9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural

coldfusionpower
post Mar 23 2007, 03:40 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

fuiyooo . u guys aaa .. give me an headache la .. i love these planted aquarium. just never have the knowledge and money to do. good job guys !

btw, one silly question anyone have a pet blue or red crayfish on a planted aquarium before ? hmm.gif and use flexiglass aquarium ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 23 2007, 06:23 AM
coldfusionpower
post Mar 23 2007, 01:23 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 23 2007, 11:06 AM)
crayfish can grow quite large and i think they might destroy your plants.....
maximum it can grow is 6inch right ?. hahaha .. destroy the plant. hmm cancel la like this .. buy expensive plant, then they suka2 destroy the plant. vmad.gif

QUOTE(itssg @ Mar 23 2007, 11:09 AM)
You can have a very low budget to up a planted tank. Gain some knowledge and experience first before you became rich and able to get expensive stuff.
I had kept the red, blue, purple and other crayfish before. You can't mix all of them together. Unless you have very big tank. Otherwise, they will fight and eating up the loser.
You can have a pair in a 2ft tank. Prefer to have some gravel, rock and wood for them to rest and hide. They do like strong water flow and full of oxygen. They eat everything...like vegetable, fruits, smaller fishes, pellet.
very low budget? how low are we talking about. i'm planning to get those red crayfish. look like lobster .. brows.gif .
2ft tank ? aiyah .. i'm looking for used 2ft tank but no luck la . does planted tank and crayfish mix ? like in the quote above and some site i read, they like to destroy the plant and how about paludarium ?
coldfusionpower
post Mar 23 2007, 03:19 PM

3,158 posts

Quote from http://www.amonline.net.au/factSheets/crayfish.htm
To set up an aquarium for crayfish you need a good aeration system, 3-5 cm of sand, some small pebbles and some large hollow or cavernous rocks which the crayfish can hide in during the day, and plenty of long waterweeds.
like he said? hmm simple setup .. and cheaper too .. hahaha

i ask about paludarium just bcoz i like how it look .. maybe it can be a nice hangout for the crayfish then can go inside the water back. ofcoz the top will be covered.

about planted aquarium. does it really need co2 system even its a small one ? my plan is to use diy yeast co2 and diy co2 reactor.
coldfusionpower
post Mar 23 2007, 05:45 PM

3,158 posts

guys, i got a 3ft aquarium. don't hv anything inside. actually wanna put gerbils but after see this thread.. aiyahh .. cannot tahan laa .

i hv 2 questions

1. CO2. how much is the 2kg bottle and how long does it usually last per/refil ?
2. what is the best method to disolve the co2 into the water ? co2 reactor ? air stone ? glass diffuser ?

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 23 2007, 05:49 PM
coldfusionpower
post Jul 16 2007, 11:33 PM

3,158 posts

wah .. no update meh ? .. haha .. its been 4 months from last time i post here but never did made the planted tank . hahaha ..

just wanna do a mini one . my room got no room anymore . haha. this is what i hv now .

2ft plastic tank
4pc cooling fan on top of the aquarium
yeast co2 (much cheaper to made)
external water pump
UV filter (the water pump, pump the waters into the UV filter unit and flow it back into the tank)

stuff to buy soon .. need ur opinion on what model or type

nano co2 diffuser
substrate
filter
err. anything else i missed ?

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Jul 17 2007, 03:16 AM
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 12:13 AM

3,158 posts

yeah .. please do . wanna see ur mini planted tank ..
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 02:56 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 17 2007, 08:38 AM)
ur DIY CO2, i am not sure is it enoguh pressure the CO2 throught the dissuser, some ppl say yes, some say no. if canot u can get a air stone too.

u don't see to hv UV light, its kill the good bacteria in ur water too. no need externail water pumpu too.

get a HOB filter with the right flow, withsurface skimmer, when plant photo period, they produce oil.

get light (count ur water, and check how many watt they need).

Ph tester

get a good soil if u can afort.
well . i do hv a 5lb tank from my car co2 cooler. i just dont hv regulator and ETC.. no money to buyyy !! tongue.gif

the UV light. the thing is, i still hv a few item from both of my previous koi pond. i got two huge pump, 2 small pump, 1 big UV filter. thinking to use the UV filter for the killing bacteria thing. since it does do the same thing with light.

whats a HOB filter ? hang on ? skimmer ? lol .. pening edi .. oklah . wanna go to 88 marine shop now .. adioz ..

p/s: u all sure aa plastic tank can ..
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 05:04 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 17 2007, 05:14 PM)
UV same as light? sorry canot get what u mean. light got the plant is replament of sunlight.. UV light will kill the good bacteria too. so u need o dose more thing in. pound is difference, UV in pond is more for green water.

plastic can. just not that nice.. u can get the normal 2ft glass tank only $23 mah.. 2x1x1 ft one.. smile.gif

surface skimmer is the filter take water from your water also from the water surface.. take away all the protine the plant produce.

5lb tank for car? is it liquid or powder? if it used for powder then canot use the tank. use liquid CO2 then ok.

if u can go damansara damai there, u get a better deal compare with 88 smile.gif

yup .. the filter case got UV bulb inside a waterproof glass container. later i post picture .

RM23 ? u sure ? where ? it was just for the tank right ? dont hv cover right ?

yeah . did see the skimmer just now at SS15 88 marine shop. but only hv two. price ok kot .

yup i use pressurized CO2 tank (2000psi) as a additional cooling method for the intercooler. the selonid is busted tho.

damansara damai ? where ?
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 05:25 PM

3,158 posts

here it is ..

p/s : it just happend that PPG are at cartoon network .. not like i watching it ... tongue.gif tongue.gif
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 07:00 PM

3,158 posts

thats only the UV filter . the pumps are bigger .. haha ..used to power up a japanese koi pond. one for the filters and one for the fountain.

tank i only hv a plastic tank . maybe gonna get a glass tank tonight. see the price first .. tongue.gif
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 09:36 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 17 2007, 09:36 PM)
Wah... CFP kena planted tank sickness already LOL..... I still haven't clean and redo my tank.... busy busy. Setapak susah lah, I can't seem to find a good shop that can assist or provide me with all these stuff for planted tank.... no soil.... I use gravel.
haha . actually poison long time ago .. and i almost buy a 4ft tank ! .. but when think about the co2 la itu la ini la . wah . terus cancel . then i know u hv also . suddenly interested again .. huhuhu ... and guess what . i ask my mom and she agree to help me also .. YAY ! rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(ataris @ Jul 17 2007, 09:39 PM)
that small thing is a tv ?
yah .. why ? tak percaya ar ? that small tv , can buy ur nomal 21" unbranded tv one . haha .. actualy that was for my car. since i put a new touchscreen one, so this one, put in my room lo . my room dont hv tv .
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 11:02 PM

3,158 posts

can give direction or address . if can get rm23, sure i buy one !

anyway, here's my first tank . very stupid one .. after this gonna make background and lanscape using extruded styrofoam .

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Jul 17 2007, 11:02 PM
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 11:19 PM

3,158 posts

@ hun : haha .. boring day today .. when to both sunwaymas and ss15 88Mart to servey on tanks,regulator,co2 difuser,lights, filter, java moses , shrimps .. hahaha

@ nezumitaro : thanks ya !
coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 11:30 PM

3,158 posts

cannot ar ? dont know about that .. later i throw em out.

yup .. co2 liquid one .. confirm ..watt light .. after this i check the tank/watt table. today hv to sleep early .. got interview .. haha

timer ? already hv it ..

coldfusionpower
post Jul 17 2007, 11:34 PM

3,158 posts

coz , i see at shop , 2ft tank edi expensive . thats why i dont want ... then u said rm23 can get .. sure i'm excited maa . if still that price or still cheaper than the plastic one, i sure get it A.S.A.P !
coldfusionpower
post Jul 18 2007, 12:27 AM

3,158 posts

more pics ..

normal tanks ? the black one ? cannot see tru one ?
coldfusionpower
post Jul 18 2007, 12:17 PM

3,158 posts

michanz setup so nice ...

haha .. yeah .. after this i gonna go shopping for stuff ..
coldfusionpower
post Jul 18 2007, 02:10 PM

3,158 posts

haha . i was too damn boring ...gotta do sumthing or i will died coz too bored !

coldfusionpower
post Jul 18 2007, 04:39 PM

3,158 posts

where u buy the soil ?

so if my 2ft tank ? what light to use ?
coldfusionpower
post Jul 18 2007, 07:05 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Jul 18 2007, 07:23 PM)
well u can buy lah..2ft light set rm100 plus minus..nice nice one..

u wana diy?
go buy ballast rm15 X 2
go buy bulbs rm20 X 2
and the plastic holder reflector rm10-rm15 X 1

Added on July 18, 2007, 6:24 pmoh and i bought the soil at Natural Aquatics SS19 subang! unoe where is it ah>?
balast, edi hv . bulb ? hmm . does the bulb same like the house use one ?

SS19 .. er dont know ..

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Jul 18 2007, 07:27 PM)
the GEX soil or even ADA Aquasoil is available in Irene in Seapark  and 88 in Sunwaymas.
You might wanna consider getting a fan to keep your temperature down and timer for your lights.
owh .. since i'm going to Sunwaymas, just buy there lor .. tongue.gif fan .. already put two but will add summore tomoro or tonight.

p/s: my room got aircon . usually put it 25c .. ok or not ? this temp is the only one i can put. lower, my ferret will love it. too cold, my sugar glider will hate it . to hot , all three sugar glider and ferret hate and me hate lor . tongue.gif hahaha

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 18 2007, 07:38 PM)
count how many liter of water u hv 1st, then u will able to know how may Watt u need.
how to count also i dont know .. hahaha .. let me get the calculator ..

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Jul 18 2007, 07:45 PM)
Standard two feet tank is about 11 gallon. Having a dual flourescent 15 watt will give you about 2.7 watts per gallon, which is almost medium lighting already.

Good enough to handle most of the common plants.

Do remember, bulbs that comes with the set most of the time gives out either yellowish or pinkish light, which is not suitable for plants.
ahaa. answer is answered .. hihihi .. so i need two 15watts tube . hmm . not suitable ? so what colour should i look for ?

excuse me ... newbie passing truuu sweat.gif rolleyes.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3754sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:49 PM