QUOTE(hft @ Nov 1 2019, 04:39 PM)
Good result.How long your EA been running?
Forex Version 20, Foreign Exchange Market Discussion
Nov 1 2019, 05:02 PM
2,096 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Nov 1 2019, 05:25 PM
1,081 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
Nov 1 2019, 05:48 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,561 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penangites |
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 30 2019, 03:34 PM) friend lost half a million trading options when trump crashed crude from about $75 to $45. He said most of the time very easy collect premiums only... lol option's basic function is you sell bets that are very hard to hit. but the payout is humongous (maybe 50x or 100x of the premium you take in)is like picking up nickels on the rail way track. you may profit until one stage where the train hits you and you become homeless. its like risking $100 to collect $2 of premium...... |
Nov 1 2019, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(AllnGap @ Nov 1 2019, 05:48 PM) option's basic function is you sell bets that are very hard to hit. but the payout is humongous (maybe 50x or 100x of the premium you take in) Advanced gambling.is like picking up nickels on the rail way track. you may profit until one stage where the train hits you and you become homeless. its like risking $100 to collect $2 of premium...... |
Nov 1 2019, 06:11 PM
4,561 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penangites |
QUOTE(paogeh @ Oct 30 2019, 02:02 PM) another questions pop up : on warren buffet, what you said is on the surface only.we always see ppl invest in stock , eg: Warren Buffet . Ppl use this strategy to hold as long as possible to generate wealth . Basically , buy blue chip and collect dividen forever . when die , passed the blue chip to next kin . wealth being built this way . However , we dun hear such thing in FX , or options , etc . how come ? In theory , FX should amplify the wealth effect like the stock do . in reality , i cant find any. i can think off , carry trade in FX to collect swap daily . But this strategy is dead after 2008. is it possible to build wealth in FX similar like KLSE/stock/blue chip/divien stock? 1. Warren buffet has an insurance company for 52years, and he use those premium paid by customer to buy and collect dividends. (insurance company has $115 billion, may read here : https://www.fool.com/investing/2019/02/22/w...-a-52-yea.aspx) basically he's using OPM (other ppl money) to grow 2. his dad is one of the politicians. of course this gives him an edge in "insider info" why would i make this conclusion ?? many of his decisions in buy those companies are winners (some of which are winners in government policy change) must have some sort of magical crystal balls 3. his dad owns a small stocks brokerage firm. this also gives edge because the know the orders (ahem can do a lot of scalping back at those days) or when the owner of the stocks dump before earning season comes you already know bad report is coming...... or knowing some back-end merger between companies also can huat d so it isnt as simple as buy stocks and become FXXKING RICH This post has been edited by AllnGap: Nov 1 2019, 06:14 PM |
Nov 1 2019, 10:55 PM
1,679 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Penang |
QUOTE(AllnGap @ Nov 1 2019, 06:11 PM) on warren buffet, what you said is on the surface only. basically, most ppl get rich through stock , 1. Warren buffet has an insurance company for 52years, and he use those premium paid by customer to buy and collect dividends. (insurance company has $115 billion, may read here : https://www.fool.com/investing/2019/02/22/w...-a-52-yea.aspx) basically he's using OPM (other ppl money) to grow 2. his dad is one of the politicians. of course this gives him an edge in "insider info" why would i make this conclusion ?? many of his decisions in buy those companies are winners (some of which are winners in government policy change) must have some sort of magical crystal balls 3. his dad owns a small stocks brokerage firm. this also gives edge because the know the orders (ahem can do a lot of scalping back at those days) or when the owner of the stocks dump before earning season comes you already know bad report is coming...... or knowing some back-end merger between companies also can huat d so it isnt as simple as buy stocks and become FXXKING RICH like malaysia COLD EYE , buy dividen chip/blue chip/grow chip , collect dividen year in year out . and after 20--30 years, become RICH . As Emily mentioned , most ppl are poor, stock are expensive and slow . that;s why , we dun hear FX , ppl becoming RICH. Most become broke ... |
Nov 2 2019, 10:02 AM
6,236 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(paogeh @ Nov 1 2019, 10:55 PM) basically, most ppl get rich through stock , I'm sure a lot of people get rich in fx but stay quiet only...Malaysia stock market a lot of insiders and syndicates trading. Normal people can still get rich but takes long time...a lot fail stay quiet only you don't hear about. Also last time can only trade stocks...like malaysia COLD EYE , buy dividen chip/blue chip/grow chip , collect dividen year in year out . and after 20--30 years, become RICH . As Emily mentioned , most ppl are poor, stock are expensive and slow . that;s why , we dun hear FX , ppl becoming RICH. Most become broke ... My understanding is the buy n hold forever trend is changing. Now commercial trading people long time hold is 3-6 months. Retail people still holding on to old thinking hold forever get high dividend lah... You see cmk96 & hft their ea can double account in 3-6 months, holding good old stocks is very difficult to achieve this...target small 0.7% per day, in 100 days double your risk amount liao Most people in FX broke because high leverage, small account, trade cfd against MM... Not to discouraged you from stocks, it's good to diversify a bit, best to combine with a hedging strategy so to preserve capital and reap benefits from dividend. |
Nov 2 2019, 10:25 AM
645 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
With low capital and in terms of learning curve, which is a better options among all ?
Nov 2 2019, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(cmk96 @ Nov 1 2019, 12:43 PM) QUOTE(hft @ Nov 1 2019, 04:39 PM) Am looking for a good ea... can help me get started?... point me to some good sites, etc.Also can share a bit more info on your ea? Like market/time frame, indicators use for entry & exit, what went well what didn't, etc.? |
Nov 2 2019, 10:30 AM
Nov 2 2019, 12:11 PM
2,096 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Nov 2 2019, 01:47 PM
Nov 3 2019, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 2 2019, 10:02 AM) I'm sure a lot of people get rich in fx but stay quiet only...Malaysia stock market a lot of insiders and syndicates trading. Normal people can still get rich but takes long time...a lot fail stay quiet only you don't hear about. Also last time can only trade stocks... Thanks drwk.My understanding is the buy n hold forever trend is changing. Now commercial trading people long time hold is 3-6 months. Retail people still holding on to old thinking hold forever get high dividend lah... You see cmk96 & hft their ea can double account in 3-6 months, holding good old stocks is very difficult to achieve this...target small 0.7% per day, in 100 days double your risk amount liao Most people in FX broke because high leverage, small account, trade cfd against MM... Not to discouraged you from stocks, it's good to diversify a bit, best to combine with a hedging strategy so to preserve capital and reap benefits from dividend. For stocj, its almost very diffucult lose as long as u buy the divden.blue chip. The only time . Stock can lose, margin acc . Even Koon yew ying use margin also lose big . I always hear warrant in malaysia. And so far i have not hear those margin.warrant.index in malaysia long term profit. Seems like making $$ is not easy . |
Nov 3 2019, 11:52 AM
9,361 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 2 2019, 10:02 AM) I'm sure a lot of people get rich in fx but stay quiet only...Malaysia stock market a lot of insiders and syndicates trading. Normal people can still get rich but takes long time...a lot fail stay quiet only you don't hear about. Also last time can only trade stocks... I think in investing, we need to see the timespan too. One who made money within a short timespan may not be the best measurement to define Best Investment. My understanding is the buy n hold forever trend is changing. Now commercial trading people long time hold is 3-6 months. Retail people still holding on to old thinking hold forever get high dividend lah... You see cmk96 & hft their ea can double account in 3-6 months, holding good old stocks is very difficult to achieve this...target small 0.7% per day, in 100 days double your risk amount liao Most people in FX broke because high leverage, small account, trade cfd against MM... Not to discouraged you from stocks, it's good to diversify a bit, best to combine with a hedging strategy so to preserve capital and reap benefits from dividend. I was a forex player, in the form of Carry Trade. I had to cut lost after holding for a few years, but in the early years when I first 'invested', I kept making money from premiums earned due to knock-outs. I invested into strong Term Deposits which yielded me 11%, 12% int rates in Aussie Banks but such returns have disappeared today. I invested into Canadian ctrs which PAY MONTHLY DIVIDENDS, but those ctrs' dividend amts dropped after a few years. I recently divested ont restaurant ctr in the TSX which dropped to $10+ only, last I heard... I can call out more experiences,... BUT,.. I would like to say that I continue to invest into SG REITs today. But well,.... First REIT is also risky today,... okay... holding forever is not possible anymore ! The word forever is not logical anymore. |
Nov 3 2019, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 3 2019, 11:52 AM) I think in investing, we need to see the timespan too. One who made money within a short timespan may not be the best measurement to define Best Investment. Thank you hansel for sharing. I was a forex player, in the form of Carry Trade. I had to cut lost after holding for a few years, but in the early years when I first 'invested', I kept making money from premiums earned due to knock-outs. I invested into strong Term Deposits which yielded me 11%, 12% int rates in Aussie Banks but such returns have disappeared today. I invested into Canadian ctrs which PAY MONTHLY DIVIDENDS, but those ctrs' dividend amts dropped after a few years. I recently divested ont restaurant ctr in the TSX which dropped to $10+ only, last I heard... I can call out more experiences,... BUT,.. I would like to say that I continue to invest into SG REITs today. But well,.... First REIT is also risky today,... okay... holding forever is not possible anymore ! The word forever is not logical anymore. Investment.trading really not easy. Currently do u still carry trade? Or fx ? Any good investment to recomend ? Side notes, almost all my friends.collegue invest.trade klse stock. Again, got earn.lose. Some claim can get insider news etc. But not always. Making $ seems hard. |
Nov 3 2019, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(paogeh @ Nov 3 2019, 11:47 AM) Thanks drwk. np bro...i've been thinking, if you haven't try stocks...can give it a go also lah... never try never knowFor stocj, its almost very diffucult lose as long as u buy the divden.blue chip. The only time . Stock can lose, margin acc . Even Koon yew ying use margin also lose big . I always hear warrant in malaysia. And so far i have not hear those margin.warrant.index in malaysia long term profit. Seems like making $$ is not easy . like you said stock is very hard to blow account...a change of pace maybe good...try 6-12 months then decide if you wanna continue. it doesn't have to be mutually exclusive you know...can always play fx on the side with proper mm... btw... blue chip also got few bankrupt cases around the world...and i've got some local semi-blue chip darling stocks that never recover from the '97 crash... if you wanna invest in broad section of the market, can try etf... there's a diy SP500 etf thread here... fyi if recession hits...be prepared for -20% to -50% drop from peak, and can takes anywhere from 3-6 years to recover... i had public mutual funds >15yrs...liquidated all last year... been topping up 2 foreign stocks >15yrs giving dividend yield 5-6% after tax, but these have lost significant value because of holding and not trading it out sooner, hence my view of not holding on banking of dividend forever... |
Nov 3 2019, 04:24 PM
645 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Nov 3 2019, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 3 2019, 11:52 AM) I think in investing, we need to see the timespan too. One who made money within a short timespan may not be the best measurement to define Best Investment. i have some prejudice against reits... I was a forex player, in the form of Carry Trade. I had to cut lost after holding for a few years, but in the early years when I first 'invested', I kept making money from premiums earned due to knock-outs. I invested into strong Term Deposits which yielded me 11%, 12% int rates in Aussie Banks but such returns have disappeared today. I invested into Canadian ctrs which PAY MONTHLY DIVIDENDS, but those ctrs' dividend amts dropped after a few years. I recently divested ont restaurant ctr in the TSX which dropped to $10+ only, last I heard... I can call out more experiences,... BUT,.. I would like to say that I continue to invest into SG REITs today. But well,.... First REIT is also risky today,... okay... holding forever is not possible anymore ! The word forever is not logical anymore. mandatory distribution can put it at risk during downturns...potential for belly up is high. To be fair i never investigate them fully so i really know nothing about reits... |
Nov 3 2019, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Nov 3 2019, 04:24 PM) imho...learn TA and practice paper trading for at least 6 months lah...see what works and what didn't... i promise you will still fail doing real account because paper trading no real emotion but real money totally different...but at least you are in control and can learn from itthink of it like a business... a business got income and expenses... income (hit target) >> expenses (stoploss)...your business survive, if not bankrupt and wiped out. people go university 3-5 years, spent $$$ to learn a skill...same for trading need to spend time study and set aside some $ you're prepared to "lose for training" so you don't feel so bad about it...then win big after statistically speaking, if your win rate is 50:50, you are still profitable if reward to risk ratio is 1.5:1... https://www.babypips.com/ got lots of good material... this lady quite entertaining also... |
Nov 3 2019, 05:42 PM
Another gambling round tomorrow. My first trade day for November 2019 as well. Good luck to all.
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:21 AM |