Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion
tiewgine8039
Sep 5 2017, 08:58 AM

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Sep 5 2017, 08:15 AM) Anyway, I keep heard the 'clark clark'- sound, any idea on which part faulty? is that possible the crank loosen? Last week i heard the similar sound when i turn the paddle, found out that my crank bolt loosen. (square tapered, not hollow type) dont know how the hell that can happen. You may check this.
weikee
Sep 5 2017, 09:08 AM
After riding for maybe total of 40-50km, now feel like the Cassette 9 speed not enough  Any recommendation for upgrade on Verge D9, think is using Shimano Acera
laputa83
Sep 5 2017, 09:36 AM
Thanks a lot Etigge, seem like the XDS K3 is more than enough for us now. =) QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 5 2017, 08:14 AM) The XDS K3 looks good. They do build solid frames but because of human's chase for branding, they are not popular compared to the Terns or Dahons. The XDS K3 is more than enough for the job that you described. Like I said, if branding is not an issue, or the size of the fold isn't, it is more than enough. BUT ! If you, one day will to join a biking group, riding here and there weekly, that's where the problem comes in. This is a big IF lah! Peer pressure will make you want to change bikes, not the performance of the bike or the quality but usually it is the peer pressure! 
gck
Sep 5 2017, 09:38 AM
I think you need new 56t crank... QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 5 2017, 09:08 AM) After riding for maybe total of 40-50km, now feel like the Cassette 9 speed not enough  Any recommendation for upgrade on Verge D9, think is using Shimano Acera 
gck
Sep 5 2017, 09:39 AM
if you pedalling then got sound it could be pedal or Bottom Braket. If no pedal but rolling got sound it could be hub or brakes. if not moving also got sound, run fast, it is ghost month now. QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Sep 5 2017, 08:15 AM) Anyway, I keep heard the 'clark clark'- sound, any idea on which part faulty?
gck
Sep 5 2017, 10:48 AM
I am pulling trigger for one soon..16" too cute to resist! QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 5 2017, 10:23 AM) happy tuesday everyone!  
weikee
Sep 5 2017, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(gck @ Sep 5 2017, 09:38 AM) I think you need new 56t crank... 56t, hmm maybe is good upgrade. is this going to be from China / CNC version? as I don't see Shimano having his much "teeth"
gck
Sep 5 2017, 10:59 AM
taobao got plenty of choice...it is a good upgrade if you need more speed. QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 5 2017, 10:56 AM) 56t, hmm maybe is good upgrade. is this going to be from China / CNC version? as I don't see Shimano having his much "teeth"
azamunekurone
Sep 5 2017, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(gck @ Sep 5 2017, 10:48 AM) I am pulling trigger for one soon..16" too cute to resist! and what is ur choice bro?fnhon?
gck
Sep 5 2017, 03:18 PM
sudah kena fnhon racun........ QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 5 2017, 03:01 PM) and what is ur choice bro?fnhon?
etigge
Sep 5 2017, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Sep 5 2017, 08:58 AM) is that possible the crank loosen? Last week i heard the similar sound when i turn the paddle, found out that my crank bolt loosen. (square tapered, not hollow type) dont know how the hell that can happen. You may check this.  Square tapered cranks and BB, they are actually very torque critical when tighten. Last time, I did not have a torque wrench and instinct made me lock tighter and when once over doing, gone. When you enlarge the taper square hole on the cranks, it will loosen a bit after hard pedalling and that's when the clak-clak clak sound comes. I need to carry a number 10 allen key last time as a precaution.
etigge
Sep 5 2017, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 5 2017, 10:56 AM) 56t, hmm maybe is good upgrade. is this going to be from China / CNC version? as I don't see Shimano having his much "teeth" Just buy the 55T or 56T chainring from BBS and then change it. See if the existing chain can accommodate. If cannot , tukar lagi.
azamunekurone
Sep 5 2017, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(gck @ Sep 5 2017, 03:18 PM) sudah kena fnhon racun........ i bought part by part and took quite some time to complete it. well, if u had money u can buy all at once. but buying slowly u didnt feel u loose so much money  here some pix of 349 vs 451
weikee
Sep 5 2017, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 5 2017, 03:29 PM) Just buy the 55T or 56T chainring from BBS and then change it. See if the existing chain can accommodate. If cannot , tukar lagi. Think need to change the chain too. Will explore.
tiewgine8039
Sep 5 2017, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 5 2017, 03:25 PM) Square tapered cranks and BB, they are actually very torque critical when tighten. Last time, I did not have a torque wrench and instinct made me lock tighter and when once over doing, gone. When you enlarge the taper square hole on the cranks, it will loosen a bit after hard pedalling and that's when the clak-clak clak sound comes. I need to carry a number 10 allen key last time as a precaution. hmm... never know that. how much price can get for a torque wrench? maybe good to invest one
KenC
Sep 5 2017, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 5 2017, 09:08 AM) After riding for maybe total of 40-50km, now feel like the CassetteĀ 9 speed not enough  Any recommendation for upgrade on Verge D9, think is using Shimano Acera  Not enough to climb hill or not enough to go down hill or not enough fast for flat? In all 3 cases, changing to double or triple chainring would help a lot. If it's just not enough to climb, changing to bigger cassette will do. This post has been edited by KenC: Sep 5 2017, 07:11 PM
weikee
Sep 5 2017, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(KenC @ Sep 5 2017, 06:59 PM) Not enough to climb hill or not enough to go down hill or not enough fast for flat? Climb hill and fast straight road.
KenC
Sep 5 2017, 07:13 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 5 2017, 07:02 PM) Climb hill and fast straight road. Double or triple chainring. Will get you sorted out. What is your current chainring and Cassatte size? How many gear step up and down you think you lack. This post has been edited by KenC: Sep 5 2017, 07:14 PM
weikee
Sep 5 2017, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(KenC @ Sep 5 2017, 07:13 PM) Double or triple chainring. Will get you sorted out. What is your current chainring and Cassatte size? How many gear step up and down you think you lack. Tern Verge D9, is 11-36T, 9 spd