9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

Sham903n
post Jul 21 2012, 12:48 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(RangerRed @ Jul 20 2012, 07:24 PM)
Question: Is batteries for smart phones that charge through USB or Power Banks/storage taxable?
if its categories as electronics... yes... and must over RM500(inclusive shipping)

Added on July 21, 2012, 12:49 am
QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 18 2012, 05:26 PM)
how long normally USPS airmail from US will reach malaysia? I bought from ebay almost a month already and i still have not receive the item yet.
usually 2 weeks... sometime can take 1 month.. you gotta check, might get hold some where...

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Jul 21 2012, 12:49 AM
Sham903n
post Jul 22 2012, 09:00 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(RangerRed @ Jul 21 2012, 10:30 AM)
Electronics.. not sure... that guide on the first page doesnt seem to help. :/ It looks like they changed the site layout a bit.

So that is 10% tax?
yeap...
Sham903n
post Jul 26 2012, 10:25 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Jul 24 2012, 09:49 AM)
anyone using fedex before?

Im buying stuff from Japan and the supplier bear the freight charges. Fine. and they using fedex.

and this morning fedex sms me saying that my items are cleared with duty and custom with total amount of RM138.82.  shocking.gif

what the heck? my total value of the parcel is only RM640 (not include shipping) and the duty and custom is about 22% out of my parcel value? not possible right?

fyi, my items are all those plasticware .. bento tools...i check custom import duty rate is only 5% nia leh... 

i called fedex to ask for calculation and the rate and he asked me email pulak..really kns..  doh.gif

anyone know if i able to reduce the duty and custom ? the amount is too much for the value I bought. 

What should I do now?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
you have to include shipping in your calculation..
Sham903n
post Aug 8 2012, 07:12 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(PeacefulDiscord @ Aug 8 2012, 02:24 AM)
Hello, wanted to know if there are taxes imposed on Tablets shipped from the US? If so, how much and does it matter based on quantity?

Thanks!!
if its categories as computers.. its no tax
Sham903n
post Aug 9 2012, 11:56 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(bex9432 @ Aug 8 2012, 10:56 PM)
guys .. need help here...
bought auto part from indonesia...
detail part tracking as below

Date Time Process Office
03-Aug-2012 07:29:45 Arrived at inward OE/Receive item at OE POS MALAYSIA INTERNATIONAL HUB (KLIA)
01-Aug-2012 11:29:00 Departure from outward OE
till today (5 days since klia arrival) , im not receive any notice from Pos Malaysia regarding my item.. is it detained by custom?...
or i need to give them more days...

invoice
part price : RM500
weight : below < 10kg (i guest)
outward OE = outward office of exchange

means your items are in Malaysian Department hands
might wanna give more time..

also if its big and declared value more than RM500 "inclusive" shipping, very high probability it will be tax/duty

you can try call whistling.gif and quote your tracking number

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Aug 9 2012, 12:03 PM
Sham903n
post Aug 12 2012, 04:31 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(bex9432 @ Aug 9 2012, 06:35 PM)
thanks for explanation..
receive the letter today by pos malaysia.. my item been detained by custom..
there are 3 option .. which one better

a) self clearance
b) appoint pos malaysia
c) appoint 3rd party which i heard the cost a lot higher than above 2..

Added on August 9, 2012, 8:29 pmim thinking to go there my self....
to get the xperience handling this stuff...
however quite confuse as i read the previous thread, they pick up the item at LCCT subang...
or should i go KLIA... which one is true as i receive the letter with letterhead "pos malaysia berhad, pusat mel & kurier, 64000 KLIA, sepang' ... its mean KLIA rite?
if you go your self... its good also.. you will experience the "RED TAPE" first hand tongue.gif (aka ping pong)
(cost=time+tol+petrol)

choice b is good too... you just pay them RM25? and wait.. they will call you how much is the tax/duty

Added on August 12, 2012, 4:33 pm
QUOTE(kernel123 @ Aug 10 2012, 05:34 PM)
what about tablet with 3G functionality ? i really need ur help on this case.do we need SIRIM approval? thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
if it cant make calls, its not a phone. then no need for sirim.
just declare computer tablet...done

Added on August 12, 2012, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(loneboy62 @ Aug 9 2012, 04:54 PM)
Dear all expert, I have one quick question, sport equipment such as badminton racket, squash racket will it be charged ? if around RM2000-RM5000 per shipment? Will kastam stop and ask for duty fee?
looks like no tax for rackets..

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Aug 12 2012, 05:00 PM
Sham903n
post Aug 13 2012, 08:30 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(paklee @ Aug 13 2012, 04:44 PM)
hye guys, i have a problem here... i bought 2 perfume from US and its been almost a month since i completed my purchase (15th July).. I've called POS Malaysia but they said my parcel has not reach malaysia yet..

when i check with USPS website, it stated..

Frst-Class Mail International
Processed through USPS Sort Facility
July 19, 2012, 1:18 pm
JAMAICA, NY 11430
International Letter

what should i do? thanks...
its already being sent via JFK.. donno if this mail have detail tracking.. but probably you want to check again with pos malaysia or customs, if you dont claim it. it will be returned
Sham903n
post Aug 28 2012, 09:14 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(Jcvendetta @ Aug 25 2012, 11:14 PM)
Anyone have any idea on who would be contacting you if your items are tahan by custom? Im receiving goods from oversea, it is a standard mail most probably will behandled by posmalaysia. So , who will contact you if the items are tahan by custom?
pos malaysia will send you a notification via pos.. but if you know your tracking id and sure that its already reach malaysia, you can "try" call them at LCCT Pos...

Added on August 28, 2012, 9:19 am
QUOTE(Chithra57 @ Aug 24 2012, 08:37 PM)
HI All,
I have a problem here. I bought some clothes from India. And the value written in the invoice was USD60 and the weight was 7KG.
Custom officer in charge has declared the goods as undervalue and he put the vale as RM2160, and i was asked to pay tax RM216. The actual case, the value was only RM1++. IN this case, i am over taxed.

And in fact one item went missing. And after numerous calls and email FEDEX, agreed to refund for a claim. The problem is, would i be able to claim for the invoice value only? That means per items would be USD2 only.

And, how am i suppose to work for the tax. I would like to write to them that i am being over taxed. Is that possible?
What should i do on this?

Thanks everyone
if the invoice attached is suspected to be too low by the customs, they will estimate the price.. but if you have proof of payment "paypal/bank transfer" specific saying for the 7kg clothes.. you might be able to convince the officer.. but only at that moment of declaration.. so be prepare nextime

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Aug 28 2012, 09:19 AM
Sham903n
post Aug 30 2012, 05:03 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Chithra57 @ Aug 28 2012, 06:12 PM)
Hi All,
Thanks for the feedback. Will be prepared the next time.

BUT, now i am facing another problem. ITEMS MISSING from my two shipment. Two dresses were missing. How do i claim about this? Cos, the invoice were lowered due to avoid tax, but now when the items missing, How should i claim about it? Do i haven to claim at invoice prices or the actual price. Please help me on this. Thanks everyone
If you are using courier service you can do dispute, but bfore you receive goods and sign off.... to purposely under declare to avoid tax is an offence by law....you might wanna retract your statement.

Sham903n
post Sep 2 2012, 02:48 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(pooieng @ Aug 31 2012, 01:04 AM)
I want to ask if I am buying a pair of turntable which cost me RM1800 from Ebay (they offered me free shiping at total cost of RM1800)

I will kena tax how much?

I dunno the actual shipping cost from their end.

Will it possible write as Gift from seller?
gift? nope.. still kena tax
electrical if im not mistaken is 10%

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Sep 8 2012, 10:40 AM
Sham903n
post Sep 8 2012, 10:39 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Sep 8 2012, 09:52 AM)
I want to buy imac 27" from amazon and will use 3rd party service to ship it back to malaysia. Any recommend 3rd party service intro and will i get hold by kastam and tax?
declare correctly as computer lcd, it should be fine, any of the top courier would be good.
Sham903n
post Sep 24 2012, 06:09 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(cinbao @ Sep 21 2012, 07:43 PM)
According Malaysia Custom, smartphone should be categorized as which? refer with below picture:

[attachmentid=3061533]
If

Cellular / wireless network then it will be no tax

Videophone will be 10% sale tax

Sirim label is neccessary?

and the price is above RM500.
yes... 1 sirim approval for 3 set.. cost your around RM250 if theres no increase since

Added on September 24, 2012, 6:28 pm
QUOTE(mfashraf @ Sep 19 2012, 11:25 AM)
Hello, I'm very exasperated right now. I've bought an LED monitor from South Korea and having it shipped through Fedex. They said that because it is an LED monitor, they are charging me under TV instead and that would cost me 25% + 10% tax.

The HS code is 8528.59 000

Shouldn't it be under computer monitor instead? And that wouldn't have any tax on it either right?
dispute.. cause they charging you not according to what malaysian custom charge.. which is "free" for all computer items.. OH Wait.. its TV lcd? not a computer LCD? yes tax tax tax duty

Added on September 24, 2012, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(bjbalangue @ Sep 21 2012, 08:53 AM)
i ordered some vitamin supplement from bodybuilding.com and i was told by the seller i used to buy from that malaysia customs block this type of goods and i just burned my money. it was shipped using dhl. can anyone tell me if this is true?  thanks!
yes... specially those with steroids.. probably you can call it vitamins.. but who knows whos reading this post.. they might be over zealous with vitamins next, i had ordered for a friend once.. i didnt have to tell the seller.. he exactly put it vitamins supps.. and it got thru just fine...

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Sep 24 2012, 06:38 PM
Sham903n
post Sep 26 2012, 10:56 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(alvinapom @ Sep 24 2012, 11:42 PM)
So does that means if I wanna buy phone from overseas I will have to pay RM250 for a Sirim sticker which approve me to bring in 3 units?
For example : 3 smartphones (RM1200 in total) + Sirim sticker(RM250) = RM1450??
And if my parcel kena tahan I really need to travel to KL ah? In Perak dont have?
yes, perak? check your local post office from that
Sham903n
post Sep 26 2012, 09:19 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Sep 26 2012, 01:28 PM)
I just bought an iPad 3 from amazon US. Will i kena tangkap sad.gif
if cannot make and receive gsm calls.. so will lepas...

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Sep 26 2012, 09:20 PM
Sham903n
post Sep 28 2012, 12:21 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(shyni @ Sep 27 2012, 10:31 PM)
I have been thinking of buying DVDs from Amazon or eBay for myself. Is there anything I need to know before doing this?
just order.. as long as its not porno.. will go thru..
Sham903n
post Oct 3 2012, 06:38 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(nao @ Oct 1 2012, 11:04 PM)
Yes, I've thought about calling them before; real life intervene a lot of times to the point of me forgetting about the parcel until recently. The thing is I wasn't given any tracking number for the parcel, only shipping number. How do I bring the subject matter to their attention without any tracking number?
ask for a refund.. you never get the item.. even normal post only takes less 1 month.. from USA

Added on October 3, 2012, 6:49 pm
QUOTE(noobfc @ Oct 2 2012, 12:03 AM)
hey guys, need some advice

M Audio Fast Track C600 USB Recording Interface Pro Tools PTSE Avid Digidesign
Item

so im helping a friend out here

its our first time importing an item

and the thing is what kind of process do we have to go through

and how many % will be taxed on that item

wow nice item.. you will be tax 10% hopefully no MEC or sales tax..
just ask sender to state as electrical music recorder... maybe you can try "Home Computer music recorder" (might get you tax free wink.gif ) because its not stand alone item.. need computer softward to run it.. right?

Added on October 3, 2012, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(perfumerack @ Sep 29 2012, 10:30 PM)
for the 1st first time, my parcel has been detained by the custom.

appointed poslaju to settle it. no need to pay the tax but need to pay poslaju rm49.80 for their service charge.

inside the parcel,  got a warning letter stated "kosmetik hanya dibenarkan untuk satu bulan penggunaan sahaja, next shipment we will detain your item".

anyone has experienced this before? sad.gif
yeah.. you need approval from Jabatan Farmasi to import..

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Oct 3 2012, 06:52 PM
Sham903n
post Oct 13 2012, 11:17 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 4 2012, 03:47 PM)
I'm planning to buy another ipad from amazon which is wifi + 4g. Will kastam charge me for this ? Thinking to buy 2 units in. Need a fast advice pls...
no tax

Added on October 13, 2012, 11:17 am
QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Oct 4 2012, 09:46 AM)
If purchase 2 units of Computer Power Supply . Got tax or not ?
no tax... computer parts

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Oct 13 2012, 11:18 AM
Sham903n
post Oct 16 2012, 10:27 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Prokick @ Oct 14 2012, 06:00 PM)
Malaysian customs are big money suckers..

I've bought a cold air intake from US..

The price is rm660.. The customs tax me rm350+50 ringgit for poslaju fee's.. How ridiculous isit? 60-70% tax on automobile accessories?
how much all including postage?
Sham903n
post Oct 16 2012, 10:59 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Prokick @ Oct 16 2012, 10:52 PM)
Including postage rm800++
shouldn't be more than RM80-160 for tax.. i wonder what tax code they using

Sham903n
post Oct 18 2012, 07:54 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 17 2012, 11:40 PM)
I want to ask, if I buy from iherbs, but more than 5 items say 8 items but less than RM500, will kena tax or not?

They will be organic chollera an spirulina (4 bottles each)
per shipment.. less RM500=(item price+shipping cost), no

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:52 AM