6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Weststar Maxus G10, Any owners here?

TSMcF7y
post Jul 19 2017, 09:48 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 18 2017, 09:45 PM)
Won't resolve with him. He won't thank me for pointing out his mistake which saves him from shaming himself further on his claim on how turbocharger works. Just like those typical failed marketing staff in Korean companies and Nissan. Very kiasu and politics type of people. Your test on your turbocharged g10 proves to him that he's wrong. You came in at right time.

SAIC is 1 of the prominent China carmakers focus on quality to compete with Koreans, Japanese, European marques. They would pump in capital if they wanted to go big here. As long as the car has acceptable looks, technical and maintenance with good after sales and most important hire real good strategists, it would sell. The Koreans managed to sell in 2010-2013 also because of few ace strategists spoonfeeding them free strategies. Resale value can be fixed if proper players running the game.

Fyi, SAIC MG6 alone beats Korean car sales in Thailand.
I didn't realise that SAIC bought over MG too.

These guys are going big man!
jayraptor
post Jul 19 2017, 10:31 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ Jul 19 2017, 09:48 AM)
I didn't realise that SAIC bought over MG too.

These guys are going big man!
Yes, they are going big. They brought in maxus g10 here is part of their market research plan. Think they need to bring in mg6 to sell at less than rm70k, maybe can sell. It works well in Thailand. They can wait for the upcoming variant with nicer grille and headlights. The Thai version mg6 has pre-facelift Altis style grille, can't find the photo on Google.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 19 2017, 10:47 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSMcF7y
post Jul 24 2017, 09:33 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 19 2017, 10:31 PM)
Yes, they are going big. They brought in maxus g10 here is part of their market research plan. Think they need to bring in mg6 to sell at less than rm70k, maybe can sell. It works well in Thailand. They can wait for the upcoming variant with nicer grille and headlights. The Thai version mg6 has pre-facelift Altis style grille, can't find the photo on Google.
Wow, this is actually quite interesting. It's nice to know that we are getting a variety of cars here in Malaysia to suit the budget of various people.
jayraptor
post Jul 24 2017, 08:01 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ Jul 24 2017, 09:33 AM)
Wow, this is actually quite interesting. It's nice to know that we are getting a variety of cars here in Malaysia to suit the budget of various people.
Since Geely has bought p1, they'll likely bring in more China cars in later on as rebadged.
TSMcF7y
post Jul 25 2017, 01:07 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 24 2017, 08:01 PM)
Since Geely has bought p1, they'll likely bring in more China cars in later on as rebadged.
The new Geely/Proton SUV doesn't look to shabby actually. I'd say it is impressive!

This post has been edited by McF7y: Jul 25 2017, 01:07 PM
jayraptor
post Jul 25 2017, 09:16 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ Jul 25 2017, 01:07 PM)
The new Geely/Proton SUV doesn't look to shabby actually. I'd say it is impressive!
Well wait and see how it goes. I find Geely more like lenovo, design not so nice. Hope they could come up with better design models later on.
jiffy22
post Apr 3 2018, 02:56 PM

Hi McF7y!

Hope you and the family are keeping well!
Was looking up Maxus and found your thread.
So how are things with the G10?

How's the aftersales service been? Service/parts/reliability etc.

I'm considering getting a MPV and the G10 is on the list of MPV I'm considering.

Have an expanding family - wife, a kiddo and another bun in the oven + my parents and a sister. So that's already 7(ish) at the moment.

Would appreciate your first hand user experience review here.

Thanks mate! smile.gif notworthy.gif
shondown
post Apr 4 2018, 12:44 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ Jul 12 2017, 01:36 PM)

Edit: I forgot to mention, the Malaysian versions come in either 7 or 10 seater options. I requested for the 7 seater option to maximize boot space but I also asked that they let me keep the third row bench in case I ever needed to switch to a 10 seater option  blush.gif
Just a question... how do you install the third row bench? Plug and play? Can ah like that? confused.gif
TSMcF7y
post Apr 4 2018, 08:55 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(jiffy22 @ Apr 3 2018, 02:56 PM)
Hi McF7y!

Hope you and the family are keeping well!
Was looking up Maxus and found your thread.
So how are things with the G10?

How's the aftersales service been? Service/parts/reliability etc.

I'm considering getting a MPV and the G10 is on the list of MPV I'm considering.

Have an expanding family - wife, a kiddo and another bun in the oven + my parents and a sister. So that's already 7(ish) at the moment.

Would appreciate your first hand user experience review here.

Thanks mate! smile.gif  notworthy.gif
Hi Jiffy22,

Doing well thanks!

Congratulations on the incoming new family member smile.gif

I'd strongly recommend you give it a test drive to get a feel of the size and weight dude.

To be honest, so far the car has been great. I've clocked nearly 17,000KM on her since I got her in June of last year. I travel a lot to Singapore and Cameron Highlands because I have family there and the kids and wife love it for the space and comfort. Basically since all my 3 kids are under 10 so we still use a car seat for them. And there's enough space for my wife an we usually bring our helper as well - so everyone is comfortable. Plus I took the 7-seater configuration so we have a lot of boot space which is good because we're the type of family that packs a lot haha.

There's a ton of air-conditioning vents all the way to the last row so everyone is comfortable - in fact, most of the time, they complain it's too cold so I have to adjust the temperature or fan speed.

I've sent it in for servicing twice so far (first three are free) and the service centre I go to at Glenmarie has been very good so far, very informative and they listen to my queries about the car whenever I have any. They also give a free wash after every servicing - not sure if they will continue this once I start paying for servicing. I have a friend who works at Ford Malaysia and he said that Maxus' V80 van is a competitor to their Ford Transit and he said that the G10 was a good choice because many government organisations use the V80 for emergency vehicles, ambulances etc and since they are serving the government, they have to maintain a certain level of competency - so basically he said I did not have to worry about service centre reliability and parts.

If there were any issues with the car, I would say is that it's a 2.0 litre engine (with turbo) and therefore carrying a full load, you do feel the weight/strain at times, even with the turbo. Many a time I felt it when going up Camerons; but it does have the manual mode or treptonic mode so you can actually switch to that and drop gear or move up a gear depending on the situation - so that does help when you need that extra boost.

The other thing is that the reverse camera sensor has failed on me a couple of times but miraculously come back again even before I had a chance to get it checked at the service centre. Basically what happens is when I put the car in reverse gear, the screen initially shows a black image and then a prompt appears saying 'no camera input', but the reverse sensors work so you do hear the beeps. I did bring it to the service centre once to get it checked but they said it would be a whole day affair because they have to check the connection all the way from the front to the back - and at the time I didn't have the luxury of leaving it there for so long. So I said I'd bring it back another time - a few days later the camera worked again haha.

For me, I got it because I was on a budget but needed an Alphard/Starex sized car. It's a 2.0 liter engine which means I'd be paying the same for road tax as I did my previous Kia Forte. Big difference compared to the Alphard/Starex which is I think a 2.5/3.0 liter if I'm not wrong?

I was sceptical at first to be honest, seeing that the car was from China, but when I read that it was Weststar that brought the brand in, plus the parent company, SAIC bought LDV in the UK and supplies parts to several European car makers - that kind of gave me more confidence.

We had already put down a deposit on the Mazda Biante a few weeks before we saw the G10, but when we saw this car and the dealer managed to get a good deal for us (at the time) we went for it.

You know there are 3 variants for the G10 ya? I got the basic model which means quite a number of luxuries are not available but I can live without them, such as power doors, moon roof (the basic model does come with a sun roof however), birds eye view parking camera and some others I forgot. When I bought mine, they included an LCD/DVD player for free too.

Anyway, sorry if it was a bit long, hope my review helped and just PM me if you have any other questions - or just ask away in here.

Thanks!
TSMcF7y
post Apr 4 2018, 08:57 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(shondown @ Apr 4 2018, 12:44 AM)
Just a question... how do you install the third row bench? Plug and play? Can ah like that?  confused.gif
Yea they let me keep the third row but I will have to bring it to the service centre to get it attached because they will have to change the configuration around. The bench is seriously heavy.
jiffy22
post Apr 4 2018, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(McF7y @ Apr 4 2018, 08:55 AM)
Hi Jiffy22,

Doing well thanks!

Congratulations on the incoming new family member smile.gif

I'd strongly recommend you give it a test drive to get a feel of the size and weight dude.

To be honest, so far the car has been great. I've clocked nearly 17,000KM on her since I got her in June of last year. I travel a lot to Singapore and Cameron Highlands because I have family there and the kids and wife love it for the space and comfort. Basically since all my 3 kids are under 10 so we still use a car seat for them. And there's enough space for my wife an we usually bring our helper as well - so everyone is comfortable. Plus I took the 7-seater configuration so we have a lot of boot space which is good because we're the type of family that packs a lot haha.

There's a ton of air-conditioning vents all the way to the last row so everyone is comfortable - in fact, most of the time, they complain it's too cold so I have to adjust the temperature or fan speed.

I've sent it in for servicing twice so far (first three are free) and the service centre I go to at Glenmarie has been very good so far, very informative and they listen to my queries about the car whenever I have any. They also give a free wash after every servicing - not sure if they will continue this once I start paying for servicing. I have a friend who works at Ford Malaysia and he said that Maxus' V80 van is a competitor to their Ford Transit and he said that the G10 was a good choice because many government organisations use the V80 for emergency vehicles, ambulances etc and since they are serving the government, they have to maintain a certain level of competency - so basically he said I did not have to worry about service centre reliability and parts.

If there were any issues with the car, I would say is that it's a 2.0 litre engine (with turbo) and therefore carrying a full load, you do feel the weight/strain at times, even with the turbo. Many a time I felt it when going up Camerons; but it does have the manual mode or treptonic mode so you can actually switch to that and drop gear or move up a gear depending on the situation - so that does help when you need that extra boost.

The other thing is that the reverse camera sensor has failed on me a couple of times but miraculously come back again even before I had a chance to get it checked at the service centre. Basically what happens is when I put the car in reverse gear, the screen initially shows a black image and then a prompt appears saying 'no camera input', but the reverse sensors work so you do hear the beeps. I did bring it to the service centre once to get it checked but they said it would be a whole day affair because they have to check the connection all the way from the front to the back - and at the time I didn't have the luxury of leaving it there for so long. So I said I'd bring it back another time - a few days later the camera worked again haha.

For me, I got it because I was on a budget but needed an Alphard/Starex sized car. It's a 2.0 liter engine which means I'd be paying the same for road tax as I did my previous Kia Forte. Big difference compared to the Alphard/Starex which is I think a 2.5/3.0 liter if I'm not wrong?

I was sceptical at first to be honest, seeing that the car was from China, but when I read that it was Weststar that brought the brand in, plus the parent company, SAIC bought LDV in the UK and supplies parts to several European car makers - that kind of gave me more confidence.

We had already put down a deposit on the Mazda Biante a few weeks before we saw the G10, but when we saw this car and the dealer managed to get a good deal for us (at the time) we went for it.

You know there are 3 variants for the G10 ya? I got the basic model which means quite a number of luxuries are not available but I can live without them, such as power doors, moon roof (the basic model does come with a sun roof however), birds eye view parking camera and some others I forgot. When I bought mine, they included an LCD/DVD player for free too.

Anyway, sorry if it was a bit long, hope my review helped and just PM me if you have any other questions - or just ask away in here.

Thanks!
Thank you for the kind wishes + the prompt & detailed response mate!
Takes patience and time that! haha

Yes will certainly take her out for her spin before deciding. But there are quite a few options now eh

Kia Carnival
Nissan Serena
Hyundai Starex

But obviously they would stretch the budget! Go big or go home does not apply to one's finances eh tongue.gif

A recond Alphard/Vellfire were part of the consideration, however the downside was I would be limited to a max of 7/8, would be getting an older used vehicle and heard the booth space is quite limited.

Sorry about your reverse cam, must not be easy parking her!

How's the leg room @ the back rows though ?

And yes, the review certainly helped! Thanks again!
gahpadu
post Apr 4 2018, 11:20 AM

1,438 posts

no power door

cant wind down the rear window for rear pax.its van type glass
TSMcF7y
post Apr 4 2018, 11:25 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(jiffy22 @ Apr 4 2018, 10:23 AM)
Thank you for the kind wishes + the prompt & detailed response mate!
Takes patience and time that! haha

Yes will certainly take her out for her spin before deciding. But there are quite a few options now eh

Kia Carnival
Nissan Serena
Hyundai Starex

But obviously they would stretch the budget! Go big or go home does not apply to one's finances eh  tongue.gif

A recond Alphard/Vellfire were part of the consideration, however the downside was I would be limited to a max of 7/8, would be getting an older used vehicle and heard the booth space is quite limited.

Sorry about your reverse cam, must not be easy parking her!

How's the leg room @ the back rows though ?

And yes, the review certainly helped! Thanks again!
Hey no worries man, pleasure is mine. I'm glad to share and help where I can.

It is true, there are a number of options in the market just like you suggested. I personally like the KIA Carnival too; but alas, my budget does not allow for it hehe.

We also considered recond and second hand MPVs, but at the time, I did not realise that second hand car interest rate was much higher than buying a new car, plus 100% loan was a lot harder too for second hand cars. In the end, it all worked out well for the G10; the Biante which we put a deposit for - we were not able to get a 100% loan. Actually we did not get a 100% loan for the G10 either but it was close, we got 95% but because I made money selling my KIA and my insurance amount was 100% transferable since I had not used it, I combined the money made off my Kia Forte + the insurance and it made up for the 5%.

Regarding parking her, it can be a challenge without the reverse camera but during the times the camera failed, I've managed to get by. One thing I forgot to mention was parking lots in general, the G10 stands 1.9++cm, height-wise is not much of a problem but I had issues coming out of parking areas, especially at G-Tower and UOA Bangsar. Their parking is built such that it is a spiral entering and exiting, entering is not so bad, but exiting, that's where things get VERY tight. I almost scrapped the wall with the left side of the G10 at those locations, I had to reverse and re-adjust before exiting - quite scary!

Leg room wise it depends, for my kids and family it's big enough, the last row can be shifted front and back so we make adjustments as we pack our stuff in the boot to allow comfortable leg room.

If you want to go premium, I think the other two upper model variants of the G10 have leg rests on the second row; almost like the Mazda 8 - very nice.

Feel free to ask away dude if you have other questions.

TSMcF7y
post Apr 12 2018, 08:38 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(kulkulkan @ Apr 11 2018, 05:41 PM)
Hi guys,

If you all are looking to get the Maxus G10..do give me a call at 012-6987682 (JOE)

Im the direct sales person from Weststar Motors (not broker, 3rd party whatsoever)
Joe,

Dunno if you remember me, Azmir here.

You brought the G10 to test drive at my place in Kelana Jaya last year during Ramadhan. That sold it for me.

Anyway guys, if you are interested, I HIGHLY recommend dealing with Joe. Solid, sincere and trustworthy dealer with good after sales service.

michaelgbcmel
post May 8 2018, 08:22 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ Apr 12 2018, 08:38 AM)
Joe,

Dunno if you remember me, Azmir here.

You brought the G10 to test drive at my place in Kelana Jaya last year during Ramadhan. That sold it for me.

Anyway guys, if you are interested, I HIGHLY recommend dealing with Joe. Solid, sincere and trustworthy dealer with good after sales service.
bro, now i only saw g10se in maxus website. does ur car model available for sell?
TSMcF7y
post May 9 2018, 10:30 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(michaelgbcmel @ May 8 2018, 08:22 PM)
bro, now i only saw g10se in maxus website. does ur car model available for sell?
I'm not sure about the base model that I bought. Should still be available I think.

Can ask Joe the dealer who posted a couple of posts ago. He's good.
Fat & Fluffy
post May 25 2018, 01:24 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ Apr 4 2018, 01:25 PM)

Leg room wise it depends, for my kids and family it's big enough, the last row can be shifted front and back so we make adjustments as we pack our stuff in the boot to allow comfortable leg room.

If you want to go premium, I think the other two upper model variants of the G10 have leg rests on the second row; almost like the Mazda 8 - very nice.

Feel free to ask away dude if you have other questions.
thanks for your sharing... really appreciate all the effort... since you mention the last row can be removed, i wonder whether can the 3rd row be removed too?

also without the last bench, is the floor flat?

i am asking because am considering MPVs/SUVs/Van that size as a camper... do you think if the last bench and 3rd row remove there's enough length to sleep on the floor?

QUOTE(kulkulkan @ Apr 11 2018, 07:41 PM)
Hi guys,

If you all are looking to get the Maxus G10..do give me a call at 012-6987682 (JOE)

Im the direct sales person from Weststar Motors (not broker, 3rd party whatsoever)
TSMcF7y
post May 26 2018, 10:27 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ May 25 2018, 01:24 PM)
thanks for your sharing... really appreciate all the effort... since you mention the last row can be removed, i wonder whether can the 3rd row be removed too?

also without the last bench, is the floor flat?

i am asking because am considering MPVs/SUVs/Van that size as a camper... do you think if the last bench and 3rd row remove there's enough length to sleep on the floor?
No worries man. I'm more than happy to get the word out on this MPV. Love it so far.

About your question on the third row; I think it is possible to have it removed too. This is because the seating configuration, to a certain extent, is a bit flexible. If I remember correctly, the original 10-seater seating configuration is:

1. First row - driver & front passenger (this one cannot be removed obviously haha)
2. Second row - 3 seater bench
3. Third row - 2 separate seats (with an aisle in the middle)
4. Fourth row - another 3 seater bench.

But for me, I removed the fourth row and switched the second and third row around. So my second row is the two separate seats and my third row is the 3 seater bench.

To answer your question, the rails on the floor of the MPV are flush with the floor too so there's nothing sticking out as far as i remember and is quite flat. So yea if you removed the third and fourth rows, or heck ALL the back seat rows, then yea you could have a pretty neat camper van with enough space for two to sleep.

However, just as alternatives, if you are looking to do something like that, you could go with a few other options:

1. Maxus' own V80 van - You may see MBPJ, Massimo bread and some emergency vehicles use this van.
2. Ford Transit - Looks a lot like the V80.
3. Toyota HiAce - I hear in Thailand, they really go to town with this van as it is highly modifiable in terms of the seat configuration etc.

Anyway that's my 2 cents and limited knowledge on this hehe. I'd one day like to explore this camper van/mobile home thing more.

This post has been edited by McF7y: May 26 2018, 10:28 AM
Fat & Fluffy
post May 26 2018, 12:54 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ May 26 2018, 12:27 PM)
No worries man. I'm more than happy to get the word out on this MPV. Love it so far.

About your question on the third row; I think it is possible to have it removed too. This is because the seating configuration, to a certain extent, is a bit flexible. If I remember correctly, the original 10-seater seating configuration is:

1. First row - driver & front passenger (this one cannot be removed obviously haha)
2. Second row - 3 seater bench
3. Third row - 2 separate seats (with an aisle in the middle)
4. Fourth row - another 3 seater bench.

But for me, I removed the fourth row and switched the second and third row around. So my second row is the two separate seats and my third row is the 3 seater bench.

To answer your question, the rails on the floor of the MPV are flush with the floor too so there's nothing sticking out as far as i remember and is quite flat. So yea if you removed the third and fourth rows, or heck ALL the back seat rows, then yea you could have a pretty neat camper van with enough space for two to sleep.

However, just as alternatives, if you are looking to do something like that, you could go with a few other options:

1. Maxus' own V80 van - You may see MBPJ, Massimo bread and some emergency vehicles use this van.
2. Ford Transit - Looks a lot like the V80.
3. Toyota HiAce - I hear in Thailand, they really go to town with this van as it is highly modifiable in terms of the seat configuration etc.

Anyway that's my 2 cents and limited knowledge on this hehe. I'd one day like to explore this camper van/mobile home thing more.
thanks for the feedback sir...

1 n 2. dont want a commercial setup as the suspension can be inferior.. same reason for the transit but i did considered the transit due to better engine avail
3. dont want a van... hahaha

yea, do consider and if you're not ready but prepared to dump the kids to someone else once in a while you can just remove seats and bring a long some sleeping bags... internal cabinets not needed... so far looking at starex, carnival... just saw maxus too.. i wonder whether a santa fe will work too or not
Vervain
post May 26 2018, 07:14 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ May 26 2018, 12:54 PM)
thanks for the feedback sir...

1 n 2. dont want a commercial setup as the suspension can be inferior.. same reason for the transit but i did considered the transit due to better engine avail
3. dont want a van... hahaha

yea, do consider and if you're not ready but prepared to dump the kids to someone else once in a while you can just remove seats and bring a long some sleeping bags... internal cabinets not needed... so far looking at starex, carnival... just saw maxus too.. i wonder whether a santa fe will work too or not
santa fe 3rd row cannot be removed. However can be folded down giving you a flush flat rear boot space with plenty of storage space. Fold the 2nd row will be relatively flush with slight incline.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:18 PM