Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V7, 10th Gen Dream Machine
M_Shahrul
Jun 12 2020, 05:58 AM
QUOTE(denzel88 @ Jun 11 2020, 08:57 PM) Wow. since the pre 2019 civic back seat cannot be folded, i wonder if the boot method would work. anyway, nowadays I keep seeing posts these guys just walkin through the front door. Many civics and crv got stolen this way. I think everyone should at least get steering lock. Sorry noob question, brother. We can't start the car if we have no f**king Civic KEY, right? What is the point of key if there is no security? Basic logic, owner has the key, only with that key we start the car. P/s: I am not an engineer or whatsoever, hence, a noob question. This post has been edited by M_Shahrul: Jun 12 2020, 06:01 AM
celciuz
Jun 12 2020, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(M_Shahrul @ Jun 12 2020, 05:58 AM) Sorry noob question, brother. We can't start the car if we have no f**king Civic KEY, right? What is the point of key if there is no security? Basic logic, owner has the key, only with that key we start the car. P/s: I am not an engineer or whatsoever, hence, a noob question. Makes it harder for the average joe, but seems now average joe can break through the security.
donald88
Jun 12 2020, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(emefbiemef @ Jun 11 2020, 11:12 PM) Do it The Transporter style Enter correct code only then the car can start I remember Toyota implement this before
donald88
Jun 12 2020, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Jun 11 2020, 11:16 PM) Almost any car accessories shop will have it
denzel88
Jun 12 2020, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(M_Shahrul @ Jun 12 2020, 05:58 AM) Sorry noob question, brother. We can't start the car if we have no f**king Civic KEY, right? What is the point of key if there is no security? Basic logic, owner has the key, only with that key we start the car. P/s: I am not an engineer or whatsoever, hence, a noob question. most of the time they will clone ur key code by capturing its signal a distance away. ur car would think the clone as the real key. Not sure if theres a new hacking method today but this is the most common way to hack into keyless entry car the industry is aware off This post has been edited by denzel88: Jun 12 2020, 09:24 AM
mzack1104
Jun 12 2020, 09:50 AM

Gps tracker anyone? Thinking to get 1 🤔
celciuz
Jun 12 2020, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(denzel88 @ Jun 12 2020, 09:23 AM) most of the time they will clone ur key code by capturing its signal a distance away. ur car would think the clone as the real key. Not sure if theres a new hacking method today but this is the most common way to hack into keyless entry car the industry is aware off  Clone is a bit high tech I guess, by capturing the encrypted code then able to guess the back number is well a challenge. I think more common ones are them amplifying the signal, then unlocking the car. Saw few videos where car is parked outside of the house, then with the keys nearby they amplify the signal and was able to start the car engine.
berann
Jun 12 2020, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(mzack1104 @ Jun 12 2020, 09:50 AM) Gps tracker anyone? Thinking to get 1 🤔 I still think that pedal/steering lock is a better choice. At least the thief when see pedal lock or steering lock then they just move away and target another civic few meters away.. since civic FC is everywhere.. With GPS tracker they wont know and proceed to steal your car then the hassle start where u have to report police, track your car location and look for the thief etc... Offcourse if with pedal/steering lock + GPS tracking the best
ZzZzz...
Jun 12 2020, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(berann @ Jun 12 2020, 10:02 AM) I still think that pedal/steering lock is a better choice. At least the thief when see pedal lock or steering lock then they just move away and target another civic few meters away.. since civic FC is everywhere.. With GPS tracker they wont know and proceed to steal your car then the hassle start where u have to report police, track your car location and look for the thief etc... Offcourse if with pedal/steering lock + GPS tracking the best  ya, pedal/ steering lock is cheaper too....if they feel troublesome, they will move on to another easy target anyhow, if they die die want steal, no matter how strong ur security, they still will steal it
celciuz
Jun 12 2020, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jun 12 2020, 10:04 AM) ya, pedal/ steering lock is cheaper too....if they feel troublesome, they will move on to another easy target anyhow, if they die die want steal, no matter how strong ur security, they still will steal it I prefer steering lock, it is obvious. They see it and move on to another Civic. If kaki one maybe they try to break in, only see the kaki... either they give up or they mati2 want they can still disable it.
SackBoy
Jun 12 2020, 10:39 AM
To top up on the thief tech, like our car we no longer have a physical 'key' but instead it was replace by a FOB, beacon. Simple way to understand how it works is that the beacon always transmit signal, and the our car is the receiver. The beacon will always change its encrypted content and transmit and only the genuine transmitter will be acknowledge by the receiver, each car has its own unique pairing, that is why when receiving the car from SA they tell you to not lose the 'code' present in either written in a paper or a tag sticker(remember don't give the code away, that's how u get your car stolen). So this way, if anyone by simply clone your signal doesn't work, because it is ever changing pattern. However if one can relay the source signal and repeat it until the destination then it would work. Let's say u stay at landed area and normally you put your car key near the entrance of the house, it is easy to the thief to repeat the signal because the source is near by.
From what i know in recent stolen cases, normally it is done by syndicate which themselves are armed with signal jammer, meaning even if you install any tracker that runs on signal transmission it will be non-effective. Could be hoax to believe it is a syndicate work but might hold some truth stealing a car might be easy but how do one dispose the car, afaik the car is taken apart as spare parts and sell it. One of the example i see is the fk8 ones, car stolen in kepong, police failed to chase it down, months after the car part surface in johor selling at mudah, they didn't even border to remove the owner's decal.
(From what i know lah, feel free to trash me if i'm wrong - learning mah)
celciuz
Jun 12 2020, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(SackBoy @ Jun 12 2020, 10:39 AM) To top up on the thief tech, like our car we no longer have a physical 'key' but instead it was replace by a FOB, beacon. Simple way to understand how it works is that the beacon always transmit signal, and the our car is the receiver. The beacon will always change its encrypted content and transmit and only the genuine transmitter will be acknowledge by the receiver, each car has its own unique pairing, that is why when receiving the car from SA they tell you to not lose the 'code' present in either written in a paper or a tag sticker(remember don't give the code away, that's how u get your car stolen). So this way, if anyone by simply clone your signal doesn't work, because it is ever changing pattern. However if one can relay the source signal and repeat it until the destination then it would work. Let's say u stay at landed area and normally you put your car key near the entrance of the house, it is easy to the thief to repeat the signal because the source is near by. From what i know in recent stolen cases, normally it is done by syndicate which themselves are armed with signal jammer, meaning even if you install any tracker that runs on signal transmission it will be non-effective. Could be hoax to believe it is a syndicate work but might hold some truth stealing a car might be easy but how do one dispose the car, afaik the car is taken apart as spare parts and sell it. One of the example i see is the fk8 ones, car stolen in kepong, police failed to chase it down, months after the car part surface in johor selling at mudah, they didn't even border to remove the owner's decal. (From what i know lah, feel free to trash me if i'm wrong - learning mah) FK8R spare parts can sell more than the car itself probably
nders
Jun 12 2020, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(leewaihoe @ Jun 11 2020, 09:48 PM) Hey dude. I had this issue when I was driving my FD2. Normally just have to wiggle your gear around while starting the car. I learned to live with it for 4 years. Sometimes it doesn’t even detect any gears, when is when I pull up the flap above the gearbox and push in with a screwdriver to release the lock. Sorry I don’t have pics anymore, but I hope this was helpful. Thanks for the info mate.
ace4828
Jun 12 2020, 06:01 PM

My civic was stolen jan 2019. No steering lock no pedal lock.
bristlebb
Jun 12 2020, 07:11 PM
any civic ketam owner looking for car floor mat? i got 1 new set pls pm me tq
rapple
Jun 12 2020, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(bristlebb @ Jun 12 2020, 07:11 PM) any civic ketam owner looking for car floor mat? i got 1 new set pls pm me tq This thread is not for you to sell stuff.
Jun 13 2020, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(rapple @ Jun 12 2020, 09:56 PM) This thread is not for you to sell stuff. ive seen some people (myself included) post some extra items then buyer/seller moved to PM to finalize the sale though.
thesnake
Jun 13 2020, 09:16 AM
has the new pricing after the SST cut out yet? interested to know the discounts for the TCP version
neuromancerx
Jun 13 2020, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(bristlebb @ Jun 12 2020, 07:11 PM) any civic ketam owner looking for car floor mat? i got 1 new set pls pm me tq Thanks. PMed u.
Mumu911
Jun 14 2020, 09:05 AM
Guys, can suggest which coating brand to go for?