88 posts

@@ best regard.
Wranger
post Apr 11 2007, 03:24 AM

QUOTE(Odin` @ Apr 11 2007, 01:30 AM)
Both are good posts if you ask me wink.gif

Btw what i can say about malaysian dota scene is that gamers dont really have the time/effort to explore new strats. Its not that we cling to our old strats but its rather there are very few competitions around. I think in 1 year theres at most 5 dota competitions thats worth forming a team and joining.

Since last year's SMM and WCG i think most of the top teams disbanded and didnt really improve from then on. And not many new teams are formed also, basically the community is shrinking. Whats the reason for this you may ask. The main reason is that theres no competition to look out for after that.

So every once in a while when a competition pops up, gamers will frantically form new teams or just gather a few friends and "prepare" for the upcoming competition. Basically taking all the old strats and try to mix with some other countries' strats. However, usually we dont have enough time to figure out these new strats or heroes lmao tongue.gif
Therefore, we will end up using old strats , old heroes and old playstyle. For the fortunate few that have the time to pickup new strats they usually wins smile.gif

Im really envious of other dota players around the world because they have so much exposure to tournaments and media. For malaysian gamers we usually do it out of our own free time to play competitively, while others mostly plays for fun.

So why do you have to come and rant about your playstyle and strats smile.gif
You can just advice us eloquently or even better update us periodically with your knowledge biggrin.gif

Anyways thanks for your input to malaysian dota community.
I would, if I don't get the usual 'j00 nubcake' kinda treatment everytime I try to open my mouth.

I am surprised and somewhat glad that to see that my points are well taken, and no flames thrown back at me. Was expecting flames, but then again, this is a good sign that there are people out there that are willing to take advice, FINALLY, for once.

The thing with the Dota community in Malaysia, regardless of the competitive or non-competitive scene (Public games if you may) are littered with people who constantly have a stuck mentality of resisting change. Most people that I had talked to, would almost always turn back and say the same things that I had listed in my above post. Either that, they would go like "OH REALLY?" and then follow it up with "BUT THIS IS MALAYSIA WOH" or "I PREFER TO HAVE MY OWN STYLE". The even sadder part is that, the people who said that to me happened to be my own friends in their own teams, or my own teammates. =\

I think it is time we pick what we see best in what the Westerners do, and try to work it into our current style of play. One of the people in the DA forums said this, "We had already took the best elements of the Asian game and incorporated into our game." He was referring to the 3-1-1 laning, the QoP factor and others.

In terms of skill, I don't see any Asian losing to Westerners. But Westerners are always up to date in hero changes, map changes, item changes, and so on. I was told that players playing in IHCS (In-house League for Europeans, Americans had started to play there as well) are given the chance to draft heroes all the time. They have a player drafting system as well. 2 Captains are assigned and then are given the task of drafting their players, after that, a BOT will randomly select heroes, and then the 2 Captains will have to draft heroes from the pool selected. The way I see it, this gives the Westerners a huge advantage in training how to draft heroes. They are more exposed to different heroes that are normally not seen in draft matches, and this gives them an edge in knowing probably which hero is better. An idea for the current IHL in BS? Maybe.

That is all for the time being I guess. If the people in Malaysia are as open as Odin and Iblis, I don't think we would have the problem we are facing now. Meh.
sphear
post Apr 11 2007, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(Wranger @ Apr 10 2007, 11:42 PM)
I've been following the Dota scene around the world for quite some time now. Replays from Europe, US, Philippines, Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Australia, you name it, I probably had watched them before. This list is compiled after watching the rather recent Autosurf tournament, and why I think Malaysians' downright arrogant and ignorance when it comes to improving.

Ok, some might say that, yeah, Malaysia's Dota community is going the right way. Meh, took them more than 3-4 months to notice that Bristleback is more than imbalanced is not much of an improvement to me. The problem is Malaysian clans are mostly too ignorant to take notice that, while certain heroes work in EU/US games, they might be applicable to the Asian scene. But no, teams scoff the ideas, listing something like "EU/US = Noobs, we = pro, therefore BB only good coz they noobs." Ignorance at the highest degree? Obviously.

Let me start my list off with a hero that most teams still pick.

Viper. Goddammit, what an embarrassment to the drafting community. What it will take for you guys to understand that this hero is already nerfed since a few versions ago and is no more than a glass cannon now. DO PEOPLE NOT  KNOW THAT VIPER SUCKS NOW? Still picking it and insisting on using items to save its ass? Come on, be smart and grow up. Train another solo hero for your own sake. Heroes like Silencer , Shadow Fiend, or whatever are much much better heroes to solo nowadays. I know you guys are not used to it but who gives a damn when you lose?

Bear. ROFL x3 kknp. Does it take a genius to figure out that this hero is virtually a useless early game now? The recent change logs renders it an OK mid to late game hero. Lvl 1-6 without entangling roots just make it so easy to die against better lane opponents. Look at Zenith vs eNe lately, Ant's bear just can't do shit against his opponents. Farming Radiance in 40 minutes doesn't help him, because he dies to like what? 3 nukes? Not to mentioned he was relegated to full time neutraling because whenever he goes to a lane he gets nuked to oblivion. He can't farm , he can't tank for the team and he just feeds in that game. Time to move on? Duh.

The Bristleback "problem". Took you guys this long to figure this one out? If you guys could just be a little more clever to log into the DA website and download their competitive Dota replays, the Bristleback problem may already be unearthed ages ago and someone would actually ban it already.

Bottle. Does anyone in Malaysia uses this now? Or you guys just do not know it existed in the first place? While I heard some teams has had some positive results using it in SCRIMS, I don't see why they refused to use it in real tournaments. Oh wait, I forgot Malaysians are NOTORIOUS for their INABILITY to DARE. CHANGE = RESISTED. HELP = SCOFFED. Lol? Looking at the better part of EU/US, they had been exploiting Bottle like mad people, almost every Shadow Fiend player gets it, almost every good team which utilize gank style heroes gets it.

Shadow Fiend. The only Shadow Fiend I saw is one that went Necromastery + Stats. =\ READ THE CHANGELOG. Shadowraze now costs a measly 75 mana at ALL LEVELS. That's potentially 900 damage for 225 mana. Imba? DUH. Not to mention BOTTLE totally solves his mana problems and gives him BOTH lane control power and ganking potential. The so-called "KING" of uber solo t3h imba Viper has no chance against a well-played Shadow Fiend. Don't believe me? Go try. Don't come around crying saying, omg j00 nub, Viper is t3h pawnzor, you nub no know how to use Viper kk. Wanna try? PM me. GGC only.

Playstyle. This one makes me fume. READ THE CHANGELOGS AGAIN PLEASE. All Icefrog did since 6.32b is to create an environment where the game ends quick. Almost every new release saw the average game play reduced due to the extra incentives for teams to push fast in every game. Western teams responded to this call , did Malaysians? Malaysians still cling onto "we wait till Skadi out on Qop at 40 min only push" mentality. Not to mention, dead towers = skadi faster. I have seen teams getting Skadi consistently at the 32-35 minute mark because his team has been pushing towers down like madmen. In case you guys are blind, Zenith was utterly destroyed by the 35th min every game against Western teams lately. So, adapt your gameplay or die clinging  on to it.

If anyone has questions as to why I had said the above things, they are welcome to ask me. However, I will not entertain stupid or unintelligible posts, or noobs who can't read. So there.
the way u talk seems so easy to say.....but do u know, when you are not someone is not easy being someone?.....my meaning is watching other country replays doesnt means we have to use their strat. i have seen teams using western countries strat but in the end get their ass kick.....whats the point sometime.....i have play dota for 3 years already, i feel that the most important thing is play comfortable and suitable. using ppl's strat wont do any good. furthermore malaysia is a country where the government never encourage us to play....not like those western countries or other overseas countries. our style or culture here is very simple, which is study hard n work hard. play hard wont bring u anywhere far in this country. most professional gamers in malaysia retired at the age of 25 or below. they realize that playing games cant help them in the future. so whats the point!!!.....so my fren wrenger, dun come to this forum n just criticize malaysians without doing your research properly....by watching replays doesnt tell u anything much about malaysians.....if you tell me you are a malaysian, i feel shame for you man......

SUSFlizzardo
post Apr 11 2007, 11:17 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

cough cough talk about strat copying

isnt it the western who copied asian strats of ganking,roaming,viper cough cough,qop cough cough ,tri laning

and maelk said they already used tri lane long time ago yeh sure in training yep he also said they looked into viper long ago in training too yeh never in tourney or leagues not until they saw their western comrade got owned by it

oh and btw maelk qop is shit kthxbai ( Srsly he didt even dare to kill a level 4 silecner with 200hp when he was level 5 with 200+ mana and green hp ) oh silencer wasnt at tower! qop was at tower i am talking about bottom lane lawl! to add more! in war his qop always too busy hitting ppl who got caught by teammate in war instead of chasing a tinker and warlock with red hp! ) ull know what i am talking about if u watch it yourself! lawl

quote from someone in another forum "why is the so called "neutral host" is always georaphically nearer to their opponent except team Q since they claimed zenith asked for "Q" host
baowen
post Apr 11 2007, 09:56 PM

1,048 posts

flizzardo i really don't understand what are you talking about... xD

and to Wranger, you must know one thing.. then probably u will understand it....
1. Most of the people only know to talk but cannot do it.

If you think that malaysian dota scene so weak.. then you don't play in malaysia smile.gif sorry to say that, most malaysian didn't like to play DotA through Internet, they like LAN gaming... That why malaysia have so much CC, becoz we LOVE LAN gaming smile.gif

So you have mention malaysia public game... those public game refer to "color server" or LAN gaming ? that's hard to find pro in pub game at "colour server" unless u mean IHL there smile.gif
phozen
post Apr 12 2007, 02:31 AM

331 posts

Ya meh? cb wen neva see u in IHL b4 also! XD
baowen
post Apr 12 2007, 04:24 AM

1,048 posts

i neva play "colour" server got also kena force biggrin.gif
synzo
post Apr 12 2007, 11:35 AM

314 posts

the biggest prob for malaysian to take part international tournaments like MYM, TFL, CAL is that we dun have a decent ISP that can give us at least playable internet bandwidth....

using streamyx connection for cross-continent gaming even thru GGC is just crazy, so there is nothing malaysian DOTA community can do about this for the moment.... sad.gif

i dun think that DOTA tourneys are really that popular even over at western european countries, most of the replays u see from DA site are internet tourneys instead of LAN tourneys, in fact, col recently disbanded, and if you read the article that their main sponsor released, he written that DOTA is going nowhere in the e-gaming scene at international stage.... sweat.gif

i think that while wrangler have a point for crucifying malaysia DOTA community for being stubborn and out-dated, there are other factors like malaysian dotaers just dun get enuff exposure of playing with western nations dota teams for them to change their mindset of wat heroes are good or bad for competitive dota....

is not just malaysians, but human nature not to change wat is not broken, y would anyone pick any other heroes if their current picks like qop, sandking, warlock is proving "unbeatable" at local DOTA scene, so until some local team can show they can win wit leshrac, shadow fiend , tinker, silencer, etc over top teams like RoA dream combo : qop, sk, veno, bear, zeus, then this situation will stay the same.

even the mighty zenith, once believed to be the most innovative and dominant team in Asia, they join the TFL league and pick those heroes they have so much success with in their SG tourneys like warlock,QOP, veno,bear, and they got "owned" by US/Euro teams.... sweat.gif

so is not fair to say is a malaysian DOTA culture to be outdated, stick with old heroes, ignorant and blah blah blah....
the fact is every team in any country will stick to those heroes that worked best for them until proven otherwise....

when u play in a LAN tourney for pride and money, is just not wise to try out heroes at this stage, is like asking man united not to play cristiano ronaldo and rooney at champions league, but try to field kieran richardson and rossi cause they have "potential" and maybe they can do well.....

This post has been edited by synzo: Apr 12 2007, 03:36 PM
pOpFynX
post Apr 12 2007, 03:51 PM

You are the 1 who need to GROW-UP wranger! Mature more little bit , or i should say , u are too childish ... pls do some research about "this country" Malaysia , what's the political here , what's the culture here. Be remember 1 thing , Western is NOT the best.! mad.gif

This post has been edited by pOpFynX: Apr 12 2007, 03:51 PM
Gamma2K
post Apr 13 2007, 01:10 PM

41 posts

Western is not the best but we Asian mostly thing also lose to Western =p In tech , games , sport and etc etc all also lose to them.
This we have to admit it.
phozen
post Apr 13 2007, 05:44 PM

331 posts

Not all also lose to them... Our Asian chics are HAWT and their's are NOT!
outsiders_86
post Apr 14 2007, 01:22 AM

198 posts

Good to see that autosurf, sk, roa and wizz take part in the mym pride 5 world tourney rclxms.gif
tDs-IS
post Apr 14 2007, 04:43 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(phozen @ Apr 13 2007, 05:44 PM)
Not all also lose to them... Our Asian chics are HAWT and their's are NOT!
omg pho u got it rite this 1!!!!!hahaahahaha brows.gif i 199% agree this
Gamma2K
post Apr 14 2007, 12:37 PM

41 posts

but their chick boob more huge than our chick =x
revivar
post Apr 14 2007, 01:15 PM

Guys, dun get out of topic.
Anyway, strats can be learned and analyzed but not necessarily adopted. Say, Wizz has good techie, but why not all team using it?
Bz has good bonebone, why not all team using it?
SK has good Enigma, why not all team using it?

nuff said?

p/s: Haha. might not up to standard yet, but we have some gosu chicks gamers that are actually better than typical dota-ers!

This post has been edited by revivar: Apr 15 2007, 03:12 PM
ataris
post Apr 14 2007, 08:35 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

its simple, when you play in asia, you fight teams that are used to asia strat, that is viper bear warlock qop sandking vs zeus bla bla bla. thats why when zenith join the tfl league, they lose to the eu/us teams. this is because i guess they never experience fighting a combo that the eu/us teams use. to get better, u need more experience and sadly, with the internet connection in malaysia, its hard to get experience playing with the eu/us fellas.... and yeah, asian chicks are hawter!
WoOWoO
post Apr 16 2007, 11:30 AM

What an interesting discussion..... But i shall remain neutral and post my views from a neutral point of view as a DOTA player in Malaysia.

Firstly, the comments made about malaysia's dota community are 50/50.
Ps : Wragner, you probably have no idea who i am cause im nobody =P.
But i do agree most malaysian teams are not creative and daring enough to try Heroes or Strats till proven worthy by Others (Like I Said MOST... Dun Flame Me)
Hence being a Neutral Person i Shall only State My Own Succes and Stupidty as a strat Pioneer.

I have came up with many Successful strats in the Malaysian Community and many have remain undefeated in their version. Old V5 Sentinel Fast Push Strats (Credits to Bergaya CR before he complains Haha, UNDEFEATED) V6 Scrouge Aegis Fast Push (During Scourge Vs Sentinel Era, UNDEFEATED) Implementation of Viper into the Malaysian Scene (Put into Action By WinterNight) As For My Success in the Gaming Community there is nothing to boast cause i have only won Minor Tourneys.

As For my Stupidty, I Tried Strats Such as KOTL/Beastmaster, Orge Magi/Chen, Pudge, Obsidian Solo (Just Reminded of This Yesterday by Bz-DK hehe) and the List Goes On and On. Although i stop putting effort into coming up with New Strats Or New Solo Heroes, this is not due to my lack of interest in the game or my lack of time to do research on the international Dota community but due to the fact that unlike other Countries we lack sponsors and people to support our gaming community.

For Example, Sponsors like MYM are vastly known in the Gaming industry for WC3 and they provided gamers under them with great benefits (So I have Heard, Correct Me if Im Wrong) and once again correct me if im wrong the best support to our Dota community here might only be 1/20 of what International Sponsors offer to their gamers. Perhaps someday there will be a company that views Gaming as something worth while to invest in Malaysia someday and provide future gamers with something to continue their passion as a gamer.

Another Example, would be WCG. To be honest (Hope i dont get ban from the coming WCG) WCG in Malaysia Kind of a Failure. You look at the WCG Qualifiers and WCG Grand Finals held in other countries and the Difference is Obvious in both preparation and attention given to this Event. I will give Credit to SMM which is the only Major company who supports this Gaming community by Holding Major Tournaments to keep players in the Scene. As for Wragner, i Hope the Above has given you an insight on the Culture of Malaysia and Reason to withhold some comments regarding the Malaysian Gaming Community.

So To All Gamers in Malaysia i hope the Gaming Scene here will improve. As for comparing the Standards to DOTA from Euro/US and all the other countries in the scene, I dont look to change your views on Malaysian Gaming but only except you to give mutual-respect to Gamers not based on their talents and ability to adapt to the game but just for the reason that we are all gamers. Lastly im sure if you lookup some of the players who have been in the Dota scene in Malaysia like : Odin' , Magi-7 , PaulYan, (and a few more i cant remmember cause im at work LoLz) They would be able to provide you with some pretty good opinions.

As for me... Hahaha Maybe Someones Gonna Offer me a job or a sponsorship that supports my life and passion for gaming? Wakakaka... *Ok im off now, gonna type my resignation letter to my current Job now* Cheers to Everyone, and for Wragner I appreciate your insight still, atleast we can know where we stand in the eyes of others.

Laterzzz...

revivar
post Apr 16 2007, 11:58 AM

It's like a culture thing. We eat rice, they eat bread. Both are nutritious. Italians has spaghetti, Japanese has sushi, etc. Some people doesn't like other's food. some force themself to like it. some just Flame it. haha. We have a liking to QoP, angmohs has likings to THD and Alchemist. et cetera. A matter of preferences. But overall, i agree that angmohs has that extra edge with more experience, larger hero selection pools and the priviledge to enjoy good connections.

a few corrections, here and there. You're a qualified article contributor.
Good read, Woo.

Too bad dota do not have a websites such as mygozone or meetyourmakers. Else we could have some pretty nice read with such passionate players around, and match analyzer such as underminer.
SUSFlizzardo
post Apr 16 2007, 12:13 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

ini negara malaysia u tak suka u keluar ok wranger
kev_sensei
post Apr 17 2007, 03:48 PM

63 posts

Well, WooWoo.. Its Auto-Fun` who came up with the Viper thingie cause my sniper that time was overbuff and too godly pro for them to handle... So they took Viper and wiped the ego in me =( .. ish ish

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0248sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:14 PM