Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural

the_catacombs
post Oct 8 2008, 02:30 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 7 2008, 11:49 PM)
yeah, u can use driftwood of course.. tie moss on it too.. there's small driftwood you can get in LFS.. if you get it from natue, make sure you boil them..
maybe u can get some inspirations from here...

http://www.my-mac.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4056
http://www.my-mac.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1588
those nano tanks are still considered big compare to my 15cm tank... sweat.gif
WeSLeY
post Oct 8 2008, 07:24 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 7 2008, 09:07 PM)
Pinchboyz,
does it improve the growth of ya plants by going for 4hrs then off 2hrs and continue again by 5hrs? wat is the philosophy behind this?
AHahhaa. got my degree in green water, BBA and Master for hair algae biggrin.gif

Catacomb,
wat kind of substrate you use, garden soil?
yeah, nano is very challenging.. not just scaping, controlling the water parameter as well.. sekali change water.. you might send ya fishes straight to the grave..
i think Java Moss might still survive in 28c.. but definately will stun the growth..
hahhaa. your tank is so tiny, by adding the thermometer, then ya filter.. scape with 1 rock.. your fish got no room left. lolx..

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:08 pmuse CPU fan will do.. but you have to top up water la everyday la biggrin.gif

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:13 pmWesley,

hi there, i think the wood might be a lil too big, maybe use 1 only instead of 2? again, try arranging in different manner, post some pics biggrin.gif
wood usually will increase de pH by a lil.. boil them in a pot, change water and boil again... to reduce the tanning... if you use ADA soil.. supposedly will help lower the pH..
icicic.... ya, plan to put in ADA soil (africana). Will buy it this weekend and start my 1st plant tank. Means have to sacrify 1 of the wood... sad.gif
Btw, what is the idea PH for plant tank with mostly moss??? I realise my tank PH drop from to somewhere around 5 to 5.5 after using DIY CO2. Is it normal?

Thanks for your advice. Will post more pix for my work after this weekend wink.gif
coldfusionpower
post Oct 8 2008, 10:03 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

normal la dude .. its all trial and error . i got plenty of driftwood and rocks laying around... tongue.gif

anyway ... good luck !
pinchboyz
post Oct 8 2008, 10:11 AM

1,710 posts

QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 7 2008, 09:07 PM)
Pinchboyz,
does it improve the growth of ya plants by going for 4hrs then off 2hrs and continue again by 5hrs? wat is the philosophy behind this?
AHahhaa. got my degree in green water, BBA and Master for hair algae biggrin.gif

Catacomb,
wat kind of substrate you use, garden soil?
yeah, nano is very challenging.. not just scaping, controlling the water parameter as well.. sekali change water.. you might send ya fishes straight to the grave..
i think Java Moss might still survive in 28c.. but definately will stun the growth..
hahhaa. your tank is so tiny, by adding the thermometer, then ya filter.. scape with 1 rock.. your fish got no room left. lolx..

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:08 pmuse CPU fan will do.. but you have to top up water la everyday la biggrin.gif

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:13 pmWesley,

hi there, i think the wood might be a lil too big, maybe use 1 only instead of 2? again, try arranging in different manner, post some pics biggrin.gif
wood usually will increase de pH by a lil.. boil them in a pot, change water and boil again... to reduce the tanning... if you use ADA soil.. supposedly will help lower the pH..
1) to control the algae growth, especially hair algae.

2) DW not decrease pH mer? increase a?

Added on October 8, 2008, 10:14 am
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Oct 7 2008, 09:15 PM)
erm... i also not sure.... using gravel lor... i thought of adding beach sand at the bottom for the plant to grow.... is it possible??.. will it affect the water pH as it is from seawater sand??...

if everything works well, i wont be changing water that often lor.... top up everyday and change mayb halftank water once in a while... mostly will depend on water filter to keep the water clean...

yeah, i do notice the lack of space limitation... datz why i jz planning for minature seabed grass lookalike plants... a rock mayb 5cm length will do... hahaha.....

but if possible i still prefer driftwood... any driftwood available which can grow abit of moss on top and yet doesnt affect water pH??...

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:16 pm
ADA soil??.... unsure.gif  unsure.gif
http://www.adana.co.jp/index_e.php
http://www.adana.com.my/

Added on October 8, 2008, 10:18 am
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Oct 7 2008, 09:15 PM)
erm... i also not sure.... using gravel lor... i thought of adding beach sand at the bottom for the plant to grow.... is it possible??.. will it affect the water pH as it is from seawater sand??...

if everything works well, i wont be changing water that often lor.... top up everyday and change mayb halftank water once in a while... mostly will depend on water filter to keep the water clean...

yeah, i do notice the lack of space limitation... datz why i jz planning for minature seabed grass lookalike plants... a rock mayb 5cm length will do... hahaha.....

but if possible i still prefer driftwood... any driftwood available which can grow abit of moss on top and yet doesnt affect water pH??...

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:16 pm
ADA soil??.... unsure.gif  unsure.gif
1) sand can be used, but make sure check the pH level first...some of the sand will increase pH
2) still, adviceable to WC once a week, so lil volume, wont be head ache
3) make sure if u use sand as substrate, add some base fert if for stem plant. for moss, liquid type should be enough
4) you still can find nice lil dw in lfs, go hunt around...

This post has been edited by pinchboyz: Oct 8 2008, 10:18 AM
the_catacombs
post Oct 8 2008, 12:31 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Oct 8 2008, 10:11 AM)
1) to control the algae growth, especially hair algae.

2) DW not decrease pH mer? increase a?

Added on October 8, 2008, 10:14 am
http://www.adana.co.jp/index_e.php
http://www.adana.com.my/

Added on October 8, 2008, 10:18 am
1) sand can be used, but make sure check the pH level first...some of the sand will increase pH
2) still, adviceable to WC once a week, so lil volume, wont be head ache
3) make sure if u use sand as substrate, add some base fert if for stem plant. for moss, liquid type should be enough
4) you still can find nice lil dw in lfs, go hunt around...
what is WC??...

so many short form... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
pinchboyz
post Oct 8 2008, 12:48 PM

1,710 posts

water change....
where got many....
if u not understand, do ask
zoejehuty
post Oct 8 2008, 04:09 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

for nano tank right, erm, let say 1ft cube tank.
how much normally you all put the aquasoil and all, how thick?
cause i now wanted to do 1ft cube tank, wanna keep crs.

Added on October 8, 2008, 4:16 pmmind if i ask something, wat is BBA and HC?

This post has been edited by zoejehuty: Oct 8 2008, 04:16 PM
pinchboyz
post Oct 8 2008, 05:06 PM

1,710 posts

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 8 2008, 04:09 PM)
for nano tank right, erm, let say 1ft cube tank.
how much normally you all put the aquasoil and all, how thick?
cause i now wanted to do 1ft cube tank, wanna keep crs.

Added on October 8, 2008, 4:16 pmmind if i ask something, wat is BBA and HC?
depends on how thick the soil u wanna put....
let say u wanna put 5cm high
30 x 30 x 5 =4500 = 4.5L of soil....

normally we wont encourage nano tank keep crs, coz water volume small, parameter not stable...

zoejehuty
post Oct 8 2008, 09:40 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

ooo, so normally you all keep crs in what tank size?
pakutekan
post Oct 8 2008, 09:41 PM

161 posts

for nano tank.. do we need CO supply for the plant?
let say i want have couple or small fish.. such as guppy etc..
must have pump on not?
coz i already tried b4.. the fish will gasp for oxygen at the water surface...

This post has been edited by pakutekan: Oct 8 2008, 09:44 PM
zoejehuty
post Oct 8 2008, 09:44 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

erm, i not into nano, so not sure about it, but i think it is a basic for plant to grow well if got lighting and co2 source.
coldfusionpower
post Oct 8 2008, 11:04 PM

3,158 posts

later when my new iwagumi mountain started bloom edi , i wanna keep CRS also .. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Oct 8 2008, 10:41 PM)
for nano tank.. do we need CO supply for the plant?
let say i want have couple or small fish.. such as guppy etc..
must have pump on not?
coz i already tried b4.. the fish will gasp for oxygen at the water surface...
depend on you plant ... co2 on when lights on ... air pump when lights off .. dont know about nano tanks tho . might be the same.

the_catacombs
post Oct 9 2008, 03:00 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

upgraded my tank today.... hehe.... total damage today is rm65...

- 16"x10"x10" tank... rm15...
- driftwood 2 keping... rm6...
- fert soil (dunno what brand).... rm18 per kg.... bought 1kg only...
- moss.... rm6...
- dunno what plant looks like lalang... rm1...
- 8w florescent lamp... rm16...
- small white pebbles.... rm3... 1.5kg...

everything seems nice.... but jz 1 main problem... dunno my plants will grow or not...

coz i'm using coral stone and no co2 pump... sad.gif sad.gif
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Oct 9 2008, 03:10 AM

1,762 posts

erm mind to ask... my terra fishs.. is going up the surface and its just like a normal aquarium with rocks... but don hv pump .. can they survive?
coldfusionpower
post Oct 9 2008, 03:12 AM

3,158 posts

looks like someone addicted edi ... hahaha

the pebbles and coral rocks not suitable for planted tank ..will increase ph levels .. use shiru white sand instead ...

which one the lalang ? the back right ? looks like blyxa japonica but i really doubt it .. coz too cheap .. tongue.gif

co2 can use those DIY ones .. easy to make ...http://www.plantedtank.net/articles/DIY-Yeast-CO2/7/

the_catacombs
post Oct 9 2008, 03:17 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Oct 9 2008, 03:10 AM)
erm mind to ask... my terra fishs.. is going up the surface and its just like a normal aquarium with rocks... but don hv pump .. can they survive?
they dont have enough oxygen??.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Oct 9 2008, 03:12 AM)
looks like someone addicted edi ... hahaha

the pebbles and coral rocks not suitable for planted tank ..will increase ph levels .. use shiru white sand instead ...

which one the lalang ? the back right ? looks like blyxa japonica but i really doubt it .. coz too cheap .. tongue.gif

co2 can use those DIY ones .. easy to make ...http://www.plantedtank.net/articles/DIY-Yeast-CO2/7/
haha... all u guys fault la... laugh.gif

both my pebbles and corals had been used in freshwater tanks for ages already.... coz i stole them from my friend's aquarium... hahaha..... will it still affects the water pH alot??... how to check water pH??... i dont have kertas litmus... sad.gif
coldfusionpower
post Oct 9 2008, 03:21 AM

3,158 posts

ape pulakkk .. u poison urself maaa .. tongue.gif

haha .. i dont know about that .. i dont use them in any of my tank .. i did have 10kg of it at my house .. after asking a few ppl .. ended to my mom flower garden ... tongue.gif

can buy those Ph tester ..

HoNeYdEwBoY
post Oct 9 2008, 03:26 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Oct 9 2008, 05:17 AM)
they dont have enough oxygen??.. unsure.gif
haha... all u guys fault la... laugh.gif

both my pebbles and corals had been used in freshwater tanks for ages already.... coz i stole them from my friend's aquarium... hahaha..... will it still affects the water pH alot??... how to check water pH??... i dont have kertas litmus... sad.gif
so what should i do @@" im new .. izzit good for putting some plant ? to replace tat pump ?
zoejehuty
post Oct 9 2008, 03:49 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

what's your tank size? unless your tank is small, if not, is advisable to have pump. unless u keen enough to WC everyday.

tetra fish need pump, it is to at least, circulate the water. imagine you trap inside a water, no water flow, the water is just stay still, no oxygen like that, will you like it. same thing can be imagine on fish.
the_catacombs
post Oct 9 2008, 03:49 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Oct 9 2008, 03:21 AM)
ape pulakkk .. u poison urself maaa .. tongue.gif

haha .. i dont know about that .. i dont use them in any of my tank .. i did have 10kg of it at my house .. after asking a few ppl .. ended to my mom flower garden ... tongue.gif

can buy those Ph tester ..
pH tester no money...

i swapped the coral with another driftwood adi belongs to my housemate.... it looks so no nice now compare to coral rock... sad.gif sad.gif

tomolo go diy co2... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Oct 9 2008, 03:26 AM)
so what should i do @@" im new .. izzit good for putting some plant ? to replace tat pump ?
err.... reduce co2??... haha... better leave it to the experts to give opinions... tongue.gif tongue.gif

127 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:53 PM