What's your monthly expenses

Ramjade
post Jul 30 2018, 01:53 PM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jul 30 2018, 01:33 PM)
And i'm sitting infront of laptop scratching my head to do calculation, where can I get RM10 include parking + fuel + movie ticket in cinema,especially at night.
The below is best example for single person ticket.
Come come I teach you.
Movie ticket you don't buy weekends la. Weekends they jack up price.
Some shopping mall RM1/entry (not count by hours). Some got commercial parking opposite/near mall where got lots of kopitiam. Park your car there. Free parking after 5pm. Walk a bit la. doh.gif
Always always pack a bottle of water with you when you go for movie so that you don't end up buying over price soft drink.
Always always eat something before going for movie. Make yours some bread or eat dinner straight.

After movies go home straight, no need to linger in mall around. The longer one linger n mall, the more tendency he/she will spend on first get food.

If you are staying 10-20mins away from the mall, your petrol cost is practically neglible for small car. If big car then devil.gif

Use credit card for your movie ticket. Some offers like rebate RM2 off, some offer like free ticket with purchase so you drag your friend along and split the bill. devil.gif
cfkoon
post Jul 30 2018, 03:17 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 30 2018, 11:06 AM)
Be frugal.
KV use umobile cukup. RM30/month with 7.5GB Internet,  free 30 min talks. And I am not even in KV.

Car get 2nd hand car. In the range of RM10k can get already. Who asks one to buy super fuel Sucking car?  Kancil,  kelisa  viva, axia are all super fuel saving car. Siapa ask to buy Honda or Toyota first hand. Even if buy a brand new 1st hand car. Buying big car only only cause misery.
1) higher petrol
2) higher taxes
3) higher price
Small car RM30/month cukup. I am living proof as my car only use RM30/month.

Breakfast drink fruit/vege juice eat drink oats. Super filling and healthy. Makan just pack your own food. Scramble egg/tuna in wholemeal bread. Makan also makan at economy rice stall. I pack my own lunch and dinner to work. RM300 for my makan which include groceries.

Do you even need pocket money? I don't. My excess goes into my savings/investment chest. I don't need anymore savings as I have already build up my emergency savings and they can last for min 2 years worth of expenses.

CNY only once a year.  If you have saved enough,  CNY won't be big issue.

Clubbing is ownself find fault. Easily can burn RM200 there. All alcohols and why should I burn money to prison myself slowly when the money burned for clubbing can be used to buy healthier food or make more money. Is clubbing really needed? 

This time of day, you don't need movie nights out. If you need movies night out,  how much do you spend?  I only pay for parking + fuel + movie ticket. That's it. About RM10 total.  Nothing more. No popcorn, no pepsi/coke. Again I am not paying money to prison myself.

My income tax and EPF is already deducted from my salary. Have no say in it. But what I do is make sure to claim back what is mine. Make sure my income tax is lowered hence claim some money back from govt. So many legal ways to reduce income tax.

Do you need yearly medical checkup? If you go clubbing, poisoning one with Malaysian food, then yes. If you choose to go for min 70% fruits and vege diet, then not needed. Majority of medical conditions in malaysia can be prevented by change in lifestyle and spending. Diabetes, hypertension,  stroke, heart attack kidney problems are all a result of poor healthy lifestyle.

Again is that overseas trip really important?  Can you survive if you never go for one? Is been years since I actually go on a trip. Imagine if you can save RM3k/trip. For 10years you don't go,  there's already RM30k saved up.

If you have no money, there's no need to act like you are rich. If you are rich, do you need to scale your lifestyle up and give in to lifestyle inflation? Lifestyle inflation (the desire to spend more with increasing salary)  is what's trapping middle class people. If salary naik, you think other things won't naik? Come back to square one.

You don't need high salary. You just need to know how to save and be frugal. Cutting out things from one's lifestyle is hard as it requires sacrifice. Not many people can sacrifice things. You don't get something if you don't give up something.
Right attitude towards frugality and savings for the future.

But abit extreme on some of the things. Feels abit miserable to want to save on every single thing.

Medical checkup should be a priority. No one can predict the human body even if you eat healthy everyday.

For trips , if you are the kind of person who don't derive enjoyment from going holidays, yeah sure just skip it. However in life, trips are one of the life's enjoyment, it allows you to experience other's culture n lifestyle. The advice should be to holiday based on your budget. Fly during non-peak season, stay airbnb or travel lodges, go with friends and share expenses. Travel is much cheaper these days.

At the end of the day, money is just money. Your life isnt just to work, save then die. Its work, save, enjoy, live.
cfkoon
post Jul 30 2018, 03:17 PM

228 posts

double post.

This post has been edited by cfkoon: Jul 30 2018, 03:19 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 30 2018, 03:29 PM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(cfkoon @ Jul 30 2018, 03:17 PM)
Right attitude towards frugality and savings for the future.

But abit extreme on some of the things. Feels abit miserable to want to save on every single thing.

Medical checkup should be a priority. No one can predict the human body even if you eat healthy everyday.

For trips , if you are the kind of person who don't derive enjoyment from going holidays, yeah sure just skip it. However in life, trips are one of the life's enjoyment, it allows you to experience other's culture n lifestyle. The advice should be to holiday based on your budget. Fly during non-peak season, stay airbnb or travel lodges, go with friends and share expenses. Travel is much cheaper these days.

At the end of the day, money is just money. Your life isnt just to work, save then die. Its work, save, enjoy, live.
For me my principle is very simple. Live way way below your means. Don't deprive yourself. Find ways to have enjoy food or life but still stick to first principle of being frugal.

If income were to increase, stay with old current lifestyle. Don't get trap via inflation lifestyle.

Lastly try not to give banks free money.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 30 2018, 03:30 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 30 2018, 08:33 PM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(razorknight @ Jul 30 2018, 08:03 PM)
we have hear a few opinion on saving money and being frugal.... although i cant agree to all of it and it do not seems logical as well...

its just what the chinese call blow water....

but anyhow, savings is savings.... even if u save 100% of ur salary ... it will still be the limit of ur salary....

medical check up .... most youngster will skip this as they are young strong and do not think medical is important.... but it is important...

anyhow...hope more people can share on their monthly expenses with breakdowns...
Yes limit of your salary. But if you have no money, how are you going to generate more money or buy house? You still need a base to start of. Many people don't realised the power of savings and brush it off. Every single sens adds up even if is small amount.

Read the below articles to know about power of saving.
https://stestocksinvestingjourney.blogspot....-of-saving.html
http://investmentmoats.com/wealth-building...your-net-worth/
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot....ive-income.html
https://www.mr-stingy.com/earn-little-why-save-money/amp/

Saving money is difficult as you cannot spend it. It takes effort, discipline and sacrifice. Spending is easier hence many choose to spend rather than save.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 30 2018, 08:35 PM
monkeyrangers
post Jul 30 2018, 11:25 PM

17 posts

i wonder how many ppl actually save money...... most of my friends only talk about saving money to travel or buy a City/Vios rather than Myvi

This post has been edited by monkeyrangers: Jul 30 2018, 11:26 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 30 2018, 11:51 PM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(monkeyrangers @ Jul 30 2018, 11:25 PM)
i wonder how many ppl actually save money...... most of my friends only talk about saving money to travel or buy a City/Vios rather than Myvi
Don't need to mind about whether others are saving or not. If they are good for them. If not, prey for them. If everyone like prudent and frugal lifestyle, economy will be in serious shit as no one want to spend. devil.gif devil.gif

The real question you should be asking, am I saving enough? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 30 2018, 11:52 PM
OPT
post Jul 31 2018, 04:03 AM

Wee wang wang
2,065 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 30 2018, 01:53 PM)
The below is best example for single person ticket.
Come come I teach you.
Movie ticket you don't buy weekends la. Weekends they jack up price.
Some shopping mall RM1/entry (not count by hours). Some got commercial parking opposite/near mall where got lots of kopitiam. Park your car there. Free parking after 5pm. Walk a bit la.  doh.gif
Always always pack a bottle of water with you when you go for movie so that you don't end up buying over price soft drink.
Always always eat something before going for movie. Make yours some bread or eat dinner straight.

After movies go home straight,  no need to linger in mall around. The longer one linger n mall,  the more tendency he/she will spend on first get food.

If you are staying 10-20mins away from the mall, your petrol cost is practically neglible for small car. If big car then devil.gif

Use credit card for your movie ticket. Some offers like rebate RM2 off, some offer like free ticket with purchase so you drag your friend along and split the bill. devil.gif
Like this can get amoi or not?
cynthusc
post Jul 31 2018, 08:09 AM

503 posts

Most important is live within your means. If you earn 2K then don't spend 2.5K. If you earn much higher then you can ease the purse strings a little. Saving for the sake of saving is useless. Have clear goals on why you are saving. Whether its to retire early, to start up own buainess, to go for that holiday you want etc. Saving mindlessly and dying with millions of cash in the bank but never having enjoyed the fruits of your labour is really a sad state of affairs. Personally I have many 'funds' that I contribute to. Holiday fund, retirement fund, medical fund etc. These funds change as I grow older and as my income changes. When my income was below 5K my holiday fund was not a priority. Now that I earn 6 figures a year, I can contribute to my many funds

Use money as a tool don't be a slave to it: hoarding money or constantly chasing it to maintain an unrealistic YOLO lifestyle are all signs that you are a slave to money.

This post has been edited by cynthusc: Jul 31 2018, 08:13 AM
Michael_Light
post Jul 31 2018, 08:33 AM

473 posts

I allocate about 30% of my salary to saving and investment, balancing goes to parents, food, insurance, transport, entertainment etc. For me saving is always a good practice but i cant imagine my life of being calculative on every spending. Personally i will always buy some popcorns or chicken nuggets plus drink when entering cinema which cost around RM20 -30. Everyone priority is different, some people happy seeing their bank balance grows while some happy eating good food, some needs to travel abroad few times a year. As long as you spending your money on what amkes you happy thats the most important for me. smile.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jul 31 2018, 08:35 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Jul 31 2018, 08:09 AM)
Most important is live within your means. If you earn 2K then don't spend 2.5K. If you earn much higher then you can ease the purse strings a little. Saving for the sake of saving is useless. Have clear goals on why you are saving. Whether its to retire early, to start up own buainess, to go for that holiday you want etc. Saving mindlessly and dying with millions of cash in the bank but never having enjoyed the fruits of your labour is really a sad state of affairs. Personally I have many 'funds' that I contribute to. Holiday fund, retirement fund, medical fund etc. These funds change as I grow older and as my income changes. When my income was below 5K my holiday fund was not a priority. Now that I earn 6 figures a year, I can contribute to my many funds

Use money as a tool don't be a slave to it: hoarding money or constantly chasing it to maintain an unrealistic YOLO lifestyle are all signs that you are a slave to money.
thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif wub.gif

I kay poh abit ....
and also be realistic with the PERCENTAGE of amount you can try to save.....with your current income....
the higher your income the more PERCENTAGE one can save
the lesser your income the lesser PERCENTAGE one can save
(the little PERCENTAGE of monthly saving from higher income group when converted to monetary value at times could be more than then the yearly income of another income group)

there is a limit to frugal, spend lesser, use lesser ideology...for it is easier said than be able to actually practised....especially on lowest income group.
Variant between family or single, family with kid(s) or none, wealthy family roots or none, spouse working too, pass exposure to lifestyle environment, etc, etc also plays a very important parts to the PERCENTAGE of one can save.
And the total of this PERCENTAGE in the end; plays a big part in providing the type of retirement lifestyle one destined to have.

Remember: Try to have fun while you are at any stage of income or life with friends or family members........for many may find that the memories of these funs can be comforting while dying in the sick bed.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 31 2018, 09:48 AM

Attached image(s)
wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2018, 08:38 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

i find it funny..
some says frugality = blow water, all money = salary only, this cannot, that cannot..
that's right - keep to that reality while the rest keeps getting wealthier by "sowing the seeds and not eating it all".

yeah, some seed doesnt grow to be plants/trees - so what? keep sowing - the odds are in the producers' favour, not the consumer.

my reality is:
1. lost more than 50% of my net worth 10-11 years back due to a bad choice in partner

2. lost $ here & there throughout that time till now due to lending to relatives +other stupid stuff.

3. BUT i kept on saving & investing, hunting for value/opportunities +kept tracking, working & tweaking plans where necessary +saving from a miserable 3% to 5% of my net active income to my target of >=20%, preferably 1/3 or better.

10 years after the "personal devastation", i've more than dug myself out, even with additional responsibilities (caring for extra lives). Like what Cynthusc stated - if U have goals/reasons, U can definitely focus & save/grow financial resources for those.

Apologies for the wall of text - really beh tahan seeing posts from supposed professionals having such blur vision and kept on going this/that cannot be, blow water, this that.. Ramjade may be over-board a bit la BUT if i knew better when i was his age, i'd do the same for awhile too, then after hitting certain goals, keep costs as a % of active income.

PS: Before professional naysayers starts on them having family, parents, dogs, cats, gerbils, etc costs
+that i must be a biz person or earning 5-6 figures pm,
sorry to burst your "excuse-isities buffer" - i've kids, parents, dogs, donates to charities automatically, iKuli to my employer (1 leg kick) thus net active income is waaaaay lower than some $20K+/- folks, etc. brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 31 2018, 08:55 AM
meonkutu11
post Jul 31 2018, 09:57 AM

1,597 posts

...more you earn, more you can save,
more you earn, more you can leverage...By Mark Chua
wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2018, 10:19 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(razorknight @ Jul 31 2018, 09:26 AM)
wah... with so many points to share,

mind sharing ur monthly expenses here with detail breakdown? after all, the topic tittle read as such!

perhaps one can also include the following points

single / married? how many heads expenses?
bought own house? type of property
how many kids you have?
kids school fees / tuition fee?
need to take care parents? how many heads?
living in parents house?
no car loans? what type of car?
no buy insurance? for how many heads

all talk no details = blow water lor....like this and like that teory also useless....

one can google all teory on savings and copy paste here as post ma but all these also not realistic also...

only with detail breakdown n numbers then we can share the truth,

cause in todays world, number talks not teory only....

all teory in the world also uselss if one dun put numbers into it when it comes to expenses and budgeting.

anyone mind sharing?
U do know i'm NOT hiding behind a login pseudo-name right? Thus in detailed $ is asking for trouble.
Theories? U wish heheh - sorry, no excuses to hide behind.

As a % of ACTIVE INCOME (like what YKLooi suggested):
Necessities: 55%+/- (depending on when insurance payments hit). Note my mortgage is 0% or near 0% - flexi mortgage with prepayments
Optional Education: Self & kids 10%
Fun / Feel Good: Self, love ones + team members 10%
Savings for buffer & investments: 20%+ (depending on when insurance payments hit) (excluding EPF)
Gifting / Charities: 5%

If there are windfalls like yearly bonuses, i save for buffer & investing, on average, 50% with minimum 20% of the windfall. As for passive income, 100% re-invested/kept for investing. Running life like good biz - cash flow planning, liquidity ratios, debt/equity ratios, ROE pa tracking, etc.
Funny huh - what's good for a biz's "management cockpit" is good for personal financials too wink.gif

single / married? how many heads expenses? Married & more than 4 heads to provide for
bought own house? type of property - own
how many kids you have? more than 0
kids school fees / tuition fee? foreign + local currency cost
need to take care parents? how many heads? yes, spouse's & mine
living in parents house? i wish..
no car loans? what type of car? 1 loan but "self-funded" - ie. the $ for the car is in investments paying more pa than the loan's effective rate pa., 2 cars
no buy insurance? for how many heads - more than 4 heads' medical, just my death insurances

Bottom line, i've set up insurances trust +testamentary trust to ensure my kids dont get bad spending habits if i kaput too early to keep guiding them till they are more than able to stand by themselves. Thus, theories? Naw, it's executable - just how hungry one is to reach them goals. Again, back to priorities, like what most of us (Cynt, YKLooi, Ramjade, etc.) have been sharing.

There's no right/wrong - just what we prioritize, NOT lalaland theories nor avoidance of possibilities. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 31 2018, 10:28 AM
cfkoon
post Jul 31 2018, 12:07 PM

228 posts

Expenses

Car Loan - 6.3k/month
Food - 2k/month
Personal expense - 2k/month
Petrol - Free
Travel - 2k/month (average)
Insurance - None, actually need but lazy to get so far
Housing - Stay with mum , house paid up
Married - About to? no kids

For discussions.

prophetjul
post Jul 31 2018, 03:19 PM

12,279 posts

Monthly Expenses- Generally

Wife 5k includes Food and Stuff
Own expenses 3k

House loan 3.5k

Shop loan 2k

Car Loan 1.4k
Fuel 200
Fuel, Maintenance 400

Insurance 1200
Medical Company
My Car Company

wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2018, 04:19 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(razorknight @ Jul 31 2018, 04:07 PM)
i doubt wong mun keong is your real name.... u put ur ic here than i treat u as real name la, else u are also using a nick name ... and talk about hiding.... you rather type 55%  than 3k or 5k.... dunno who is more takut to hide???

i think u are those young chap whom just want to post with not much points la....

house morgage is RM 0 .... parents buy house for u lor....

anyway mature people talk based on facts and dun kutuk kutuk people.... this whole forum full of people with nick name and there is nothing wrong with that...

prove me wrong if u can breakdown ur monthly expenses in RM amount and not % ..... but i doubt you are able to la.... if can breakdown, awal also breakdown liao lor....

you say your mortagage rm 0 with remorgage n what banking product.... really a no brainer as pinjam duit from bank liao no need to payback issit?

u say yearly windfall means something not confirm punya lor.... how can u included something not confirm into ur budget..... striking the lottery also can be yearly windfall .... same as bonus, its not something owe to you....

To included windfall into ur budget is something not very reliable.... doubt u know any financial planning....

breakdown your monthly expenses in RM ammount as many has done lor.... else ma blow water lor.....
"house morgage is RM 0 .... parents buy house for u lor.... "
"you say your mortagage rm 0 with remorgage n what banking product.... really a no brainer as pinjam duit from bank liao no need to payback issit? "
er.. U do know about flexi mortgage, that one can pump in prepayments which can be taken out anytime for investments or opportunities?
and how it works in terms of daily rest interest on outstanding?

"u say yearly windfall means something not confirm punya lor.... how can u included something not confirm into ur budget..... striking the lottery also can be yearly windfall .... same as bonus, its not something owe to you...."
er.. in English, IF.. see the the if there's windfall - it's called planning for good & bad contingencies.

yes, of course i kutuk U everywhere right?
yes, i do not know anything about financial planning based on your methodologies. brows.gif
sigh.. kutuk pulak..

OPT
post Jul 31 2018, 08:17 PM

Wee wang wang
2,065 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 31 2018, 10:19 AM)
U do know i'm NOT hiding behind a login pseudo-name right? Thus in detailed $ is asking for trouble.
Theories? U wish heheh - sorry, no excuses to hide behind.

As a % of ACTIVE INCOME (like what YKLooi suggested):
Necessities: 55%+/- (depending on when insurance payments hit). Note my mortgage is 0% or near 0% - flexi mortgage with prepayments
Optional Education: Self & kids 10%
Fun / Feel Good: Self, love ones + team members 10%
Savings for buffer & investments: 20%+ (depending on when insurance payments hit) (excluding EPF)
Gifting / Charities: 5%

If there are windfalls like yearly bonuses, i save for buffer & investing, on average, 50% with minimum 20% of the windfall. As for passive income, 100% re-invested/kept for investing. Running life like good biz - cash flow planning, liquidity ratios, debt/equity ratios, ROE pa tracking, etc.
Funny huh - what's good for a biz's "management cockpit" is good for personal financials too wink.gif

single / married? how many heads expenses? Married & more than 4 heads to provide for
bought own house? type of property - own
how many kids you have? more than 0
kids school fees / tuition fee? foreign + local currency cost
need to take care parents? how many heads? yes, spouse's & mine
living in parents house? i wish..
no car loans? what type of car? 1 loan but "self-funded" - ie. the $ for the car is in investments paying more pa than the loan's effective rate pa., 2 cars
no buy insurance? for how many heads - more than 4 heads' medical, just my death insurances

Bottom line, i've set up insurances trust +testamentary trust to ensure my kids dont get bad spending habits if i kaput too early to keep guiding them till they are more than able to stand by themselves. Thus, theories? Naw, it's executable - just how hungry one is to reach them goals. Again, back to priorities, like what most of us (Cynt, YKLooi, Ramjade, etc.) have been sharing.

There's no right/wrong - just what we prioritize, NOT lalaland theories nor avoidance of possibilities. notworthy.gif
Side track a bit...what is testamentary trust?

PM me thumbsup.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2018, 08:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Jul 31 2018, 08:17 PM)
Side track a bit...what is testamentary trust?

PM me  thumbsup.gif
lazy heheh
copy & pasted from googled https://kclau.com/estate-planning/how-to-us...ones-and-asset/
Types of Trust

There are three kinds of Trust. Let me start with the Living Trust and continue with the Testamentary Trust. Living Trust is the person still alive, the asset is under the person’s name and he/she setup a Living Trust. During his/her lifetime, he/she need to transfer the assets that he/she currently owns to the Trustee name. But for Testamentary Trust, when the person is still alive, the asset is under the person’s name. When the person is dead and gone, the asset is still under the deceased name until the probate is granted and the debts and income tax are cleared, then the Testamentary Trust will only be started.

In simple terms:
1. i die
2. My Will creates the Trust & certain assets in my Estate goes into the trust to be managed as per my written instructions to the Trustee, for the benefit of my beneficiaries (and charities).
3. reach a certain amount left, dibubarkan
OR reach 80 years, dibubarkan coz when i set it up, max "lifespan" of such trust = 80 years.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 31 2018, 08:56 PM
OPT
post Jul 31 2018, 09:29 PM

Wee wang wang
2,065 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 31 2018, 08:32 PM)
lazy heheh
copy & pasted from googled https://kclau.com/estate-planning/how-to-us...ones-and-asset/
Types of Trust

There are three kinds of Trust. Let me start with the Living Trust and continue with the Testamentary Trust. Living Trust is the person still alive, the asset is under the person’s name and he/she setup a Living Trust. During his/her lifetime, he/she need to transfer the assets that he/she currently owns to the Trustee name. But for Testamentary Trust, when the person is still alive, the asset is under the person’s name. When the person is dead and gone, the asset is still under the deceased name until the probate is granted and the debts and income tax are cleared, then the Testamentary Trust will only be started.

In simple terms:
1. i die
2. My Will creates the Trust & certain assets in my Estate goes into the trust to be managed as per my written instructions to the Trustee, for the benefit of my beneficiaries (and charities).
3. reach a certain amount left, dibubarkan
OR reach 80 years, dibubarkan coz when i set it up, max "lifespan" of such trust = 80 years.
thumbsup.gif

Now back to topic tongue.gif

32 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0402sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:33 AM