casual bike talk..

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 23 2022, 11:27 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 22 2022, 01:53 PM)
At the very least, boots and gloves. I consider gloves the most important after your helmet.
Get at least one with a hard palm slider.

I once mildly fractured my wrist after a very mild low speed tumble after my MTB hit a rut. Took me nearly 3 months to "get back to normal". You can imagine a motorcycle crash will be more serious.
don't forget your knees and elbows as well.
these two after high impact points in crashes or fall.

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 23 2022, 11:32 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 22 2022, 02:08 PM)
yes, ouch. Left hand summore, and I drive a manual. 5km/h , hit rut, bike endo me, hand to catch fall...koyak. If that is on a bicycle at 5km'h, imagine what happens at 50kmh... and yes, I was wearing padded MTB gloves.
sadly many riders do see the effect from just a simple fall.
they will proudly say it's just a skin injury. Even a road rash will give you hell, especially when you mandi.

Just last week an employee (rider also) saw me parking my bike in the office car park.
Seeing me wearing full face, riding jacket, gloves, knee shin guard, etc. He asked me this stupid question - isn't it hot wearing like this? I just smiled and told him i rather sweat a bit than to bleed or get injuries or even getting broken bones.

And yes, MTB riding over roots and lose the front. I know the feeling.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 23 2022, 11:36 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 22 2022, 06:07 PM)
Depends on what type of cycling. MTB will be off road, plenty of tumbles but lower speed. Still may end up with broken bones and lacerations. More serious injuries are rare...there are some of us that do wear protective gear.

Road cycling you need to worry about traffic
But then again, most motorcyclist don't wear any protective gear beyond a helmet and go 100kmh with no sense of self preservation filtering between traffic......no surprises why road fatalities are very high, especially for kapchai riders. Mentality is an issue here, no amount of protective gear will save you from a whack into a tree or a truck at 100...but every  little bit helps for less serious smacks.

I'm in full gear daily, and so many people ask me, not hot meh? Of course I'm hot....but I also like to keep a bit more skin and bones in case some idiot don't see me and cuts me off.
I'm ATGATT when i ride.

Even when I MTB. I wear full gears. AM helmet, gloves, backpack that comes with backspine protector, elbow guard, knee guards.

but in malaysia, the safety mentality is still not there as compared to mat sallehs.

some see me MTB wearing like this, they will ask if I'm going for racing.
no need to say when they see me AGATT when i ride my motorbike, same question will pop out.

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 23 2022, 10:46 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 23 2022, 12:33 PM)
yeah, pinky brace or pinky link

I actually DIY sewn my gloves to get this pinky link feature

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 25 2022, 12:10 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Jegane @ Sep 25 2022, 11:10 AM)
Those are fake alpinestars btw, but got any armor is still better than no armor, imitation or not.
Most fake ones comes with foam "amour". Lol

Foam "amour" is just like no amour at all. Serve no purpose .
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 25 2022, 12:11 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 24 2022, 01:23 PM)
After listening to the advise here, I decided to go to one of Penang biggest motor shop and have a look. the staff recommended me alpinestar jacket and glove

How much is this alpinestar ?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 26 2022, 08:52 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 26 2022, 08:31 AM)

oh shit, din know got fake 1... bangwall.gif
RM180

Rm180 = fake.
Real and branded ones , the most basic models is around rm600++.

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 26 2022, 09:30 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 26 2022, 08:55 AM)
i see, guess i will need go find proper armor padding to replace it  sad.gif

are there any shop which i can get good padding?
What type are the existing amour ?

Soft foam type ? Easy to fold?

Or hard foam / padding?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 26 2022, 10:33 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 26 2022, 09:32 AM)
i will go back and check tonight, i din open it up to have a look yet
If it is the harder padding then it is still ok
Not too bad.

Better than wearing nothing at all.

It's a good start to ATGATT.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 26 2022, 10:35 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 26 2022, 10:10 AM)
thanks for the info.
yes i just checked the DC biker shop, the ori alpinestars protection paddings cost around 500+ for elbow, shoulder, and back.
most probably will go visit the shop this weekends and just get the ori paddings to replace the one inside my fake jacket
really did not expect taycon to sell fake stuff considering their huge reputation here in penang
Bring your jacket along and test.
Scared that the amour compartment of your jacket couldn't fit in certain amour ( size and shape)

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 27 2022, 02:09 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 26 2022, 07:09 PM)

I just took out the paddings from my fake jacket and wow they are literally just normal foam. Really won't provide any protection
The free "Taichi" jacket that the shop gave also had this soft foam
I removed all the foam and use the jacket like a normal jacket. Not for riding.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 28 2022, 11:45 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 28 2022, 09:17 AM)
Plan to cut some packaging PE foam for back padding.

What's the purpose of using this as a back padding ?
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 4 2022, 04:39 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 4 2022, 02:59 PM)
guys, this might be a stupid question, but how do you normally fill up petrol on your bike?
say you use credit card, card approved, then do you sit on the bike (to let it be upright) or do you just leave it on the side stand and pump manually?

I said pump manually as in hold the pump yourself and not use the auto hold function? idk what's it called.
Cuz I've been driving for 10 years, and usually would just leave the pump handle with the auto hold thing clicked in, wait till it clicks out and stop on its own.

So for a bike, does that auto hold works?
Just asking cuz gonna go for my first refuel soon.. dont want any accident to happen.
Number one rule when filling up your bikes tank - never stay mounted on your bike. Dangerous.

I put the nozzle into the tank, auto. Full until it stops when full.
And I'll insert the nozzle on the non-stand side, right side. So that the pump stops when it's full, when the bike is straighten up..... The fuel level will be about right.

SUSskyblu3
post Oct 4 2022, 05:23 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 4 2022, 05:11 PM)
thanks for your input.. basically filling it till the bream as much as you can fill..
No
Not until to the bream

The most is until to the max level.
Read the manual . Hahahaha

This post has been edited by skyblu3: Oct 4 2022, 05:23 PM
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 17 2022, 10:05 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 17 2022, 07:15 PM)
Does everyone use bike with ABS here for highway usage?
If you aren't, what safety measure do you use?
Also is there a braking technique that is effective like ABS (for bikes that dont have ABS)?
Trust me

Abs is a must have.

Other than abs. Learn to brake effectively during hard brakings
Just like dandanfireman always say.... Don't just grab the brake lever during emergency brake. Learn to squeeze squeeze squeeze squeeze .

It takes practice and need to learn to be calm during emergency moments ( red stage )

Most important is to always have good riding habits.
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 18 2022, 01:48 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 18 2022, 01:12 PM)
Why do you want ABS for highway?
Do you know the function of the ABS ?
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 19 2022, 11:07 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 19 2022, 11:01 AM)
I think I know a bit a bit. Just asking fellow bikers why they want it specifically on highway.
To put it simply
Accidents or close calls or emergency braking can happen anywhere.
Even in front of your house/ Taman.

SUSskyblu3
post Oct 25 2022, 09:31 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 25 2022, 09:08 AM)
so guys, back on the refueling topic for awhile
went to pump gas on saturday, I can't really see how much have I pumped into the tank, once the nozzle is in, there's barely any gap left to see the fuel level.
how do you guys gauge? just from experience to know how much you've pumped?
What bike you riding?

On my bike , when I pump full, can see the petrol level on the top plate in the tank.

By the way. I put auto stop.

This post has been edited by skyblu3: Oct 25 2022, 09:32 AM
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 25 2022, 09:34 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 25 2022, 09:08 AM)
also, 1 thing is when I tilt the nozzle downwards (before putting into the tank) it squirted some leftovers out and onto my bike  ranting.gif

If you know that there will be left over fuel in the nozzle and will drip onto you bike just before putting into the tank with the nozzle is facing downwards, why not you only face the nozzle downwards when the nozzle tip is above the fuel tank opening?

Lol

This post has been edited by skyblu3: Oct 25 2022, 09:55 AM
SUSskyblu3
post Nov 3 2022, 02:05 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 2 2022, 11:47 PM)

Yeah the Street Triple is a love it or hate it thing. In photos I feel it’s quite unique, in person I can’t get over the bug eyes.
same. the bug eyes...especially from this side view.
Look at the headlamp. funny and weird.

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:49 AM