134 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

reginabally
post Oct 14 2013, 09:45 AM

37 posts

Just wonder what is the correct term to be used to check out the tax information on http://tariff.customs.gov.my/ for books (fiction and non-fiction)?

I used "book", "novel", "publication" and even "buku", but the result was irrelevant. The only one that I thought quite matches the condition is "-In book form", which the code is 490591000. Is this the correct one?

Thanks in advance.
melt
post Oct 14 2013, 11:20 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(reginabally @ Oct 14 2013, 09:45 AM)
Just wonder what is the correct term to be used to check out the tax information on http://tariff.customs.gov.my/ for books (fiction and non-fiction)?

I used "book", "novel", "publication" and even "buku", but the result was irrelevant. The only one that I thought quite matches the condition is "-In book form", which the code is 490591000. Is this the correct one?

Thanks in advance.
Based on your description above it should be printed books.

maybe this link below will help

http://www.top500.de/lexikon/tpl/lexconten.../hs_code_49.php
ReverseDark
post Oct 14 2013, 11:29 AM

UltimaSword!
709 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Oct 14 2013, 08:59 AM)
like I say it will be 10 sales tax. If you willing to risk it go ahead. Chances of getting taxed should be less since the console its not in a big shape.
thanks for the feedback, high chance l gonna take the risk, beter cross my finger and pray to lady luck, local seller price raised sweat.gif
again thanks for the help!!
reginabally
post Oct 14 2013, 12:22 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Oct 14 2013, 11:20 AM)
Based on your description above it should be printed books.

maybe this link below will help

http://www.top500.de/lexikon/tpl/lexconten.../hs_code_49.php
Thank you very much! So the HS Code should be 4901. thumbup.gif
Sham903n
post Oct 14 2013, 04:08 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(reginabally @ Oct 14 2013, 12:22 PM)
Thank you very much! So the HS Code should be 4901.  thumbup.gif
all reading books are tax free, government encourage reading
rjb123
post Oct 15 2013, 12:04 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(reginabally @ Oct 14 2013, 12:22 PM)
Thank you very much! So the HS Code should be 4901.  thumbup.gif
4901 isn't a complete code, only the header

You should be using the Malaysian tariff website :

http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

reginabally
post Oct 15 2013, 11:22 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Oct 15 2013, 12:04 AM)
4901 isn't a complete code, only the header

You should be using the Malaysian tariff website  :

http://tariff.customs.gov.my/
Oops...should be more specific, sorry. I got the same result as what you've shown, and glad that books are tax free no matter how many copies I buy. rclxms.gif
TOROBO
post Oct 16 2013, 08:29 AM

380 posts

how much do they charge for computer accessories tax?
Sham903n
post Oct 17 2013, 04:47 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(TOROBO @ Oct 16 2013, 08:29 AM)
how much do they charge for computer accessories tax?
what accessories? bags? security cable? ?
TOROBO
post Oct 17 2013, 04:48 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Oct 17 2013, 04:47 PM)
what accessories? bags? security cable? ?
HDD enclosure
pen drive and such

I dont know how to use the customs app properly. sweat.gif
allinbox2u
post Oct 17 2013, 09:16 PM

164 posts

any recommendation couriers service from Australia to Malaysia? Skynet?
falcon21
post Oct 18 2013, 09:14 AM

198 posts

Hi All,

Would like to ask the tax for carrying(hand carry) LEGO toys across JB custom (into M'sia)?

Is it 10% for toys? and no tax if item value below RM500?

I kena 1 time the custom officer told me if I'm working in SG I am not entitled to get exemption even if the value of item below RM500, moreover the board notice in JB custom stated very unclear that 'all' goods will subject up to 30% tax except tobacco,liquor, drugs.

Thus, I kena 1 time 30% but I underquote my item since no receipt brought together.
dyumean
post Oct 18 2013, 03:48 PM

Hi
We do assist in ordering/shipping/delivery of items bought online from USA
We also give special rates for bulk orders.

Do visit our FB PAGE at www.facebook.com/kulshopper for some "KUL" deals and buyers' feedback
or email us at kulshopper@gmail.com for fast response.
Tks!

kulshopper

Marcus315
post Oct 18 2013, 06:01 PM

Hi, I would like to ask for some information concerning postages from overseas through EMS.

If I were to order a TCG Deck (Trading Card Games) that costs about Rm 60 and get it shipped through EMS, will it get detained by customs or kena tax of the sort?
I'm rather worried about the package being detained at KLIA and requiring me to do some needless tasks. .-.

The package is some where around this :
Weight: 0.4kgs
Package Size: 4cm x 16cm x 9cm

Thanks in advance. laugh.gif
Sham903n
post Oct 18 2013, 06:33 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(allinbox2u @ Oct 17 2013, 09:16 PM)
any recommendation couriers service from Australia to Malaysia?  Skynet?
dhl
xoxlifestyle100
post Oct 23 2013, 05:29 AM

69 posts

I am planning to buy a lot of stuffs from an eBay seller and would like it to be shipped by ocean freight as I assume it would be the cheapest, but it's quite hard for me to get details. Been searching high and low. I'm planning to get it shipped from US, Philadelphia. Anyone can advice me please? Which shipping way would be cheapest. I also heard having a business account with shipping company would give me great discount but I'm not running any business. Also regarding taxes, how much taxes would my vinyl records be and probably a few cd albums too. Please advise! If I have posted on the wrong thread please direct me. Newbie here. Thanks!
dragontongue88
post Oct 23 2013, 12:43 PM

360 posts

Hi, I am very new at importing stuff. I was wondering if I purchase video games in bulk from overseas, how much tax will be applied? Is it 10% duty import and 10% sales tax? I'm trying to do the calculations to determine how much the total cost is if I obtain supplies from other countries.

Also, is it usually the case where the courier will clear the tax for us and deal with kastam? So we'll just have to wait for the items to arrive at our address and pay the tax amount to the courier upon arrival?

r4g3
post Oct 23 2013, 01:57 PM

44 posts

One question,

If I consolidated tax & duty free items with taxable & dutiable, how the CIF will be calculated? Since the CIF is not 100% belongs to the taxable & dutiable item. Anyone knew?
redjol
post Oct 23 2013, 07:46 PM

224 posts

Hello, how to open dispute over DHL, seems like they are hunger for my payment. My winter items dont even reach rm500 includes shipping but excludes paypal charge but they open invoice for me around rm79. Please advise

This post has been edited by redjol: Oct 23 2013, 10:43 PM
Sham903n
post Oct 24 2013, 05:42 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(xoxlifestyle100 @ Oct 23 2013, 05:29 AM)
I am planning to buy a lot of stuffs from an eBay seller and would like it to be shipped by ocean freight as I assume it would be the cheapest, but it's quite hard for me to get details. Been searching high and low. I'm planning to get it shipped from US, Philadelphia. Anyone can advice me please? Which shipping way would be cheapest. I also heard having a business account with shipping company would give me great discount but I'm not running any business. Also regarding taxes, how much taxes would my vinyl records be and probably a few cd albums too. Please advise! If I have posted on the wrong thread please direct me. Newbie here. Thanks!
shipping by ocean freight anything taxable above RM250(inclusive shipping) will be tax, if you import using company you will need to appoint a shipping agent that will cost you a few hundred ringgit in fee's. If you import for personal use then appointing shipping agent will not be required. But will take months to reach you

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Oct 25 2013, 09:17 AM

134 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:22 AM