QUOTE(clayclws @ Oct 31 2008, 12:03 AM)
Huh? Where do you guys get the game? Went to TSB and they said it won't be out till 2nd week of November.
I'm judging from gameplay videos and spoiler leaks by the online community.RPG -Fallout 3-, Fans... Fans never change...
Oct 31 2008, 12:18 AM
3,872 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 10001011010101 |
Oct 31 2008, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(clayclws @ Oct 31 2008, 12:22 AM) I just read back a couple pages back and found out that some already got their hands on the pirated versions since they can't wait...or something like that. I see... I guess Dead Space for me in the mean time...Far Cry 2 is a waste of money... Seen lots of good & great reviews for Fallout 3... No bad reviews from website thus far. Some critical reviews by fans...but overall they still rated the game as good or great. If you're a 12 year old, FO3 would be a great game. The dialogue is catered to a 12 year old, and so is the plot. The good stuff are few and far between. Megaton's good, but the characters totally sucked. Vault 106 is one of the rare brilliant pieces. The main quest's horrible - at least from what I see from the endings. Arefu is a total rip off from Fallout 2. And why can't Beth release ONE single f***ing game that doesn't have vampires in it? Man... |
Oct 31 2008, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 31 2008, 01:01 AM) The fans at most can debate at tha game deviation from the original fallout series & uncanny resemblance to Oblivion. Again you beat the strawman. Deviation from the originals is a big thing, in case you didn't know. Imagine if Diablo 3 suddenly had aliens in it. And Silent Hill suddenly featuring post-apoc earth. Tell me how would you feel? Heck, if Final Fantasy suddenly became a world war 2 shooter, how would you feel?Apart from that they cannot criticise further by drawing flaks on ther games as well. The analogy can be like this : If you call your smartest classmate idiot what about others ? If you give Fallout 3 a rating of 3 out of 10, then how about other games like hellgate london 0 perhaps ? You don't call your smartest classmate an idiot. FO3 is more like the idiot in the class who consistently claims he is the smartest. And sadly, there are people in the class that believes so, because they're too retarded to think. Fallout 3 deserves a 3/10. |
Oct 31 2008, 07:31 AM
QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Oct 31 2008, 07:02 AM) Arghhhh...SORRY BUT I CANT TAKE THIS ANYMORE. We'll have to just agree to disagree then. SHUT THE F@RK UP!!!!!!!!! if u dun like the game, dun come here and rant all day longgg!!! most of us here likes this game so much that we even parted RM3xx for the collector edition!!! yeah FO3 change....so what??? take it or leave it. no need for u to keep on ranting and ranting and ranting on the same thing about how Beth has change it and how much u hate it... blahhh.... go open up ur own thread in Kopitiam and rant there how much u hate it...while WE all here enjoy the game... come back wif screenies and some spoilers wif it.... Added on October 31, 2008, 7:12 ami know u all couldn't stand it how we are enjoying something that isn't what it suppose to be.... and just couldn't help it but rant it all out so that we will join ur hatred and ban this game forever so that beth would learn a lesson! but too bad...we enjoy the changes. and u've already rant, and rant and ranted enough...please....STOP. |
Oct 31 2008, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 31 2008, 11:37 AM) There are 2 possible reasons why F3 get high rating depends on your personal view : Maybe you're not familiar with how the gaming journalism actually works but by giving a bad review, you can actually get sued by the game publishers. No kidding. And as for Beth, you might get blacklisted in the future for all their PR events. And all reviews have to be sent to Bethesda for "approval" before they can be published.1) If you hate the F****** s***** Beth : Perhaps there are some reviewers which are already biased at the first place (they are ready to flame the game) but when they play they discovered that the game has more surprises in store & the flaws which was so evident doen't matter that anymore (There is no perfect game in the world theory). The analogy is pretty simple if you went to a restaurant & anticipate a bad service & lousy food but turns up its a lot better than predicted you cannot help but to give good opinion (with symphaty vote thrown in) 2) If you are a neutral gamer who just wants some good time : There are vey few game which offer you 2 of this : Long playing time (> 60 hours) & high replayability value (different decision affect consequence) The only game i have played more than 100 hours is Neverwinter nights diamond edition (3 expansion) by bioware. I have never played the 2nd NW series since obsidian is at the helm (that goes for KOTOR 2 as well). The only high replayability game i have truly enjoyed is Witcher (enhanced edition). You always arrived at T-junction. I have no doubt that F3 will emerge in some website as GOY, if not at the very least in best RPG in PC version. By the way i heard news that Blu ray pirated has already arrive in China selling as low as $1.5 each (Roughly Rm6). I wonder when the games will be blu ray version as well ? Console for 100% for gaming (that's why more priority on games) PC was for general purpose (internet, work station, then games) However we do have MMOs like WOW which console will be dying to catch Sadly, gaming journalism isn't exactly as un-biased as you might want to think. It's not a fairy tale world that we live in, unfortunately. |
Oct 31 2008, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Oct 31 2008, 05:12 PM) Well, I'm not going to lie, Oblivion is a easy game by no means and Fallout 1 was a insanely hard game and so is the even harder Fallout 2. I personally don't mind a game to be easy, if its easy make it harder So I take it that you didn't find the difficulty adjuster in Fallout? Maybe you would want to look into the options panel.The point of the game being easy is actually going against the whole idea of what fallout is. Fallout dumps you into a wasteland and don't spoon feed you anything. It wants you to feel isolated, lost and overwhelmed. However thanks to the retarded generations giving birth to even more retarded children in the future, nowadays games cannot be too hard or else it'll be panned by everybody. Fallout's difficulty isn't paramountly hard. It's just hard until you realize you can't go in guns blazing without at least a power armor and a big ass gun. And when you get that, the past disasters that you had to go through just made the "reward" of getting those big guns all the more satisfying. And fallout really appeals to your need for vengence for all the low level bullying the world has given you - rip those bastards into pieces, with satisfying gore and sound effects. Fallout 2 destroyed all of this with the temple of trials though. But nevertheless, it still is a worthy successor. |
Oct 31 2008, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Oct 31 2008, 05:33 PM) I find it not hard to agree with you, game these days are kinda easy (the only hard 1 released lately was order of ecclesia), personally I played Oblivion for its immersion and gameplay (I never played a game that recorded every last line so I didn't mind if it repeated, hey even KOTOR repeats the same alien language). Well if fallout 3 looked bad in your opinion, at least there was some improvements compared to fallout 1 and 2 though. Imporvements? You serious? Okay to be fair, the graphics are good. Take away all the characters, monsters and everything, and the capital DC wasteland looks amazing. If it was a more pure blooded FPS with dialogue (aka Stalker) I would have loved it.(Scorpions are evil though......) What did it improve over the previous titles? Graphics. That's about all. Character animations are lousy (for a 2008 game), horribly written ten year old dialogues (improvement? my ass), clunky combat system, bad main quest (find your father... cliche maximized), a too-forgiving game world (shoot a begger and then sheath your weapon. he'll talk to you like you're a stranger or a good friend. how nice). Given, there are some quests that sounds great - Vault 106 with its psychoactive drugs, Megaton, and to a certain extend, Arefu (although I still think it's a blatant rip off, and hate the idea of vampires in the wasteland). But from my experience in Oblivion, I'm pretty sure these are far and few between. So nope, I still think Fallout 3 is a flop, unworthy of the name itself. |
Oct 31 2008, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 31 2008, 06:37 PM) Guess RPG games is also having the same problem like RTS.Too easy and shallow,if not boring. I'm hoping SC2 would change that.Im getting old. But games in general nowadays are made to be newbie friendly. Spoon feeding and don't leave the retarded kid behind. Political correctness in the gaming industry - that's the future. |
Oct 31 2008, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 31 2008, 06:49 PM) There are some more difficult RTS like CoH but RTS in general,are getting simpler like RA3. Ditto to Fallout 3. Isometric could work actually, by using the semi-real time system from fallout tactics, and add in an advanced cover system ALA gears of war. Then add in smarter AI and you'll have an amazing RPG combat system that stayed true to its roots. Too bad Beth decided to go with a half baked FPS system with pause.The only thing i worry about SC2 is,i might not like it because it will be lack of innovations compare to games like DoW2. As for SC2, I'm playing it for nostalgia's sake. DoW2 is nice, but too bad it doesn't have a large enough following compared to SC2. And SC2 is staying true to its roots by being easy to learn but hard to master - that's why Blizzard's threading very carefully when it comes to introducing new mechanics. The hero system in WC3 didn't work so well, did it? |
Oct 31 2008, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 31 2008, 07:09 PM) Speaking of possible great RPG game this year, there is still 2 contender (just less known only) : Bioware and Black Isle studios are both great development studios. Fallout and Baldur's Gate are very different. BG's very linear, and the thing that makes it shine is the writing and plot. Fallout gives the player more freedom, and that's where it shines primarily. Writing wise, yeah BG's much better. But Fallout's the one with the replayability. 1) Sacred 2 : fallen angel (very similar to diablo) 2) Rise of the argonauts (by liquid entertainment) I personally think Bioware was above black isle studio in terms of developing RPG series. I know fallout & baldurs gate was 2 different setting & genre but no denying that baldurs gate was the better rpg. If you guys are waiting for the next big RPG (diablo 3 later) wait no longer for dragonage origins next mid year. Bioware has not dissapoint me with any of their games so far with exception when they prioritise on consoles in prior years. For those wondering why oblivion was panned down here bcos fallout has a very loud fan base. Consider them as loud minority in gaming with the silent majority has move on with the time. Its been what 9 years since fallout 2 ? As for Oblivion, coming from a BG, Planescape and Fallout background, I just can't bring myself to enjoy it. If I wanted mindless sandbox fun, there's GTA. My bone with Oblivion is that it tries to be too many things at the same time. Had it been a linear RPG FPS thingy, I might even enjoy it. But well, everybody's got their own tastes I guess. |
Oct 31 2008, 11:07 PM
Oct 31 2008, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 31 2008, 11:16 PM) Very true, different people have different taste & liking. Oblivion has enjoy sales of almost 3 million compared to witcher 1m. Gta 4 scores 10m. Spore can easily outstrip these 3 games but illegal download doesn't count isn't it ? Truthfully, like I've always maintained, Beth doing Fallout is new technologies isn't the biggest gripe most oldtime fallout fans have. The problem with Beth is they are PR machines first and game developers second. The change from isometric to FPS is painful, but could be palatable if Beth had credible and excellent writers. Dialogues especially were the weakest link in TES series since god knows when. The plot have degenerated into some Hollywood esque "sacrifice this sacrifice that" piece of crap, and that's the biggest problem most fans have.Games developer always stuck with 2 blatant choice when deciding on the game sequel : 1) To change the gameplay (bioware games mostly, dawn of war) 2) To change the graphics (normally will be released once every 4 - 10 years : Warcraft, Starcraft, Red alert, command & conquer) Obviously changing both of them takes a very huge gamble & risk but there are successful ventures like COD 4 & the big loser hellgate. Any games trying to attempt both can be considered "ambitious" by any standards. Fallout 3 decided to take this approach obviously. This move will no doubt create some new fans but draws flak from the original fans. I don't know about you guys but i use to play a very fantastic RTS + RPG hybrid called Majesty by micropose. If you check some websites many fans love the indirect gameplay but after 8-9 years like fallout it was not able to develop further but forced to sell its IP to 3rd party. What can fans do ? Hope for the best. The game coming up next year...... Yes they might have retained their Oblivion fans and many new comers who have never played the older series before, but they'll have a hard time persuading fallout fans from enjoying the new one especially since the trademark black humor and clever writing in the predecessors are now gone, replaced with 11 year old quality dramatic scripts poorly stitched together with an over abundance of profanities and tough-guy talk that fails to capture the atmosphere. you're right about the "What can fans do" part. Blizzard fans are fortunate on SC2 because Blizzard practically went to the fans for ideas. Not so with Diablo 3, but still not many were complaining after seeing the second round of gameplay footage. But at least they responded to fan requests properly and didn't try to change things into something completely foreign. Beth on the other hand, all along the development progress was patronizing and condenscending towards the old fallout communities, especially they way they treated NMA and DnC like they are nothing more but yapping rats to be swatted away. Such disrespect towards the oldest fan community and they had the balls to say that they designed FO3 with the old crowd in mind! You see, sometimes it boils down to perception. Had Beth spent more time working with NMA and DnC in the process, or even give official invites to these two communities to previews, reviews and even integrate some of them into playtesting and feedback, the whole old fanbase would be appeased and more receptive to FO3 compared to now. And they really had nothing to lose - many in NMA were bitter that NMA were consistently used as a strawman in the beth forums like they were the loud minority, when in fact they represent some of the oldest and most loyal fans of the franchise, and was even a great catalyst for the fallout modding community. Sigh. I better stop here. |
Nov 1 2008, 05:53 AM
QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Nov 1 2008, 05:11 AM) Someone can cry just because of that I'm tempted to use my Hellgate London vs. Diablo 3 argument. But I won't. Oh well sometimes changes has to be made.It's for the best (for the company that is) because mainly,money is everything as you said earlier.They can't just depend on small quantity of loyal fans to get back thier money that they spend lotsa on the development alone. What I said maybe abit too obvious but yeah just to remind you what's all about at the first place.Just hope that something can be done to this (fallout 3) game.Modders,we're counting on you Anyway, from the looks of the gameplay trailers, it pretty much looks like an Oblivion total conversion. 1) Wait menu in Fallout 3 is exactly the same thing as Oblivion with a new skin 2) Animations in Fallout 3 exactly the same as Oblivion 3) Clunky menus in Fallout 3 is the same as Oblivion with minor differences and a new skin 4) Compass in Fallout 3 is the same as Oblivion with a new skin 5) Jump sound exactly the same 6) Lots of useless junk items that have no purpose at all... same like Oblivion 7) Same AI AKA idiotic AI 8) Sneaking and pickpocketing system is the same (aka you can't pickpocket without going into sneak mode) 9) Can't crouch without going into sneak mode 10) Can loot everything from a corpse, from weapons to clothes (nice.. everybody wants a bullet proof suit that you've just put a few lethal holes in) The resemblance is uncanny. Truthfully, I believe Oblivion fans would love this - this is everything they liked, except in a post apocalyptic world. Heck, even the death music sounds the same. Except that we've got guns and gore. And the same stupid enemies that you can exploit easily. I'm watching a lot of gameplay videos right now, and seriously, if you take away the guns, the characters and all living beings in the game, it'll be an extremely great and nostalgic scenic view. The atmosphere of the wasteland is impressive. And then the humans came in and broke the immersion. Sigh, why are humans always the scourge of everything? T.T |
Nov 1 2008, 02:31 PM
Nov 2 2008, 04:29 AM
QUOTE(pds_disi @ Nov 2 2008, 03:49 AM) just wondering, i never play fallout before, but i don't like oblivion at all, will i like this game? You never played fallout, and you hate Oblivion. Fallout 3 is Oblivion with guns set in a superficial Fallout setting. Isn't that obvious enough? Skip this game.btw i like mass effect, so i guess i didn't hate rpg+fps, may be going to 'try' first then decide.... |
Nov 2 2008, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Nov 2 2008, 12:31 PM) Its very obvious that you are still judging this game from its prequels, and nobody said that this game sucks other than the typical fanboy who cannot accept the change of the gameplay..... You shouldn't impose your standards on others, I believe. We have valid concerns about this game and we're coming from the views of an old fallout fan, and from the old school RPG era where writing and story is actually more important than combat and graphics. Maybe you have different ideas of what make a good game (e.g. i can blow heads? I roxxx!!!), but that doesn't mean we can't give criticism where criticism is due right?out of 1708 votes, fallout 3 received and average score of 9.2 from gamespot and out of 258 votes, fallout received an average of 8.3 score from the user votes of metacritic. This clearly show that you people are truly biased in reviewing and calling fallout 3 a bad game just because you don't like the game. I also believe this thread is for healthy discussion for the game and not for flaming the game for its weaknesses(even the old fallout's weren't perfect), if you don't like the game, keep it for yourself and refrain from calling the game a piece of junk. Btw mods are already out to fix this game and you can find some some mods at http://www.fallout3nexus.com/ If you are not sure how the gameplay works check this video out Saying good things about a bad game is just as biased you know. And besides, you probably still think fallout fanboys want "low resolution isometric turn base fallout 3". You're definately beating a dead horse over there. Maybe you should educate yourself as to the real reason why old fans didn't like Beth's take? Stop beating the strawman my friend. Added on November 2, 2008, 1:35 pm QUOTE(clayclws @ Nov 2 2008, 01:06 PM) Ok...played it on my friend's PS3. The setting is there, the mood is there, but the mechanics are not quite there. I loved Fallout 1 & 2 as much as I loved Planescape Torment, which is to say, a hell lot. Even Baldur's Gate and Neverwinter Nights could not forged a bond like those games did. SACRILEGE!!!!!! BoS a continuity? You want me to kill you is it? So, this is my perception of Fallout 3: It is a great game...for casual gamers. It is definitely not a classic like Fallout 2. There are many arguments by both hardcore Fallout fans vs Oblivion fans, and I would say they are all spot on. So, you just need to know which side of the fence you are before getting the game. Like Fallout? Maybe you should just get this game for continuity (like BoS). Like Oblivion? Should get this game. This post has been edited by soggie: Nov 2 2008, 01:35 PM |
Nov 2 2008, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(Enclave Recruit @ Nov 2 2008, 01:42 PM) I think I had more fun playing Fallout Tactics than Fallout 3. It had better endings too Can't tell from that. I never got around to finishing Tactics. Lost my enthusiasm when I reached the robots stage with my big ass humvee that refused to budge (BUG ALERT!!!!).Micro Forte > Bethesda |
Nov 2 2008, 01:55 PM
Nov 3 2008, 03:46 PM
"Ohh.... James.... Oh... our baby.... ohhhhh"
MAN I AM GLAD MY "MOM" DIED EARLY!!!!! My god, the voice acting for Catherine is really horrible! And Liam's "I don't give a f***" "one per thousand, two per thousand" CPR sets the bar for bad voice acting too. I got out into the wasteland and that was when things began to look better. Truthfully, the wasteland is amazing. Massive props to Beth's environmental and level designers. Megaton is especially remarkable. Then came the people. The sheriff liked me at first glance, even though I'm playing an evil *******. And god, Burke's voice acting is just so fake! Like a 10 year old trying to be a cool villian and failing big time. Come to think of it, all the dialogues are pretty crappy. Burke's just top the bullshit pile. The combat is okay. VATS is alright, but overpowered. Had to set difficulty to hard to make the world look punishing enough. |
Nov 3 2008, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Nov 3 2008, 05:32 PM) Wait till you get to the next few town. *sarcasm* Spare me the pop culture references. The moment I heard vampires in Arefu I knew something was terribly wrong in the East coast.Also, the game contains some pop culture reference. - a zombie film, a cyberpunk film and a video game's weapon. Anyone can name them all will get a cookie from Ernie the deathclaw. My next stop is Rivet City. I'm going to go there next, and if the game tries to stop me, I'm uninstalling it. |
| Change to: | 0.0475sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:18 AM |