4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Forex Version 20, Foreign Exchange Market Discussion

Hansel
post May 20 2019, 11:52 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Goodboy92 @ May 18 2019, 07:42 PM)
Yes for stock , if forex not sure lols

Because USD EUR.

Can become even 1000:1 , so... Could be unlimited?
QUOTE(z21j @ May 19 2019, 02:03 PM)
At first i thought so. Im using saxo, Its say trading risks can b magnified by leverage. Your losses can exceed deposit. Just wondering what these sentences meant
Let me try to explain in the form of an example. I used a spreadsheet to model the movement.

Let's say you have USD1000 as your collateral, ie this is the amount of money you have sitting inside the bank.

And you bought the pair USDEUR with the objective that the USD will strengthen vs the EUR. This is called a LONG, so you are doing a LONG USDEUR, or some private banks call it Buy USD / Sell EUR.

Your Entry Level was USDEUR = 0.90, using today's interbank rate.

You leveraged up to an amount of 100000 USDs.

What happens is : if the pair USDEUR drops by 1%, you will trigger a Margin Call. What is this 1% ?

In your case of your Entry Level being at USDEUR = 0.90, a 1% drop will be this pair dropping to USDEUR = 0.89.

Hence, the lower your leveraging amount is, the lower the pair can drop before you approach a Margin Call event.

If,... on the other hand, you did a SHORT of the USDEUR instead, the above situations would 'reverse',...

Let us know for more questions,....
Hansel
post May 20 2019, 10:27 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Goodboy92 @ May 20 2019, 09:32 PM)
What about a gap that USDEUR goes to 0.01

i know it is not possible 99.999999999999999% , just asking what if that happen.
Don't understand,...
Hansel
post May 21 2019, 12:57 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Goodboy92 @ May 21 2019, 09:13 AM)
Today USDEUR priced at 0.90 and you long

tomorrow is weekend

at Monday , price open at 0.01 where SL is at 0.89 , and the losses is more than margin can afford. account have negative balance now.
Ok,.. appreciated your clarification,...

Using your example, IF the USDEUR gaps down to 0.89 at open on a Monday, AND you have n SL in-place,... then your position will close-out immediately, hence, you will lose all of your collateral.

Your position will be zeroised (assuming you have no other open positions), and you can't initiate another new position without installing another collteral.

In the forex world,... you need to :-

1) have good analysis of the downside risks.

2) trade up to 80% of your margin only.

3) have a logical Stop-Loss in-place.

The lower your marginning in 2) above, the further you can place your SL in 3) above for the curve to 'turn back up'. It's not right to place your SL too close to your EL (Entry Level). YOU will get stopped-out due to mkt knee-jerk reactions, especially in today's environment.

JMHO - in my private banking 'excitements',... I'm not really a currency trader.

Please treat my comments with caution and not be induced to place trades,... in line with MAS requirements,...
Hansel
post May 21 2019, 01:02 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Macau @ May 21 2019, 12:05 PM)
1) We don't trade USDEUR, we only trade EURUSD.

2) If EURUSD open at 0.01, this is the end of the world liao; we have nothing to worry about anymore!!
Right,...

1) In the early days, when the Euro was first introduced, the Euro was weaker than the USD. Hence, we used USDEUR. Today,... the Euro has super-seeded the USD,.. hence, it is more approriate to use EURUSD.

2) I think he meant 0.01 as the gap,... not the forex rate,... biggrin.gif

By the way, bros,... learn to take profits too,... in my private banking 'games', I have two levels on every trade - SL and TP. No need to sit in front of the screen always,...
Hansel
post May 21 2019, 01:05 PM

9,353 posts

For myself,.. I love the AUDJPY pair,.. can earn a differential interest,...
Hansel
post May 21 2019, 04:49 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 21 2019, 01:05 PM)
For myself,.. I love the AUDJPY pair,.. can earn a differential interest,...
I do options programs, bro,.. with Strikes, Premiums and Knock-Outs,...
Hansel
post May 22 2019, 06:31 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Goodboy92 @ May 21 2019, 09:11 PM)
So our account will be in Negative amount right? Do we need to payback that negative amount?

Your acct can never go into deficit,... their margin team will ensure that.
Hansel
post May 23 2019, 06:43 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ May 23 2019, 12:58 AM)
Usually pro trader only risk up to 2% per trade and not more than 10% combine.

But there is Full Margin trader everywhere.
Tq,... I feel that 2% is too near to the entry level, and can hit the stop-loss easily. But it depends on the trade too - hence, we must know the downside risks well, AND have a LOGICAL stop-loss in-place. But this is Direct Forex Trading, which I don't do much,...
Hansel
post May 24 2019, 11:07 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ May 24 2019, 09:34 PM)
What is logical stop loss? 2% doesn't mean your stop loss too near or too far it depends on your lot and pips. 0.05 lot with 100 pips is still can be your 2% risk.
Free? Better learn from internet.
When I say depends on the trade,.. a trade means, though not limited to, the lot size, the pip-counts, the pair concerned, the recent fundamental events surrounding the pair traded, and the study of the charts, also known as the TA for the pair under analysis.
Hansel
post Jul 25 2019, 11:53 AM

9,353 posts

Have been viewing the updates here,... truly informative,.. thank you.

Would like to ask : any opinions abt the audjpy pair, moving forward ?
Hansel
post Jul 25 2019, 01:42 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(johnnyzai89 @ Jul 25 2019, 01:35 PM)
which tf?
What is tf pls ?
Hansel
post Jul 25 2019, 01:46 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(johnnyzai89 @ Jul 25 2019, 01:42 PM)
oh sorry. i mean timeframe
Tq bro,...

Emm,.. say in the next 12 months ?
Hansel
post Jul 25 2019, 05:21 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(johnnyzai89 @ Jul 25 2019, 01:48 PM)
erm i mean timeframe as in the chart you are looking at.. like Daily timeframe or H4, H1 etc
I use the monthly to help me on deciding where the entry and exit points are,... but I use fundamentals more than techs...
Hansel
post Aug 11 2019, 12:38 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ Aug 11 2019, 12:57 AM)
That a lot of pips  rclxms.gif

Waiting for my setup on AUD, NZD maybe GBP (news candle last Friday)
For these three currencies, I can't see any long positions that I dare to take with them as the primary currency,... not at least in the next few months,....

The Carry Trade looks to be diminishing,...
Hansel
post Aug 13 2019, 12:09 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ Aug 12 2019, 05:24 AM)
Yeah waiting my short setup.
If the BOJ suddenly introduces more stimulus, then,....
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 09:13 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Sep 17 2019, 12:16 AM)
Wow, and you have fully recovered ?
I burnt RM800k recently by cutting loss in my AUDJPY pair,.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Oddly,... I don't feel that bad abt it !!!
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 10:29 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 17 2019, 09:51 AM)
I always tell ppl we are blessed and fortunate to have money to burn... wink.gif
That's a positive way to look at it ! biggrin.gif

Well,... at least we have 'sportsmanship' - if loses, then pay up !

I read in an article last month that many American private banking clients litigated against their private banks when they lost money, claiming that their pb rms did not explain all the risks to them. But for us/me,... we just cutloss and take the loss gracefully,...

I held the pair for so many years,... bros,... and it keeps falling,.... biggrin.gif

But,.......bros,...........I'm noticing that the AUD is TURNING AROUND !!! AM I RIGHT ??!!??

Opinions pls ??

I looked at 3-year charts, 200 ma, AUDJPY and AUDMYR... the signal is turning around,... am I right ?? Anybody starting to go long on the AUD now ??? Good money leh,....
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 12:42 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(paogeh @ Sep 17 2019, 11:20 AM)
In Jan, during the Yen flash crash .
A trader in FF (forexfactory) asked for gofundme ,
he lost from USD13M to USD500K  , holding AUD/JPY
*as now, his USD500k dropped to USD20K+ ....

In FF, its common to see ppl losing 6digit LIVE acc .

Personally , i think it's RISK OFF for now.
This week FED going to cut rate , 25bps ......
expecting carry trade to un-wind further.
2008 is CARRY trade killer.
For this year, my early loss of USD20K , now improved to -USD4K ....
*I loss, becos UOB CREDIT CARD last minute not able to swipe though .....else ....
**No else, forget it , loss = loss . No point looking back .
Yes,... I heard abt the 2008 disaster,... all my fellow pb clients/friends had their AUDJPY positions cut when they came back from one major festival holiday,... All lost everything from their assets inside the pb account !

Expecting carry trade to unwind further,... what would your prediction be for the AUDJPY in the next 12 months ?

With the Feds on a downward bias,... wouldn't a short on the USDJPY be logical ?

Were you trying to top-up your margin strength, ie responding to a margin call notification from your banker when you tried to swipe your UOB Credit Card ?
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 12:49 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 17 2019, 12:30 PM)
Human nature lor... always other people's fault...

Daily chart 'may' do a 1-4 days pullback to 72.5~73 then bounce...just have to monitor and see lor... weekly looks ok but need to break 74.5... monthly broke down looks like testing support turn resistance...if it is stop hunt then should go back up...otherwise sayonara

Good luck man...

Ps...dont revenge trade pls smile.gif
Appreciated your charting details,.... my rm related to me a few weeks back that 70 is the strongest floor ever for this pair ! But having observed the plunge in the last few months,... and that Kuroda fella not willing to signal any further stimulus from the BOJ, I decided to cutloss. Cut with two positions - 74.(something) and then 72.(something)...can't remember,....

When I first bought these pairs in 2013 and 2015,.... it was upward movement ALL THE WAY. PERHAPS I SHOULD HAVE CUTLOSS EARLIER,..

No revenge trade, bro,... not taking it too personally,..

...not like someone stole my world-class, trophy girlfriend from me,... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif just dough here only-lar,...
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 12:51 PM

9,353 posts

Bros,... when I chk look back at the AUDJPY Charts that span all the way back to the AFC in 1998, I noticed that the AUD will run back up very fast when times improved,....

So,... the question here : will the AUD do the same again this time,... and will the JPY keep its weakened position again this time being just a safe haven currency during bad times ?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1005sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:20 PM