Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

Sham903n
post Jun 8 2013, 12:14 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(pali_5373 @ Jun 6 2013, 06:14 PM)
u mean, anything imported to Labuan or Lankawi will not subjected to any kind of duty/tax?
probably sales tax.. import tax.. no
Sham903n
post Jul 22 2013, 11:27 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(X-kiddo @ Jul 21 2013, 05:09 PM)
buy electronic part from japan use EMS.
now detain by custom.
already 4 day.
what to do?
got no call or anything.
=(

what to do?
=(
you can go there and bring your shipping slip also $$$
go to the POS "office" first, give your shipping number, let them know your item type.
they will look for your shipping slip frm their end and issue a letter for you for customs (this service is charge by POS to you)
after waiting for a long time, they will call you to the counter and give you the letter and ask for service payment. Bring this letter to the custom inspection area, later he will ask to to proceed to collection area, you will receive your item and ask to bring to inspection again, here they will give you a knife and ask you to open the package, once inspected and verify correct as stated in shipping bill, you will need to proceed to their officer in cubicle with your item left at inspection, this is the person who will tell you how much you need to pay after she/he went thru the tax code, once done, you will be issue an amount and ask to make payment at the cashier counter, once payment made proceed to inspection and show resit that you made payment and collect your item and say "Thank you, that was a wonderful "ping-pong" experience"

be smart.. next time dont put HP electronic... just "electronic parts" is way safer

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Jul 23 2013, 06:43 PM
Sham903n
post Jul 23 2013, 06:41 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(kaoru @ Jul 23 2013, 11:32 AM)
I heard someone said here last time can get very2 cheap laptops overseas ? and there is no tax , mind telling me where to get it from ?
ebay
Sham903n
post Jul 29 2013, 02:43 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(bobyness @ Jul 28 2013, 11:43 AM)
hi all, im new here, i want to ask something regarding buying computer components such as graphic card, cpu, hard disk and etc from overseas.
any of you know what site i can buy those component and be deliver to here,malaysia??

so far i checked, newegg and ncix only deliver to US and canada.
please help, malaysia price is quite expensive than US price.
such as graphic card gtx 770 2gb here malaysia is around rm1650 while at usa around 400 dollar.

thank you in advance for helping.
you can use ebay but plus shipping is almost the same price as local

Sham903n
post Aug 10 2013, 01:20 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Dekkk @ Aug 7 2013, 09:30 AM)
May i know how to check my parcel is in the custom malaysia or not?  by follow tracking number, there write my parcel is on hold by custom malaysia. what to do?
you can use that tracking number to check with the pos office/customs lcct on the status
Sham903n
post Aug 10 2013, 01:30 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(ectt @ Aug 6 2013, 12:54 AM)
import aluminum frame/window, furniture, electrical wires from china, need to tax? how much if it has.
thank you
yes, up to 30% tax, 10% sales tax.
Sham903n
post Aug 14 2013, 01:11 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(shuba7874 @ Aug 13 2013, 02:46 PM)
hi,

Need some advice..i recently purchased clothes from india...the total cost withshipping was around 450 ringgit...i just got a call form OCS- Overseas courier services saying my item has been detained at klia? Am i taxable? i thought it was more than 500 n more than 3 peice of clothing then one is taxable... advice how to go about it?
should be non taxable, you might want to check if customs making their own estimate. You can go there and collect your item and bring along your proof of payment that item plus shipping is less than RM500.
Sham903n
post Aug 21 2013, 08:14 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Aug 17 2013, 09:00 PM)
1. does buying computer cables in bulk got taxes?

2. circuit board?
3. and how bout power adapter? need sirim?  hmm.gif
need them like 20 pcs for uni project.
If you quote "cables" yes, 30%.
If you quote "computer adapter" no.
But still you need to declare high price item, means it will be stopped by Customs from declaration.

if its for Uni just bring letter from your uni declaring its for academic and not for resale
Sham903n
post Aug 21 2013, 08:16 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Aug 20 2013, 02:09 AM)
guys can I buy a 23k gold plated pokemon card to malaysia from US? Also im buying about 6 things and put into 1 package but total costs should be like below RM300, any advice?
can, as long as its not illegal item and for tax! by air RM500 (item+shipping) no tax, if got, dispute.
Sham903n
post Aug 21 2013, 08:18 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 14 2013, 02:08 PM)
i recently bought some music singles & albums from japan..

both package also 6 items (mix of singles and albums), amounting to about 10,000yen (MYR 322~) including shipping.

then both times also i kena custom duties (RM 56.40 & RM 60.35)

why ar? i tot less than RM 500 is non taxable?
who declare for you?
Sham903n
post Aug 21 2013, 06:09 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Aug 21 2013, 10:54 AM)
can i know how to dispute if got tax?
dispute with your courier
Sham903n
post Aug 21 2013, 06:11 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(PhantomLance @ Aug 21 2013, 03:56 PM)
Well i've just put an order from yahooJapanAution for an action figures toy. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx rclxm9.gif . Shipping itself cost 1900+Yen. Let's just wait and see yawn.gif
falsifying declaration is an offence... do not do it.. i suggest you amend your post.. you might get us all in trouble next time with our private small imports

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Aug 21 2013, 06:13 PM
Sham903n
post Aug 21 2013, 06:16 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 21 2013, 09:32 AM)
Seems like this is what happened for my case. any way to avoid getting charged that kos tambang dagangan? cause if they charge like that, very very easy to get tax.. cause the kos tambang dagangan minimum edi RM 322.. means my package + shipping cannot exceed RM 178.. -.-
FedEx.. why?
they should have called you before you accept the charges.. did they?

Sham903n
post Aug 23 2013, 03:59 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Aug 22 2013, 02:57 PM)
i intend to order this but then i wonder if the shipping rate is correct. it's so much expensive than the product. correct charge by Amazon ?

http://www.amazon.com/Mavala-Switzerland-S...ref=pd_sim_bt_5
Items: MYR 39.83
Shipping & handling: MYR 90.03
Total before tax: MYR 129.86
Estimated tax to be collected:* MYR 0.00
Order total: MYR 129.86
no tax cause below RM500 and for personal supply only
Sham903n
post Aug 23 2013, 04:00 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(slap2begin @ Aug 23 2013, 12:04 AM)
tablet got tax ? example ipad mini tablet cant call
if got no gsm... can call it computer tablet, no tax

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Aug 23 2013, 04:01 PM
Sham903n
post Aug 23 2013, 04:03 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(PhantomLance @ Aug 22 2013, 11:26 AM)
Haha, yes of course falsifying declaration is a crime! But then again, if you have an official receipt attached with your shipping paperwork, or you have the price labeled at your goods, or your goods/parcel is a big box with expensive electronics inside, and you go and declare it with an unreasonable value, i would say you are STUPID indeed ohmy.gif For my case, toys is just a piece of plastics which can range from RM10 till RM1000, its all depends on how you value it. Just like the McD Minions. It was priced RM3 at McD, but at lowyat.NET it's RM30, then if it's from SG it's RM80. How would you say and clarified who is falsifying declaration?? Pandai2 lan sendiri... thumbup.gif
cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Aug 25 2013, 10:10 PM
Sham903n
post Aug 27 2013, 10:18 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(caddieann @ Aug 26 2013, 06:44 PM)
Because this is my second purchase, my first purchase is ok, no problem. But this second purchase got problem.
each item i only take in 2/3 per unit. did not over 10.

i think as long as doesnt over RM500, it will not charge tax. But it all depends the officer.
just declare as personal usage, its fine.
Sham903n
post Aug 28 2013, 10:24 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(caddieann @ Aug 27 2013, 01:13 PM)
is it because i ordered for the first time, they let me go through..but then when i purchase for 2nd order, they blocked me?
If like this, then i have to use different name and different address for odering?? Because i'm going to open an online store selling cosmetics, if like this it is very troublesome for me.  sad.gif
luck and random check.. probably shortage of staff last month, now everyone is back from holiday
Sham903n
post Aug 28 2013, 10:29 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(Toki Theng @ Aug 27 2013, 06:31 PM)
Hi guys!

Really need some help here. I'm going to order some decals from japan.
Are decals taxable? I just went to the custom site and according to the MJEPA(Malaysia Japan Economic Partnership Agreement), the import duty is 0%.
Does it mean when I order the decals from japan, I won't be charged for tax?
But I'm confused which one to follow. Some other HS code also said that they charge 20% import duty for decals.  blink.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
all tax sifu's please give advice  sweat.gif
0% HS490810000
Sham903n
post Aug 29 2013, 10:56 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Aug 29 2013, 12:31 AM)
some question here..

I am planning to load my stuffs (speakers, amplifier, cables) into my car in Labuan, and drive my car back to KK..will the custom tax me if i bring out my stuffs through my car from Labuan? if yes, any good strategies for me?
plug in everything to your car.. you good to go, if in seal box... you might need to declare/tax

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0608sec    1.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:16 PM