7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V10

lyc1982
post Jun 20 2017, 10:05 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 20 2017, 10:00 AM)
Yay congratz to the new thread! About time rclxms.gif
This is rare! And I'm happy to know there's someone here who is interested in Ise too!!! But for me Ise maybe end of 2018 or do in 2019. Do share your experience there. I can't wait to visit Ise Jingu!
I agree, that's why the auction is never a priority to me. It's more of nice-to-go if I can, but when I think about sacrificing sleep, it's so difficult. Even when we're home daily around 11 or so, taking turns to shower, getting prepared for tomorrow etc, easily end up sleeping past midnight. Next day gotta wake up early again for a long day. Its too taxing on my ol' bones and the idea of missing sleep were not popular with any of my friends laugh.gif
i've always wanted to visit the tuna auction...i was staying at ginza hotel...but then couldn't bring myself up that early
lyc1982
post Jun 20 2017, 12:39 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 20 2017, 11:07 AM)
Wah stay in Ginza $$$$$$$$  wink.gif
I hardly hear anyone mention Ise hmm.gif that's why I thought it's not popular among Malaysians.

Hahahaha if wanna go to the auction, I'd stay nearby. My friend and her husband took 11+ train to Tsukiji and stayed at manga cafe till 2am? Then they went to the auction.
purposely stayed at ginza so i can walk to tsukiji around 3am...ended up still in dreamland till 8am
lyc1982
post Jun 20 2017, 12:51 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jun 20 2017, 12:40 PM)
i see
never had a chance to see the crowd of Fushimi inari, went there by 5-6am left by 8am. so not sure if evening view is better compare to morning.
morning city view is nice, morning hike is fun, but kinda let down on the peak. cant see the surrounding that much.
on the list yet to plan.
seem very complicated travelling around there, might ditch it if too troublesome though.
none the less, really wish to visit that place. plan on day trip back from main city (kyoto/osaka). hopefully
advisable to do nara or kobe day trip...the rest better stay at that place that you intend to visit

#justmy2cents
lyc1982
post Jun 21 2017, 09:54 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 20 2017, 05:30 PM)
cya all in 10 days time wit nice photos, off to bed n wake up 3am to go airport later  rclxms.gif
souvenirs !
lyc1982
post Jun 21 2017, 12:28 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jun 21 2017, 11:22 AM)
year end JAL from Kuching to Sapporo, 2 stops, 4 pax return tickets for total RM10k
good deal or just normal price? hmm.gif
2.5k per pax...expensive for me
lyc1982
post Jun 21 2017, 02:30 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 21 2017, 02:28 PM)
I did, but mine was to Tokyo from Kul. They don't have Sales often, but even if they do, the price difference is approximately RM200-300 difference per pax. Its not as low as to go half price.

When I bought my tix, it was under JAL but the flight from KL to Tokyo was operated by MAS. So i flew with MAS to Tokyo, and return by JAL flight. Don't be surprised if this happens.
that sux...
lyc1982
post Jun 22 2017, 03:54 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 22 2017, 10:12 AM)
sifus, if i plan a 7/8 nights to Kansai region, how many nights should i plan for Osaka and Kyoto? The rest like Kobe or Nara, I will just do day trip. Not really keen to change too many hotels.

Is early October a good time? I like to go later in the year but it gets too expensive sad.gif

Btw KIX to Osaka takes how long journey?
i would suggest 3 days in osaka and 5 days in kyoto as kyoto offers more sightseeings

kobe or nara can do day trip either from osaka or kyoto

oct is good...but if you go late nov can catch koyo...
lyc1982
post Jun 24 2017, 04:16 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Jun 24 2017, 02:38 PM)
I feel like trying out one night at expensive ryokan during autumn biggrin.gif

Anyone here got recommendations? The "japanese style dinner" I keep reading about is referred to as "kaiseki"? Or no...?
You need to decide where and what you want to do first lah... Osaka 1 day oso can, Kyoto 1 day oso can, depends on what you want to visit. If you don't want to change hotel, then you just stay in Osaka and do 1-day trips to other places - 1 day 1 city biggrin.gif Can add Hiroshima / Miyajima / Mt. Koya to your list.
stay in osaka and do day trips to kyoto ...?

not recommended
lyc1982
post Jun 28 2017, 10:21 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jun 28 2017, 09:44 AM)
kinda depend on ppl. i myself dislike changing hotel in short time (unless it require time consuming commuting between places).
n also u can be more flexible like checking weather forecast n plan where u wan to go.
example, if its raining in Osaka n sunny at Kyoto, u can reschedule ur plan.
if you check the train cost to commute between osaka and kyoto...it might change your mind

plus booking accommodations in advance will save you money as well

but if money isn't a problem to you...go for it !

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Jun 28 2017, 10:22 AM
lyc1982
post Jun 28 2017, 11:27 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 28 2017, 11:10 AM)
Queuing under the rain wit no umbrella just to try a ramen... I hope it's worth it. Will giv review later on.

when i was there during rain...the japs mostly using the transparent type umbrellas...haha
lyc1982
post Jun 28 2017, 11:39 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jun 28 2017, 11:36 AM)
Day 1 – Kansai Airport / Kyoto - bus
Day 2 – Fushimi Inari / Tokufu-ji / Kyoto Tower - ICOCA
Day 3 – Kiyomizu-dera / Maruyama Park / Yasaka / Pontocho / Lower Gion - ICOCA
Day 4 – Kinkaku-ji / Ryoan-ji / Ninnaji / To-ji - ICOCA
Day 5 – Nijo / Imperial Castle / Nishiki Market / Upper Gion - ICOCA
Day 6 – Ginkaku-ji / Nanzen-ji / Uji (if free) - ICOCA
Day 7 – Arashiyama and Sagano - ICOCA
Day 8 – Nara / Himeji / Kobe - Kansai Thru Pass 3-days
Day 9 – Gundam Square / Umeda / Nipponbashi / Shinsekai - Kansai Thru Pass 3-days
Day 10 – Kaiyukan / USJ (just outside) / Namba / Dotonbori - Captain Line Cruise Pass
Day 11 (last day) – Airport - Kansai Thru Pass 3-days

Is this ok? Any comment?
looks ok to me..

one question though... kansai thru pass 3-days can use from 8th till 11th ?

lyc1982
post Jun 28 2017, 03:18 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Jun 28 2017, 02:55 PM)
btw, if anyone getting the ICOCA card....better get the Kansai One Pass

it's actually the same as normal ICOCA but with extra benefits...
it's specially for foreigners so you'll need to show your passport first...
Info here
will consider this for my upcoming kansai trip...
lyc1982
post Jun 29 2017, 10:54 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Jun 28 2017, 11:43 PM)
Tsuta is good. very refined taste and you'll have to savor it to identify the minute uniqueness.
At least that's my experience with tsuta. But don't bother if you're into thick broth. Can't compare freely with those other thick broth like ichiran. It's like karipap kentang vs karipap sardin  biggrin.gif

Thing is.. I can't really enjoy tsuta since I know there are people waiting for me to leave(long queue outside). Add to the fact it was raining at that time, I feel kinda guilty if I take my time.

Conclusion, I'd rather have ichiran as it is more hearty and the freedom of addons/time to savor the food.
Also.. not much to do in Sugamo. I walked around.. entered the Rikugien Gardens(really really beautiful)for a bit, passed by some schools and girls college.. then wait in a coffee house. Prolly my fault for not researching more. going back to accommodation feels like a waste of 400 yen at that time.
what is the average spending at Tsuta ?

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 29 2017, 10:42 AM)
I went sunshine city on my first trip to tokyo. aside from the pokémon, i remember the namjatown "theme park" (sort of) was quite interesting. there's one shop there where can try some "miracle fruit" that after you suck suck, then it makes sour stuff taste sweet, feels weird to suck on lemon and it taste like lemon candy. then also got gyoza stadium (aka food court) and cup ice cream museum with all those super weird flavours like snake, chicken wing, ramen, soy sauce etc.

[edit] oh and ikebukuro also has ikefukurou owl "cafe" ... it's not an actual cafe, just a small shop with like 20 owls inside then you can go in and pat their heads and get them to perch on your fingers.
namjatown is famous for its wide variety of unique flavoured ice cream
lyc1982
post Jun 29 2017, 11:37 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 29 2017, 11:36 AM)
1.2k yen, standard ramen price
1.2k yen is not standard loh...

but my max spending on ichiran ramen was 900 yen lah haha
lyc1982
post Jun 30 2017, 09:49 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jun 30 2017, 09:19 AM)
wented Sky Circus tho. abit different than ur average observation deck. has something to interact with rather than just viewing city view. got few VR related stuff but nothing to shout about n worse is need to pay extra for it aside having to pay to go up.
my trip to ikebukuro is purely due to Kawagoe. din explore much.
rather than zoo, i went to Ueno Science Museum tho. due to it has dinosaur bone display (replica tho). that place was huge, so i din cover all n head to otaku town.
you mean you dropped by ikebukuro on the way to kawagoe ?

since the train ride takes ~1 hour ?
lyc1982
post Jul 3 2017, 04:05 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 3 2017, 03:36 PM)
how much if includes luggages?
if luggage included it will be ~900...the question is...which dates ?
lyc1982
post Jul 3 2017, 04:48 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 3 2017, 04:25 PM)
well, tokyo is pretty much a place u can visit all year round. for tht price i say go for it  thumbsup.gif i personally dun lik taking airasia be it normal or airasia x tho for flight over 4 hours....took it once n reach japan wit whole body sore n couldn't move... rclxub.gif  doh.gif
personally i would avoid summer

i am asking because sakura period hardly can find less than rm1k return fares on any airline
lyc1982
post Jul 3 2017, 05:01 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 3 2017, 04:50 PM)
summer is fun if u can tahan the weather, its hotter than malaysia  sweat.gif
oh unless buy early, my cousin bought airasia flight to osaka next year sakura period, return ticket less than RM1k. he bought it last month
which dates was that ?

any idea ?
lyc1982
post Jul 10 2017, 12:34 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:34 PM)
Hi guys, after googling..I found out that best transportation mode is the bullet train.Therefore, need to get a JR pass.But then, I found out that a 7-day pass costs around 1K plus.Would it be better or worth if I rent a car & travel around instead?

I'm soon going around Tokyo,Kyoto & Osaka
QUOTE(moyong @ Jul 9 2017, 10:16 PM)
Hi all, i'd like to tag along with this question too hehe

Am also planning to go 3 cities, Osaka > Kyoto > Tokyo > Back Osaka for flight.

I searched that a budget option will be to take the Willer Bus (night bus) which costs around JPY6,000.

Would it be wiser to just spend a 1 way ticket bullet train from Tokyo back to Osaka on the last day?

I was wondering whether I should get a 7 day pass but i'll only be visiting Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo which doesn't seem to be worth to get the pass.
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
i realized you guys only mentioned number of cities to be visited...but no mention of how many days ?
lyc1982
post Jul 10 2017, 12:25 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,327 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 10 2017, 09:48 AM)
have u been to japan before? if nope then i strongly suggest u either go tokyo 10 days or kansai area 10 days. by covering two regions u will be quite rush and might not cover everything as well.
well unless of course he / she only planning to visit japan only once in their lifetime

which is not applicable to me...haha

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1002sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:25 PM