AMD official price, effective 9th april 2007

edwin3210
post Apr 9 2007, 11:56 PM

lll
808 posts

QUOTE(Visionew @ Apr 9 2007, 11:41 PM)
Come 22nd April, you can get the lowest priced (but able to overclocked to 3.2 GHz) Intel C2D, E4300, at around RM400. For addtional RM120, it is a far better buy than AMD Dual Core. (Okay, I have not take into account motherboard price here).
sorry, u are comparing the new intel price RM400 vs old K8 price (RM280 of brisbane 3600 x2), i can bet i can get it RM265 now. it may drop to RM245 after 9 april.
dblooi
post Apr 9 2007, 11:58 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(linux11 @ Apr 9 2007, 11:49 PM)
E4300 x9 multiplier, to get 3.2GHz, you will need 350MHz FSB, meaning a really good 965 motherboard.

just for reference, reported brisbane x2 3600+ OC. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/425572/+80
dai ko E4300 mana ade x9 multiplier ? sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSlinux11
post Apr 10 2007, 12:14 AM

104 posts

E4300 spec'ed 1.8GHz, FSB 200MHz, so it's 9x multiplier.. something wrong?

http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SL9TB

Hyde`fK
post Apr 10 2007, 12:19 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

E4300 is 9x multiplier. Nothing wrong, just that it not have Virtualization Technology only.
empire23
post Apr 10 2007, 12:52 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Apr 9 2007, 10:14 PM)
Why AMD price cut doesn't interest me at all?
Same here, just not that enthusiastic about AMD tongue.gif
Panda
post Apr 10 2007, 01:05 AM

360 posts

The processor price is getting lower and lower... but the other hardware parts like memory, motherboard, power supply and graphic card are still very expensive.... bleh....
to be honest the other hardware parts are even more expensive than the processors....
jy14
post Apr 10 2007, 01:52 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

For S939, currently I know there's still some 3200+ but it cost the same as a new AM2 X2 3800+, I think better to go for the new AM2.

For those guys interested in getting the new tech from AMD, surely u can wait, but if through initial test proved the new AMD processors are up to par with C2D, then the new processor will be priced much higher too.

By then, when u compare product range, the AM2 will compete against the Pentium D, while the new AMD processors will compete against C2D. In price point, the AM2 is still cheaper than other Pentium D. I don't know the price for the new AMD processor, but should b similarly priced to the C2D too.

AlsoE4300 is more suited for gaming, not on multitasking. Am2 allows multitask in a breeze, especially when u've OC it.
atzn
post Apr 10 2007, 02:57 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Apr 9 2007, 06:52 PM)
AlsoE4300 is more suited for gaming, not on multitasking. Am2 allows multitask in a breeze, especially when u've OC it.
Why is that so? You're aware that the E4300 is just a "chopped down" version of the E6300 (Half the cache, no VT and 800MHz FSB), right? You do realise that the E4300 is also very highly overclockable because of its 9x multiplier, right?

I'm not saying that the AM2 is bad or anything. The AM2 chips are good value for money and offer solid performance. But the E4300, a dual core chip, is not suitable for multitasking but more suitable for gaming??? That's something new. laugh.gif
toughnut
post Apr 10 2007, 08:19 AM

3,239 posts

i still eying on intel price cut. the c2d seem better for OC. amd really make a good move to cut their price. this will make intel revise their coming price cut biggrin.gif

this price war finally push dual core price lower than rm300. imagine 1GB stick of ram same price or higher than dual core proc ohmy.gif
i can smell quad core coming soon, in my pc tongue.gif

pirateguy
post Apr 10 2007, 09:34 AM

1,409 posts

I was looking forward to April 22 and now this happens. More confusion!
xixo_12
post Apr 10 2007, 09:48 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 10 2007, 08:19 AM)
i still eying on intel price cut. the c2d seem better for OC. amd really make a good move to cut their price. this will make intel revise their coming price cut biggrin.gif

this price war finally push dual core price lower than rm300. imagine 1GB stick of ram same price or higher than dual core proc ohmy.gif
i can smell quad core coming soon, in my pc tongue.gif
so many $$ ha?? leh blanje me..haha
pohpiah
post Apr 10 2007, 09:52 AM

201 posts

AM2 X2 is really good enough for I would say 100% of what regular folk do with their PC, like when you surf the web, play music, watch movie and then maybe do spreasheet or even photoshop or games, majority of the time you will have spare cycles, means processor not fully utilized.

For those not sure AMD is good enough, and where $$ is factor, just examine what you do with your PC mojority of the time, if its largely simple stuff like mentioned, then forget it, just get AMD you will have power to spare, then can put what you saved in other areas of your rig.

If you are into hardcore anything, gaming, 3D development, pro photoshopping, just a fast processor does not make a fast machine, sure it goes a long way, but you could put that extra budget into fast memory, graphic card, motherboard and so on, or just buy a new pair of pants!
LExus65
post Apr 10 2007, 06:15 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah now i dunno weather to wait for my RMA or straight buy a new pc liao..............

so cheap the processor, RM1k can get u a nice setup already
shinzhizu
post Apr 10 2007, 08:55 PM

1,298 posts

so when the amd x2 processor will drop in malaysia?
TSlinux11
post Apr 10 2007, 09:20 PM

104 posts

The pricing of X2 cpu at LYP is quite competitive, but seems like majority still 90nm parts. (RM265 3600+ listed as 2GHz, meaning 90nm parts) Not sure if easy to find retail 65nm parts.

There is a bulk for X2 3600+ brisbane at the bulk section.
PowerSlide
post Apr 10 2007, 09:31 PM

----------
6,035 posts

if u dun hav alot bucks to spend cheap x2 is good buy..clock it like mad n hav fun..

got the mooney get c2d..simple as tat..
Chanwsan
post Apr 10 2007, 09:55 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

wow, now i can even fit a 4400+ in my budjet. smile.gif just go n saw thundermatch pricelist, 4400+ same price with 4200+ shocking.gif i certainly hope that i can get a 4400+ with less then rm300 by june biggrin.gif

@ATi_FANBOY: is this good enuf? sry about juz now

This post has been edited by Chanwsan: Apr 10 2007, 10:46 PM
ATi_FANBOY
post Apr 10 2007, 10:17 PM

181 posts

price cuts = GOOD

spam posts = BAD
budakcomel
post Apr 11 2007, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(jcliew @ Apr 9 2007, 09:45 PM)
juz make things simple
budget = AMD
performance = intel
that's all smile.gif

I DON'T AGREE AMD (BUDGET) AND INTEL (PERFORMANCE).
I HAVE USED ATHLON XP 2000+ (1.6GZ) AND PENTIUM 4 2GZ, IT SEEMS THAT ATHLON IS FASTER THAN PENTIUM IN MANY APPLICATIONS ESP. VIDEO EDITING.

ALSO, I HAVE USED ATHLON 64 3000+ (1.8 GZ) AND PENTIUM 4 3GZ, ATHLON 3000+ IS MUCH FASTER. ONLY, IT GETS HOTTER FAST. SO BUY GOOD FAN FOR THE CASING.

This post has been edited by budakcomel: Apr 11 2007, 01:49 PM
ikanayam
post Apr 11 2007, 01:53 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

Yeah, you're about 2 years behind the times too. Newsflash: Pentium 4 is history.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0216sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:26 PM