Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

tom_k3nt
post Mar 22 2019, 12:24 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

My pana TV having problem with this router (latest firmware). Need to on and off awhile before it work.
tom_k3nt
post Mar 24 2019, 10:32 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

Hi guys, I have this intermittent problem where the red light come out from the router and no connection. This is the log. Any 1 can advise?

The last like 2 to 3 mins and 3verything back to normal again.

(Updates)
Notice the cable connecting the modem to router is the culprit. I have to adjust on router port. The red light just go immediately and work as usual. I suspect bad contact point.

This post has been edited by tom_k3nt: Mar 25 2019, 11:41 PM
tom_k3nt
post Mar 30 2019, 10:43 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

Pretty sure need a fan for heavy usage.

I realise when my 3 HDTVs running on Netflix & Evpad and more than 8 wireless devices connected to the router simutaneously. It is rather hot and sometimes it throttle performance.

I temporary use a USB fan to blow on it. It works flawlessly. Waiting for my cooling fan to arrive and will advise again.

tom_k3nt
post Apr 9 2019, 10:26 AM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Apr 8 2019, 12:06 PM)
Mine is local unit. 3 months old. First month without fan (cpu 80-82degC) & after fans install, getting cpu temp around 54-56degC.

During no fan period, I experienced LAN disconnection once in awhile during high load. Not long, around 40secs to 1min then connection comes back. Maybe thermal cut-off.
Same as mine! but mine China unit. Now install with 2 fan... No more disconnection issue any more....
I truly think fan is needed for the router... When heavy load... it is really warm...
tom_k3nt
post Jun 9 2020, 01:37 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

Dear all, been using 86u merlin for awhile. Am thinking to flash it back to Asus own firmware.

Question 1: Just download official firmware from Asus and upload/flash it back to the router right? It will overwrite the merlin firmware right? Just need to be sure as i dun 1 to brick it.

Question 2: Am thinking either to buy China set of AC5300 or Malaysia set Ac68u twin set to use Aimesh with my current Ac86u. Please advise any compatible issue with both my choice? Ac5300 China set got issue or not? Both is option is around RM800 - RM1k.

Please guide me. TQ
tom_k3nt
post Jun 10 2020, 08:45 AM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Jun 9 2020, 10:13 PM)
Can u aimesh routers from different regions? Heard different views about this but never did proper research..worth for u to dig more into this.
Err... macam not so make sense. Will read more on this... If this is true, then left me with the option of China set Ac5300 doh.gif

0.0406sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:48 PM