post Nov 4 2018, 10:47 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Nov 3 2018, 07:04 PM)
Yes aiming to do at roof. However developer most likely wont opt for this
well, if you ask me, it doesnt look nice or even aesthetically pleasing,

and you can even see the membrane from ground floor since you need to have overlap over the beams and ledges

you can try waterproofing paint first and see if it solves the problem

http://koyachemicals.com/prodetail.Service...3fb1010&active=

or you can also try pouring a layer of cementitious slurry like the one from sika

for both application, please apply it using correct method, which is basically clean surface, prime it then paint it over and dont forget to overlap the parapet edges too
crusher
post Nov 4 2018, 05:14 PM

1,345 posts

I've engaged with few contractors.

torch membrane to be done on whole roof concrete slab

or

torch membrane + hacking on edges to be done particularly on the leakage part

which are the correct way? kinda confused when different contractor tells me different advises.
Richard
post Nov 4 2018, 05:38 PM

1,083 posts

Don't forget to check that there is a slope for the water runs to fall

The worse situation there is no slope and discover water ponding
crusher
post Nov 4 2018, 07:19 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Nov 4 2018, 05:38 PM)
Don't forget to check that there is a slope for the water runs to fall

The worse situation there is no slope and  discover water ponding
water ponding after torch membrane?
Richard
post Nov 4 2018, 07:33 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Nov 4 2018, 07:19 PM)
water ponding after torch membrane?
I mean the slope for water on the concrete roof. I have seen completed concrete roof with water ponding issues just because the contractor didn't bother to make sure the roof should slope to fall.

Same thing with some bathroom floors with no slope to the floor trap that you walk into a puddle of water

Better be aware of this to make sure it doesn't become an issue once the works are completed

It is a works quality issue that is some times not done.
I believe most roof should have a 5deg slope to make sure no water ponding issues leading to water leakage into the building later on

Edit* water must drain away from buildings thus no water ponding allowed on a concrete roof or any roof via roof gutters and the like.
Water leaks involving pressurised water piping in concrete can only be solved by eliminating the leak by repairs to the leaking pressure pipe.

This post has been edited by Richard: Nov 5 2018, 09:02 AM
crusher
post Nov 8 2018, 08:58 AM

1,345 posts

Guys

Heard of water ponding test?

Something like hack a huge hole along the suspected area and put the water proofing cement on it & pour water to test where is the leak. Question is this an effective way to determine the leaked entrance?
SUSslimey
post Nov 8 2018, 09:59 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Nov 8 2018, 08:58 AM)
Guys

Heard of water ponding test?

Something like hack a huge hole along the suspected area and put the water proofing cement on it & pour water to test where is the leak. Question is this an effective way to determine the leaked entrance?
Nope.
It is mainly to test if there is any active leak or not.

If you already know there is active leak no point doing this test.

And hairline cracks in the waterproofing layer won’t be seen anyway.

crusher
post Nov 8 2018, 02:14 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Nov 8 2018, 09:59 AM)
Nope.
It is mainly to test if there is any active leak or not.

If you already know there is active leak no point doing this test.

And hairline cracks in the waterproofing layer won’t be seen anyway.
Yes I have stopped the contractor from doing so. However he have no idea where is the leaking come from. He did a second time PU Injection on the leaking beam but it does not stop the leaking for overnight.

Apparently there is a crack when they did the pu injection from inside and outside. Injection done at bottom but PU leaked out from upper part

If wasnt under Defect Liabity Period by developer, this contractor considered as failed one. The contractor wouldn't want to spend extra to do torch on membrane by other sub contractors that I wish to propose

This post has been edited by crusher: Nov 8 2018, 02:15 PM
lucifah
post Nov 8 2018, 03:24 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Nov 8 2018, 02:14 PM)
Yes I have stopped the contractor from doing so. However he have no idea where is the leaking come from.  He did a second time PU Injection on the leaking beam but it does not stop the leaking for overnight.

Apparently there is a crack when they did the pu injection from inside and outside. Injection done at bottom but PU leaked out from upper part

If wasnt under Defect Liabity Period by developer, this contractor considered as failed one. The contractor wouldn't want to spend extra to do torch on membrane by other sub contractors that I wish to propose
ok. does it only leaks when it rain? if not, then you are looking at other leak sources

and again, the contractor is injecting the foam at the wrong place

you dont inject it in the middle of the beam
crusher
post Nov 8 2018, 04:26 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 8 2018, 03:24 PM)
ok. does it only leaks when it rain? if not, then you are looking at other leak sources

and again, the contractor is injecting the foam at the wrong place

you dont inject it in the middle of the beam
Previously yes, once rain heavily only will leak. After the first PU injection in middle of beam, the leaking has become worst.

Now, as for today from one whole row has become only one place dripping down. Suspected the water stucked somewhere and leaked in.
SUSslimey
post Nov 8 2018, 05:42 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Nov 8 2018, 02:14 PM)
Yes I have stopped the contractor from doing so. However he have no idea where is the leaking come from.  He did a second time PU Injection on the leaking beam but it does not stop the leaking for overnight.

Lel. Still injecting at the wrong place.

Hopeless contractor that knows shit about waterproofing.

I suggest stop wasting time with the same contractor. And hopefully the developer ditch that useless contractor.

crusher
post Nov 8 2018, 06:13 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Nov 8 2018, 05:42 PM)
Lel. Still injecting at the wrong place.

Hopeless contractor that knows shit about waterproofing.

I suggest stop wasting time with the same contractor. And hopefully the developer ditch that useless contractor.
Yeap. They keep injecting at wrong place as per mentioned by other contractors too, damn worried my beam kena damage by their PU injections.

Now developer getting architect to come but architect on leave till next week. Till then I think its harder to find the leak as no more heavy rain coming days

On the side note, got myself PU950 by Estoflex. Going to diy my extension kitchen's concrete slab

This post has been edited by crusher: Nov 8 2018, 06:15 PM
peri peri
post Nov 9 2018, 04:19 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

QUOTE(xAmdx @ Nov 4 2018, 10:44 AM)
My boss project we are using this application to do. However the mixture of the concrete also had waterproofing capabilities.
common construction terminology we named it as "angle fillet joint" , to prevent direct sipage at joint

any concrete grade above g40 is consider waterproof, those below u need to add additive, but only applicable to pool construction
ThengTurtle
post Nov 10 2018, 11:19 AM

21 posts

Can I have any contact number to do waterproofing for toilet? Thanks.
yumi17
post Nov 23 2018, 09:21 PM

54 posts

Hi all,

Advice needed from all the sifu here. I moved in to my condo last week and start to notice some mold mites on the ceiling. Then only i started to found out that they are actually stick around on my ceiling area that is damp and water marks are seen as well but is kinda difficult to notice. The affected area is quite big, almost quarter of my living room and my closet area

I have reported to my the condo defect team but after they examined, they told me need to inject PU from my unit instead of from the above (I stay at top floor, level above is sky deck). That's why I would like to get 2nd opinion before they simply inject PU on my ceiling.

Any sifu here got contact that is able to help?

This post has been edited by yumi17: Nov 23 2018, 09:24 PM
lucifah
post Nov 24 2018, 11:56 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(yumi17 @ Nov 23 2018, 09:21 PM)
Hi all,

Advice needed from all the sifu here. I moved in to my condo last week and start to notice some mold mites on the ceiling. Then only i started to found out that they are actually stick around on my ceiling area that is damp and water marks are seen as well but is kinda difficult to notice. The affected area is quite big, almost quarter of my living room and my closet area

I have reported to my the condo defect team but after they examined, they told me need to inject PU from my unit instead of from the above (I stay at top floor, level above is sky deck). That's why I would like to get 2nd opinion before they simply inject PU on my ceiling.

Any sifu here got contact that is able to help?

if you can take pic of the skydeck then it would make for a better decision

what i am afraid most of is when they do the pu injection at that place, the leak will creep to other place because the whole sky deck isn't waterproofed

plus, PU injection marks are very ugly no matter how you want to hide it. the injection ports and marks are difficult to conceal

yumi17
post Nov 24 2018, 03:36 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 24 2018, 11:56 AM)

what i am afraid most of is when they do the pu injection at that place, the leak will creep to other place because the whole sky deck isn't waterproofed

plus, PU injection marks are very ugly no matter how you want to hide it. the injection ports and marks are difficult to conceal
That's what I am worrying as well. I will take a picture tomorrow. Thanks
Mrs.A
post Nov 25 2018, 05:58 PM

309 posts

I need contact for waterproofing the toilet please...
yumi17
post Nov 26 2018, 09:46 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 24 2018, 11:56 AM)

Above is actually a water tank, difficult to access, any other option in this case? They came to visit just now, and told me they will see whether able to inject PU from above.

Also, I saw there is this act Strata Management (Maintenance & Management) Regulations 2015 (SMR) PART XV that developer is required to identify the root cause within 7 days of my notice. If I am dissatisfied with the solution, I should go to commissioner. Anyone has tried this method before?

anhydrous
post Nov 26 2018, 09:52 AM

45 posts

hi there,

i would like to know what is the best solution in fixing a leaking flat concrete roof?

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0204sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:59 AM