7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Autosurf Dota Tournament Updates, Previews , Results , Replays , Reviews

nike236
post Apr 1 2007, 12:36 PM

181 posts

the version is in 1.21 rite? but my wc3 is in 1.20d how do i change it so i can watch the replay?

This post has been edited by nike236: Apr 1 2007, 12:41 PM
revivar
post Apr 1 2007, 09:33 PM

go to blizzard official website and download the full 1.21patch (50mb).
with condition that you cant log in to the server with same color as the sky.
nike236
post Apr 1 2007, 10:10 PM

181 posts

lol...what if i dload both the patches... wc3 official server and (some sky thing..u know i know) install the wc3 official and watch the replay.After i finsih watching the replay...then install the (some sky server ) patch again ..would that work?
Odin`
post Apr 1 2007, 11:21 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(nike236 @ Apr 1 2007, 10:10 PM)
lol...what if i dload both the patches... wc3 official server and (some sky thing..u know i know) install the wc3 official and watch the replay.After i finsih watching the replay...then install the (some sky server ) patch again ..would that work?
i heard ppl say that if u replace the 5 dlls files u can actually watch the replays.
Step 1
Copy game.dll , ijl15.dll, Mss32.dll, Storm.dll and w3lh.dll into a backup folder.

Step 2
Copy those 5 files from a 1.21 version and paste them to the 120e version war3 and you will be able to view the replays.

Step 3
After viewing the replays, or if you want to revert back to 120e version, copy the 5 dll files from your backup folder to the war3 folder.

I havent tested this thing but it might help smile.gif
TSunderminer
post Apr 2 2007, 11:25 AM

Finally finished all the important replays. Will try to give a brief summary of some of the top performers .

1) The 3 Ice teams

They are magnificent are they not? To be honest , prior to this tournament , I did not rate them high enough to even get to the second day of matches. How wrong am I. Their list of casualties in this tournament include : DNA-RPC , Wizz 1 , Wizz 2 , Cybertime 2 and DNA-SK ! Their solid teamwork and togetherness shown throughout the tournament is really amazing to watch. One could easily hear them cheer for their teammates whenever one of their teams achieved victory.
Their drafts revolve around solid lane control with time tested strategies. Tactics like Chen covering the Viper in the long lane, Warlock solo mid, Rhasta and Vs one lane are old school but are common in their play. No fancy stuffs from them, just solid game play. Skills like tp- support , hero catching , backing up and stuffs are done marvelous well courtesy of many hours of training. Even the imbalances of Bristleback are studied and applied in their drafts.
It is worth noting aside from their DNA-SK 3rd-4th placing match , all their losses came from opponents with Bristleback drafted.

2) Auto-Eternal

These guys are cunning. They seem to be able to get the drafts that are deemed "Imbalance" for that particular map version. First Qop, Chen at 6.37 and now Bristleback in 6.41. But to be honest, these guys got some pretty interesting stuff to present. I forgot the last time their Qop did not get a "Beyond Godlike" kill in their matches. It seems like a permanent fixture in their games.
Their style revolves around some great play from Qop and perfect supporting play from team mates. And of course , the abusing of imbalances in that particular version. But no wrong in doing that, as long as it wins them games. Interesting to note that RoA beat them twice in the finals of 2 tournaments by picking away their favourite heroes, namely Qop.
In the finals of this tournament although BB did not die till the very end and free farms virtually whole game, RoA managed to beat them thanks to perfect play by all of the RoA members.

3) mKvL
After winning their first title just a week prior to this tournament, expectations are high that they will go on a streak like RoA did before them. Ultimately they got undone by Auto-Eternal's Bristleback in the quarterfinals.
What they lack in flair, they filled it with solid individual skills. Although some of their ganking moves are no short of impressive, what interests me the most is their relative ease in the basic moves of farming and denying. Their main soloers seems to be able to rake up high cs in games with ease. Combined with a good sense of Dota, no team will love facing them in tournaments.
Their match against Gamebox in the last 16 match deserves special attention. Gamebox actually do have a good game there. But mKvL just managed to come out with something extra to nudge it. Highly recommended for anyone interested in this team.

4) Cybertime 2
This team deserves special credit. Nice drafts combined with experienced players make this team a deserving nemesis for any teams out there.
As far as I can remember, they are the first team to use solo Zeus very much like what Micronology did in GXL season 2. Power level to lvl 6 and the Zeus will be there to support every ganking attempt by his teammates all over the map. Under the hands of an experienced player, the Zeus actually managed to control the opposing solo hero at mid level wise. Their game against Blizz at the last 16 stage saw them picked BB and Alchemist, the very 2 heroes that is considered "imba" by most western teams. Shows their deep knowledge about the game.
Their run in this tournament was undone at the quarterfinal stage by Ice-nD. Solid play by their opponents combined with a lost of form culminated in their defeat. But no one can deny that they are on course to be one the top teams around if they continue improving.

5) Cybertime RoA

Considered by insiders to be the top team in Malaysia right now, they showed tremendous consistency no matter what drafts they use. Even the imbalances of BB does not seem to stop them from steamrolling everything in this tournament.
They intorduced POTM to their drafts at The Mines tournament. They introduced fast + split push with the Syllabear as the perfect counter to BB in this tournament. They introduced the concept of "supporting Qop" role to everyone in this tournament. Their movements, wardings, basic skills and innovative skills are better than most teams.
At one stage in their semi final match against DNA-SK, their warding actually allows them to see where all 5 opponents are with relative ease. Shows how their supporting heroes are no walkover players but are pros in their own right. One would be wise to bet them winning their next tournament they join.

6) Both Wizz teams
A disappointing outing for them. Both teams got knocked out by the Ice teams at the last 16 stage.
From their replays, they do not display higher skills worthy of WCG champions. Their constant roster changes in tournaments big and small alike are certainly costing them. Their game style are random and not as penetrating as usual. Although their main players retains most of their individual skills, their overall team play is just not good enough to beat organized teams out there. At one stage, the sand king blinks in and initiated a move while his teammates are retreating resulting in it being killed before his teammates could do anything to help. Mistakes and miscommunications like this will not get you far in high level games.

7) Auto-Dh ( now known as Auto-Dop)
Odin, organizer of this tournament leads this interesting team which comprises veterans of the game. Some of them are WCG champions of 2004 Dota category if I got my math right. A tiring ordeal at the first day of the tournament did not stop the team from defeating the Negeri Sembilan champion Forbidden City hence qualifying for the quarterfinals at day 2.
Although not as agile in the movements as most teams, they compensate that with their vast experience and detailed knowledge of the game. The Zeus in particular manages to mesmerize the game with some really nice stuffs shown.
Their quarterfinal lost to DNA-SK produced the most stunning replay of the tournament. With DNA-SK at their mercy towards the hour mark, they just could not finish them all the way. DNA-SK's bear took advantage and farmed out Threads, Radiance, Butterfly, SnY, Aegis and Heart of Tarasque and proceed to carry SK to victory.
Interesting to note that this is the only match till the finals stage that Bristleback is not picked. Nice play from both sides and just unlucky for Auto-Dh.

8) DNA-SK
The best team of 2006 is still way too strong for many in the scene. A few roster changes there and does not stop them from consistently reaching top 4 placing of every LAN tournament held. If RoA is known for their consistency in winning tournaments, SK is known for their consistency in reaching at least the semifinals of every tournament.
Style of play includes heavy map wide domination and control early on. Once the foundations are built, the opponent can only face a slow and certain death. In rare situations where they fail to control the opponent early game, their late farmers always managed to perform incredible feats of farming to carry them through.with superior item advantage. Once they managed to control their opponents in the game, watching them play as a marshall produced an endless amount of jokes. Conversations among themselves and item builds (5 blink daggers even for Viper at a game) reflects how far ahead they are skillwise compared to their opponents.

Strategy wise, this tournament introduced the imbalances the hero Bristleback. Most of the close matches is decided on which team drafted Bristleback. I remembered a first round match where the BB destroyed 4 raxes single handedly and proceed to win the game all by himself. I think its time to ban Bristleback in tournaments from now on as this hero really destroys the game.
6.41 is getting boring now. Hopefully the scene can take a gamble and move to 6.43b. I am also quite surprised that bottle usage has been at a minimum this time around. The way Icefrog creates this item, it is meant to be abused.
Ok then, that's all for now. Hope you guys enjoy the replays and provide feedback to further grow the community.

revivar
post Apr 2 2007, 06:09 PM

Ushhaa~ underminer strikes again.
Ian_Mok
post Apr 4 2007, 09:23 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(underminer @ Apr 2 2007, 11:25 AM)
Finally finished all the important replays. Will try to give a brief summary of some of the top performers .
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif tp the power of underminer
nice review

after the tourney v c some new face from Penang ( Ice )
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
i like their play style and the time they communicate with teamate
** because they talk in hokien, dam shok

synzo
post Apr 4 2007, 12:18 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Ian_Mok @ Apr 4 2007, 09:23 AM)

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
lu wu xiao bo?
Odin`
post Apr 5 2007, 01:11 PM

19 posts

i just remember CS last time always hear
*PAI LANG LAI LIAO!!!*
xhunterx
post Apr 6 2007, 08:07 PM

hey odin..do u mind uploading 6.41 map dat you use for the tournament?it says dat my map doesnt match wif the replay =(
SUSFlizzardo
post Apr 6 2007, 09:00 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

dont tell me they used the fake version that give SO MUCH gold to host! lawl!
GLx andy
post Apr 7 2007, 11:32 AM

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif tp the power of underminer
nice review

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
sweat.gif .... because we all dunno use the keyboard...scare later msg to all people see it tongue.gif
so we better use talk... in hokien...haha
nD | andy
post Apr 7 2007, 11:34 AM

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif tp the power of underminer
nice review

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
sweat.gif .... because we all dunno use the keyboard...scare later msg to all people see it tongue.gif
so we better use talk... in hokien...haha
MoNzAi
post Apr 10 2007, 04:48 PM

516 posts

eh bro odin can upload the photo here? >.<
Odin`
post Apr 10 2007, 05:46 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(MoNzAi @ Apr 10 2007, 04:48 PM)
eh bro odin can upload the photo here? >.<
okie i try to find 1st smile.gif
Wranger
post Apr 10 2007, 11:42 PM

I've been following the Dota scene around the world for quite some time now. Replays from Europe, US, Philippines, Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Australia, you name it, I probably had watched them before. This list is compiled after watching the rather recent Autosurf tournament, and why I think Malaysians' downright arrogant and ignorance when it comes to improving.

Ok, some might say that, yeah, Malaysia's Dota community is going the right way. Meh, took them more than 3-4 months to notice that Bristleback is more than imbalanced is not much of an improvement to me. The problem is Malaysian clans are mostly too ignorant to take notice that, while certain heroes work in EU/US games, they might be applicable to the Asian scene. But no, teams scoff the ideas, listing something like "EU/US = Noobs, we = pro, therefore BB only good coz they noobs." Ignorance at the highest degree? Obviously.

Let me start my list off with a hero that most teams still pick.

Viper. Goddammit, what an embarrassment to the drafting community. What it will take for you guys to understand that this hero is already nerfed since a few versions ago and is no more than a glass cannon now. DO PEOPLE NOT KNOW THAT VIPER SUCKS NOW? Still picking it and insisting on using items to save its ass? Come on, be smart and grow up. Train another solo hero for your own sake. Heroes like Silencer , Shadow Fiend, or whatever are much much better heroes to solo nowadays. I know you guys are not used to it but who gives a damn when you lose?

Bear. ROFL x3 kknp. Does it take a genius to figure out that this hero is virtually a useless early game now? The recent change logs renders it an OK mid to late game hero. Lvl 1-6 without entangling roots just make it so easy to die against better lane opponents. Look at Zenith vs eNe lately, Ant's bear just can't do shit against his opponents. Farming Radiance in 40 minutes doesn't help him, because he dies to like what? 3 nukes? Not to mentioned he was relegated to full time neutraling because whenever he goes to a lane he gets nuked to oblivion. He can't farm , he can't tank for the team and he just feeds in that game. Time to move on? Duh.

The Bristleback "problem". Took you guys this long to figure this one out? If you guys could just be a little more clever to log into the DA website and download their competitive Dota replays, the Bristleback problem may already be unearthed ages ago and someone would actually ban it already.

Bottle. Does anyone in Malaysia uses this now? Or you guys just do not know it existed in the first place? While I heard some teams has had some positive results using it in SCRIMS, I don't see why they refused to use it in real tournaments. Oh wait, I forgot Malaysians are NOTORIOUS for their INABILITY to DARE. CHANGE = RESISTED. HELP = SCOFFED. Lol? Looking at the better part of EU/US, they had been exploiting Bottle like mad people, almost every Shadow Fiend player gets it, almost every good team which utilize gank style heroes gets it.

Shadow Fiend. The only Shadow Fiend I saw is one that went Necromastery + Stats. =\ READ THE CHANGELOG. Shadowraze now costs a measly 75 mana at ALL LEVELS. That's potentially 900 damage for 225 mana. Imba? DUH. Not to mention BOTTLE totally solves his mana problems and gives him BOTH lane control power and ganking potential. The so-called "KING" of uber solo t3h imba Viper has no chance against a well-played Shadow Fiend. Don't believe me? Go try. Don't come around crying saying, omg j00 nub, Viper is t3h pawnzor, you nub no know how to use Viper kk. Wanna try? PM me. GGC only.

Playstyle. This one makes me fume. READ THE CHANGELOGS AGAIN PLEASE. All Icefrog did since 6.32b is to create an environment where the game ends quick. Almost every new release saw the average game play reduced due to the extra incentives for teams to push fast in every game. Western teams responded to this call , did Malaysians? Malaysians still cling onto "we wait till Skadi out on Qop at 40 min only push" mentality. Not to mention, dead towers = skadi faster. I have seen teams getting Skadi consistently at the 32-35 minute mark because his team has been pushing towers down like madmen. In case you guys are blind, Zenith was utterly destroyed by the 35th min every game against Western teams lately. So, adapt your gameplay or die clinging on to it.

If anyone has questions as to why I had said the above things, they are welcome to ask me. However, I will not entertain stupid or unintelligible posts, or noobs who can't read. So there.
devildoff
post Apr 11 2007, 12:28 AM

lol interesting post wranger !!
yea.. In my experience, malaysians do not like changes, they just follow old stuff.. don't dare to try new things till others try..
and i watched all the games zenith played against euro american teams, and saw zenith lost all the games recently..
western dota has adopted all the good things from asia like ganks, triple lanes.. Whereas, asian dota has done same things for so long..
They actually use good heros/items when they get buffed or come out, sf, alchemist, tormented soul, bottles would be good examples.. Anyways.. it's time for asia to adopt good things from western dota teams...

lucif3r
post Apr 11 2007, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(Wranger @ Apr 10 2007, 11:42 PM)
I've been following the Dota scene around the world for quite some time now. Replays from Europe, US, Philippines, Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Australia, you name it, I probably had watched them before. This list is compiled after watching the rather recent Autosurf tournament, and why I think Malaysians' downright arrogant and ignorance when it comes to improving.

Ok, some might say that, yeah, Malaysia's Dota community is going the right way. Meh, took them more than 3-4 months to notice that Bristleback is more than imbalanced is not much of an improvement to me. The problem is Malaysian clans are mostly too ignorant to take notice that, while certain heroes work in EU/US games, they might be applicable to the Asian scene. But no, teams scoff the ideas, listing something like "EU/US = Noobs, we = pro, therefore BB only good coz they noobs." Ignorance at the highest degree? Obviously.

Let me start my list off with a hero that most teams still pick.

Viper. Goddammit, what an embarrassment to the drafting community. What it will take for you guys to understand that this hero is already nerfed since a few versions ago and is no more than a glass cannon now. DO PEOPLE NOT  KNOW THAT VIPER SUCKS NOW? Still picking it and insisting on using items to save its ass? Come on, be smart and grow up. Train another solo hero for your own sake. Heroes like Silencer , Shadow Fiend, or whatever are much much better heroes to solo nowadays. I know you guys are not used to it but who gives a damn when you lose?

Bear. ROFL x3 kknp. Does it take a genius to figure out that this hero is virtually a useless early game now? The recent change logs renders it an OK mid to late game hero. Lvl 1-6 without entangling roots just make it so easy to die against better lane opponents. Look at Zenith vs eNe lately, Ant's bear just can't do shit against his opponents. Farming Radiance in 40 minutes doesn't help him, because he dies to like what? 3 nukes? Not to mentioned he was relegated to full time neutraling because whenever he goes to a lane he gets nuked to oblivion. He can't farm , he can't tank for the team and he just feeds in that game. Time to move on? Duh.

The Bristleback "problem". Took you guys this long to figure this one out? If you guys could just be a little more clever to log into the DA website and download their competitive Dota replays, the Bristleback problem may already be unearthed ages ago and someone would actually ban it already.

Bottle. Does anyone in Malaysia uses this now? Or you guys just do not know it existed in the first place? While I heard some teams has had some positive results using it in SCRIMS, I don't see why they refused to use it in real tournaments. Oh wait, I forgot Malaysians are NOTORIOUS for their INABILITY to DARE. CHANGE = RESISTED. HELP = SCOFFED. Lol? Looking at the better part of EU/US, they had been exploiting Bottle like mad people, almost every Shadow Fiend player gets it, almost every good team which utilize gank style heroes gets it.

Shadow Fiend. The only Shadow Fiend I saw is one that went Necromastery + Stats. =\ READ THE CHANGELOG. Shadowraze now costs a measly 75 mana at ALL LEVELS. That's potentially 900 damage for 225 mana. Imba? DUH. Not to mention BOTTLE totally solves his mana problems and gives him BOTH lane control power and ganking potential. The so-called "KING" of uber solo t3h imba Viper has no chance against a well-played Shadow Fiend. Don't believe me? Go try. Don't come around crying saying, omg j00 nub, Viper is t3h pawnzor, you nub no know how to use Viper kk. Wanna try? PM me. GGC only.

Playstyle. This one makes me fume. READ THE CHANGELOGS AGAIN PLEASE. All Icefrog did since 6.32b is to create an environment where the game ends quick. Almost every new release saw the average game play reduced due to the extra incentives for teams to push fast in every game. Western teams responded to this call , did Malaysians? Malaysians still cling onto "we wait till Skadi out on Qop at 40 min only push" mentality. Not to mention, dead towers = skadi faster. I have seen teams getting Skadi consistently at the 32-35 minute mark because his team has been pushing towers down like madmen. In case you guys are blind, Zenith was utterly destroyed by the 35th min every game against Western teams lately. So, adapt your gameplay or die clinging  on to it.

If anyone has questions as to why I had said the above things, they are welcome to ask me. However, I will not entertain stupid or unintelligible posts, or noobs who can't read. So there.
Lol. seems it is ck mssg... whistling.gif
Odin`
post Apr 11 2007, 01:30 AM

19 posts

Both are good posts if you ask me wink.gif

Btw what i can say about malaysian dota scene is that gamers dont really have the time/effort to explore new strats. Its not that we cling to our old strats but its rather there are very few competitions around. I think in 1 year theres at most 5 dota competitions thats worth forming a team and joining.

Since last year's SMM and WCG i think most of the top teams disbanded and didnt really improve from then on. And not many new teams are formed also, basically the community is shrinking. Whats the reason for this you may ask. The main reason is that theres no competition to look out for after that.

So every once in a while when a competition pops up, gamers will frantically form new teams or just gather a few friends and "prepare" for the upcoming competition. Basically taking all the old strats and try to mix with some other countries' strats. However, usually we dont have enough time to figure out these new strats or heroes lmao tongue.gif
Therefore, we will end up using old strats , old heroes and old playstyle. For the fortunate few that have the time to pickup new strats they usually wins smile.gif

Im really envious of other dota players around the world because they have so much exposure to tournaments and media. For malaysian gamers we usually do it out of our own free time to play competitively, while others mostly plays for fun.

So why do you have to come and rant about your playstyle and strats smile.gif
You can just advice us eloquently or even better update us periodically with your knowledge biggrin.gif

Anyways thanks for your input to malaysian dota community.

SUSIblis
post Apr 11 2007, 02:26 AM

42 posts

Well, Wranger just bring out the cold truth about Malaysian and Asian DotA scene in general. Everyone, let's take his point of view and critism to a positive way. If you read his post, non of it are false. Sometimes, truth does hurt.

In conjuction of Wranger's post, I would like to give out some of my observation of the downside of the arrogance, ignorance (pardon my choice of words, I'm out for better words right) attitude. WE WON'T SURVIVE TO COMPETE AT INTERNATIONAL STAGE. Why? because we can't really adapt and absorb changes that much. Recently, at MyM Tournament, Zenith as proclaimed the best team at Asia, stumbled upon, and fell to the first EU team they met. They're not doing any good either in the TF league with 3-lose streak against Western team.

Is this how we should be? No! Take note that Westerners used -LM for high level play and only couple of months back, they started to use -AP draft mode in numerous tournament whereas we've playing with -AP draft since when?, a year ago? The keyword here is, adaptation.

However, with Odin's post, it kick some sense too with all the exposure, commitment etc. That's what we should work it right now. I always believe that we, Malaysian are maybe not better, but at least as equally talented as others. Take this effort (Autosurf Tournament) as a milestone for a better future in Malaysian DotA scene.

Best regards.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:16 PM