what is freshwater seaweed?
Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural
Sep 18 2008, 09:39 AM
4,711 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
what is freshwater seaweed?
Sep 24 2008, 09:37 AM
1,710 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: A|0r $t@r |
no idea also...
bully, why no any updates from you liao ler... what happen to your tank already? |
Sep 24 2008, 09:54 AM
busy ler bro...
crs still kicking though hahha... planted tank need rescape.. but still not start yet |
Sep 26 2008, 02:28 PM
1,710 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: A|0r $t@r |
kicking meaning?
how many still ? got breed? in which tank? when wanna rescape? i wan go kepo... |
Sep 27 2008, 03:00 AM
406 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: serdang, seri kembangan |
hello, i m newbie here....recently, i get attracted to this palnted tank when i looking for some java moss for my fish
i hav read up the first 13 pages n the recent 3 pages(38,39,40)... my eyes get blur d... some more got 2 therad... one is planted auarium.. one is the one wif 55k warning one.. but, i decide to stick wif this one first.. coz my eye already blur reading up all this.... may i know... if we keep a betta in a planted wif injection of CO2, the fish won't die mer? i tot fish nid oxygen not carbon dioxide ya.. if i dun put any light and any CO2 for the java moss, will they survive? java moss is kind of slow grower, isn't it? i found that, it dun actually glow, when i juz dump them inside the tank... the fertilizer for the plat will ruin the fish or not? erm.. ya... any sifu here got some java moss to let go.. pls let me know too.. quote me cheap abit.. i juz wan to put them for my fish... sry, i know i shud ask in garage sale instead. but, since i hav question here, so tumpang kejap lo.... |
Oct 1 2008, 02:51 PM
1,170 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: all over malaysia |
hi there, got some question.
how long normally u all on the light for your tank? how many hours, my tank is 2ft tank. and how to clean off the algae, i suppose, is looks like black hair like that, cover the plant and also some of the stones... i ask foo about it already, she advice me get SAE, luckily i did get it in malacca here, lucky for me, i get 2 SAE and 2 CAE for my tank. my spiky moss, there got the black hair look thing on all the spiky moss i have 3 of my SAE my albino CAE and coryfish shrimp that i get for my tank, wanna test out... This post has been edited by zoejehuty: Oct 1 2008, 02:51 PM |
Oct 1 2008, 06:53 PM
most of the sifu here hilang d.. if u are interested in planted tank.. i recommend u to go to my-mac.net
Oct 2 2008, 04:27 PM
ya lo, most of sifu dunno gone where already, all get busy, haha...
Oct 2 2008, 05:45 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Planet Earth |
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 24 2008, 10:54 AM) care to donate me some crs ? QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Sep 27 2008, 04:00 AM) may i know... if we keep a betta in a planted wif injection of CO2, the fish won't die mer? i tot fish nid oxygen not carbon dioxide i oso dunno . both thread i read . ya.. if i dun put any light and any CO2 for the java moss, will they survive? java moss is kind of slow grower, isn't it? i found that, it dun actually glow, when i juz dump them inside the tank... the fertilizer for the plat will ruin the fish or not? erm.. ya... any sifu here got some java moss to let go.. pls let me know too.. quote me cheap abit.. i juz wan to put them for my fish... sry, i know i shud ask in garage sale instead. but, since i hav question here, so tumpang kejap lo.... the co2 is not for the fish .. its for the plant .. and i also use air pump when the co2 is not 'on'. java moss kinda easy to keep and dont required much lighting. u can try use those cheap normal lights. haha .. u must have some gravel or tied it to a driftwood or something for it to start rooting .. i dont like keeping moss.. QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 1 2008, 03:51 PM) hi there, got some question. depends on what plants u are using.. everytime i have algae attack , i rescape .. haha ... about the SAE .. watch out .. SAE eats moss ...how long normally u all on the light for your tank? how many hours, my tank is 2ft tank. and how to clean off the algae, i suppose, is looks like black hair like that, cover the plant and also some of the stones... i ask foo about it already, she advice me get SAE, luckily i did get it in malacca here, lucky for me, i get 2 SAE and 2 CAE for my tank. my spiky moss, there got the black hair look thing on all the spiky moss i have 3 of my SAE my albino CAE and coryfish shrimp that i get for my tank, wanna test out... QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Oct 1 2008, 07:53 PM) most of the sifu here hilang d.. if u are interested in planted tank.. i recommend u to go to my-mac.net yup better go there .. but there kinda slow .. especially for noobs .. they dont layan much noobs .. haha they dont layan me also .. |
Oct 2 2008, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Sep 27 2008, 03:00 AM) hello, i m newbie here....recently, i get attracted to this palnted tank when i looking for some java moss for my fish hi, welcome to the planted tank.i hav read up the first 13 pages n the recent 3 pages(38,39,40)... my eyes get blur d... some more got 2 therad... one is planted auarium.. one is the one wif 55k warning one.. but, i decide to stick wif this one first.. coz my eye already blur reading up all this.... may i know... if we keep a betta in a planted wif injection of CO2, the fish won't die mer? i tot fish nid oxygen not carbon dioxide ya.. if i dun put any light and any CO2 for the java moss, will they survive? java moss is kind of slow grower, isn't it? i found that, it dun actually glow, when i juz dump them inside the tank... the fertilizer for the plat will ruin the fish or not? erm.. ya... any sifu here got some java moss to let go.. pls let me know too.. quote me cheap abit.. i juz wan to put them for my fish... sry, i know i shud ask in garage sale instead. but, since i hav question here, so tumpang kejap lo.... co2 is for the plants, plants will release oxygen for ur fish. of cos the co2, lights, plants, n fert hv to be in balance... too much of anything also wouldn't be good java moss and java fern with out proper planted tank light is ok. but they still need light or sunshine from ur window. no co2 inject is ok i got some spicky though... free.. but how to pass to u? but just abit cos i pull them from my crs tank.. not much there |
Oct 3 2008, 10:25 PM
sifu nezu.... i hav pm u.. kindly check ur inbox... or else u can let me know where is ur location... may b we can meet somewhere
Added on October 3, 2008, 10:27 pmor u can leave it at petshack... i can go to collect fr them..hehehe This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Oct 3 2008, 10:27 PM |
Oct 3 2008, 10:54 PM
huh u also go pet shack one ah?
ok will let u know then me still learning don't call me sifu |
Oct 4 2008, 12:12 AM
part of the sifu lo... haha... now wan to redo the whole tank of my... haih...
Oct 4 2008, 12:48 AM
348 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Puchong/Subang |
QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Sep 27 2008, 03:00 AM) hello, i m newbie here....recently, i get attracted to this palnted tank when i looking for some java moss for my fish hi thre,i hav read up the first 13 pages n the recent 3 pages(38,39,40)... my eyes get blur d... some more got 2 therad... one is planted auarium.. one is the one wif 55k warning one.. but, i decide to stick wif this one first.. coz my eye already blur reading up all this.... may i know... if we keep a betta in a planted wif injection of CO2, the fish won't die mer? i tot fish nid oxygen not carbon dioxide ya.. if i dun put any light and any CO2 for the java moss, will they survive? java moss is kind of slow grower, isn't it? i found that, it dun actually glow, when i juz dump them inside the tank... the fertilizer for the plat will ruin the fish or not? erm.. ya... any sifu here got some java moss to let go.. pls let me know too.. quote me cheap abit.. i juz wan to put them for my fish... sry, i know i shud ask in garage sale instead. but, since i hav question here, so tumpang kejap lo.... Betta,nope. Co2 is for the plant. but Betta is surface breather, so it shouldnt be any prob for it. For Java Moss, they're considered hardy plants, but they will die too, and worse is, not dying, but bcoming algae breeder. AHhahaa.. how to grow Java Moss: 1. they love cold water. arnd 27 or below will be great.. and they grow better at this condition 2. they will survive withou lighting, but grow very slow.. if you plan to have co2 for the tank, plz have some lighting as well, they will grow really really fast!!! try tying them to wood.. looks better... 3. most fert wont kill the fish, unless you put garden fert la. ehehhee.. Java Moss no need put fert la, but if you wan, make sure is liquid fert, and make sure you got sufficient of lighting and co2.. if not, i would avoid it.. save money, save trouble.. put it this way, what everyou put in the water, someone will have to use it up. so if you're Moss is not in healthy condition, say lack of co2 or light for photosintesis to take place, your fert will only feed to the algae, coz wateva tat is left behind from the plants, the algae will take it.. 4. if i was informed earlier, i would have give you all you wan, i got alot xmas moss, my gf told me she trimmed out approx. 1kg of moss. HAhahaah.. maybe next week will have, but im not in Msia, so if you're interested, might need to do some arrangement..(no cost charged) if you're really into planting, do go my-mac.. plenty of nice guys there.. and for Betta, i can intro you to 1 of my fren.. Betta Breeder. hehehe.. Added on October 4, 2008, 1:01 amColdfusion, they dont layan you? too many ppl post liao is it? or you post at wrong section? you shud be posting at Aquascaper there la.. not newbie..hehehehe... Joe, SAE and CAE no need get that many 1.. you will have trouble with them later.. as Coldfusion mentioned earlier, watch out you SAE, they will eat ya moss, and fishfood, and sometimes attack ya shrimp too.. the trick to get SAE is get the smallest possible.. once get grow big, they get lazy and bossy!! hehehee.. try look out at MAC wats causin your algae growth..you got lghting? and co2? if you dont have them, high possibility you will have algae prob.. oh. 1 more tip, try aeration during night.. helps ya fish and plant grow better This post has been edited by Pumpkin_G: Oct 4 2008, 01:38 AM |
Oct 4 2008, 01:26 AM
649 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Friends of the Earth |
Wah lao eh.... ehehehhe long time didn't come in and kacau-kacau dy.
Shout out to Nezu, Pumpkin, CFP & pinchboyz!!! I agree with sifu Pumpkin G (btw the guys I named above shouldn't be categorized as noob anymore la. They've been doing this planted tank more than 2 years dy!!!) ... ehehhe. Now I'm just taking things slow, hardly take care of my 2 foot dwarf hair grass Cherry shrimp tank anymore |
Oct 4 2008, 01:36 AM
HAhahhHaa.. shout out betul!! is good to meet you guys again over here. ahahha.really very long din drop in to kacau kacau dee. hahahaa..
time flies.. Geediver: Mana ada Sifu? im pro in algae breeder la. ROFL. you la genuine pro. i still remember asking you how to grow moss lo.. always melt away. then keep experimenting wif DIY Co2. Lolx.. come come, cant wait to see ya tank again |
Oct 5 2008, 03:54 AM
waoh is good to c all the sifu back to the thread.. so, u can continue..
@pimpkin_G thx for the well explaination.. FYI, i already register a acc at mymac, juz not started to post anything.. still hav a lot to read b4 i start posting here... wah.. u throw away those xmax moss ya.. wasted... so, when u back to malaysia and u r free.. juz pm me lo.. i can go to ur place... n do show me more tips that time..hahaha.. bout ur frenz.. i means the betta breeder.. can introduce to me as well.. coz i do breed betta myself.. may b i can do some outcross wif him.. @nezu ya.. i do go b4, coz i m one of the SG owner as well.. but, now dun hang out at the SG thread liao.. that place hav too many "bom".. dundare to talk too much... sikit salah.. u will b flame for the whole day.. **scared** |
Oct 5 2008, 05:20 PM
Spirit:
HAhahaa. well, no where to go, have to go into bin lo.. sure thing, i'll be back by Dec. Love this hobby, always get to learn and meet new peeps Moss are actually not hard to grow once you got it right.. IMO, low temp and aeration help alot oh, so u're a breeder too? perhaps you know each other? Alfred.. tips??? on how to cultivate Algae? |
Oct 5 2008, 09:29 PM
haha.. alfred liow aka presario316?
juz wait for ur pm lo..hehe |
Oct 5 2008, 09:40 PM