26 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

soonwai
post Nov 29 2017, 07:01 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 29 2017, 06:52 PM)
What you mean is bad for health or?? If 5 GHz, are you using 40 or 80 MHz?
No lah, bad because it causes a lot of interference with other people's wifi and your own too. It's not just wifi, cheaper/older cordless phones, microwave ovens, wireless mouse, bluetooth all using the same 2.4Ghz band. Next time try this, do a Speedtest while standing next to your microwave and you'll see immediate drop in speed when the magnetron is on.

5Ghz: I set to auto for now since the spectrum is much larger.
soonwai
post Nov 29 2017, 07:13 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 29 2017, 06:50 PM)
Amen brother  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Amen indeed! nod.gif

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 29 2017, 06:54 PM)
Bad for their wireless stability and not health. Wireless does not impact health. I am sure soonwai is using 40 MHz.
Forgot about stability, yes very true, 20Mhz more stable, less wifi disconnections. I just use Auto or 40/80 for 5GHz at the moment. The only time I need really high speeds is when doing stuff over my LAN. That's where the 5GHz really shines. Also another thing about 5GHz is that it's easily blocked or reduced (attenuated) by a wall so it doesn't affect other people that much.
soonwai
post Nov 29 2017, 07:39 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 29 2017, 07:17 PM)
Never mind, I set back 2.4 GHz @ 40 MHz & 5 GHz @ 80 MHz, if not my WiFi unable to achieve the max speed.  unsure.gif
Just do whatever's best for you. If not much interference in your place then, definitely, you'll get better speeds with 40MHz.

What kind of speed difference do you get with 2.4GHz 20Mhz and 40Mhz?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 29 2017, 07:39 PM
soonwai
post Nov 29 2017, 10:33 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 29 2017, 07:50 PM)
I'm testing with my S3 (In front my router); My results always different, & there's a huge difference for me.

2.4 GHz @ 20 MHz - 10 Mbps
2.4 GHz @ 40 MHz - 30 Mbps

My PC using MT7612U; (FYI, I use 5 GHz only & disable 2.4 GHz)

2.4 GHz @ 20MHz & 5 GHz @ 40 MHz - 8x Mbps (Max)

Tested 10 times, so far 1 time I'd achieved 10x Mbps & as for upload is pretty constant 51.x Mbps, but 80 MHz I'm able to get 52.x almost 80-90% testing. (Maybe margin of error)
S3 = Samsung Galaxy S3? If it is, let me try here. Just happen to have one in my drawer, charging now.
soonwai
post Nov 29 2017, 11:00 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 29 2017, 09:44 PM)
fed up with 2.4GHz not giving me consistent speedtest results...

tried with 5GHz with iphone 7+:
[attachmentid=9391335]
But that ping?!? High ping usually indicates interference but that shouldn't be at 5GHz. What wifi router?

iPhone 6s 5GHz AC & DIR-868L
soonwai
post Nov 30 2017, 12:29 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 30 2017, 12:10 AM)
the stock router provided by tm since 30Mbps plan...
yea...shitty ping right ?
when it was 30 and 50Mbps...the ping was around 30-ish

i am noob on IT...any way to solve this ?
Model of the router? Your location and the location of the Speedtest server? 60+ is really high unless you're physically far away from the server.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 30 2017, 12:31 AM
soonwai
post Nov 30 2017, 12:44 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 29 2017, 07:50 PM)
I'm testing with my S3 (In front my router); My results always different, & there's a huge difference for me.

2.4 GHz @ 20 MHz - 10 Mbps
2.4 GHz @ 40 MHz - 30 Mbps

My PC using MT7612U; (FYI, I use 5 GHz only & disable 2.4 GHz)

2.4 GHz @ 20MHz & 5 GHz @ 40 MHz - 8x Mbps (Max)

Tested 10 times, so far 1 time I'd achieved 10x Mbps & as for upload is pretty constant 51.x Mbps, but 80 MHz I'm able to get 52.x almost 80-90% testing. (Maybe margin of error)
Just did a quick test with my Samsung S3. Same DIR-868L AP as my previous tests. The Samsung is single chain so max theoretical speed is 72 mbps.

Samsung S3 2.4GHz N 20MHz Channel Width (Link speed: 72mbps)

Is your wifi router mode set to 802.11N ?
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 02:33 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(darkueki @ Dec 1 2017, 12:17 PM)
First one 2.4,second one 5Ghz
What device? That also makes a difference.

iPhone 6s. AP: DIR-868L

2.4GHz N 20MHz channel width (Link: 144 mbps)

5 GHz AC (Link: 702 mbps)

Samsung S3
2.4GHz N 20MHz Channel Width (Link speed: 72mbps)

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 1 2017, 02:35 PM
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 02:37 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(dman @ Dec 1 2017, 02:36 PM)
So u all experience frequent DC from the unifi router?

Sometimes there seems to be no line or load super slow.

If yes is there any way to overcome it?
Fine here but what router? wifi DC or the internet DC?
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 02:40 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(darkueki @ Dec 1 2017, 02:37 PM)
DIR650L, using redmi note 3 and iPad mini 2, iPad even more slow .
Maybe interference, can't do much about that.

This is my DIR-615, the white-orange one.

WiFi router: DLink DIR-615 (2.4Ghz power set to 12.5%)

iPhone 6s 2.4Ghz N 20MHz Channel Width

MacBook Pro Retina 13" with Cliptec 100mbps Ethernet USB adaptor
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 02:48 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(darkueki @ Dec 1 2017, 02:43 PM)
Ok,so DLINK 650L capable to support 100Mbps right.
No idea, never heard of or used that one before but if DIR-615 can almost reach 100mbps, I think the DIR-650L also can.
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 02:56 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 1 2017, 10:53 AM)
Tomorrow is the day. rclxm9.gif They called me yesterday again to confirm the details.
Has your speed been upgraded yet?
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 03:41 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 1 2017, 03:17 PM)
does the hypptv and its controller can be exchange for free?
as last month I just renew my contract by subscribing the bonanza 30mbps package
just now tried to turn it on, it won't work
*tried other socket, lan cable, AAA battery and hdmi cable also same doh.gif
If you just renewed contract then can because 1-yr warranty also renewed.
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 06:20 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(winterx001 @ Dec 1 2017, 05:37 PM)
Can I know what router they are giving for the 100mbps plan? did they change the modem as well?
The one that they gave me and immediately took away vmad.gif was a TP-Link "Coffeemaker" C1200.
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 06:39 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(toffy @ Dec 1 2017, 06:27 PM)
Does it look like a coffeemaker?
Oh no, not at all. It's nicknamed as such because when it reboots, it gives you just enough time to make a cup of Nescafe.
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 07:22 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 1 2017, 07:15 PM)
Anyone switched from Maxis Fibre recently to Unifi Bonanza 30MBPS @ RM139 for first 24 months? (ancient package: RM125 per month incl. GST for 10MBPS)

Initially was tempted to just upgrade via Maxis (RM139 also and renews contract, applicable for first 24 month only) but seems like it may make more sense to take Unifi Bonanza for the additional perks / less parties involved.

Although to be fair I never really had issue with Maxis and was able to get myself a Public IP assigned. Is Unifi still assigning Public IP or they have switched to issuing Private IP by default?
Unifi still giving out public IPv4s and their IPv6 also more or less work alright.
soonwai
post Dec 1 2017, 07:35 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(twL @ Dec 1 2017, 06:42 PM)
Haha, at first I tot as long as the router is TP-Link, then will be good enough, last time my bro get the grey color one, but very unstable...
QUOTE(toffy @ Dec 1 2017, 06:43 PM)
Lol.

I read that if we upgrade the firmware from it's default version, the rebooting time is faster, but after the bad experience I had with the dustbin can, I am not going to upgrade it.

Btw, you had only one line item in your unifi dashboard for 'Promo Discount Perpetual' right?
Does it apply to both the Promo Discount RM150 and UniFi Special Discount RM50?
Yeah, the latest firmware helps a lot, I think it reduces the boot time from 5 to 3.5 mins. But to be fair, it's OK after it's up and running. I should be getting one soon so will do more tests with it. So far I've only been using the C1200 at one of the local coffee shops.
soonwai
post Dec 2 2017, 12:09 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(shirogane @ Dec 2 2017, 11:46 AM)
My only concern is my dashboard is not showing UniFi Special Discount RM50
QUOTE(brianklc @ Dec 2 2017, 11:50 AM)
Mine also RM150 only, I think wait till 1st month bill thn see. If it’s RM189 thn not important...btw, ur speed test using 5g?
Just wait for the bill to come out and then call them if necessary. I had my mine upgraded last week one day before my billing date. The next day I saw that the amount due was RM256.35 when it should have been closer to RM200.34. Gave them a call and they confirmed that I'm short a discount of RM50. Report was made and 3 days later it was adjusted to RM192.75. Less than I expected, not sure why.
soonwai
post Dec 2 2017, 02:07 PM

11,458 posts

Finally my installation is done. (After Monday's installation snafu.)

The TM contractors came today at 1pm, passed me the new Huawei HG8240H BTU and the TPLink C1200 and had me sign the service order form. Didn't even come into the house, just asked me if I'm OK to plug everything in myself. Sure, no problem. The BTU was already configured and working when they first came on Monday.

Didn't take the old router nor the old black BTU. Actually I already had the old BTU replaced with a new one last week on a different technical report not related to the RM10 upgrade. So now I have 2 brand new Huawei HG8240s. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 2 2017, 02:12 PM
soonwai
post Dec 2 2017, 03:26 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Dec 2 2017, 03:19 PM)
Anyone using ZTE ZXHN H267A V1.0 experience 0kbps upload problem during upload test using Android phones? So far haven encounter issues when sending out large files thru WhatsApp and other apps although having 0 upload speed and hit error but any impact? Meanwhile upload test using http://testmy.net/upload with Android phone able to get upload speed, speedtest using PC is fine.
I think turning off ipv6 might help.

26 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.2823sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:06 PM