LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc
Sep 16 2020, 11:16 AM
1,152 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
So many DIYer now when MCO period started...and it is growing in momentum...
Sep 17 2020, 12:42 PM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
Sep 17 2020, 12:55 PM
7,934 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Sep 17 2020, 08:53 PM
1,152 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Sep 29 2020, 11:30 PM
14 posts Joined: Oct 2016 |
Dear Sifus, need some recommendation for a cordless platform to invest in.
If you could start fresh, which brand would you choose? |
Sep 30 2020, 09:32 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
7,948 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soviet Sarawak |
QUOTE(Confused Ant @ Sep 29 2020, 11:30 PM) Dear Sifus, need some recommendation for a cordless platform to invest in. MAKITA If you could start fresh, which brand would you choose? so many toys to choose from BOSCH keep improving their batt, but not their tools. i havent buy any new cordless tools just because there is none to buy anymore. |
Sep 30 2020, 11:39 AM
1,072 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
Sep 30 2020, 11:45 AM
Sep 30 2020, 12:38 PM
1,072 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
Sep 30 2020, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Sep 30 2020, 11:39 AM) Milwaukee a trend?I'd say no matter which brand, the battery is still the same lithium. You probably need to compare which has flexibility on interchangeability among power tool. I believe many big name say has warranty like 5 years. After that there is no spare part and you end up being forced to buy new tools. I was told that Milwaukee also is practicing this |
Sep 30 2020, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 30 2020, 06:42 PM) Milwaukee a trend? bosch has plenty of spare parts... from china. u can check shopee and they have like all the popular parts, for example the famous red trigger switchI'd say no matter which brand, the battery is still the same lithium. You probably need to compare which has flexibility on interchangeability among power tool. I believe many big name say has warranty like 5 years. After that there is no spare part and you end up being forced to buy new tools. I was told that Milwaukee also is practicing this |
Sep 30 2020, 10:16 PM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(Confused Ant @ Sep 29 2020, 11:30 PM) Dear Sifus, need some recommendation for a cordless platform to invest in. I did look at makita before picking Bosch. However the makita rotary hammer alone, the price for solo tool is already expensive (680 for DHR171Z from listing on Shopee). Add battery and charger already close to 1k+ I guess. That price can buy a Bosch GBH180Li with 4AH standard battery (exclude charger). So I spent 395+280+102 (solo tool,4AH procore,fast charger) = 777 in total for a working set. Once I had the batt and charger then just adding solo tools is easy, so got the drill driver solo tool for 230 as well.If you could start fresh, which brand would you choose? |
Oct 1 2020, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 30 2020, 08:59 PM) bosch has plenty of spare parts... from china. u can check shopee and they have like all the popular parts, for example the famous red trigger switch Because many power tool are made in China. Obviously they produces more than order But many start to move production outside of China, at least during Trump reign |
Oct 1 2020, 04:59 PM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Confused Ant @ Sep 29 2020, 11:30 PM) Dear Sifus, need some recommendation for a cordless platform to invest in. Bosch for practicality. If you could start fresh, which brand would you choose? It is a standard brand in Malaysia. You can get from everywhere and ample of service parts. Generally, the contractor goes for either cheap china, Bosch or Hilti (for MNC with global contract). |
Oct 5 2020, 12:22 AM
1,196 posts Joined: Jun 2015 From: Malaysia |
Have a very hard time to drill a hole in my bath mosaic using GSB120LI.. I using the cement drill bit and set into impact mode, speed 1 and maximum power but after few trying it only able drill the base of the mosaic .... do I need a drill that for Mosaic... or GSB120LI not recommended to do it?
Oct 5 2020, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Oct 5 2020, 12:22 AM) Have a very hard time to drill a hole in my bath mosaic using GSB120LI.. I using the cement drill bit and set into impact mode, speed 1 and maximum power but after few trying it only able drill the base of the mosaic .... do I need a drill that for Mosaic... or GSB120LI not recommended to do it? Drilling using impact mode will increase the chance of breaking the mosaic (Not sure if you are referring to normal ceramic tile or that small 1 inch square mosaic For ceramic tile, you should use drill bit for ceramic (spade shape), not the cement/concrete drill bit. Here are good guide: |
Oct 5 2020, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 5 2020, 08:18 AM) Drilling using impact mode will increase the chance of breaking the mosaic (Not sure if you are referring to normal ceramic tile or that small 1 inch square mosaic Hi, i referring to ceramic tile.. sorry that I tot all is called mosaic For ceramic tile, you should use drill bit for ceramic (spade shape), not the cement/concrete drill bit. Here are good guide: |
Oct 5 2020, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Oct 5 2020, 11:23 AM) Mosaic means a pattern or picture made using many small pieces of colored stone or glass Yes.... usually that small 1"x1" porcelain pcs popular in 70's is referred as mosaic. Sometime I also confused which is which between porcelain and ceramic. |
Oct 5 2020, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 5 2020, 11:50 AM) Mosaic means a pattern or picture made using many small pieces of colored stone or glass Yes.... usually that small 1"x1" porcelain pcs popular in 70's is referred as mosaic. Sometime I also confused which is which between porcelain and ceramic. Ya, the is ceramic |
Oct 5 2020, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Oct 5 2020, 11:52 AM) Ya, the is ceramic It is soft but using drill hammering mode can break it. The spade shaped drill bit can easily drill through and once reached cement, changed to masonry bit.If you find it is hard make bit stay in same place during initial drill due to slippery surface, it is suggested that you put a tape (either masking or electrical tape. I just lightly use nail and hammer it lightly to chip the surface a bit before drilling. Just hammer it light not to break the tile. |
| Change to: | 0.0219sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:26 AM |