITAL artifacts like "image snow" or Purple video, video flashing white frames etc.

HDMI DIGITAL cables doesn't give you improved color, improved visual definition, improved Y/C definition etc. those are S-video/component/composite analog cable attributes. I'm gonna laugh to death if another HDMI cable seller start claiming these beneifits for their digital cables..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Totally agreed. I've grown tired of trying to convince this to some.

And that digital artifacts, if those happens the cable can already be considered as faulty, not picture quality issue.
myqd
post Dec 7 2008, 11:54 AM

2,247 posts

ok,just to confirm,the conclusion is even HDMI cable at longer length,say 10m or more,as long as it doesnt show problem like image snow or purple video, video flashing, white frames etc,the cable consider PERFECT ? If yes,that means even u change to better quality cable which cost 5-10 times more,it wont improve the PQ,not even in brightness,contrast..... ? hmm.gif
aerobowl
post Dec 7 2008, 01:46 PM

556 posts

however HDMI does have different specifications and i think what in the HDMI market now is either 1.3 or NONE 1.3

from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-Definiti...media_Interface
it does mention something about Deep Color for 1.3

therefore for people who claim they see the difference between cheap and expensive HDMI cable maybe is due to one of the following:
1) it is true, PQ is different (i dont own expensive cable so i cant say anything)
2) one is 1.3 version cable and the other is not
3) using different HDMI ports to test (each port has its own PQ settings)
4) using different equipments to test

This post has been edited by aerobowl: Dec 7 2008, 01:48 PM
ar188
post Dec 7 2008, 02:03 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 7 2008, 11:54 AM)
ok,just to confirm,the conclusion is even HDMI cable at longer length,say 10m or more,as long as it doesnt show problem like  image snow or purple video, video flashing, white frames etc,the cable consider PERFECT ? If yes,that means even u change to better quality cable which cost 5-10 times more,it wont improve the PQ,not even in brightness,contrast..... ?  hmm.gif
if the cheapo 10meter cable that you have, doesn't show any problems listed then it's fine to use it.. you won't get better results using something that costs 10x more.. LOL... it's not a video processor to "Add/subtract" or "improve/degrade" any analog video elements into the digital signal..

"If yes,that means even u change to better quality cable which cost 5-10 times more,it wont improve the PQ,not even in brightness,contrast..... ?"

by asking this question, means you don't understand the difference between digital and analog.
no point to go further until we understand what is digital and analog signal concept.. smile.gif cheers!

aiman04
post Dec 7 2008, 02:12 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Not sure about those using different version of the cable or not, but a comparison is only fair if they're both the same version.

And about Deep Color, can anyone find any source using it? On DVD? BD? The Blu-ray specification for movies (BD-ROM) does not support Deep Color or the new xvYCC color space. Even the RGB is not relevant, YCbCr is the only way.

In order to get Deep Color, everything must supports it. The source, the player, the receiver (if applicable) and the TV. The only real source currently is the consumer handycams, etc. Read more here:

http://www.audioholics.com/tweaks/calibrat...evels-xvycc-rgb

ar188
post Dec 7 2008, 02:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Dec 7 2008, 01:46 PM)
however HDMI does have different specifications and i think what in the HDMI market now is either 1.3 or NONE 1.3

from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-Definiti...media_Interface
it does mention something about Deep Color for 1.3

therefore for people who claim they see the difference between cheap and expensive HDMI cable maybe is due to one of the following:
1) it is true, PQ is different (i dont own expensive cable so i cant say anything)
2) one is 1.3 version cable and the other is not
3) using different HDMI ports to test (each port has its own PQ settings)
4) using different equipments to test
1. no need to have expensive cables to know there is no difference. it's digital. biggrin.gif
it's like your digital USB2.0 cable or SATA..
you have a file say 10MB size which you copied from hard disk A to harddisk B , suddenly you notice the file size of the file has grown 5% to 10.5MB after the transfer .. or suddenly your Word document which contains 1000words suddenly have extra 10words after transfering to another HDD biggrin.gif

this is what these people are saying in relation to improved video quality and different priced HDMI 1.3 cables.... as though the digital signal can "improve" or "degrade" the analog video source, in the traditional manner (i..e improved/degrade analog attributes like contrast, Y/C , etc) used to compare analog video cables.

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 7 2008, 02:28 PM
mys_terious
post Dec 7 2008, 05:00 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 7 2008, 02:19 PM)
1. no need to have expensive cables to know there is no difference. it's digital.  biggrin.gif
it's like your digital USB2.0 cable or SATA..
you have  a file say 10MB size which you copied from hard disk A  to harddisk B , suddenly you notice the file size of the file has grown 5% to 10.5MB after the transfer ..  or suddenly your Word document which contains 1000words suddenly have extra 10words after transfering to another HDD  biggrin.gif 

this is what these people are saying in relation to improved video quality and different priced HDMI 1.3 cables.... as though the digital signal can "improve" or "degrade" the analog video source, in the traditional manner (i..e improved/degrade analog attributes like contrast, Y/C , etc) used to compare analog video cables.
so case close yet? any1 still claim there is a diff in pic quality between cheap n expensive 1.3 hdmi cables?

31 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0253sec    1.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:31 PM