Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V7, 10th Gen Dream Machine

matmoto5125
post Dec 5 2017, 05:24 PM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(bcteh @ Dec 5 2017, 04:48 PM)
I visited them once. But didn't fix it.

Unless you really sayang ur car just because of a small tiny hole, then go ahead.
I got 4 sizeable door dings. So it was worth it to have it done one shot. biggrin.gif
alvinrenren
post Dec 5 2017, 08:00 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Dec 5 2017, 02:56 PM)
Just visited Dent Repair Malaysia in Puchong earlier to fix few dents on the door. Very professionally done. Recommended if you need to fix minor dents due to other people opened their door too wide.
Not just open door like swat team raid a house style of opening door, I sit inside car personally see once a proton park beside they open bang my car, civic whole car shake.

Sometimes also aunty with specially big bag and lots of keychain drag past your car. Like wolverine scratch your car few lines together de.
Tomtom.
post Dec 5 2017, 09:12 PM

178 posts

Hello guys, my civic coming out soon, maybe next week
(TCP black )
wanna get opinion, should i go modulo package? or buy at any accesories shop. was thinking of getting Ativus or Aerokit ( similar with modulo ).
Sh@rty 5
post Dec 5 2017, 10:37 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Dec 4 2017, 10:54 PM)
anyone using brake lock like locktech? any other good recommendation? thanks.
locktech thumbup.gif done many before on civic
QUOTE(yeewensmc @ Dec 5 2017, 12:44 AM)
Hi Bro, I'm using Newlock by Locktech นิวล็อค บาย ล็อคเทค กล่องส้ม, can remote start the car even when the lock is engaged.

Can't recall is Rm250 or Rm350 with installation.
350 icon_rolleyes.gif
STEALYOURGLORY
post Dec 5 2017, 11:06 PM

77 posts

Hello Guys, wanna ask something.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Whats the different between Rm199 (5Yrs Warranty)tint & rm2k tint..
Hope to get a good explanation from all the sifus!! : biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif|
Except the price difference.. The quality??
Thanks!

This post has been edited by STEALYOURGLORY: Dec 5 2017, 11:08 PM
STEALYOURGLORY
post Dec 5 2017, 11:11 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Kuniang @ Dec 5 2017, 11:07 PM)
The difference is RM 1801
Except the price.. How about the quality??
constant_weight
post Dec 6 2017, 12:00 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Dec 5 2017, 10:43 AM)
Rumour mill says Civic facelift will come out in 2019 in the US, and might come with wet DCT, similar to Civic in China. Take it with a grain of salt of course.
I looked into the patent office submission, this 8 speed DCT is technically not a common DCT. It is neither a conventional AT with with planetary gears.

It is something of its own - Parallel Axes Automatic Transmission with Torque Converter. Patented by Honda, and never use by any other car makers.

In theory, it will not provide the direct shift performance shift feel of the DCT, but it will be more smooth and less mechanically complicated than the planetary gears in conventional AT. Something simple to manufacture and cost effective, but difficult for mortal like me to understand its operation. bangwall.gif

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/7421921.html
http://www.freepatentsonline.com/7421921.pdf

Below is the key features of Honda DCT vs common DCT. I'm still trying to understand how which one is gear 1,2,3 etc, merely figured out the concept for now.

- Honda DCT have the gears like MT.
- It has 3 input shafts and one output shaft.
- It doesn't have dog tooth nor synchronizer, and doesn't use mechatronic to lock the gear to the shaft.
- It use wet clutches to select gear (this replace the mechatronic, and make sense without synchronizer needed).
- So far I calculated 6 clutches from the figures, probably more.
- How it connect the engine crankshaft to the gearbox where the common DCT have clutches? Torque converter!
- I don't know which input shaft the torque converter connected to yet.
- So it does have clutches, but it uses it for different purpose. The clutches sits in common DCT/MT are replaced with torque converter.

Common DCT is sequential, it is slower when you do a double downshift because pre-select doesn't work in the same shaft.
Looks like this thing can jump whatever gears as it wish like magic by flipping the the 6 clutches (6 for now).
My only doubt is the clutch plates likely to be smaller in order to fit so many of them in the gear box casing. Probably max torque it can handle will be limited.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Dec 6 2017, 12:17 AM
constant_weight
post Dec 6 2017, 12:04 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 6 2017, 12:00 AM)
I looked into the patent office submission, this 8 speed DCT is technically not a common DCT. It is neither a conventional AT with with planetary gears.

It is something of its own - Parallel Axes Automatic Transmission with Torque Converter. Patented by Honda, and never use by any other car makers.

In theory, it will not provide the direct shift performance shift feel of the DCT, but it will be more smooth and less mechanically complicated than the planetary gears in conventional AT. Something simple to manufacture and cost effective, but difficult for mortal like me to understand its operation. bangwall.gif
Probably give up for now. Wait until this gear box gets popular and someone make a youtube tutorial. tongue.gif
dares
post Dec 6 2017, 12:28 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 6 2017, 12:00 AM)

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/7421921.html
http://www.freepatentsonline.com/7421921.pdf

Below is the key features of Honda DCT vs common DCT. I'm still trying to understand how which one is gear 1,2,3 etc, merely figured out the concept for now.

- Honda DCT have the gears like MT.
- It has 3 input shafts and one output shaft.
- It doesn't have dog tooth nor synchronizer, and doesn't use mechatronic to lock the gear to the shaft.
- It use wet clutches to select gear (this replace the mechatronic, and make sense without synchronizer needed).
- So far I calculated 6 clutches from the figures, probably more.
- How it connect the engine crankshaft to the gearbox where the common DCT have clutches? Torque converter!
- I don't know which input shaft the torque converter connected to yet.
- So it does have clutches, but it uses it for different purpose. The clutches sits in common DCT/MT are replaced with torque converter.

Common DCT is sequential, it is slower when you do a double downshift because pre-select doesn't work in the same shaft.
Looks like this thing can jump whatever gears as it wish like magic by flipping the the 6 clutches (6 for now).
My only doubt is the clutch plates likely to be smaller in order to fit so many of them in the gear box casing. Probably max torque it can handle will be limited.
Sometimes I feel Honda like to overcomplicate things for very minute gains.

Their fancy DCT and braking system in their iDCD systems come to mind.
JshyanL
post Dec 6 2017, 08:43 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(Tomtom. @ Dec 5 2017, 09:12 PM)
Hello guys, my civic coming out soon, maybe next week
(TCP black )
wanna get opinion, should i go modulo package? or buy at any accesories shop. was thinking of getting Ativus or Aerokit ( similar with modulo ).
1xxx vs 2xxx. Half year warranty vs one year warranty. Random paint job vs Honda paint job. I get it from Honda because I believe their paint will last longer than outside random paint and Honda using water base paint.
cybermaster98
post Dec 6 2017, 09:33 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Nov 30 2017, 09:10 AM)
Must be the battery. Not sure why some car's battery really bad. Mine (touch wood) still going strong after 1.5 years & 23090km. I wonder if the driving conditions is affecting it...

Anyway, you can call Honda HIP or use the Honda App to call for assistance. A team will be dispatched to replace the battery
My wife's 1.8S battery also suddenly kaput 2 weeks ago. No warning at all. HIP came and replaced for almost RM300. They said many cases of Civic battery kong suddenly and quickly.
Newbie838
post Dec 6 2017, 10:57 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Nov 16 2017, 02:27 PM)
Hey guys, I need some input.
Not sure if my gearbox is developing a problem but these past couple of days, it's been behaving weird. It feels almost like a manual gearbox driven by a learner driver where the clutch is released too early when driving off and pressed too late when stopping. It sort of jerks a little bit when coming to a stop or when pressing the accelerator.
Any thoughts?
So, I sent my car in to the SC and as expected, the response was "it's normal". I don't think it is though. It's beginning to happen more often now especially when coming to a stop and I ease off the brakes, the car will jerk forward. The only way I can prevent this is to come to a full stop and continue to hold the pedal a bit.....and no...this isn't the vibrating jerk you feel when brakehold tries to engage. The SC advised to just continue using it until it happens every time, only then it'll be considered an issue.

On another note, does your arm rest shake a bit if you nudge it left to right? Mine feels loose since I got the broken seat clips issue fixed. Reason I'm asking here instead of going to the SC is if it's normal, I really don't want to waste my time.
wkc5657
post Dec 6 2017, 10:58 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Dec 6 2017, 10:57 AM)
So, I sent my car in to the SC and as expected, the response was "it's normal". I don't think it is though. It's beginning to happen more often now especially when coming to a stop and I ease off the brakes, the car will jerk forward. The only way I can prevent this is to come to a full stop and continue to hold the pedal a bit.....and no...this isn't the vibrating jerk you feel when brakehold tries to engage. The SC advised to just continue using it until it happens every time, only then it'll be considered an issue.

Try another service centre.

Maybe...just maybe good for transmission fluid change....

Another wrong CVT fluid fiasco in the making confused.gif

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Dec 6 2017, 10:59 AM
Newbie838
post Dec 6 2017, 02:01 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 6 2017, 10:58 AM)
Try another service centre.

Maybe...just maybe good for transmission fluid change....

Another wrong CVT fluid fiasco in the making  confused.gif
I'm kinda losing hope on Honda SC already. Maybe on the next service I'll try another SC and bring this up.
What's the wrong CVT fluid fiaso?
wkc5657
post Dec 6 2017, 02:18 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Dec 6 2017, 02:01 PM)

What's the wrong CVT fluid fiaso?
taikor dares

Can cerita on this?
Newbie838
post Dec 6 2017, 02:22 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Jack Eye @ Nov 24 2017, 05:07 PM)
Yup, facing the same when going low speed and slow down further. But not very disturbing until i feel need to complaint (for now).
Did you ever get this resolved? I've got the same problem too.
dares
post Dec 6 2017, 02:31 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 6 2017, 02:18 PM)
taikor dares

Can cerita on this?
Lol why ask me? laugh.gif

If you mean the debacle with the Honda City GD8 (turtle shell City) with CVT, the SC salah masuk ATF instead of CVTF into the geabok causing them to konk overtime. Now so many Honda models using CVT, I don't think they are making the same mistakes gua.

Newbie838 mia symptoms can be many factors, need to send to another SC for second opinion.
Newbie838
post Dec 6 2017, 03:02 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Dec 6 2017, 02:31 PM)
Lol why ask me?  laugh.gif

If you mean the debacle with the Honda City GD8 (turtle shell City) with CVT, the SC salah masuk ATF instead of CVTF into the geabok causing them to konk overtime. Now so many Honda models using CVT, I don't think they are making the same mistakes gua.

Newbie838 mia symptoms can be many factors, need to send to another SC for second opinion.
Thanks man. Guess I"ll just have to keep at it until someone finds a solution. Either that or it gets bad enough that the SC can't say it's normal anymore.
wkc5657
post Dec 6 2017, 03:35 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Dec 6 2017, 02:31 PM)
Lol why ask me?  laugh.gif

You more experience into cars and longer in online forums mah...i'm just merely a korean fanboi remember whistling.gif

See, your answer so concise and straight to the point, power of experience flex.gif
STEALYOURGLORY
post Dec 6 2017, 03:44 PM

77 posts

Hello Guys, i would like to own the Honda Civic FC for lifelong like 10 - 15 yrs
So for this, what variant must I choose.. The 1.8 or the Turbocharged Engine??
How about the maintenance for the turbo after 5yrs??

Any of you guys installed the turbo timer for your Civic Turbo??

1091 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:15 PM