134 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

rideverest
post Jan 15 2013, 09:27 PM

23 posts

Need reply ASAP pls. Wanna buy a bluray box set that Malaysian money cost about RM550 from Amazon UK. Now I know that RM500 above items sure kena tahan so whats the tax on my item. It weighs almost 9kg....
kLvru
post Jan 15 2013, 10:20 PM

144 posts

Hi

I'm planning to buy some microfiber towel and car polish product, as below

1. pack of 6 microfiber towel
2. pack of 3 microfiber towel with foam
3. pack of 6 polishing towel
4. polish

which comes to total of around 160 USD (~480-490 RM) and shipping is around 95 USD (~RM 285).

I'm just wondering will I get taxed? I saw that below RM500 they wont be any tax? But is that inclusive or excluding shipping?

Thanks in advance smile.gif
fairush
post Jan 21 2013, 02:57 PM

hi, i want to buy curling iron from US cost rm126 will it got held by customs?
or do i need an sirim or anything?

This post has been edited by fairush: Jan 26 2013, 09:50 AM
wirna
post Jan 21 2013, 11:22 PM

Thinking of buying suplements/vitamins from US for own use like from GNC site.
Anyone tried before? Will customs let go the items or will kena confiscate? blush.gif

HiT-AbLe
post Jan 22 2013, 11:57 AM

866 posts

What's the phone number for KLIA post office? 87871122 and 87872020, both also didn't work somehow.
TheEvilMan
post Jan 23 2013, 01:52 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

i have a question regarding custom tax, if i purchase an item from sites like amazon, when i make my payment is the tax already been included? If it doesn't, when and where should i pay for the custom tax??

I always heard about people having their item detained at the custom and need to pay extra to release it, so what actually happen there?
cheeho04
post Jan 23 2013, 02:24 PM

For amazon, they will automatically have the tax and fees calculated and included if applied during the check out. Means, they will have it taken care of. You don't have to worry about it. Norammly, once your item value + postage >RM500, you will be asked to pay the tax to amazonin advance. You don't have to pay extra if they were underestimated the tax and fees.
dyumean
post Jan 23 2013, 03:34 PM

Hi!!

KULShopper offers HASSLE-FREE online shopping from USA!
We take the headaches associated with custom matters off your shoulders!!

schiev
post Jan 23 2013, 11:28 PM

Dhl reports says Clearance Delay for my books frm amazon.jp.

What shd i expect frm now on? sad.gif
cyberp
post Jan 24 2013, 02:13 PM

30 posts

bros,

need help.. my fren and i join up and bought sportswear from UK. total incl shipping <200pounds.. i understand its over rm500 limit.. but now dhl call say estimated payment for clearance rm170.
i tot kena tax max 10% sahaja.. how did it become 170 ?
AlauWks
post Jan 25 2013, 11:30 PM

recently the customs is really strict !!! I thinks is nearly Chinese New Year ,so they want inspect for firecrackers ...
miogy
post Jan 28 2013, 08:13 AM

I want to by Sony Ericson Live Watch....
http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Genuine-Sony-Er...=item20c7d7e877

The price is below RM100....Did i need to pay AP because of bluetooth function?
How about bluetooth earphone ?

Thanks biggrin.gif
naith
post Jan 28 2013, 10:02 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(cyberp @ Jan 24 2013, 02:13 PM)
bros,

need help.. my fren and i join up and bought sportswear from UK. total incl shipping <200pounds.. i understand its over rm500 limit.. but now dhl call say estimated payment for clearance rm170.
i tot kena tax max 10% sahaja.. how did it become 170 ?
The tax is calculated using

Value of item + Freight charges + Insurance (1% of the value)

The freight charges are not what you paid, but according to the table attached. Since its from UK, the minimum freight charge is RM 287. If it weighs more, they will increment it accordingly. (<- this is daylight robbery courtesy of Customs)

Also, I think for DHL you have to pay them a certain fee for clearing it through customs (<-not sure about this though)

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Jadual_kos_tambang__Jadual_A_.pdf ( 18.99k ) Number of downloads: 97
ferragammo
post Jan 28 2013, 04:18 PM

Guys! My bronze sculpture (From Ebay) kena stop by malaysia KLIA custom,
The item cost US350 + US197.70 = US547.70
How much tax i need to pay? Please help!!

I'm planning to ask pos Malaysia represent me to go collect it for me, Will the custom simply slaughtered me?

P.S. It weight 29LBS

I also bought a few leather book covers, will i have to pay tax as well?
What about Antique Clock Which is quite expensive? Have to pay tax also?
I also planning to buy an ipod from ebay, also pay tax?

This post has been edited by ferragammo: Jan 28 2013, 04:58 PM
heartmotion
post Jan 29 2013, 07:19 PM

Customs retention reason : High-value goods - Official customs declaration required

What does this mean? Shall I just wait for a letter or just go to the main office or anything. Super clueless.

Bought CDs and all cost around 100USD including everything. Will get tax and stuff? Normally go through without any problem but nearing CNY......

Thanks in advance huhu.
SUSnoos
post Feb 6 2013, 10:33 PM

577 posts

Figurines are taxable with 5% import tax (heading 9502 and 9503)

Is this tax still valid in 2013?
zakarii
post Feb 14 2013, 12:53 AM

44 posts

Hi, I'm buying a messenger bag with a Cordura outer shell lined with truck tarpaulin and a strap made from nylon. I'm also buying two laptop sleeves made from polyester and vinyl. I'm buying this online from US and they will send it by courier(FedEx). It costs USD 255 which is equal to RM788.10 including shipping. Would I have to pay tax? and if so how much? I'm shipping it from US to Sabah. How to avoid tax?
wanrayz2003
post Feb 14 2013, 02:50 PM

31 posts

how to buy rim from yahoo.auction.japan ha? anyone provide the service?
cicako
post Feb 21 2013, 11:36 PM

Hey guys. . I want to ask u guys something. . I just bought Arai Ram4 Haga Monza Helmet from Japan. . The problem right now, they held mine in Unit Tahanan Custom in Butterworth. . The helmet that i bought is worth 41600 japanese yen or Rm1400+- include the shipping. . My question here is, how many percent tax that i will be charged for my helmet? Thank in advance smile.gif
naith
post Feb 25 2013, 07:53 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Feb 25 2013, 12:59 AM)
are you sure the calculation of freight charges is correct?
if im not mistaken that only applicable if u use dhl,fedex or any courier to settle your tax.
if you done it by yourself only need to pay base on product+your shipping cost+insurance.
these forumer post as reference

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=46529299

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=46571865
The freight charges are assigned by customs. The shipping cost you paid does not come into the equation. I've kena-ed twice already. 2nd time the shipper declared my shipment as plastic material, so the tax was 30 % of the CIF, but my calculation of the tax was accurate.

134 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:24 PM