54 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

neuromancerx
post Apr 8 2019, 10:20 AM

879 posts

i fully agreed with all the negative feedback above. HW spec wise it's very good, plenty of RAM and good CPU horse power.

Experienced these issues:
1. IGMP proxy disabled, causing hypptv to disconnect once the router changed WAN ip or rebooted.
2. Sometime the router did not survive reboot. It just stucked at power on mode, have to manually cut the power and reconnect it. Whenever i rebooted the router remotely or reboot after apply new firmware, i just crossed my finger.
3. Poor heat dissipation.

Will not recommend.
SzeMeng76
post Apr 8 2019, 10:47 AM

2,318 posts

Purchase in Dec2018.
So far don't have poor experience as above. (#touchwood)
Since day 1 usage already attached with fan provided.
My router come with the fan together in package.
TSJayceOoi
post Apr 8 2019, 11:28 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Sad to see poor heat dissipation issue. Just wondering, is there any local unit facing this issue too? Or just China unit?
jimbet1337
post Apr 8 2019, 12:06 PM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Apr 8 2019, 11:28 AM)
Sad to see poor heat dissipation issue. Just wondering, is there any local unit facing this issue too? Or just China unit?
Mine is local unit. 3 months old. First month without fan (cpu 80-82degC) & after fans install, getting cpu temp around 54-56degC.

During no fan period, I experienced LAN disconnection once in awhile during high load. Not long, around 40secs to 1min then connection comes back. Maybe thermal cut-off.
tom_k3nt
post Apr 9 2019, 10:26 AM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Apr 8 2019, 12:06 PM)
Mine is local unit. 3 months old. First month without fan (cpu 80-82degC) & after fans install, getting cpu temp around 54-56degC.

During no fan period, I experienced LAN disconnection once in awhile during high load. Not long, around 40secs to 1min then connection comes back. Maybe thermal cut-off.
Same as mine! but mine China unit. Now install with 2 fan... No more disconnection issue any more....
I truly think fan is needed for the router... When heavy load... it is really warm...
jimbet1337
post Apr 9 2019, 01:20 PM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Apr 9 2019, 10:26 AM)
Same as mine! but mine China unit. Now install with 2 fan... No more disconnection issue any more....
I truly think fan is needed for the router... When heavy load... it is really warm...
Yeah bro. Can't believe need to take care of this router until to such extent lol.
neuromancerx
post Apr 20 2019, 10:04 PM

879 posts

is snmp removed from the latest asuswrt merlin? couldn't find the snmp option
zgnd
post Apr 22 2019, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(graphidz @ Dec 21 2018, 11:48 PM)
What a coincidence! Mine today suddenly got this issue. Earlier I tried to connect with my iPhone. It detected the wifi ssid but it said "incorrect password" which is very weird. So I turned off and turned the router back on only to discover this

Did this work again for you? Will try again tomorrow see if it somehow magically worked again sigh...
Hi Guys,

mine happen the samething LAN4 light up only... it suddenly become like that...
any clue what is happening?
TSJayceOoi
post Apr 22 2019, 03:24 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(zgnd @ Apr 22 2019, 01:17 PM)
Hi Guys,

Hai... Another hardware failure I believe. Try factory reset see. console.gif
graphidz
post Apr 23 2019, 01:30 AM

F.A.T.E
1,411 posts

QUOTE(zgnd @ Apr 22 2019, 01:17 PM)
Hi Guys,

Can't connect through wifi or lan? Try reset but most probably it's dead
zgnd
post Apr 23 2019, 03:50 PM

QUOTE(graphidz @ Apr 23 2019, 01:30 AM)
Can't connect through wifi or lan? Try reset but most probably it's dead
Tested both reset and 30-30-30 WPS reset also not working sad.gif
Manage to contact Taobao and will have to send back seller at China.
Anyone send back to China for claiming warraty?
graphidz
post Apr 23 2019, 04:11 PM

F.A.T.E
1,411 posts

QUOTE(zgnd @ Apr 23 2019, 03:50 PM)
Ouch. That's not going to be good. I was fortunate enough to have bought from a very good local seller so he helped me a lot. Good luck with your warranty
zgnd
post Apr 23 2019, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(graphidz @ Apr 23 2019, 04:11 PM)
Ouch. That's not going to be good. I was fortunate enough to have bought from a very good local seller so he helped me a lot. Good luck with your warranty
I will pray hard for that. Hope i got a new set back! icon_rolleyes.gif
Nando's
post Apr 24 2019, 12:10 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(zgnd @ Apr 23 2019, 04:33 PM)
I will pray hard for that. Hope i got a new set back! icon_rolleyes.gif
So you send back to China already? If yes, mind to share the procedure, just for reference biggrin.gif
llk
post Apr 25 2019, 01:20 AM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(zgnd @ Apr 23 2019, 03:50 PM)
I would say sending back to China is nightmare, my friend tried to send back to China twice (thought to try different courier company), unfortunately both also got hold by China customs and required seller to present certain documentation where seller said they can't provided, at the end the router got returned back to Malaysia, wasted more than RM200 shipping charges. Last month he got a trip to China then only managed to send back to seller via local courier company there, now still waiting for RMA from Asus China.
lyc1982
post Apr 25 2019, 03:37 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 25 2019, 01:20 AM)
I would say sending back to China is nightmare, my friend tried to send back to China twice (thought to try different courier company), unfortunately both also got hold by China customs and required seller to present certain documentation where seller said they can't provided, at the end the router got returned back to Malaysia, wasted more than RM200 shipping charges. Last month he got a trip to China then only managed to send back to seller via local courier company there, now still waiting for RMA from Asus China.
did you friend declare the item on the consignment note prior to sending ?
SzeMeng76
post Apr 25 2019, 04:10 PM

2,318 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 25 2019, 01:20 AM)
Maybe you should try those logistic company rather than pure courier company.
They have few option for shipment.
We shall choose Electronic sensitive air shipment, so that I wont hold by custom.

https://cbi-express.com/index.php?route=inf...&warehouse_id=9

This post has been edited by SzeMeng76: Apr 25 2019, 04:11 PM
llk
post Apr 25 2019, 04:20 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Apr 25 2019, 03:37 PM)
did you friend declare the item on the consignment note prior to sending ?
He declare it as faulty router to be RMA.
llk
post Apr 25 2019, 04:30 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(SzeMeng76 @ Apr 25 2019, 04:10 PM)
Maybe you should try those logistic company rather than pure courier company.
They have few option for shipment.
We shall choose Electronic sensitive air shipment, so that I wont hold by custom.

https://cbi-express.com/index.php?route=inf...&warehouse_id=9
Thanks for your info. Since my friend will go China again soon so i will just ask him helping me send my router (which also having connection problem for 2.4ghz) to the China seller.
Diademz
post Apr 26 2019, 08:00 PM

Folding@Malaysia needs you!
1,246 posts

Dayum, also thinking of getting this router to replace my trust 68u, primarily because of AES-NI support. Already running USB cooling fans on my 68u - can those that are still using this router confirm this fixes the intermittent issues?

54 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:31 PM