Fyonne
post Jun 20 2017, 09:37 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 20 2017, 09:23 AM)
blush.gif
nice experience la if u nv seen it b4, the auction go super fast 1, the guy shout shout shout then suddenly sold d lol
kansai foods i havent try out much myself, will probably plan a kansai trip in december and update here
maybe next year, ada plan Amanohashidate, Ise Shima, Kobe n Himeji in mind including Kyoto n Osaka.

btw, ur 2 days mini kansai/kyoto trip, y not day 1, instead Fushimi Inari, go to Kinkakuji,
n day 2 instead of Kinkakuji, go to Fushimi inari?
Fyonne
post Jun 20 2017, 12:40 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 20 2017, 09:45 AM)
oh cause of the lighting for photos, fushimi inari its nicer to take photos when its a bit dark also easier when its less ppl in fushimi inari, while kinkakuji u need sunshine for nice photos

the crowd is troublesome in fushimi inari due to the limited walking space, plus if u go a bit late the atmosphere at fushimi inari can b quite scary at certain part  icon_idea.gif
i see
never had a chance to see the crowd of Fushimi inari, went there by 5-6am left by 8am. so not sure if evening view is better compare to morning.
morning city view is nice, morning hike is fun, but kinda let down on the peak. cant see the surrounding that much.

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 20 2017, 10:00 AM)
Yay congratz to the new thread! About time rclxms.gif
This is rare! And I'm happy to know there's someone here who is interested in Ise too!!! But for me Ise maybe end of 2018 or do in 2019. Do share your experience there. I can't wait to visit Ise Jingu!
I agree, that's why the auction is never a priority to me. It's more of nice-to-go if I can, but when I think about sacrificing sleep, it's so difficult. Even when we're home daily around 11 or so, taking turns to shower, getting prepared for tomorrow etc, easily end up sleeping past midnight. Next day gotta wake up early again for a long day. Its too taxing on my ol' bones and the idea of missing sleep were not popular with any of my friends laugh.gif
on the list yet to plan.
seem very complicated travelling around there, might ditch it if too troublesome though.
none the less, really wish to visit that place. plan on day trip back from main city (kyoto/osaka). hopefully
Fyonne
post Jun 20 2017, 01:36 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 20 2017, 12:51 PM)
advisable to do nara or kobe day trip...the rest better stay at that place that you intend to visit

#justmy2cents
hate the fact need to drag luggage.
hate the fact though they allow u to store luggage, its limited to their opening time (mean no 1st train to tat area, can be solve if there is lockers service tho)
hate the fact u had to return after 3pm to check in (hostel/hotel/ryokan, maybe some mingsu/airbnb can be early)

just my 2cents. wink.gif

though can do midnight stroll on that area, which is nice.
still on planning phase. tongue.gif
Fyonne
post Jun 20 2017, 02:05 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 20 2017, 01:15 PM)
Hmmm its about 2 hours one way, 4 hours return. And the cost is appx 2.2-2.5k yen one way ohmy.gif pretty costly.
i already did day trip to Nikko from Tokyo. laugh.gif
if not due to weekend traffic jam (2-3 hours jam n delay), i might able to visit both Futarasan n Tochigi Temple.
went all the way to Ryuzu Fall, Chuzenji Lake n Kegon fall. also manage to visit Kanmangafuchi Abyss n Rennoji. only visit outside Tochigi n Futarasan due to closing time n head back to Tokyo.

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 20 2017, 01:38 PM)
Luggage drop at train station locker
my 2nd point lo, still need to bring into train, around the station. drop em on destination station, n then retrieve it to lodging (unless i store main big luggage there n only bring with me 1 day neccessities in backpack/bag with me to lodging)
Fyonne
post Jun 20 2017, 04:23 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 20 2017, 03:02 PM)
how many days u planning to go?
dunno yet. 7 to 10 days perhaps? spring time (hanami)
KIX > Osaka (rest)> Himeji > Kobe (day trip) > Kyoto > Amanohashidate (day trip if not goin Shirakawa-go) > Shirakawa-go (should I?) > Osaka > Ise Shima (day trip perhaps) > Kix
Fyonne
post Jun 28 2017, 09:44 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 24 2017, 04:16 PM)
stay in osaka and do day trips to kyoto ...?

not recommended
kinda depend on ppl. i myself dislike changing hotel in short time (unless it require time consuming commuting between places).
n also u can be more flexible like checking weather forecast n plan where u wan to go.
example, if its raining in Osaka n sunny at Kyoto, u can reschedule ur plan.
Fyonne
post Jun 28 2017, 11:10 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 28 2017, 10:21 AM)
if you check the train cost to commute between osaka and kyoto...it might change your mind

plus booking accommodations in advance will save you money as well

but if money isn't a problem to you...go for it !
they mention plan go kobe, nara. if all those add up, kansai wide pass or similar would be a better choice.
but some suggest to go up to Hiroshima (the person u quoted).

just my 2 cents.
Fyonne
post Jun 30 2017, 09:19 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 29 2017, 10:42 AM)
I went sunshine city on my first trip to tokyo. aside from the pokémon, i remember the namjatown "theme park" (sort of) was quite interesting. there's one shop there where can try some "miracle fruit" that after you suck suck, then it makes sour stuff taste sweet, feels weird to suck on lemon and it taste like lemon candy. then also got gyoza stadium (aka food court) and cup ice cream museum with all those super weird flavours like snake, chicken wing, ramen, soy sauce etc.

[edit] oh and ikebukuro also has ikefukurou owl "cafe" ... it's not an actual cafe, just a small shop with like 20 owls inside then you can go in and pat their heads and get them to perch on your fingers.
wented Sky Circus tho. abit different than ur average observation deck. has something to interact with rather than just viewing city view. got few VR related stuff but nothing to shout about n worse is need to pay extra for it aside having to pay to go up.
my trip to ikebukuro is purely due to Kawagoe. din explore much.

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 29 2017, 01:56 PM)
Was quite tempted to go Ueno Zoo, but as an animal lover, if I ever go in - i won't be out till end of the day hahahahaha. So better not... Besides Tsuta's waiting time is only about 3-4 hours from the time you take the number/ card right. I would prefer to take the earliest slot and have an early lunch (i heard as early as 11am) then get the free time to go to another area. I mean, its an ideal plan for me but life don't always give us what we want  laugh.gif
Hehhhhhh sounds interesting. So we'll need to pay to access Namjatown and the Aquarium right? But sounds like places that I'll have fun spending time at. Thanks for the info!

I guess I'll say why not to Ikebukuro as (last 2 trips I didn't go there - unless you count the quick stopover at Ikebukuro Park for a photo, as I watched the IWGP drama hahaha - otherwise I haven't been there) it sounds interesting.
For Tsuta, 1.2k yen is not expensive because its a 1-star Michelin restaurant and they use black truffle oil. Its expensive ingredient, and definitely one of the cheapest Michelin star restaurant you can find in Tokyo.
rather than zoo, i went to Ueno Science Museum tho. due to it has dinosaur bone display (replica tho). that place was huge, so i din cover all n head to otaku town.
Fyonne
post Jun 30 2017, 11:33 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 30 2017, 09:49 AM)
you mean you dropped by ikebukuro on the way to kawagoe ?

since the train ride takes ~1 hour ?
Pakai Tobu line, half an hour ride (express train), using 700yen kawagoe discount pass.
had to travel from Ikebukuro station.
Fyonne
post Jun 30 2017, 03:26 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 30 2017, 12:42 PM)
Its the one next to Ueno Park isn't it? Think I noticed this large building at the park but didn't really explore as it was just touch N go since it was my first trip back then hahaha.
The train will pass by Ikebukuro on the way to Kawagoe, and its approximately 30-45min away only. But personally having been to Kawagoe, I wouldn't be keen to return. Although the town is pleasant to walk around and visit, the main street is narrow and very crowded. I really wished they would close off the main road to stop cars from coming in sweat.gif  ...And yes, expect it to be very touristy.
not sure if the big building u mentioned is the science museum tho. Ueno park seem huge with few museum around i think.

Kawagoe, just enjoy the old building structure. the time i went there, the bell tower on re-construction. din buy nething, just browse and look around (yes, i do agree its really crowded).
Fyonne
post Jul 4 2017, 01:28 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 4 2017, 12:44 PM)
should be fine if u stay in landed, never experience water shortage in japan before
just wondering, if wan minum water, the tap water in japan is safe to drink?

Fyonne
post Jul 11 2017, 10:43 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 10 2017, 09:12 AM)
Since a few years back you can use any of those prepaid cards in most of Japan. This means that if you have SUICA/PASMO you can also use it in Kyoto/Osaka.
used Suica, but certain vending machine in Kyoto din accept it.
din has chance to try on konbini store tho.
Fyonne
post Jul 11 2017, 11:50 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 11 2017, 11:27 AM)
Not sure about vending machine. But all prepaid IC card hve been made compatible with each other.
Refer to http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2359_003.html. It did mentions "almost".
no problem on all the train n tram.
just vending machine on kyoto area, din had much problem on tokyo part, both vending machine n konbini store.

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 11 2017, 11:31 AM)
sometimes just the vending machine bug, i kena few times before. the vending machine show pasmo can b used but it wont detect my card
dunno, tested n din work, so dun wan to embarassed myself
i just assumed it din listed on the vending machine hence not supported,
used coins mostly on Kansai area.
Fyonne
post Jul 20 2017, 10:12 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jul 19 2017, 08:51 PM)
Need recommendation for WIFI rental, my requirement is as below

- Tokyo Area
- Outskirt of Tokyo within max.150KM away
- Unlimited Data use for FB Live, video + photo posting and Google Map the most.
- long battery life 9 hours? *Will bring power bank if not enough*

Looking for those RM15/day or below that fits my usage and I saw this https://www.travelrecommends.com/ is it ok for my usage?

*Bonus, I still have 1 more WIFI provided by ABNB host but I don't hope so much on it because free item might not unlimted, since is free I use together with the one I rented lo.*
use it, seem ok with me. unless u went to really isolated/mountain area. only place give slight problem on Kibuneyama & KuramaDera (Kuramayama)

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jul 20 2017, 12:15 AM)
I see, is it fast, unlimited data and battery lasting?

btw, I have another question for subway changing line as below picture. It mention "Continue on the same vehicle", does it means I just don't bother and stay inside the train until I reach Sangen-jaya Station?

[attachmentid=8977065]
just make sure the train u board is the train listed. check the notice n the train b4 u enter.
Fyonne
post Jul 21 2017, 04:48 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(nickrulez942 @ Jul 21 2017, 04:18 PM)
What about 4K that's about 100k yen.. how much is really enough to shop lightly and eat
i did 10k yen per day for food only.
normal meal around 1k yen. cafe style around 2k-4k yen.
sushi set on tsukiji market around 4-5k yen.
7-11 sandwiches/cup noodles around 300++ yen.

it wont stop u on splurge eating like chinti 9k yen per meal.
if day 1 u spent minimal (lets say 4k yen, it will leaving u 6k yen extra, put em a total of 16k yen for day 2 spending)
Fyonne
post Jul 22 2017, 12:02 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jul 22 2017, 10:49 AM)
[attachmentid=8983053]

Hi again all sifu, I still blur for the above route. Please enlighten me with above picture. I have tickets as below

1. tokyo metro 72 hours pass
2. Suica Card

When I reach at the Shibuya Station, it ask me stay on board but if I was using tokyo meto day pass, how to I exit outside tokyo metro station?

Do i need to leave train at Shibuya station with tokyo metro pass n reenter with suica card?

Or can I exit at destination station by going to ticket machine to pay balance? if yes, any site that enables this instruction? I found those is using ticket to pay balance but not tokyo metro pass.

Please help!
unable to clarify but heard passes arent able to exit there.
in case of those same train change provider, i used Suica in my journey. (from wat i experience, Shinjuku to Odaiba on same train, or Shinjuku to Yokohama on same train)
rather than exit n reenter with suica, i avoid hassle.

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 22 2017, 11:32 AM)
boy, pls download Tokyo Subway Route Map
Tokyo Subway Map

ur case, since u r remaining in the train, tat mean u r traveling on the same line...
tokyo pass user no need pay
i dun think metro pass cover it, as it only covered Tokyo Metro n Toei Subway
Fyonne
post Aug 1 2017, 02:10 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(bearyteddy @ Aug 1 2017, 12:12 PM)
good question, i m mini big, my friend is big big... drool.gif

but i m ok to squeeze cause most of time i will be sleeping. but my friend nope. but was wondering does the extra legroom really gor difference?
airasia to HK, im thin but sandwiched by 2 huge friend.
went on front seat, atleast u can stretch ur leg, goin bak is horrible, coz cant secure front seat. atleast it was on the way back rather than going, else mood will be spoilt.
literally being "boxed" around.
Fyonne
post Aug 7 2017, 10:16 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 7 2017, 08:59 AM)
In Japan you need to pay for plastic bags which I think is similar to Selangor. So normally for places like Jusco, they set aside used boxes like pampas at one side. Once you pay you go there and you just pack your stuff inside your box. There is also tapes and scissors so you can tape it as well. Do note that not all supermarket have it, especially those "high class" supermarket.
never shop at Aeon, but visited Life, din notice needed to pay for bag,
just tat after paying, u have to self bag after the paying counter at nearby bagging area.

side note: kinda fun to see how their cashier counter with automated money counting machine, coin slot n bill slot the cashier put in, it detect how much customer paying to minimize human error.
Fyonne
post Aug 14 2017, 01:33 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 14 2017, 11:27 AM)
ginza mostly chinese tourist while akiba more otaku type...work there in ginza last time in a hainanese chikin rice shop, weekends really wan kill people when those people come dine... bangwall.gif
my Ginza trip was rather awkward.
went there, main road are being closed, some train station exit are being closed/redirect to other exits. alot of ppl with same t-shirt print control the situation, some police n vehicles around. some shop closes their side entry. google search doesnt show me wats happening, i quickly cabut n went somewhere else.

later evening my bro told me its japanese olympic's athlete welcoming back ceremony/parade.

0.1024sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:18 AM