Aug 5 2007, 08:17 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
If expensive then I don't think there will be demand on it. Make it affordable.... or why not just do your roasted cricket thing... I think you will gain more demand on roasted crickets hahahah.
Aug 5 2007, 08:20 PM
2,903 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Somewhere in KL |
My oven keeps overcooking more than half of them, so more difficult.
Aug 5 2007, 08:40 PM
Ohhh... no wonder hahaha....
The easiest for me would be frying but then oily lah... not good for glider. |
Aug 5 2007, 11:15 PM
428 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Wasabi twitches today when he was awake, but only for a while. I googled why, n it's caused by x cukup calsium? Or something else? I was quite worried. Somebody plz answer asap.
if calsium what can i give as supplemnt? fruits, ect ect. |
Aug 5 2007, 11:51 PM
Are you sure it is that? Normally not enough calcium would lead to hind leg paralysis.... I don't think it causes twitches.... I have read that it is normal for gliders to twitch during their sleep. Some gliders, especially joeys shiver after waking from their sleep or emerging from their pouches coz they are warming up their bodies. Trembling is also a sign of stress....
Aug 6 2007, 09:24 AM
Hmm.. this is what happened..
Wasabi was in his pouch. I was laying down. I gave him pulasan to eat (this is ok fruit kan?). I open the zip, he was baring terlentang, so I raba raba him on his throat (like what you do to cats). His eyes were open, but occasionally it closed, like terlampau selesa or terlampau sedap. l l \_/ [ ] / V \ He baring like that. Then suddenly his whole body twitches, maybe for 3 seconds or so, so I pick him up. In my hands he was very lembik. Seriously worrid then. Then he suddenly kind of recovered and become normal again, he ran back to me and I put him back in pouch la. thats the whole account. something like this ever happen to someone else? |
Aug 6 2007, 10:00 AM
2,047 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Ampang, UK Side ;) |
Haha, I like to explore giving them fruits
But I still avoid grapes and corns, just incase. Anyway, there's so many alternatives --- Some suggies are deep sleepers, some are light. Both mine are total opposite, Iggy is a deep sleeper, Luna is a light sleeper. Yeah, sometimes they dream a lot, with hand or feet in the air, suddenly bark or crab or hiss, dunno what lar they dream --- Reanne, the chowder to feed the crickets izit? Hmm, I don't think I'll get it, cuz I don't even feed them crickets. To keep them is so much more difficult than mealworms furthermore makes their cage area and poo-poo smelly. Yah, if you make roasted ones, I'll buy --- Sense_less, Lack of calcium will cause HLP (Hind Leg Paralysis), never found anything about twitching. I think it's normal, cuz it doesn't happen every single time right? As for the suddenly become "lembik", happened once with Iggy. It was just a matter of deep sleep. He was sleeping so soundly then I go kacau him, he woke up half way and suddenly became very lembik, "I was like, Iggy, Iggy, what happen..." shake-shake him a bit, still "lembik", then suddenly he opened his eyes and stood looking at me *blink,blink*... I almost had a heart attack, my heart was racing soo fast cuz I thot he was dying... Then I marah him for doing that But it happened only once... If it keeps on happening with wasabi and you think it could be something serious, consult a vet immediately. --- Was so busy over the weekend, couldn't make it to see Dr. Yeoh KP |
Aug 6 2007, 05:56 PM
2,903 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Somewhere in KL |
Hmm... In that case, I'll be needing a better oven. This oven also does burn most of my cookies most of the time, so it's not the crickets.
Aug 6 2007, 06:16 PM
So we wait for your new oven + roasted crickets
--- On another note, I just found out that joeys that are sold too young or separated from their mother less than 8 weeks OOP, will end up having shorter lifespan, with some even less than 3 years, health problems and an overall smaller size... This is due to the lack of nutrition and goods they need from their mother's milk that they didn't get... Here's a sample pix of a joey that is considered too small/young... ![]() Don't it look like most of the joeys we see at the pet stores?? Sighhh... KP |
Aug 6 2007, 11:18 PM
470 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
KP ; i suggest u post another photo that "wat's a healty SG look like" to make a comparison and give other ppl have a better clear picture .
Aug 7 2007, 12:01 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Underaged sugar gliders..... never get joeys that look like the ones in these pictures or in KP's post.... they need milk.... they need warmth, they need more attention and more work than properly weaned joeys. Those pics, the joeys are only 3 weeks old Out Of Pouch.... joeys should be separated when they are more than 8 weeks Out Of Pouch... and that is the minimum age. The best age is actually 3 months.... Some people have experience their joeys dying... WHY? Coz the joey is too young, it is depressed and stressed.... a joey that young that is depress will not have any appetite for food, will catch cold and die coz it gives up.... pity. ![]() This is how a healthy joey should look like. The tail must be fluffy.... those tails that look like rat tails, thin and no fluff are underage... get those that got fluffy tails. The one in the picture is about 50 days OOP. Compare the tails of the underaged joeys and the one with that is about 50 days OOP.... |
Aug 7 2007, 12:29 AM
ooooohh... fluffiness..
Aug 7 2007, 02:57 AM
470 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Hun ,really appreciate wat u have reply there.. Good Job~~
It's a great reference also to those future potential SG buyer. I'm now hoping i can be the potential buyer .. Now, jst can sit down in front the monitor , and go through wat u all replies... |
Aug 7 2007, 08:18 AM
I was thinking.. mybe it should be added to the 1st post, as reference..
Aug 7 2007, 10:37 AM
407 posts Joined: May 2005 |
FRODO is now in perfect health condition!.....
Just want to update with you on my 3rd week on FRODO's health. Thanks to Hun's advice on giving boiled sweet potatoes and no fruits diet. He had recovered prefectly on just boiled sweet potato, boiled carrot, boiled pumpkin, mealworms and also the medication that Dr.Yeoh's given. No more backside cleaning..... And his appetite is so much better now. Last time, he will usually hide one corner and i have to really beg him to come out and force feed him. Now he will join the rest (Gollum and Eowyn) to wait at the edge of the door of the cage and pick up mealworms from me. And I also noticed that he could pee now...with no more hissing sound....... Anyway, I noticed their tails are now more fluffy...could it be the 3 weeks of the boiled stuff that i gave them....as i totally stop giving them fruits since frodo's problem....anyone know what makes their tail more fluffy? carrot? sweet potato or pumpkin??? |
Aug 7 2007, 11:10 AM
Tail more fluffy, I think it could be the added sweet potato.... or grooming. Coz after bathing my gliders, sure will have fluffy tails.
But it is good that Frodo is back to normal. Pumpkin and sweet potato are good for easy digestion as well high in fiber. Now you can add a bit of fruits too. |
Aug 7 2007, 11:30 AM
Thanks Hun for posting the other pixs
I hope people can take point from these. ----- Yayy, Frodo is okay! He's a tough boy I dunno what food can make their tail fluffy, but after grooming the tail will sure be fluffier Also they say, the fluffier the tail, the healthier and happier they are KP ***crap, took some really nice pixs of Luna this morning, then my memory card got error |
Aug 7 2007, 11:47 AM
Pity, many suppliers and commercial breeders are letting joeys go at 3 to 4 weeks OOP only.... they really do need milk. Kiah was I think 4 or 5 weeks OOP when I got her, I freaked out every day for the first 2 months.... she also had a milk diet for 1 month before going on my mix. Can say 18 hours always on my body for warmth, at night in her incubator with heat lamp.... realy risky to get glider that young.
Aug 7 2007, 12:25 PM
Yep, sad to say that we don't have any good breeders around
I know there are some good hobbyist ones, but I also know that they stay very-very low cuz they don't want to sell openly KP |
| Change to: | 0.0348sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:04 AM |