DFI Infinity 965-S Disscussion, Talk About How to Tweak

irenic
post Apr 22 2007, 01:50 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 22 2007, 12:14 PM)
if u OCed ur proc this confirm happen.... according to ppl the 1st shutdown is due to the "strap re-calculating" then 2nd boot it will be ok liao.... this happens to all the intel chipset based mobo... i m not sure about nvidia tho... its kinda annoying but bare with it tho sweat.gif
sifus correct me if i m wrong about the "strap recalculating" matter....  notworthy.gif
act this happens only to 965chipset ..
irenic
post Apr 23 2007, 03:40 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 22 2007, 06:02 PM)
975 dun have huh.... sean told me got >.<||
it happens to 975 as well la... as my fren's Asus WS Pro also having this problem... prem also encountered the same problem when he review the mobo.... P5W64 WS Pro... its 975 based mobo also la... rclxub.gif
ok.. so should i say it happens to certain 975 board based on certain combination of hardwares, while it happens to every 965chipset no matter what other hardware r u using.

i am using xbx2 which is of coz 975 chipset and before this i used asus p5w dh dlx, both also have no this restart thingy.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Apr 23 2007, 03:46 AM
irenic
post Apr 25 2007, 01:54 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

somehow i must say i'm suprised to see DFI manage to produce a board that is so stable at its early release.. coz previous DFI board always have inmature bios.. great job i can say.. neway anyone try it with quad core proc and test the max fsb u can achieve?
irenic
post Apr 25 2007, 03:03 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 25 2007, 02:12 PM)
urs is the delta psu rite?? its quite good one la.... summore it shd be server class... >.<
bro gimme ur proc and i will test it for ya  brows.gif
hehe i love too coz i'm eager to see how this dark side mobo performs with quad c2d.. but now i'm bz wif my works coz got lots of 3d rendering and i need the power of this quad very badly now.. maybe after 2-3 weeks biggrin.gif
irenic
post Apr 28 2007, 12:57 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Apr 27 2007, 10:48 PM)
wonder does its only DFi have this option??  sweat.gif
no.. Intel XBX2 also got.. it even has setting until 1333 fsb strap..

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 27 2007, 10:50 PM)
Yes  tongue.gif

Huhuhuhu. laugh.gif
do ur research first ok? icon_rolleyes.gif
irenic
post Apr 28 2007, 12:12 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

ocz ddr2 ram is not so overclockable these days.. unlike those old days during ocz rev2 plat samsung tccd chip.. biggrin.gif
irenic
post May 1 2007, 01:22 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ May 1 2007, 11:15 AM)
266:533=1:1
266:667=4:5
266:800=2:3
anyone can explain about y 266:533 is not 1:2 instead of 1:1?
may be ram is double data rate?
actually 266 refers to ur cpu fsb, while 533, 667 and 800 refer to ur ram speed..

why is 266:533 is 1:1 and not 1:2? bcoz intel fsb is times by 4 (266x4 = 1066) .. while ddr is times by 2 (533x2 = 1066)

irenic
post May 30 2007, 03:20 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

hmm i decided to buy another c2d rig as family pc (gaming, surfing, downloading, watching movie, and autocad)

here is what i plan to buy..

intel c2d e6750
dfi infinity 965-s
2x 1gb crucial ballistix pc5300/6400
8800gts / x2900xt ?
thermaltake toughpower 700w (current rig)
coolermaster geminII (current rig)
32" samsung plasma lcd tv

any comment / better idea? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: May 30 2007, 03:23 PM
irenic
post May 30 2007, 06:41 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 30 2007, 04:23 PM)
w0ot??  blush.gif  blush.gif
qx6700 still dont enuff ka??
hint hint.. rolleyes.gif family pc rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 30 2007, 05:29 PM)
i dun think u would like to do autocad on Plasma Tv, resolution very bad.........a 30" DEll would be a better choice
well this already got 1x 19" benq lcd.. just wanna get another 32" coz the price is very cheap now.. biggrin.gif

hmm i prefer the newer 27" dell than the 30".. unsure.gif
irenic
post May 30 2007, 07:51 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 30 2007, 06:49 PM)
Tu e6750, bleh guna ke kat motherboard tu? hmm.gif

Everything is good, except for the GC choice.
I'd rather go for 8800GTS.

Crucial ballistix bulk V3 will start next week, simpan duit dulu beb! laugh.gif
aku tgk ramai gak gune 1333fsb cpu ngan mobo ni kat xs..

erm well i also personally prefer the nvidia due to stability, cheaper price and driver maturity..

QUOTE(coolice @ May 30 2007, 06:52 PM)
@irenic
may i know wat is the reason u choose this infinity as the mobo instead of other board?
1st and the main reason is due to its good performance in terms of stability @ stock and oc speed..

2nd and also very important reason is bcoz of its very cheap price biggrin.gif

irenic
post May 31 2007, 02:47 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ May 30 2007, 08:30 PM)
suggest u get 1066 fsb proc as 1333fsb proc on this board,the performance similar as other support 1333fsb mobo biggrin.gif
but no deny its cheap thumbup.gif
errr what do u mean? i think i wont need to mod anything to use 1333fsb cpu on this board..
and the 1333 cpu is same price like normal 1066fsb cpu.

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 30 2007, 11:16 PM)
aisehh.. damn, read to fast
left out the "family" w0rding..
paisehh.. sweat.gif
27" over 30" yah?? w0nder why.. u have the most unpredictable pers0n in LYn  laugh.gif
haha coz the newer 27" is damn nice lor the looks.. the plasma lcd is actually my dad's idea.. he likes the look of the lcd.. i dont think he likes the 30" dell coz same like my 24" dell..

maybe will try to recommend him either 30" apple or 27" dell (newer one.. not the older model)
irenic
post May 31 2007, 11:27 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ May 31 2007, 08:15 AM)
well Mr. Dark will shine in 1066 FSB proc not 1333....when u use a 1333 FSB cpu on this mobo it will automatically set the strap to 1333 not 1066 anymore.... i think thats what he meant  laugh.gif
haha yeah.. sorry kinda slow today..

so what now.. proceed with e6750 and buy ds3 1333fsb mobo or buy normal 1066 c2d with dark? biggrin.gif

hehe
irenic
post Jun 1 2007, 10:01 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i decided to proceed with e6750 and dark series..dun really care bout optimizing dark potential.. what matters most is it must be fast and stable at stock speed.. coz this pc is going to be used for quite a long time..

irenic
post Jun 9 2007, 07:29 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

424 bios i guess smile.gif

0.0238sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:34 PM