102 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V13 (Group), ALL about Jesus Christ.

Dern
post Sep 22 2017, 07:19 PM

1,979 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jun 8 2017, 07:29 PM)

Learn to relax and don't let discussion or people to affect your feelings. Discuss with objectivity in mind so that people can understand.

But those who keep on stirring trying to provoke, you just ignore lah...your life doesn't revolve what these people say. Your revolves around what God says. icon_rolleyes.gif
indeed it is. biggrin.gif in life or reality, it's very important to be able to identify positive minded people and discard gossipy people....but Im sure God will guide us in determining who we should mix with and who we should stay away frm...
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 25 2017, 09:38 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Working out, not working for

Philippians 2:12-13 (NIV) - Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence, continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

It is interesting to note that the scripture is so clear. We are to work out our Salvation, not work for. What is the difference?
The difference is; working for denotes working in order to qualify. Working out denotes, because of, therefore we work out.

Do you understand? because there is errornous teaching in the body of Christ purporting that we need to work for our Salvation and they quote this verse in ignorance saying see? This verse say we need to work for our salvation else you won't get it then goes on teaching about obedience, sin and what not. Those who have followed my devotion will know this classic error.

However that is not the message I wanted to bring to you today. There is another teaching in that verse which i want to bring to you.

It is interesting to note and I feel preachers behind the pulpit should emphasize on this more on verse 13 of above main text.

It is God who works in you....to will, meaning if you are unwilling, God can give you the ability to be able to and also to want to. (to will).

I want to bring to you an interesting passage in the Bible in Mark 9. A Father whose son was possessed by a demonic spirit did not have the Faith to believe for deliverance.

He said it like this ironically in Mark 9:24

Immediately the boy's father exclaimed, "I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!" He wanted to believe but just unable to.

I can imagine how panicky and how anxious the father is, he was willing to say anything before God just to get his son delivered. And yet interestingly Jesus worked in spite of his unbelief. Oh I don't think you heard me. I said: Jesus worked in spite of his unbelief.

What is the my point?

With regards to Philippians 2:12-13; You can ask God for Faith is you don't have Faith. If Jesus is willing to work his miracle for this Father who couldn't believe recorded in Mark 9, how much more if you asked Jesus the will to believe?

There are testimonies of people I've heard who don't have faith for healing. This person has been attending a healing rally and he couldn't receive. He came back again and again, but on the 2nd or 3rd night, this person prayed to Jesus asking to impart Faith for him to believe and Jesus imparted what He asked for.

Our God is amazing. In the Gospel of the Grace of Christ, we are covered in almost all areas of weaknesses! If only you knew scripture and the word of God, how much God has got you covered!

Give God the Glory and the Praise. What we don't have, God will supply for us to work out our Salvation!

God Bless.

BlueTicket
post Sep 26 2017, 11:32 AM

74 posts

I think we learnt this world is there for 4.5 billion years in science. so when you learn this in science, what do u feel when bible say our world is only here for 6000 years?

BlueTicket
post Sep 26 2017, 11:43 AM

74 posts

In Quran, they say 6 days is measured in day in universe. would like to know how Christian say about tis as well.
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 27 2017, 08:58 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

God is a Father

Romans 8:15 (NIV) - The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, "Abba, Father."

The Holy Spirit refuse to translates this word "Abba" but to record it as it is.

Children in Israel, even today call their paternal fathers as Abba. I can imagine them running around the house calling "abba abba" to get their Father's attention. In the cultures of various people, we called our Fathers as Papa, Ba, Bapa, etc, it would not be wrong to call God as that because Romans 8:15 helps us to understand that.

This is how Jesus came to reveal God. He demonstrated this when he welcome children into his fold, hug them and kiss them as a father would.

This is how God wants us to know Him as demonstrated in the beginning in the book of Genesis when He walk with Adam and Eve.

This is the God whom I also reveal to you because God has been a father to me as well. Hence why the strong devotional emphasis on all the goodness of God, for example his grace, his blessing, his prosperity, his unshakeable Salvation, etc which is what I receive, so I share with you.

Some of you may not have good earthly fathers, but understand that God is not like any earthly fathers. He will reveal himself in reality and you will experience his goodness when you learn to see and understand who His Son (Christ) is. God never abandon his Son Jesus, He will never abandon you.

The reason for the sharing is so that you too can be strengthened in Faith to know Christ and to know Father God and in turn when you are strengthened i hope you will help others.

I do this because I know there are many troubled individual in this forum who needs help but has yet to come to God to ask for help.

Throughout the years I've faced persecution because of this but it does not faze me because to the testimony of His glory, Father God has been real to me, so real I cannot go back, neither turn away to help others. No matter what people throw at me, the strong grace The Lord has imparted to this thread and to my life has help me stand.

I pray for the Grace of Christ to be on you.

God Bless.

TSunknown warrior
post Sep 27 2017, 11:53 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(BlueTicket @ Sep 26 2017, 11:32 AM)

I think we learnt this world is there for 4.5 billion years in science. so when you learn this in science, what do u feel when bible say our world is only here for 6000 years?
QUOTE(BlueTicket @ Sep 26 2017, 11:43 AM)
In Quran, they say 6 days is measured in day in universe. would like to know how Christian say about tis as well.
Since you indicated "Bible Says".

Show me where is the verse that states our world is only here for 6000 years?

BlueTicket
post Sep 28 2017, 05:54 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Sep 27 2017, 11:53 PM)
Since you indicated "Bible Says".

Show me where is the verse that states our world is only here for 6000 years?
i think u can count from adam generation to Jesus christ.

it is very clear show in the bible.

maybe u will say after God made the world then it take very longgggg time until they eat the apple tat is not supposed to eat. and Adam and eve have no children until they left garden of eden.

but since both of them havent eat the fruit yet, supposed no death, right? how come fossil dinosaurs can be found around the world? they r buried for million of years. and according to science, dinosaurs extinct b4 human appear.

would like to know how christians view these as well.

No offense, im not challenging ur belief. just wanna know more.
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 28 2017, 08:23 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(BlueTicket @ Sep 28 2017, 05:54 AM)
i think u can count from adam generation to Jesus christ.

it is very clear show in the bible.

maybe u will say after God made the world then it take very longgggg time until they eat the apple tat is not supposed to eat. and Adam and eve have no children until they left garden of eden.

but since both of them havent eat the fruit yet, supposed no death, right? how come fossil dinosaurs can be found around the world? they r buried for million of years. and according to science, dinosaurs extinct b4 human appear.

When you say, you can count, that is what you say but nothing whatever the Bible states of whatever age of this world.

So it doesn't make sense to state "The Bible says", when you are the assuming.

Talking about the context here.

No offense taken, just trying to dispel the misconception here.

This is something, Atheist, and those who attack christianity usually used in ignorance.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Sep 28 2017, 08:27 AM
SpikeMarlene
post Sep 28 2017, 08:40 AM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Sep 28 2017, 08:23 AM)
When you say, you can count, that is what you say but nothing whatever the Bible states of whatever age of this world.

So it doesn't make sense to state "The Bible says", when you are the assuming.

Talking about the context here.

No offense taken, just trying to dispel the misconception here.

This is something, Atheist, and those who attack christianity usually used in ignorance.
While the Bible does not explicit say the age of the earth is 6000 years, but many notable Christians and even Christian scholars have made that calculation and came to the figure of about 6000 years. Which I agree is being used by atheists to attack Christianity. So the fire did not start with atheist ignorance but it is an often argued position for many Christians who insisted on the biblical age.

https://answersingenesis.org/age-of-the-ear...d-is-the-earth/
Quote,
At this point, the first five days are negligible. Quite a few people have done this calculation using the Masoretic text (which is what most English translations are based on) and with careful attention to the biblical details, they have arrived at the same time frame of about 6,000 years, or about 4000 B.C. Two of the most popular, and perhaps best, are a recent work by Dr. Floyd Jones4 and a much earlier book by Archbishop James Ussher5 (1581–1656). See table 1.

Table 1. Jones and Ussher

Name Age Calculated Reference and Date
Archbishop James Ussher 4004 B.C. The Annals of the World, A.D. 1658
Dr. Floyd Nolan Jones 4004 B.C. The Chronology of the Old Testament, A.D. 1993

The misconception exists that Ussher and Jones were the only ones to arrive at a date of 4000 B.C.; however, this is not the case at all. Jones6 lists several chronologists who have undertaken the task of calculating the age of the earth based on the Bible, and their calculations range from 5501 to 3836 B.C. A few are listed in table 2.
thomasthai
post Sep 28 2017, 08:42 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(BlueTicket @ Sep 26 2017, 11:32 AM)

What makes you so sure that the scientists are right?

What do you think about all the theist scientists that think that the bible is a reliable account on creation?

SpikeMarlene
post Sep 28 2017, 08:44 AM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Sep 28 2017, 08:42 AM)

What do you think about all the theist scientists that think that the bible is a reliable account on creation?
We can start a thread to see how sure we are if your position of a 6000 years old earth is correct or science is right, if you want. Here as I understand is not appropriate.
BlueTicket
post Sep 28 2017, 08:59 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Sep 28 2017, 08:42 AM)

bcoz many discoveries burried in the earth can only happen after million of years?

so do u bliv wat u were taught about science when u were in school?
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 28 2017, 09:51 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Angry Rebuking God?

Hebrews 1:3 (NIV) - The Son is the radiance of God's glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven.

Good day fellow believers,

Hebrews 1:3 says that Jesus is the exact representation of who God is. What this means is that how Jesus is is exactly how God the father is. Jesus told Philip in John 14:9:
Jesus replied, "Philip, I have been with you all this time, and still you do not know Me? Anyone who has seen Me has seen the Father. How can you say, 'Show us the Father'?
Even Jesus's disciple did not understood that at first, whatmore many people today.

Throughout the Bible, I see Jesus as always being wonderfully calm and in peace, if not being quite a cool God. Jesus only reserve his rebuke against the Pharisees for their hypocrisy in trying to make it hard for people to come to God. And The only place where the Bible record with the words stating, Jesus being angry was when the pharisees and the teachers of the Law wanted to catch him to see if he would heal a man with a shriveled hand. (Mark 3) And that is also because those people have a hard heart in wanting to uphold the Law rather than help a desperate person in need of healing, displaying lack of grace. That is what made Christ angry.

People tell me when Christ overturn the money changer table at the temple and used the whip, that is a display of anger. I used to think so as well until it occur to me, the Bible never state, Jesus did those things out of anger, only that we presumed that it was. Jesus Christ could do those without anger as well and it can be equally true. John 2:17 gave a clue on the word "zeal" and I've check the word zeal in the Greek is "zelos" which also means eagerness/jealous.

What is my point?

I've began to understand where we as the Church have missed it. Some people reluctant to come to God because they see Him as an Angry God, waiting to catch mistakes as how some Pastor portray him to be. I know for a fact it's because there are pastors / church leaders who give the impression, God will angrily rebuke you and then go on in a tirade of displaying Angry rebuking against another fellow believer which can be discouraging.

but UW, what about in the Old Testament?

My answer is; Of Course! When you put yourself under Law, presuming on your own strength then God will treat you according to your own strength. You will be judged according to whatever you do or say. Remember the difference. And you will begin to note why some other religion which heavily emphasize on the Law, have so much problems after problem and conflicts within their community and also affecting those outside their community.

Because the bible say in John 1:17, Grace and Truth came through Jesus Christ, that is the New Covenant. The Laws of God is not the New Covenant. Grace and truth is. The Truth that came by Jesus Christ is Grace that will set people free. When you don't know how to properly divide the Covenants and mix up the two, no wonder we have so much angry rebuking in the Church today and people are leaving Church, not because of sin but because they are discouraged if not disappointed of not seeing God's Grace when in actual fact God is far more graceful than any preacher display him to be.

I'm here to reveal to you Father is not how some people portray him to be. God is perfect Love, not like the kind of love displayed by any Man. Look to Jesus. That is why I expound of the characteristic of Christ in the beginning of this devotion. Look to Christ, HE is the exact representation of God and if you study about Him, you will not find Him to be angry rebuking God as how some people portray in ignorance.

Will there be correction? Answer is Yes. but look the way Jesus correct people, You will never find Christ tirading against sinners in angry judgemental rebuking as how some preachers does. He does the opposite, Jesus is very gentle in handling people, especially the ungodly. When Jesus is hard on people, He doesn't hurt people, Even when He seems Soft, He is immensely powerful and untouchable by all the powers that is in this world. Jesus is altogether lovely and this is the God that I worship because of his perfect love and grace.

God Bless.

thomasthai
post Sep 28 2017, 11:04 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Sep 28 2017, 08:44 AM)
We can start a thread to see how sure we are if your position of a 6000 years old earth is correct or science is right, if you want. Here as I understand is not appropriate.
Why would you want to debate me? I barely passed my science subjects in school.

Even my bible says Im foolish. Would you get any satisfaction debating a foolish person? tongue.gif
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 28 2017, 11:09 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Sep 28 2017, 08:40 AM)
While the Bible does not explicit say the age of the earth is 6000 years, but many notable Christians and even Christian scholars have made that calculation and came to the figure of about 6000 years. Which I agree is being used by atheists to attack Christianity. So the fire did not start with atheist ignorance but it is an often argued position for many Christians who insisted on the biblical age.

https://answersingenesis.org/age-of-the-ear...d-is-the-earth/
Quote,
At this point, the first five days are negligible. Quite a few people have done this calculation using the Masoretic text (which is what most English translations are based on) and with careful attention to the biblical details, they have arrived at the same time frame of about 6,000 years, or about 4000 B.C. Two of the most popular, and perhaps best, are a recent work by Dr. Floyd Jones4 and a much earlier book by Archbishop James Ussher5 (1581–1656). See table 1.

Table 1. Jones and Ussher

Name Age Calculated Reference and Date
Archbishop James Ussher 4004 B.C. The Annals of the World, A.D. 1658
Dr. Floyd Nolan Jones 4004 B.C. The Chronology of the Old Testament, A.D. 1993

The misconception exists that Ussher and Jones were the only ones to arrive at a date of 4000 B.C.; however, this is not the case at all. Jones6 lists several chronologists who have undertaken the task of calculating the age of the earth based on the Bible, and their calculations range from 5501 to 3836 B.C. A few are listed in table 2.
The same I would pose them the question as well as to anyone who tells me, The Bible says the age of this world...etc etc.
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 28 2017, 07:41 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(BlueTicket @ Sep 28 2017, 05:54 AM)

how come fossil dinosaurs can be found around the world? they r buried for million of years. and according to science, dinosaurs extinct b4 human appear.

The Bible is easily accessible to anyone, you can read the account in Genesis 1, humans are the last in order of creation.
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 29 2017, 11:38 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Jesus Christ

1 John 1 (NIV) -That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we have looked at and our hands have touched this we proclaim concerning the Word of life.

I can imagine when the apostle John penned down these words, He remembered his hands had touched Christ. He has seen Christ. Someone who is real.

This passage in scripture affirms, Jesus Christ was never an imagination or a fairy tale as suggested by some people.

Jesus Christ was heard by many people
He was seen by many people
He was touched by hands of many people

The apostle's life was so revolutionized and was so touched by Christ, they wrote about Him and it wasn't by just 1 person by many witnesses.

The God is the Bible was never a concept of someone who lives in lofty Heaven, a sky daddy or an old man in the sky but someone who came into reality in the lives of his creation and seen (witnesses) by many people.

God Bless.

TSunknown warrior
post Sep 30 2017, 08:47 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Why we shouldn't be judgemental

Romans 12:6 (NIV) - We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching,
then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.

God gives each believer different gifts to serve. This is equally true of preachers behind the pulpit. There are preachers who are gifted to dispense Hard Messages and there are preachers who have been gifted in dispensing Graceful messages.

In the Body of Christ, God knows which of his people need hard messages as well as which congregation that needs to graceful messages. As such we shouldn't condemn whichever preachers that has assigned by the Lord.

We have hard preachers like Paul Washer which whom I know some people can be ministered to as well as preachers like Joel Osteen whom some people can be ministered to.

The point is, there is no one and perfect preacher whom God has gifted as perfect, there's not one. God would not do that less any man become proud.

With that being said, we should never judge another fellow believer for the gift that He or She has been bestowed upon.

There is a passage in the Bible that teaches us this. Jesus said this in Luke 9 verse 49 to 50;

Master,” said John, “we saw someone driving out demons in Your name, and we tried to stop him, because he does not accompany us.” “Do not stop him, Jesus replied, “for whoever is not against you is for you.”

Think what Christ is saying here.

God Bless.

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 1 2017, 12:19 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Not going to bother.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 1 2017, 12:39 PM
Sophiera
post Oct 1 2017, 06:21 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts