41 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

DFI Infinity 965-S Disscussion, Talk About How to Tweak

Ciku
post Apr 25 2007, 05:16 AM

98 posts

QUOTE([][][][][] @ Apr 25 2007, 03:47 AM)
icic...
but OP650 is way over my budget.
p/s: there must be 8 pin converter just like 6 pin converter for 7 series right.
so i guess this ST56F will do for now.
i just want to power up my rig ASAP and do above average oc but not kaw kaw.
thx for ur opinion.
BTW, what is single or dual rail?
Got many reviews about it, just google. Dont be lazy.
almostthere
post Apr 25 2007, 08:37 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE([)
[][][][],Apr 25 2007, 03:47 AM]icic...
but OP650 is way over my budget.
p/s: there must be 8 pin converter just like 6 pin converter for 7 series right.
so i guess this ST56F will do for now.
i just want to power up my rig ASAP and do above average oc but not kaw kaw.
thx for ur opinion.
BTW, what is single or dual rail?
If I were you, don't even think about using converters. There was a reason why I emphasized using native 24pin + 8 pin PSU's. It's by no mistake my PC is so far the least problematic among the Dark users here. This is because this mobo is very sensitive to voltage stability like all past DFi's great clockers, so therefore you shouldn't even begin to cut cost there. If you're planning to use a mid range GPU, then just get a good server based PSU which has the native connection I mentioned earlier, stable 12v amperage of about 30A's and above. Brands like for example Delta and HEC. I'm using this for example

http://www.cardigan-computer.co.uk/product...atid=40&pid=428

And rails is like voltage lines. Good PSU's have 3 individual rails, particularly +3.3v, +5v and +12v. After that there are PSU's which even have sub rails meaning the +12v would be split down even further meaning there would be +12v1, +12v2, and so on

P.S.: Even if you don't use a G80 GC, plugging in that floppy power connector is a good idea. Made my rig more stable. Last time needed 1.48v like that for my current clocks but now does it at 1.42v with C1e enabled

QUOTE(Ciku @ Apr 25 2007, 05:16 AM)
Got many reviews about it, just google. Dont be lazy.
Coming from a 3 post poster, doesn't this sound like spam?

This post has been edited by almostthere: Apr 25 2007, 08:39 AM
sup3rfly
post Apr 25 2007, 08:55 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

i m quite lucky that i dont have any issue with the Dark...i just put everything in and its boots up correctly.... ppl say it has some issue with D9 rams but so far mine is fine.... the PSU is ok also... btw i m using the FSP epsilon.... its not a dam good PSU but its a quite budget one on that time sweat.gif
SPRINTA
post Apr 25 2007, 10:03 AM

366 posts

Regarding the power recycling thing, I believe you guys still experienced it right ? Whenever I turn on my pc, it will on for 2-3 seconds and then shutdowns itself and on back after that. LoL ~~~ I wonder will there be any fixes for this ? I read from somewhere that the P965 chipset with a revision C2 solves this problem.
sup3rfly
post Apr 25 2007, 10:57 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ Apr 25 2007, 10:03 AM)
Regarding the power recycling thing, I believe you guys still experienced it right ? Whenever I turn on my pc, it will on for 2-3 seconds and then shutdowns itself and on back after that. LoL ~~~ I wonder will there be any fixes for this ? I read from somewhere that the P965 chipset with a revision C2 solves this problem.
it has been answered by sifu almostthere in post #91...here is the quote

QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 23 2007, 09:43 AM)
It's not actually strap recalculating. It's a safe method on ensuring that the BIOS does not get corrupt actually. Those who've frequently OC'ed would realise that too many times in a row changing the clock frequency would lead to some corruption in the BIOS. Sometimes it would mean a cold boot or worse (back when customised BIOS was still in it's infancy) a dead BIOS requiring a hot flash

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Apr 25 2007, 10:58 AM
jy14
post Apr 25 2007, 11:23 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 24 2007, 05:54 PM)
hey the lower vdimm is 1.9v la.... as for the timing did u set it manually?? if u set as auto it will try to set to the most stable value... hope this help >.<
I didn't set anything, just plug in everything, then just boot up like normal, install windows, update stuffs and then ready to roll. Use the Smart Guardian, detected 1.9V for the ram voltage. CHeck with CPU-Z, found the timing to be 4-4-4-12, previously on DS3, it was auto also, running at 5-5-5-15.

So, I was just curious, izzit bcoz DFI has the ability to find the most suitable timing for the RAMs?
sup3rfly
post Apr 25 2007, 11:26 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Apr 25 2007, 11:23 AM)
I didn't set anything, just plug in everything, then just boot up like normal, install windows, update stuffs and then ready to roll. Use the Smart Guardian, detected 1.9V for the ram voltage. CHeck with CPU-Z, found the timing to be 4-4-4-12, previously on DS3, it was auto also, running at 5-5-5-15.

So, I was just curious, izzit bcoz DFI has the ability to find the most suitable timing for the RAMs?
if i m not mistaken when u set them to auto it will find the stable timing for u....for all the mobos...not only this smile.gif

jy14
post Apr 25 2007, 11:28 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 25 2007, 03:16 AM)
SS ST56F is good but not enough juice if u using 8800series and oc your rig kaw kaw later on..

get the new SS OP650. Single rail also. I am using it now. No regret at all.

p.s. its do support the upcoming x29** ATI card too. need 8 pins plug
I agree that the OP650 is worthy for this board, but for beginners, use the SS ST56F first lo, since don't OC too much, bsides, can upgrade later when more DX10 graphic cards options are available.

Added on April 25, 2007, 11:30 am
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 25 2007, 11:26 AM)
if i m not mistaken when u set them to auto it will find the stable timing for u....for all the mobos...not only this smile.gif
Alrite, noted. Means this Dark supports a tighter timing compared to the DS3. Great, its working very well, now i just need some guide on how to reach above 3.5GHz for E6300. I'll post my results later this weekend.

Thanks alot sup3rfly.

This post has been edited by jy14: Apr 25 2007, 11:30 AM
sup3rfly
post Apr 25 2007, 11:36 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Apr 25 2007, 11:28 AM)
I agree that the OP650 is worthy for this board, but for beginners, use the SS ST56F first lo, since don't OC too much, bsides, can upgrade later when more DX10 graphic cards options are available.

Added on April 25, 2007, 11:30 am
Alrite, noted. Means this Dark supports a tighter timing compared to the DS3. Great, its working very well, now i just need some guide on how to reach above 3.5GHz for E6300. I'll post my results later this weekend.

Thanks alot sup3rfly.
tell us what ur settings in bios then we can give some suggestions....
almostthere
post Apr 25 2007, 01:50 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 25 2007, 08:55 AM)
i m quite lucky that i dont have any issue with the Dark...i just put everything in and its boots up correctly.... ppl say it has some issue with D9 rams but so far mine is fine.... the PSU is ok also... btw i m using the FSP epsilon.... its not a dam good PSU but its a quite budget one on that time sweat.gif
FSP alias Fortron's are good man. That was the choice of overclockers during the crazy nForce 2/ BH5 OC days because of it's stability. IF your's is budget then mine leh?

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ Apr 25 2007, 10:03 AM)
I've elaborated in post #91 about it and in fact if you really want to have a fast reboot, there's an option there which is a gamble if you ask me.

QUOTE(jy14 @ Apr 25 2007, 11:23 AM)

the mobo would be able to find the basic boot stable boot settings which is why so many have not faced problems starting theirs up for the first time. Not to mention that the mobo has a very good compromise settinsg wise in terms of latencies vs. bandwidth. But might I suggest that you adjust your advanced timings to take advantage of your RAM. I gained a reasonable increase by adjusting timings TBH

Attached File  mbench4.txt ( 438bytes ) Number of downloads: 10

Majority auto settings

Attached File  mbench.txt ( 438bytes ) Number of downloads: 6

All manually adjusted

NOTE: This is a simple test using the mbench program

This post has been edited by almostthere: Apr 25 2007, 01:51 PM
irenic
post Apr 25 2007, 01:54 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

somehow i must say i'm suprised to see DFI manage to produce a board that is so stable at its early release.. coz previous DFI board always have inmature bios.. great job i can say.. neway anyone try it with quad core proc and test the max fsb u can achieve?
sup3rfly
post Apr 25 2007, 02:12 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 25 2007, 01:50 PM)
FSP alias Fortron's are good man. That was the choice of overclockers during the crazy nForce 2/ BH5 OC days because of it's stability. IF your's is budget then mine leh?
urs is the delta psu rite?? its quite good one la.... summore it shd be server class... >.<

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 25 2007, 01:54 PM)
somehow i must say i'm suprised to see DFI manage to produce a board that is so stable at its early release.. coz previous DFI board always have inmature bios.. great job i can say.. neway anyone try it with quad core proc and test the max fsb u can achieve?
bro gimme ur proc and i will test it for ya brows.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Apr 25 2007, 02:13 PM
almostthere
post Apr 25 2007, 02:27 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 25 2007, 02:12 PM)
urs is the delta psu rite?? its quite good one la.... summore it shd be server class... >.<
Not yet found marny to buy Delta. Want their 600W monsters. Only got a HEC server class now. 460W nia
sup3rfly
post Apr 25 2007, 02:41 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 25 2007, 02:27 PM)
Not yet found marny to buy Delta. Want their 600W monsters. Only got a HEC server class now. 460W nia
wah better bcareful ler... but HEC is a quite reliable one also.... if can later upgrade it ler...PSU can be a murderer to kill ur other hw also smile.gif
[][][][][]
post Apr 25 2007, 03:01 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 25 2007, 08:37 AM)
And rails is like voltage lines. Good PSU's have 3 individual rails, particularly +3.3v, +5v and +12v. After that there are PSU's which even have sub rails meaning the +12v would be split down even further meaning there would be +12v1, +12v2, and so on

P.S.: Even if you don't use a G80 GC, plugging in that floppy power connector is a good idea. Made my rig more stable. Last time needed 1.48v like that for my current clocks but now does it at 1.42v with C1e enabled
the PSU i might buy hav that 8 pin connector.so it is ok right? icon_question.gif
u mean that if the PSU hav single rail,then all the voltage lines are combined?
if i use a mid range gc, is it recommended to plug the floppy connector also?
thx.
irenic
post Apr 25 2007, 03:03 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 25 2007, 02:12 PM)
bro gimme ur proc and i will test it for ya  brows.gif
hehe i love too coz i'm eager to see how this dark side mobo performs with quad c2d.. but now i'm bz wif my works coz got lots of 3d rendering and i need the power of this quad very badly now.. maybe after 2-3 weeks biggrin.gif
almostthere
post Apr 25 2007, 03:21 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 25 2007, 02:41 PM)
wah better bcareful ler... but HEC is a quite reliable one also.... if can later upgrade it ler...PSU can be a murderer to kill ur other hw also smile.gif
Nah, HEC's are damned reliable since last time. And the ripple isn't as bad as some branded PSU's which I shall not name anyway. And since running a 7900GS, more then enough for me

QUOTE([][][][][] @ Apr 25 2007, 03:01 PM)
the PSU i might buy hav that 8 pin connector.so it is ok right?  icon_question.gif
u mean that if the PSU hav single rail,then all the voltage lines are combined?
if i use a mid range gc, is it recommended to plug the floppy connector also?
thx.
Should be as long the amperage are good. Single rail by marketing terms would mean that there would be only one +12v, instead of +12v1, +12v2 and bla bla bla. Good PSU's would have at least the 3.3/5/12v all running on individual rails. It's recommended that at all times the floppy is plugged in for increased stability. My PC now can run at lower voltages due to the increased voltage stability.
[][][][][]
post Apr 25 2007, 03:30 PM

149 posts

orait bro...
thx for the info.
sup3rfly
post Apr 25 2007, 04:03 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 25 2007, 03:03 PM)
hehe i love too coz i'm eager to see how this dark side mobo performs with quad c2d.. but now i'm bz wif my works coz got lots of 3d rendering and i need the power of this quad very badly now.. maybe after 2-3 weeks biggrin.gif
waiting for ur good news man.... icon_rolleyes.gif drool.gif
AceCombat
post Apr 25 2007, 05:23 PM

5,434 posts

wah....i really pening with this mobo la....currently running at 400x9,when i switch to 8x425,(3.4),the pc hang lo.....

41 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1792sec    1.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:27 PM