Travel To Japan V10

SUSchinti
post Aug 16 2017, 08:46 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,652 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ Aug 16 2017, 12:46 AM)
Yupe, too bad Nabana no Sato ended earlier this year.  sad.gif  Thank you for the suggestions. Will consider those with my friend.  notworthy.gif
You read me correct there. I'm into photography but I consider myself super amateur in it  laugh.gif  Just hope to get ~20 good shots then I'm a happy man.  rclxms.gif  Why is it hard to get a good shot at the bamboo groove tho?

As for day 4, I thought maybe spending around 1 hour+ at Nishiki market before heading to Mt. Hiei. But then, it is food we are talking about. If cannot make it back for Kiyomizu Dera, then will shift it to day 7 before going to Nara. Day 7 (Nara) is plan to be a more chillax day playing with deers  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  Thank you for the tips in Arashiyama.  thumbsup.gif 

Yupe, food is the priority in Osaka. It will be mostly a makan + shopping trip aside from the Osaka Castle and Umeda Sky Building.  nod.gif

Time to google for Nagoya/Kyoto/Osaka food recommendations.
due to the amount of people taking pic at the bamboo grove, i waited until it started to rain last time to take a decent pic where less people r around
sweet_pez
post Aug 16 2017, 09:19 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ Aug 16 2017, 12:46 AM)
Yupe, too bad Nabana no Sato ended earlier this year.  sad.gif  Thank you for the suggestions. Will consider those with my friend.  notworthy.gif

Time to google for Nagoya/Kyoto/Osaka food recommendations.
Ain't much to do in Nagoya, those are the popular/ top places ady biggrin.gif if you like cars, check out the Toyota Automobile Museum. Atsuta Jingu is also worth a visit, its bigger than Osu Kannon temple and there's a popular kishimen there.

Anyway for food, I'd recommend you try Nagoya's specialty - Misokatsu. Its chicken katsu but addon Nagoya's red miso sauce. It's not bad, I enjoyed it although a little salty.

Recommended place:

Yabaton Honten (the HQ/ main shop)
3-6-18 Osu, Nakaku, Nagoya 460-0011, Aichi Prefecture
Opening Hours: Daily 11:00-21:00
Cost: 1,000-2,000yen

Other Nagoya specialty: Tebasaki (fried chicken wing) & misonikomi udon. If you have the time, try them.
RegentCid
post Aug 16 2017, 10:23 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Aug 16 2017, 01:09 AM)
Hey man! It's been awhile! Happy to see some familiar names in this thread. How is it going? Any future trip to Japan?
Fine, Long time no saw you here already.
I still same, 1 year going Japan 8 - 10 times

RegentCid
post Aug 16 2017, 10:41 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 16 2017, 08:19 AM)
Ain't much to do in Nagoya, those are the popular/ top places ady biggrin.gif if you like cars, check out the Toyota Automobile Museum. Atsuta Jingu is also worth a visit, its bigger than Osu Kannon temple and there's a popular kishimen there.

Anyway for food, I'd recommend you try Nagoya's specialty - Misokatsu. Its chicken katsu but addon Nagoya's red miso sauce. It's not bad, I enjoyed it although a little salty.

Recommended place:

Yabaton Honten (the HQ/ main shop)
3-6-18 Osu, Nakaku, Nagoya 460-0011, Aichi Prefecture
Opening Hours: Daily 11:00-21:00
Cost: 1,000-2,000yen

Other Nagoya specialty: Tebasaki (fried chicken wing) & misonikomi udon. If you have the time, try them.
Yabaton are serving Pork as their specialty miso katsu. 90% of thier menu are pork. If I remember correctly, they no serving chicken.
nasizwan
post Aug 16 2017, 10:55 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 16 2017, 10:23 AM)
Fine, Long time no saw you here already.
I still same, 1 year going Japan 8 - 10 times
Yeah I know. Been busy with work and plus now I have two kids lol.
Next trip to JP, inbox me. We'll go for a drink smile.gif
sweet_pez
post Aug 16 2017, 01:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 16 2017, 10:41 AM)
Yabaton are serving Pork as their specialty miso katsu.  90% of thier menu are pork. If I remember correctly, they no serving chicken.
Gosh you're right, its pork katsu. I kept thinking it's chicken because katsu.

SUSchinti
post Aug 16 2017, 02:14 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 16 2017, 01:03 PM)

piggy katsu the best thumbsup.gif
lyc1982
post Aug 16 2017, 02:26 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Aug 15 2017, 05:55 PM)
want to ask...it is 100k yen is enough for 2 week trip to japan (osaka-kyoto-tokyo) minus accommodation & flight ticket??
does it include shopping ?

based on my experience it will be a bit tight...with low ringgit value recently, better take more like 150k yen

after all...no harm to have contingency cash
sweet_pez
post Aug 16 2017, 04:00 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 16 2017, 02:14 PM)
piggy katsu the best  thumbsup.gif
Malaysia you can rarely get pork katsu, it's most chikin katsu hmm.gif

In fact, there's only 1 place that friend found, which serves tendon. Ahhhh Daikokuya tendon... my comfort food wub.gif
SUSchinti
post Aug 16 2017, 04:02 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 16 2017, 04:00 PM)
Malaysia you can rarely get pork katsu, it's most chikin katsu hmm.gif

In fact, there's only 1 place that friend found, which serves tendon. Ahhhh Daikokuya tendon... my comfort food wub.gif
so far i havent tasted any nice 1 yet even when they hv piggy katsu sad.gif
Brad1218
post Aug 16 2017, 04:57 PM

I heard that this is a very good country. I dream to visit there once
deodorant
post Aug 16 2017, 06:24 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

lol shouldn't it be the other way around, "katsu" to me defaults to pork, not chicken smile.gif
nasizwan
post Aug 16 2017, 06:31 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 16 2017, 06:24 PM)
lol shouldn't it be the other way around, "katsu" to me defaults to pork, not chicken smile.gif
Actually, katsu means cutlet or way of cooking using panko (bread crumbs) and is deep fried. So to be honest, it has no default but of course, pork katsu is more common here in Japan than beef katsu or chicken katsu.
deodorant
post Aug 16 2017, 06:41 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Aug 16 2017, 06:31 PM)
Actually, katsu means cutlet or way of cooking using panko (bread crumbs) and is deep fried. So to be honest, it has no default but of course, pork katsu is more common here in Japan than beef katsu or chicken katsu.
Hmm but any shop selling "かつ丼" or if in conversation with your colleagues or etc they ajak you makan かつ丼 isn't it automatically assumed to be pork?
lyc1982
post Aug 16 2017, 08:05 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 16 2017, 06:41 PM)
Hmm but any shop selling "かつ丼" or if in conversation with your colleagues or etc they ajak you makan かつ丼 isn't it automatically assumed to be pork?
katsu can be either pork or chicken

while tonkatsu is pork...i always look for tonkatsu haha
zeipher
post Aug 17 2017, 12:25 AM

330 posts

That is one big piece of tonkatsu there and looks really good. What is the other plate with the sticks?

How bout hitsumabushi? Saw lots of recommendation for Atsuta Horaiken. Seems to be a very heavy meal with a hefty price. sweat.gif

One question, in Japan, you usually don't share meals. Am I right?

This post has been edited by zeipher: Aug 17 2017, 12:26 AM
deodorant
post Aug 17 2017, 08:51 AM

5,691 posts

nasizwan chinti RegentCid sacwoc Please try this so-called "michelin starred" cup noodle and let us know if legit or not 😬

http://goodyfeed.com/theres-one-michelin-s...n-bought-japan/
SUSchinti
post Aug 17 2017, 08:54 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 17 2017, 08:51 AM)
nasizwan chinti RegentCid sacwoc Please try this so-called "michelin starred" cup noodle and let us know if legit or not 😬

i will skip, tested quite a few michelin restaurant in diff countries n all of them doesnt suit my taste
sacwoc
post Aug 17 2017, 08:57 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 17 2017, 08:51 AM)

I already left Japan, so cannot really try, unless I go back for holiday
Fyonne
post Aug 17 2017, 09:04 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 16 2017, 04:02 PM)
so far i havent tasted any nice 1 yet even when they hv piggy katsu  sad.gif
ada rekomendasi on croquette?

i prefer croquette than pork katsu btw. whistling.gif