post Oct 9 2017, 11:03 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(tyssxp @ Aug 3 2017, 12:16 PM)
haha my dad one la...normal E 200
i ain't got money for this type of car tongue.gif
W212 e class.

QUOTE(Obmud @ Sep 29 2017, 12:39 AM)
I am in love with the GLA250, still a dream car yet to own! Any owner here to share the experience? What are the pros and cons?
Personally I feel the newest x1 is better

QUOTE(Jim.tan @ Oct 6 2017, 05:31 PM)
Interested in Pre-Own C Class?
Currently on-going price for C200 AV 2017 is Selling at 219K
Any promo for gle?
jennwei86
post Oct 11 2017, 07:50 PM

QUOTE(lolzxx @ Oct 4 2017, 11:23 PM)
plan to buy a second hand mercedes
prefer coupe convertible CLA or C class model..
any recommendation on year and model?
high maintenance ?
is blue efficiency really worse?
Hi bro can call or whatsapp me at 016-6585365. I'm selling Pre-Owned Mercedes Benz smile.gif
19 Degree South
post Oct 12 2017, 01:07 AM

1,680 posts

See & see Sa mostly dog eyes see ppl down de la!
zenix
post Oct 12 2017, 11:35 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 12 2017, 01:10 AM)
U don't talk kok la! MB GOT  5 yrs warranty meh?  rolleyes.gif
Mb got warranty. tongue.gif
jennwei86
post Oct 14 2017, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 12 2017, 01:10 AM)
U don't talk kok la! MB GOT  5 yrs warranty meh?  rolleyes.gif
4 years warranty plus 1 year extended warranty = 5 years warranty biggrin.gif
LordXion
post Oct 17 2017, 04:17 AM

25 posts

GLC 250 AMG.. advisable to buy in Malaysia??
ksgill80
post Oct 30 2017, 01:56 PM

94 posts

W211 vs w210

I all,

I am looking to upgrade from the current 1997 W210 to a W211. Would like to ask what are the things i should look out for when doing this change

I am looking for the 2007 model and above since apparently from this year onward the mechanical & electrical issues were resolved.

Also does the W211 provide a much better mileage compared to the W210 or is it very minor?

My focus is towards the E200 range simply because its more economical to maintain plus the insurance & road tax is way lower but i am keeping an open mind towards the other ranges as well just in case it as better offerings.

Hoping to get some good tips.
19 Degree South
post Oct 30 2017, 02:34 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Oct 30 2017, 01:56 PM)
W211 vs w210

I all,

I am looking to upgrade from the current 1997 W210 to a W211. Would like to ask what are the things i should look out for when doing this change

I am looking for the 2007 model and above since apparently from this year onward the mechanical & electrical issues were resolved.

Also does the W211 provide a much better mileage compared to the W210 or is it very minor?

My focus is towards the E200 range simply because its more economical to maintain plus the insurance & road tax is way lower  but i am keeping an open mind towards the other ranges as well just in case it as better offerings.

E200 and E250 is having the same engine what! So insurance and road tax is the same Mah! Whether it's economical or not , it depends on individual ma! Some like the horse to run but never give the horse grass to eat! Littat how? Bensi car all quite fuel efficient Liao! What do u mean by 'better mileage'?
ksgill80
post Oct 30 2017, 03:29 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 30 2017, 02:34 PM)
E200 and E250 is having the same engine what! So insurance and road tax is the same Mah! Whether it's economical or not , it depends on individual ma! Some like the horse to run but never give the horse grass to eat! Littat how? Bensi car all quite fuel efficient Liao! What do u mean by 'better mileage'?
Apologize for my ignorance but isnt the E250 for the W212 model onwards?

Based on what i have been researching the W211 E200 / 240 & 280 each have diff insurance and road tax prices as their engines are different. But please do correct me if i am wrong. Always happy to learn

As on economical i don't understand your analogy.. But what i do mean by it is in terms of maintenance. So hopefully we can talk in terms of numbers instead. Like for example basic service comparison. Maybe the W211 E200 may cost on average RM700 E240 RM1100 and E280 EM1500.. these are just examples.. i am genuinely not sure what the prices are.

As for better milage what i mean is in comparison to the W211. If W210 gives 8KM to every liter and W211 12 KM for every liter then its better. But if W211 gives 9KM for every liter then its only minor improvement. AGAIN these numbers are for illustration purposes only to explain the definition of better mileage

I hope to get a more positive and constructive feedback for other members here as well.

Thank you
ayamxxx
post Oct 30 2017, 03:55 PM

4,044 posts

W211 vs w210

I all,

My focus is towards the E200 range simply because its more economical to maintain plus the insurance & road tax is way lower  but i am keeping an open mind towards the other ranges as well just in case it as better offerings.

My family had a W211 E240 japan spec back then, it comes with 2.6NA engine, not full performance, around 177hp. it great to drive on highway.

pro:
less thing to take care, ie kompressor, when it is a NA engine.
comes with harmon kardon speaker, great
ok performance
reliable, relatively ok vs bmw 525 E60. checking on various case at the workshop

cons:
fc kinda terrible if compared with japan 2.4 engine, average 9-10km/l
service fees, as average spending closed to 1k -1.3k per normal service.
SBC brake, mine is 2004 units, have to fork out money to change after those SBC alarm problem, end up selling this unit back then.
HID original headlamp is kinda poor light output vs others car with HID.personal experience
ksgill80
post Oct 30 2017, 05:00 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 30 2017, 03:55 PM)
My family had a W211 E240 japan spec back then, it comes with 2.6NA engine, not full performance, around 177hp. it great to drive on highway.

pro:
less thing to take care, ie kompressor, when it is a NA engine.
comes with harmon kardon speaker, great
ok performance
reliable, relatively ok vs bmw 525 E60. checking on various case at the workshop

cons:
fc kinda terrible if compared with japan 2.4 engine, average 9-10km/l
service fees, as average spending closed to 1k -1.3k per normal service.
SBC brake, mine is 2004 units, have to fork out money to change after those SBC alarm problem, end up selling this unit back then.
HID original headlamp is kinda poor light output vs others car with HID.personal experience
Thanks Ayamxxx for that input

btw..whats NA engine?

so i hope the 2007 build onwards would be better right? one of the reason why i rather get the year 2007 model onwards

This post has been edited by ksgill80: Oct 30 2017, 05:00 PM
19 Degree South
post Oct 30 2017, 08:24 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Oct 30 2017, 03:29 PM)
Apologize for my ignorance but isnt the E250 for the W212 model onwards?

Based on what i have been researching the W211 E200 / 240 & 280 each have diff insurance and road tax prices as their engines are different. But please do correct me if i am wrong. Always happy to learn

As on economical i don't understand your analogy.. But what i do mean by it is in terms of maintenance. So hopefully we can talk in terms of numbers instead. Like for example basic service comparison. Maybe the W211 E200 may cost on average RM700 E240 RM1100 and E280 EM1500.. these are just examples.. i am genuinely not sure what the prices are.

As for better milage what i mean is in comparison to the W211. If W210 gives 8KM to every liter and W211 12 KM for every liter then its better. But if  W211 gives 9KM for every liter then its only minor improvement. AGAIN these numbers are for illustration purposes only to explain the definition of better mileage

I hope to get a more positive and constructive feedback for other members here as well.

Thank you
My bad! I thought you meant the 212! The 211 E200 is a kompressor engine and the 240 is a v6 na engine if I am not wrong! As long as for normal service other than at franchise sc , I think the price is reasonable! My dad used to have the 211 E200 and it's a good car! Not much complaints throughout his 5 years ownership! We don't really bother about the FC! Maybe 10-20 ringgits diff? Just like I couldn't be bothered about the weekly fuel pricing nowadays! It's time to pump means one has to pump anyway! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Oct 30 2017, 05:00 PM)

btw..whats NA engine?

so i hope the 2007 build onwards would be better right? one of the reason why i rather get the year 2007 model onwards
NA= natural aspirated! W212 onwards are turbo engine Liao!

This post has been edited by 19 Degree South: Oct 30 2017, 08:26 PM
drbone
post Oct 30 2017, 08:33 PM

1,757 posts

Any good mechanic to service/to order for parts the W204 C200K in Sunway? Any recommendations?
ayamxxx
post Oct 30 2017, 10:34 PM

4,044 posts

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Oct 30 2017, 05:00 PM)

btw..whats NA engine?

NA stand for natural aspirated engine, non turbo.
believe latest w211 (not sure which year onwards) have replaced the SBC brake thingy to the conventional brake system. it is pricey to replace the so-called SBC module which is designed to be replaced after reached certain time/year.

anyway, best bang for money, would be taking up the W211 E230. it is a 2.5 Engine, with Valve timing (better fc), 201 hp, v6, non SBC brake, with comand aps with malaysia maps (sure outdated), 7 gear auto iinm. it was the last model for w211 and supposedly have made lots of improvement on any problem for earlier w211 e200, 240,280etc2
longyap
post Nov 4 2017, 04:03 PM

hello guys,i have w124 e230 ,which the authorized store can do check up?
ksgill80
post Nov 5 2017, 04:51 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 30 2017, 10:34 PM)
NA stand for natural aspirated engine, non turbo.
believe latest w211 (not sure which year onwards) have replaced the SBC brake thingy to the conventional brake system. it is pricey to replace the so-called SBC module which is designed to be replaced after reached certain time/year.

anyway, best bang for money, would be taking up the W211 E230. it is a 2.5 Engine, with Valve timing (better fc), 201 hp, v6, non SBC brake, with comand aps with malaysia maps (sure outdated), 7 gear auto iinm. it was the last model for w211 and supposedly have made lots of improvement on any problem for earlier w211 e200, 240,280etc2
I have only so far been able to come across the E200 or E280 variants .. have not come across any E230 yets but will keep and eye out for it
Revamperz
post Nov 7 2017, 04:16 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,163 posts

any e350e owner? where do u get the charging cable for public charging station?

want to get one for parking convini.... i mean to charge the car , obviously

ksgill80
post Nov 14 2017, 10:21 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Nov 5 2017, 04:51 PM)
I have only so far been able to come across the E200 or E280 variants .. have not come across any E230 yets but will keep and eye out for it
just a quick update on my search

So far ironically from the selection that i have looked at i am liking the E280 more then the E200.

(The E240 is currently out of budget range)

The E200 that i have seen sadly are not in nice condition. The ones that i did ok with i was surprisingly turned off by the power and engine sound..it was just feeling sluggish.

I have narrowed it down to a 2008 E200 apparently a UK spec model that has a push start button on the gear nob where the engine does sound much better. its downside is mostly features like it does not have default parking sensors (only has a after market one installed in the rear) the controls like radio and aircon are manual and the rear aircon too.

The E280 has everything.. its only downside is the insurance and road tax price.. so its a close call.

Did come across a possible hidden gem a 2008 S320 CDI. Price wise is just a tad more than the E280 at 71K. The diesel engine does not sound all that bad but when u start it you know its a diesel..

Is a diesel engine worth a consider?
kmheing
post Dec 11 2017, 10:47 PM

351 posts

Anybody owns or has any experience with B200 W246?
I'm planning to get one from a used car dealer. Just wondering how's the reliability and maintenance cost?

Thanks in advance.
droidnash
post Dec 16 2017, 03:57 PM

W211 vs w210

I all,

I have a 1996 W210 E280 2.8L straight six and a 2007 W211 E200 Kompressor 1.8L straight four and I can say that these cars generally drives quite different. I somehow fee the W210 is heavier and using in PJ stop and go traffic does consume more than the W211. But on the highway comparing a 2.8L vs. a 1.8 supercharged, definitely the Kompressor consumption is better.

2007 onwards W211 facelift versions were improved and has lesser problems than than pre-facelift, like the SBC pump. But you will still encounter minor issue like the one I'm facing now, quite a jolt when gear 1 and 2 changing. Can be resolved by changing the gear oil or solenoid in the gearbox. Also some minor instrument cluster problem, need wiring checked out.

Other than that, when you've driven an E-Class I can say that it's difficult to move to other class. The E-Class is really comfy and has set it's standard as a modern classic. Maybe a can look at the newer E-Class or the newer Beemers. These expensive newer models will definitely beat the W211 in terms of gadgets and power.

Nash

93 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:07 PM