Outline · Standard · [ Linear+ ]

> A 'real fan', How do we become one?

TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 02:40 PM, updated 16y ago

6,112 posts

In light of the fact that some fans look at others as being of the glory-hunting variety and so on, I thought it would be appropriate to get some views on what people perceive as being a hard-core fan. It's not for us to judge or discriminate as everyone has the right to support their club in any manner they see fit. While I admit this, I still find it annoying when fair-weather fans try to put up an argument with weak points.

Let me ask you then, what is your definition of a hard-core fan?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 16 2007, 06:04 PM
34 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > »  
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Replies(320 - 339)
Jonno
post Jan 22 2008, 01:16 AM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 22 2008, 01:14 AM)
Let's bring it on???

The guy's a good comedian, gotta give him that.
Took it right out of me mouth... rclxms.gif
shah_ho_nam
post Jan 22 2008, 01:17 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 22 2008, 01:16 AM)
Took it right out of me mouth...  rclxms.gif
yes i am a joker biggrin.gif
clayclws
post Jan 22 2008, 01:17 AM

2,659 posts

I know for sure my dad had a large influence on what I like. Music, movies, etc. Man Utd was his love, and it flowed in my veins as well as my elder bro's. But his love for England didn't stick with any of us. laugh.gif So, real fans, how did you people get to love your clubs so much anyway? Who started it all? I know Cantona did for many MU fans (his karate kick was the best laugh I had at that time).

Why is it so much harder to love a national team? Cause there's not much influence?
-Y-
post Jan 22 2008, 01:18 AM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 22 2008, 01:14 AM)
Let's bring it on???

The guy's a good comedian, gotta give him that.
than u a no manner guy. just bring the topic. n put ur temper away. be pro here. be pundit.

Added on January 22, 2008, 1:20 am
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 22 2008, 01:17 AM)
I know for sure my dad had a large influence on what I like. Music, movies, etc. Man Utd was his love, and it flowed in my veins as well as my elder bro's. But his love for England didn't stick with any of us.  laugh.gif  So, real fans, how did you people get to love your clubs so much anyway? Who started it all? I know Cantona did for many MU fans (his karate kick was the best laugh I had at that time).

Why is it so much harder to love a national team? Cause there's not much influence?
for me. it s the same. i donno other's.

This post has been edited by -Y-: Jan 22 2008, 01:20 AM
Jonno
post Jan 22 2008, 01:20 AM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 22 2008, 01:18 AM)
than u a no manner guy. just bring the topic. n put ur temper away. be pro here. be pundit.
hmm.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif whistling.gif
clayclws
post Jan 22 2008, 01:20 AM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 22 2008, 01:14 AM)
I didn't represent them in football or futsal, but another sport, Taekwondo. That;s why I'd support them in rugby, cricket, football or saussage tossing contest. Aussie through and through...  flex.gif
Haha~! Most of us represent Malaysia in certain ways (colouring contest not withstanding), but I'm not going to be supporting Malaysia tongue.gif haha~! I'm bad, I know...but heck, I don't see what's there to love about Malaysia's football.
shah_ho_nam
post Jan 22 2008, 01:21 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 22 2008, 01:10 AM)
Instead of posting damn one liners how about you say something ehh?? The last ramble you had exposed you as a fraud, someone who's claims to be a AC Milan and Chelski fan and unsruprisingly not willing to show your allegiance to a particular club should the 2 meet each other. So much for loyalty ehhh?? All that Forza Milan or Chelski forever coming from you are nothing but mere rambles then, no meaning behind them.

As for national teams, not a fan of any in particular really. Do like to watch Argentina play though. But it's just that, like...nothing more than that.
so what u got problem with that mate??? rambles yeah.. that's what u might think. i liner... why .. because it's useless even if i wrote one whole page long 8 para worth of WISE words like you??
these 2 clubs no.. no count 3... u'll easily find another one
madmoz

4,250 posts

Clayclws... you are missing the point methinks. It is never about the players but more about the 'club'. How do we associate ourself with a foreign nation? I.e. we love liverpool as we would like to believe the supporters stick together and the club represents our collective hearts (beh, damn yanks messing up everything) but what of England? What does England mean to me? Nothing much.

What is there to love about the Malaysin Football Team? Loads... once upon a time.
Did you catch the Thomas CUp last year? It was the first time for as long as i can remember that i saw malays and indians cheering on a chinese, and vice versa. Our national team was like that too when i was a little kid. Malaysians of all races trying their best, running their hearts out for US. We weren't all that great, but we were proud. Nowadays, politics has once again muddled the picture and football (and most malaysian sports) has lost its soul - unity.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jan 22 2008, 01:27 AM
-Y-

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 22 2008, 01:20 AM)
hmm.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif  whistling.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif doh.gif

what the heck. childish..
shah_ho_nam
post Jan 22 2008, 01:23 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 22 2008, 01:21 AM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif

what the heck. childish..
that's a WISE man words... be careful
air_mood
post Jan 22 2008, 01:23 AM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 22 2008, 01:18 AM)
i no y b c the kay are or you am guh han. That's pretty much your language, so you should get it right???

The general feeling has been countlessly summarized. And the findings are....

People who support multiple clubs :-

a) have no sense of loyalty
b) have no common sense to know that it doesn't make sense to support 2 teams in the same league
c) are spreading their chances in hoping that one of their club eventually wins so are technically glory hunters

and in some special cases, like yours, are pricks. So now...how do we end this??? Oh yeah....feck off ehhh??? You got another thing coming if think you should be respected for being out and proud with the " Hey world!!!!!!!!! I'm a Milan and Roma fan!!!" So again in conclusion, piss off.
clayclws
post Jan 22 2008, 01:25 AM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 22 2008, 01:21 AM)
Clayclws... you are missing the point methinks. It is never about the players but more about the 'club'. How do we associate ourself with a foreign nation? I.e. we love liverpool as we would like to believe the supporters stick together and the club represents our collective hearts (beh, damn yanks messing up everything) but what of England? What does England mean to me? Nothing much.
Yeah, somehow it's the embodiment of the club that makes one feels that it's worth to be a fan. I do get that. So I guess it's harder for national teams to get anyone to feel that, eh? Hmm....back in my old neighbourhood with a cul-de-sac, we all young ones like to play paper soccer. And guess what, we were so passionate with national teams rather than club. We will quarrel over which country has the best player and history, etc. Or maybe cause there's only two real fans of a club there...me and my bro.

This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 22 2008, 01:27 AM
air_mood
post Jan 22 2008, 01:26 AM

4,150 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Jan 22 2008, 01:21 AM)
so what u got problem with that mate??? rambles yeah.. that's what u might think. i liner... why .. because it's useless even if i wrote one whole page long 8 para worth of WISE words like you??
these 2 clubs no.. no count 3... u'll easily find another one
Rambles again. happy I'm not a Chelski fan. Would be embarassed to have one like onboard. Can't even back your own club in a game because of a supposed affinity with a potential opposition. And to have the cheek to call yourself a Chelski fan.
clayclws
post Jan 22 2008, 01:30 AM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 22 2008, 01:21 AM)
What is there to love about the Malaysian Football Team? Loads... once upon a time.
Did you catch the Thomas Cup last year? It was the first time for as long as i can remember that i saw malays and indians cheering on a chinese, and vice versa. Our national team was like that too when i was a little kid. Malaysians of all races trying their best, running their hearts out for US. We weren't all that great, but we were proud. Nowadays, politics has once again muddled the picture and football (and most malaysian sports) has lost its soul - unity.
Yeah, I guess so. The soul is lost within the sportsmanship of the game. Somehow, the local clan football games back in my hometown are so much fun to watch than our Malaysian league...
shah_ho_nam
post Jan 22 2008, 01:31 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 22 2008, 01:26 AM)
Rambles again. happy I'm not a Chelski fan. Would be embarassed to have one like onboard. Can't even back your own club in a game because of a supposed affinity with a potential opposition. And to have the cheek to call yourself a Chelski fan.
yeah for some.. but i am not as arrogant as you. pushing others. they aren't involved in this.. let them be.. it's your attitude.. why you think u so special? came from rich family where u can buy all those things and with proud went to old trafford. that makes u one big fella here. when saw something slow, something small. all the way u want to squeeze? what's wrong with you??? Man shakehead.gif
air_mood
post Jan 22 2008, 01:38 AM

4,150 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Jan 22 2008, 01:31 AM)
yeah for some.. but i am not as arrogant as you. pushing others. they aren't involved in this.. let them be.. it's your attitude.. why you think u so special? came from rich family where u can buy all those things and with proud went to old trafford. that makes u one big fella here. when saw something slow, something small. all the way u want to squeeze? what's wrong with you??? Man shakehead.gif
Whoever the feck say anything about being rich and going to Old Trafford?? Most in the Man united thread knows I'm a working student paying off my own education. Can't even afford to buy a jersey and I'm supposed to afford things in Manchester where everything is sevenfold compared to our money.

Stop changing the subject to my behaviour. The subject at hand is you're no Chelski fan even though you claim to be one. A fan backs him team thru thick and thin, thru the good and the shits. You on the other hand clearly stated that you'll, in your own words I might add "just sit back and enjoy" if Chelski plays Milan, not willing to show allegiance to either one as you claim to be a fan of both. Division of allegiances. So much for showing support to the team that you claim to support ehh???

-Y-
post Jan 22 2008, 01:40 AM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 22 2008, 01:26 AM)
what the heck wit u boy? omg. we trying to discuss here.

Added on January 22, 2008, 1:42 am
QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 22 2008, 01:38 AM)
Whoever the feck say anything about being rich and going to Old Trafford?? Most in the Man united thread knows I'm a working student paying off my own education. Can't even afford to buy a jersey and I'm supposed to afford things in Manchester where everything is sevenfold compared to our money.

Stop changing the subject to my behaviour. The subject at hand is you're no Chelski fan even though you claim to be one. A fan backs him team thru thick and thin, thru the good and the shits. You on the other hand clearly stated that you'll, in your own words I might add "just sit back and enjoy" if Chelski plays Milan, not willing to show allegiance to either one as you claim to be a fan of both. Division of allegiances. So much for showing support to the team that you claim to support ehh???
whats wrong with 2 clubs? huh? ur lost 1 of ur testical if i like 2 clubs? ur so egomniac. wth!!

Added on January 22, 2008, 1:46 am

u mention there. chelsea n milan. not man u. we r not talking bout 'ur' team. haha. so shut the f**k off man!! whats wrong wit ur attitude? didnt eat properly meh?

This post has been edited by -Y-: Jan 22 2008, 01:48 AM
air_mood
post Jan 22 2008, 01:53 AM

4,150 posts

Meh, I can't believe I wasted my time with this prick. I've already explained time and time again why I think he's a prick and again he's asking why, what's wrong with this, what's wrong with that. Either he's blind or he's ignorant. Very high chance of both. People like this are what's wrong with football today. The ones that taint the support of a team. Have a talk with that Chelski and Milan fan ehh?? you both will work wonders. can probably discuss the magical world of spreading chances of winning, of supporting multiple clubs. We on the other hand will stick by our club thru all the goods and the shits.

Shut the feck off??? Learning up a bit of English wont hurt as well. Might be useful in that illustrious career of yours.

Don't play the "I'm old" card I suggest to you. You certainly don't act like one, sure as hell your brain doesn't work like one.
-Y-
post Jan 22 2008, 01:57 AM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 22 2008, 01:53 AM)
Meh, I can't believe I wasted my time with this prick. I've already explained time and time again why I think he's a prick and again he's asking why, what's wrong with this, what's wrong with that. Either he's blind or he's ignorant. Very high chance of both. People like this are what's wrong with football today. The ones that taint the support of a team. Have a talk with that Chelski and Milan fan ehh?? you both will work wonders. can probably discuss the magical world of spreading chances of winning, of supporting multiple clubs. We on the other hand will stick by our club thru all the goods and the shits.

Shut the feck off??? Learning up a bit of English wont hurt as well. Might be useful in that illustrious career of yours.

Don't play the "I'm old" card I suggest to you. You certainly don't act like one, sure as hell your brain doesn't work like one.
whatever kiddo.

u think u wiser? learn respect others 1st.

sure as hell your brain doesn't work like one
watch ur language boy

This post has been edited by -Y-: Jan 22 2008, 01:59 AM
shah_ho_nam
post Jan 22 2008, 02:01 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

then if you wise enough. tell me how to measure the level of REAL in your definition... who the heck are you telling me that i am not supporting Chelsea. Why i like Milan is not even your matters. They only meet in CL. How do you know i didn't put my faith in Chelsea. For those lalang who ran away when JM got sacked is the THING that u mentioned just now. I might not the same as you who spent all day reading about your real team. I got life to begin with. U might think that it's only your words is better. That guy just log in here. he's telling what is in his heart. why can't u accept it. let it be la.. is it hard for u to accept it.. i got pissed by the way u treat others here. one time i read, it's just some delusions but it counted more than one time.. well Milan and Chelsea is not in the same league... OMG. So wise even Chelsea didn't know how to spell...

Oh ok sorry i tot the real u is about going to Old Trafford..

34 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:29 PM