Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural
Oct 7 2008, 05:10 AM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
my 15cm x 10cm x 21cm tank.... got potential become planted aquarium??... well, inside abit crowded with tetras...
![]() |
Oct 7 2008, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 7 2008, 09:16 AM) hi the_catacombs, yeap... i know nano is challanging... but i'll keep things slow and steady... i'll try get some java moss and throw it at the bottom.... i heard these plants are hardy plants... haha....welcome here.. yes u can make a nano tank. but nano is very challanging and u may need to get some smaller fish. do a simple low tech nano will be nice try to use stone rather than wood. cos wood will raise Ph, then u will suffer from Ph swing. what i'll be supplying them is jz my 9w florescent table lamp, a small water filter with minimum water flow, co2 provided by my tetras, soil from small gravel.... thanks for the wood tip... i thought of using it at the bottom to replace my black plastic thing on the right... haha.... mayb now i'll search for alternative deco.... stones are nice but vr hard to come across suitable size and shape for my nano tank... This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Oct 7 2008, 12:37 PM |
Oct 7 2008, 01:17 PM
Oct 7 2008, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 7 2008, 02:16 PM) the stone make sure not limestone ya.. melting moss??.. also check the temp of ur tank. more than 28oc some moss may melt also. need to invest in thermometer meh??... whats the normal water temp in room temp??... my 9w table lamp florescent light is about 8cm from water surface... |
Oct 7 2008, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 7 2008, 03:21 PM) ur tank there got air-com? normal water temp is about 30oC. not good for plants. mostly melt. water also got aircond??... temperature is VERY importand in planted tank nope, my room is not air conditioned... normal ceiling fan only with windows opened 24/7... room temp is 30oC la... but water temp also 30oC meh??.... QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Oct 7 2008, 03:39 PM) nano tank is a very nice tank to "play" with.... why need to trim/cut??... afraid plants overgrown??....1st, less $$ to buy tech.... 2nd, easy to trim/cut then come something else... 1, water volume small, parameter easy to get not stable 2, hard to scape, due to limited space/size, need to source for suitable plant and fauna (size) i planning for 1 or 2 small moss only.... nothing big... haha.... still insearch for small fishes 1cm long... tetras are mostly 2cm above... QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Oct 7 2008, 03:39 PM) but... lets say i got a thermometer to monitor the water temp... how do i control the water temp??... |
Oct 7 2008, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Oct 7 2008, 04:40 PM) haha.... i know plants will grow old la... but havent think till so far... now wanna make my plants live and settle in also vr hard adi... haha...cpu fan blowing on water surface can affect water temp??... i thought they were used jz to make water ripple.... |
Oct 7 2008, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 7 2008, 09:07 PM) Catacomb, erm... i also not sure.... using gravel lor... i thought of adding beach sand at the bottom for the plant to grow.... is it possible??.. will it affect the water pH as it is from seawater sand??...wat kind of substrate you use, garden soil? yeah, nano is very challenging.. not just scaping, controlling the water parameter as well.. sekali change water.. you might send ya fishes straight to the grave.. i think Java Moss might still survive in 28c.. but definately will stun the growth.. hahhaa. your tank is so tiny, by adding the thermometer, then ya filter.. scape with 1 rock.. your fish got no room left. lolx.. Added on October 7, 2008, 9:08 pmuse CPU fan will do.. but you have to top up water la everyday la if everything works well, i wont be changing water that often lor.... top up everyday and change mayb halftank water once in a while... mostly will depend on water filter to keep the water clean... yeah, i do notice the lack of space limitation... datz why i jz planning for minature seabed grass lookalike plants... a rock mayb 5cm length will do... hahaha..... but if possible i still prefer driftwood... any driftwood available which can grow abit of moss on top and yet doesnt affect water pH??... Added on October 7, 2008, 9:16 pm QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 7 2008, 09:07 PM) hi there, i think the wood might be a lil too big, maybe use 1 only instead of 2? again, try arranging in different manner, post some pics ADA soil??.... wood usually will increase de pH by a lil.. boil them in a pot, change water and boil again... to reduce the tanning... if you use ADA soil.. supposedly will help lower the pH.. This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Oct 7 2008, 09:16 PM |
Oct 8 2008, 02:30 AM
QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 7 2008, 11:49 PM) yeah, u can use driftwood of course.. tie moss on it too.. there's small driftwood you can get in LFS.. if you get it from natue, make sure you boil them.. those nano tanks are still considered big compare to my 15cm tank... maybe u can get some inspirations from here... http://www.my-mac.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4056 http://www.my-mac.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1588 |
Oct 8 2008, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Oct 8 2008, 10:11 AM) 1) to control the algae growth, especially hair algae. what is WC??...2) DW not decrease pH mer? increase a? Added on October 8, 2008, 10:14 am http://www.adana.co.jp/index_e.php http://www.adana.com.my/ Added on October 8, 2008, 10:18 am 1) sand can be used, but make sure check the pH level first...some of the sand will increase pH 2) still, adviceable to WC once a week, so lil volume, wont be head ache 3) make sure if u use sand as substrate, add some base fert if for stem plant. for moss, liquid type should be enough 4) you still can find nice lil dw in lfs, go hunt around... so many short form... |
Oct 9 2008, 03:00 AM
upgraded my tank today.... hehe.... total damage today is rm65...
- 16"x10"x10" tank... rm15... - driftwood 2 keping... rm6... - fert soil (dunno what brand).... rm18 per kg.... bought 1kg only... - moss.... rm6... - dunno what plant looks like lalang... rm1... - 8w florescent lamp... rm16... - small white pebbles.... rm3... 1.5kg... ![]() everything seems nice.... but jz 1 main problem... dunno my plants will grow or not... coz i'm using coral stone and no co2 pump... |
Oct 9 2008, 03:17 AM
QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Oct 9 2008, 03:10 AM) erm mind to ask... my terra fishs.. is going up the surface and its just like a normal aquarium with rocks... but don hv pump .. can they survive? they dont have enough oxygen??.. QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Oct 9 2008, 03:12 AM) looks like someone addicted edi ... hahaha haha... all u guys fault la... the pebbles and coral rocks not suitable for planted tank ..will increase ph levels .. use shiru white sand instead ... which one the lalang ? the back right ? looks like blyxa japonica but i really doubt it .. coz too cheap .. co2 can use those DIY ones .. easy to make ...http://www.plantedtank.net/articles/DIY-Yeast-CO2/7/ both my pebbles and corals had been used in freshwater tanks for ages already.... coz i stole them from my friend's aquarium... hahaha..... will it still affects the water pH alot??... how to check water pH??... i dont have kertas litmus... |
Oct 9 2008, 03:49 AM
QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Oct 9 2008, 03:21 AM) ape pulakkk .. u poison urself maaa .. pH tester no money...haha .. i dont know about that .. i dont use them in any of my tank .. i did have 10kg of it at my house .. after asking a few ppl .. ended to my mom flower garden ... can buy those Ph tester .. i swapped the coral with another driftwood adi belongs to my housemate.... it looks so no nice now compare to coral rock... tomolo go diy co2... QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Oct 9 2008, 03:26 AM) err.... reduce co2??... haha... better leave it to the experts to give opinions... |
Oct 9 2008, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 9 2008, 12:23 PM) get a ph tester, to check ph. the white stone also pls check if its suitable to use. |
Oct 9 2008, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 9 2008, 09:59 PM) Catacomb, the plant situated far right of my aquarium is called Cryptocoryne x willisii if not mistaken... it needs low light levels and slow growth... the other 2 more is called Tropical Hornwort and Water Hyssop, Bacopa... its kinda "almost" dead because previously i "preserved" it inside my friend's tank full with coral... haha... if it survives, ok lo... if not, i'm gonna replace it with other plant.... well, is good to see you really go for it sorry to say but i think your plants might not survive, moss got better chance over the other 2 lights too low and small.. there's only small area in ya tank is lid. where as ya plants are everywhere.. check ya water temp. important for most plants. always always do research prior in getting them.. getting a pH test kit is a good idea, but i personally also think they're kinda exp.. so far i always go by the trial and error way anyway, have fun.. yeap... i do notice i dont have sufficient lighting... gonna diy a few more florescent soon... currently i dont have a thermometer to check the water temp and pH tester to check the water.... but i do have a fan blowing at the helping the cooling system a little... hopefully can keep the temp below 30oC.... chiller??.... like u said, slow down... chiller is more towards moderate n extreme enthusiast adi.... as for co2 supply... zoe did point out that i do need it... co2 supply from my fishes aint gonna be sufficient... hence, gonna diy one as well... i might have to worry about soon-to-grow algae... gonna get a CAE or SAE i guess.... so, thats basically it for my entry level tank... haha... we'll see how it gets on... This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Oct 9 2008, 10:35 PM |
Oct 9 2008, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 9 2008, 11:04 PM) hahaha. so you did have a fan? then shud be alright la so far i've only found CAE in local fish shop... the tauke said if i scared CAE/SAE will turn aggresive when it grows big, she suggest i use a kinda shrimp which eats algae as well... she did recommend a few choice which i never heard before... mostly smaller than CAE/SAE.... yeap. DIY CO2 is a good start SAE is better. but again, they might get aggressive when they're bigger.. |
Oct 10 2008, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 9 2008, 11:57 PM) ya, mostly is CAE, but then i know where to get SAE in mlk here, as i get mine from there, tomorrow go with you and see see lo. lolz... suicidal attempt... RIP...ya, there got few shrimp which also eat algae one, like cherry or yamato, if i not mistaken. but then one thing keep in mind that shrimp very sensitive to water parameter. oh ya, about the shrimp, i got one yamato shrimp, which nezu said it is yamoto, yesterday jump out of tank suicide already. been in the tank all well doing for about 2 week plus already. haih... shrimp ahh??... good idea also... coz my tank quite alot of fish adi... today went LFS shopping again... bought 4 neons, 2 serpae and 2 silvertip.... |
Oct 10 2008, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Oct 10 2008, 12:32 AM) nvm la let them cycle their own pace... i wont be around to take care of them for the next 3 months... leaving melaka heading to penang for industrial training... so i'll jz ask my housemate to top up water and feed my fishes... datz all.... datz why i need to settle da co2 and lighting asap before chao'ing... and the soon-to-be algae problem... |
Oct 10 2008, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Oct 10 2008, 01:09 AM) yeah, shrimps are extremely sensitive to the water parameter. and if your shrimps decided to Kamikazee.. most likely ya water got prob.. haha... yeap... dont worry.... wallet is empty now... need to keep some money to fabricate a stand for extra florescent lamp and co2... expenditure approaching 100bucks already... Yamato is good at eating leftovers.. i still think Cherry is the better cleaner i think go for fish instead of shrimps for now coz ur tank is very unstable..but... your tank almost like throwing Rave Party de.. super packed! hold your horses mate |
Oct 10 2008, 01:31 AM
QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 10 2008, 01:26 AM) catacombs, tomorrow will be going look for fish and also lighting stuff lo, want to buy light reflector if can, haha... alrite.... lets go... wanna diy co2 and extra lighting... (go SKH pinjam 1 single par, water also evaporate finish in 1 day)... ehh, u come my house see see my tank give me some advice ler... i dunno ok or not... fert soil dunno sufficient or not... dunno how to see got algae or not... dunno water temp (bring along thermometer ok).... |
Oct 10 2008, 04:17 AM
QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 10 2008, 02:36 AM) haha, you go and borrow la, later not even one week, water finish, plant gone, fish die, haha... 530 only go ah??... okla okla... my house ah??... near wednesday pasar malam lor... u after exam wait me at the vegetarian stall near wed pasar malam there ok??.... guide u come my house den only see how...i finish exam on 5pm, so maybe around 5.30 only go. where is your house, i never go there before. you fetch me go or how? light i not sure where to get it, cause is hard to get 36w pll in malacca. florescent light ah??... we go jusco find see got or not... i wanna buy yeast as well to do co2... |
| Change to: | 0.0516sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:15 PM |