QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 17 2017, 09:04 AM)
ada ada, nakano there curry and black curry croquette. got curry cheese croquette tooTravel To Japan V10
Travel To Japan V10
Aug 17 2017, 09:06 AM
1,653 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: My Fantasy World |
Aug 17 2017, 09:26 AM
904 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Penang (Mainland) |
Aug 17 2017, 09:28 AM
Aug 17 2017, 09:37 AM
4,277 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 地獄だ |
QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 16 2017, 06:24 PM) Maybe coz too used to Malaysia style. It's always chicken katsu here. In Japan yes, pork is more common. Brain didn't switch to Japan mode QUOTE(zeipher @ Aug 17 2017, 12:25 AM) That is one big piece of tonkatsu there and looks really good. What is the other plate with the sticks? The other one is kushikatsu, it's also piggy but in skewers. You can check Yabaton's menu here: http://www.english.yabaton.com/#menulist How bout hitsumabushi? Saw lots of recommendation for Atsuta Horaiken. Seems to be a very heavy meal with a hefty price. One question, in Japan, you usually don't share meals. Am I right? Was there before 7pm but there's already a queue. It wasn't a long wait thankfully because the Honten (main branch/ HQ) is pretty big. As for the eel, yes it was in our list but didn't manage to go for 2 main reasons: 1. We were in Atsuta Jingu on New Year's Day, a lot of shops and restaurants were not open. 2. We did came back to Nagoya last 2 days before flying off, but had plans for other places so we didn't go back to the Atsuta area. Our trip was: Nagoya (3 nights) -> Takayama (1 night) -> ShirakawaGo (1 night) -> Nagoya (2 nights) While we didn't manage to do a lot of things, I think one of the best day trip we did was Kiso Valley (about an hour+ from Nagoya). It was quiet but the hike was interesting. Nature, history and appreciation for old town... I find that our trip had a good closure with the visit. QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 17 2017, 08:51 AM) nasizwan chinti RegentCid sacwoc Please try this so-called "michelin starred" cup noodle and let us know if legit or not 😬 sacwoc Now in HK. I'm sure you can ask him about HK cup noodles. HAHAHAHA!http://goodyfeed.com/theres-one-michelin-s...n-bought-japan/ This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 17 2017, 09:38 AM |
Aug 17 2017, 09:48 AM
Aug 17 2017, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 17 2017, 09:48 AM) chinti are you talking about Nakano station/ Nakano Broadway area/ street? nakano broadway where most ppl go for mandarake storeThe one Fyonne found is in Setagaya, 30min by car to Nakano broadway. here here, cant read but i c the word nakano broadway and the curry pan inside http://sakura-hotel-ikebukuro.com/blog/201...kdfk_dfkdfk.php This post has been edited by chinti: Aug 17 2017, 09:50 AM |
Aug 17 2017, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 17 2017, 09:48 AM) chinti are you talking about Nakano station/ Nakano Broadway area/ street? The one Fyonne found is in Setagaya, 30min by car to Nakano broadway. https://www.yelp.com/biz/%E3%82%B3%E3%83%AD...%87%8E%E5%8C%BA |
Aug 17 2017, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 17 2017, 10:45 AM) Tutup kedai liao.![]() This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 17 2017, 11:46 AM |
Aug 17 2017, 11:45 AM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 17 2017, 07:51 AM) nasizwan chinti RegentCid sacwoc Please try this so-called "michelin starred" cup noodle and let us know if legit or not 😬 I doubt it taste good. http://goodyfeed.com/theres-one-michelin-s...n-bought-japan/ Instant food , mana boleh sedap? |
Aug 17 2017, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 17 2017, 11:37 AM) mau tanya Chinti when last time dia makan, maybe moved to Setagaya de. me only google nakano + curry + croquette |
Aug 17 2017, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 17 2017, 12:08 PM) mau tanya Chinti when last time dia makan, i posted a dunno wat language article above d, inside got the shop picmaybe moved to Setagaya de. me only google nakano + curry + croquette so its called tenma curry This post has been edited by chinti: Aug 17 2017, 12:13 PM |
Aug 17 2017, 03:56 PM
330 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 17 2017, 09:37 AM) Our trip was: Shirakawa Go is oh so pretty from photos around the internet. Did you go during winter time? We thought of going for a day trip but later scrapped to make way for more days spend in Kyoto. Japan have too many locations to cover in 1 trip.Nagoya (3 nights) -> Takayama (1 night) -> ShirakawaGo (1 night) -> Nagoya (2 nights) While we didn't manage to do a lot of things, I think one of the best day trip we did was Kiso Valley (about an hour+ from Nagoya). It was quiet but the hike was interesting. Nature, history and appreciation for old town... I find that our trip had a good closure with the visit. |
Aug 17 2017, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(zeipher @ Aug 17 2017, 03:56 PM) Shirakawa Go is oh so pretty from photos around the internet. Did you go during winter time? We thought of going for a day trip but later scrapped to make way for more days spend in Kyoto. Japan have too many locations to cover in 1 trip. Yesssss 1 day is too limited. I had about 4 days in Nagoya and still not done exploring! Shirakawa-Go is in the UNESCO World Heritage site Friends and I was there early Jan this year. Day 1 - Shirakawa-Go. We arrived between 3-330pm and went out to play around 4pm after checking-in. It wasn't snowing. Whatever snow were there - a lot had been melted off by the locals to make it easy to walk. ![]() Day 2 Pic 1- Went out of the gassho-zukuri/ minshuku between 8-830am (as breakfast was served at 7am, also took some time to pack up) and there was thick fog. It was snowing slightly, but the night before there were heavy snow and we were so happy & amazed by the scene before our eyes. ![]() Day 2 Pic 2 - We stayed in the inner most part of ShirakawaGo village. Shirakawa-Go is huge and there are many different villages located in different parts of the 'mountain'/ area. Friend said this was the only place available as we did an adhoc trip, but I think we were lucky because it was so beautiful - beyond words. Staying at the innermost, although we had a long bus ride, was totally worth it. We would see the mountain. And the snow were soft like cotton. ![]() Day 2 Pic 3 - We must check out by 10am, and by 10, non-staying guests/ tourists will start to flood the place (rule is that, no tourists or guests from other area can come in before 10am), they can only access the village from 10am-3pm. Times other than those are reserved for the village's guests. It was sad that we had to leave so soon, as the enjoyment felt so short. I'll definitely return one day. If you ask why so short, only 1 night - it's because you can only stay 1 night in gassho zukuri. All these places are usually overbooked so in order to ensure no one hogs the accommodation, everyone is only allowed 1 night stay - unless you move to another minshuku/ village for another night. ![]() Hope this inspires you to go one day This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 17 2017, 05:44 PM |
Aug 17 2017, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 17 2017, 05:43 PM) Yesssss 1 day is too limited. I had about 4 days in Nagoya and still not done exploring! i love those village houses a lot, got those peaceful feelingShirakawa-Go is in the UNESCO World Heritage site Friends and I was there early Jan this year. Day 1 - Shirakawa-Go. We arrived between 3-330pm and went out to play around 4pm after checking-in. It wasn't snowing. Whatever snow were there - a lot had been melted off by the locals to make it easy to walk. ![]() Day 2 Pic 1- Went out of the gassho-zukuri/ minshuku between 8-830am (as breakfast was served at 7am, also took some time to pack up) and there was thick fog. It was snowing slightly, but the night before there were heavy snow and we were so happy & amazed by the scene before our eyes. ![]() Day 2 Pic 2 - We stayed in the inner most part of ShirakawaGo village. Shirakawa-Go is huge and there are many different villages located in different parts of the 'mountain'/ area. Friend said this was the only place available as we did an adhoc trip, but I think we were lucky because it was so beautiful - beyond words. Staying at the innermost, although we had a long bus ride, was totally worth it. We would see the mountain. And the snow were soft like cotton. ![]() Day 2 Pic 3 - We must check out by 10am, and by 10, non-staying guests/ tourists will start to flood the place (rule is that, no tourists or guests from other area can come in before 10am), they can only access the village from 10am-3pm. Times other than those are reserved for the village's guests. It was sad that we had to leave so soon, as the enjoyment felt so short. I'll definitely return one day. If you ask why so short, only 1 night - it's because you can only stay 1 night in gassho zukuri. All these places are usually overbooked so in order to ensure no one hogs the accommodation, everyone is only allowed 1 night stay - unless you move to another minshuku/ village for another night. ![]() Hope this inspires you to go one day |
Aug 17 2017, 09:02 PM
Aug 17 2017, 10:47 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
8,415 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 17 2017, 05:43 PM) Yesssss 1 day is too limited. I had about 4 days in Nagoya and still not done exploring! I HATE CHU!!!!Shirakawa-Go is in the UNESCO World Heritage site Friends and I was there early Jan this year. Day 1 - Shirakawa-Go. We arrived between 3-330pm and went out to play around 4pm after checking-in. It wasn't snowing. Whatever snow were there - a lot had been melted off by the locals to make it easy to walk. ![]() Day 2 Pic 1- Went out of the gassho-zukuri/ minshuku between 8-830am (as breakfast was served at 7am, also took some time to pack up) and there was thick fog. It was snowing slightly, but the night before there were heavy snow and we were so happy & amazed by the scene before our eyes. ![]() Day 2 Pic 2 - We stayed in the inner most part of ShirakawaGo village. Shirakawa-Go is huge and there are many different villages located in different parts of the 'mountain'/ area. Friend said this was the only place available as we did an adhoc trip, but I think we were lucky because it was so beautiful - beyond words. Staying at the innermost, although we had a long bus ride, was totally worth it. We would see the mountain. And the snow were soft like cotton. ![]() Day 2 Pic 3 - We must check out by 10am, and by 10, non-staying guests/ tourists will start to flood the place (rule is that, no tourists or guests from other area can come in before 10am), they can only access the village from 10am-3pm. Times other than those are reserved for the village's guests. It was sad that we had to leave so soon, as the enjoyment felt so short. I'll definitely return one day. If you ask why so short, only 1 night - it's because you can only stay 1 night in gassho zukuri. All these places are usually overbooked so in order to ensure no one hogs the accommodation, everyone is only allowed 1 night stay - unless you move to another minshuku/ village for another night. ![]() Hope this inspires you to go one day Thanks for the info. I might need friends to go with me. Scare sesat dunno end up where hahahahaha |
Aug 17 2017, 10:48 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
45 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Just a suggestion. Is it possible to add a compilation list for each region on the first post? Could include blog, articles or even youtube. Youtube got whole lot of it on its own.
But would be better if it's filtered to avoid misinformation. It's kinda like a semi-spoon feed, but it's useful to record our recommendations for our next trips! For example.. General » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Hokkaido » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Tohoku » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Kanto » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Kinki » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Just throwing out ideas. |
Aug 17 2017, 11:05 PM
5,272 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
opps I think I posted in the wrong thread.
wanna ask who has cycled in kyoto before. is it really worth it compared to taking a trainp |
Aug 17 2017, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Aug 17 2017, 09:48 PM) Just a suggestion. Is it possible to add a compilation list for each region on the first post? Could include blog, articles or even youtube. Youtube got whole lot of it on its own. I used to do this when I was Thread Starter. Since I no longer, I withdraw everything away already.But would be better if it's filtered to avoid misinformation. It's kinda like a semi-spoon feed, but it's useful to record our recommendations for our next trips! For example.. I always wish someone can continue doing it. Maybe Chinti can do this way on Page 1. I saw Chinti got passion about this thread. |
Aug 18 2017, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Aug 17 2017, 10:48 PM) Just a suggestion. Is it possible to add a compilation list for each region on the first post? Could include blog, articles or even youtube. Youtube got whole lot of it on its own. But would be better if it's filtered to avoid misinformation. It's kinda like a semi-spoon feed, but it's useful to record our recommendations for our next trips! For example.. General » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Hokkaido » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Tohoku » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Kanto » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Kinki » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Just throwing out ideas. QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 17 2017, 11:05 PM) I used to do this when I was Thread Starter. Since I no longer, I withdraw everything away already. yeap sure, i will do it this weekends I always wish someone can continue doing it. Maybe Chinti can do this way on Page 1. I saw Chinti got passion about this thread. |
| Change to: | 0.0284sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:04 PM |