goldfries
post Apr 22 2017, 09:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 22 2017, 09:10 PM)
If oced to same core speed under same vcore, more the core, will consume more power. Its right that i should write properly, because will misleading @@
Yes, when we talk - we always talk stock.

If you want to add other information, better be detailed if not it's misleading.
SUSLumiaaa
post Apr 22 2017, 11:11 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 22 2017, 08:54 PM)
Vega is at least GTX 1080 level. Won't replace RX 570 and 580.
Ok

Me beggars won't be choosy

If i have to up my budget then I'll go up to 5k
TristanX
post Apr 23 2017, 12:36 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Apr 22 2017, 11:11 PM)
Ok

Me beggars won't be choosy

If i have to up my budget then I'll go up to 5k
Add SSD to my build and u are golden. Go for Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W at RM429 too.
demetry
post Apr 23 2017, 09:56 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 22 2017, 05:59 PM)
Then a B350 will fit u in ur way.  In same range of price, why not getting best electric component a mobo has.
Gigabyte has best vrm quality overall among those brand, more stability and better component, as i know onboard audio of gigabyte is better in this range.
Anyway, u may consider other mobo that fit u for feature or maybe outlook color theme or aftersales service?
i m looking for best value/feature for am4 mobo. can you recommend gigabyte mobo that is suitable? alot of am4 gigabyte out there.

tristanx - would you mind to comment why MSI B350M Mortar - 480 is your selected choice? tq

This post has been edited by demetry: Apr 23 2017, 09:57 PM
eDwanD
post Apr 23 2017, 10:01 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 23 2017, 09:56 PM)
i m looking for best value/feature for am4 mobo. can you recommend gigabyte mobo that is suitable? alot of am4 gigabyte out there.

tristanx - would you mind to comment why MSI B350M Mortar - 480 is your selected choice? tq
Current model of gigabyte B350 range, got similar eletric component, different of price just different of feature, choose the one that features fit you.

But not recommend get over RM600 for B350, cause u just can top up to RM700ish for better Asrock X370.

The important of vrm just for if u want to oc and like to get more stability and lower temp, still there r theory that a electric part which use better quality component will result better lifespan.

This post has been edited by eDwanD: Apr 23 2017, 10:04 PM
demetry
post Apr 23 2017, 10:19 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 22 2017, 05:19 PM)
any B350 mobo                RM 450.00

(Quality of mobo, Gigabyte (4+3 with onsemi) > Asus (4+2 with onsemi) > Biostar (4+3 with sinosem) > MSI (4+2 with nicosem) > ASROCK (3+3 with nicosem, commonly better VRM give u better temp and stability when OC under high volt, still not recommended for OC 24/7 under 1.4v with ryzen 7 + B350 mobo, commonly give u about 100'c on vrm, got possibility toast ur mobo after long time run.)

mind to explain this onsemi,u prefer gigabyte mobo?
eDwanD
post Apr 23 2017, 10:29 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 23 2017, 10:19 PM)
mind to explain this onsemi,u prefer gigabyte mobo?
This is the company name which production the mosfet which used on motherboard, commonly the mosfet cost more expensive, the better brand and quality it should be.

At higher end mobo as biostar gt7, asus crosshair, asrock taichi, commonly they use infineon or texus instrument mosfet. An the power phase controller will using better one.

Lower tier of X370 mobo, use onsemi which us company, sinosem or nikosem which taiwan company, but they use more component and result you got more power phase for oc.

And at lower end of B350 range, commonly using nikosem or sinosem, the better one will using onsemi.

This post has been edited by eDwanD: Apr 24 2017, 01:20 PM
Ebony & Ivory
post Apr 24 2017, 07:28 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 23 2017, 10:29 PM)
This is the company name which production the mosfet which used on motherboard, commonly the mosfet cost more expensive, the better brand and quality it should be.

At higher end mobo as biostar gt7, asus crosshair, asrock taichi, commonly they use infineon or texus instrument mosfet. An the power phase controller will using better one.

Lower tier of X370 mobo, use onsemi which us company, sinosem which china company or nikosem which taiwan company, but they use more component and result you got more power phase for oc.

And at lower end of B350 range, commonly using nikosem or sinosem, the better one will using onsemi.
Sinopower is from taiwan.
demetry
post Apr 24 2017, 11:47 AM

302 posts

Lower tier of X370 mobo, use onsemi which us company, sinosem which china company or nikosem which taiwan company, but they use more component and result you got more power phase for oc.

i noticed msi board has displayport, i tot only GPU will provide displayport connection to your monitor?
Acid_RuleZz
post Apr 24 2017, 12:47 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 24 2017, 11:47 AM)
i noticed msi board has displayport, i tot only GPU will provide displayport connection to your monitor?
AM4 chipset support AMD upcoming APUs as well, those APUs have built in graphic chip so you can output display without graphic card.
demetry
post Apr 24 2017, 12:57 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Apr 24 2017, 12:47 PM)
AM4 chipset support AMD upcoming APUs as well, those APUs have built in graphic chip so you can output display without graphic card.
do you mean current b350 mobo has apu already? if not we can add apu to it
k!nex
post Apr 24 2017, 01:09 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 24 2017, 12:57 PM)
Coming soon. APU haven't come to market yet. The current B350 can support APU but most likely need a BIOS update to include new CPU microcode support. That's all. AM4 is AMD's 1 socket for all consumer desktop CPU. Not like last time got AM3 and FM2.
Acid_RuleZz
post Apr 24 2017, 01:18 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 24 2017, 12:57 PM)
The only APU "available" for AM4 mainboard right now is the Bristol Bridge APUs which base on older pre-Zen architecture. It perform just slightly faster than older APU so not recommended to get those.. i don't think you can find one on the shelf anyway.
eDwanD
post Apr 24 2017, 01:20 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Apr 24 2017, 07:28 AM)
Sinopower is from taiwan.
Oops, my bad @@ mistaken =w=

demetry
post May 5 2017, 10:30 PM

302 posts

DDR 4 8gbx2                    RM  650.00

(There's are cheaper 2133mhz DDR4 as low as RM140/8gb stick, but u need check is it in QVL of mobo u choose to better run will with ur mobo. RM650 is 3000/3200mhz 8dbx2 kit that commonlay well run in any am4 mobo)
where can u get 2133mhz DDR4 as low as RM140/8gb stick?
eDwanD
post May 6 2017, 06:24 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ May 5 2017, 10:30 PM)
I think i saw wrongly, its old price list

This post has been edited by eDwanD: May 6 2017, 06:24 AM
llk
post May 6 2017, 07:49 AM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ May 5 2017, 10:30 PM)
RAM price has increased drastically i think the chance is low
hairy_porker
post May 10 2017, 02:42 PM

23 posts

Nice community of enthusiasts here smile.gif

Recently, I also want to make a rig with similar budget to replace my very old laptop... RM conversion to USD are too much for me to buy another decent laptop XD

Hence, I have to do my research for making rig, last time was more than 15years... hahaha... hiks... I'm getting old...

Regarding to this comment...

Lower tier of X370 mobo, use onsemi which us company, sinosem or nikosem which taiwan company, but they use more component and result you got more power phase for oc.

^most of the statements are solid. However, for b350 series of Gigabyte aren't that tolerant to heat unfortunately: https://youtu.be/ZGrxhf_xZWI?t=14m10s
Just get only if you get a good price and make sure get the one with heatsink unless only 4 cores processor used. if only based on VRM, I'll take MSI boards with 4+2 designs any day.

Concerning TS questions for mother boards: the sweet spot would be Asrock b350 pro4 priced around 4XXRM although it is only 3+2 VRM but it has all the necessary things like 2 x m.2 slot! specifically if your work requires a lot of disk space, you can just pop in NVME drive in the future once it is cheaper / you have the budget. Unless you plan to overlock 3+2 VRM would be just fine.

Additionally, waiting for another couple of months would be better options if possible. Until the support of the new architecture is stabilised. There are always "bugs" for new tech... specifically ryzen has significant changes compared to previous generation... I know shops will hate me by sharing this fact tongue.gif

Additionally, in order to put more oil to the discussion, memory quality (speed and latency) is important when you build Ryzen based rig for overall performance (either for gaming or productivity) due to it's Infinity Fabric architecture, and yet the BIOS for Ryzen is not yet optimal at this moment. The current high performance memory are settings are for Intel. This doesn't mean you can get high performance in Ryzen, "just" requires some manual settings to get it the performance otherwise it will be clocked at lower speed or higher latency. And only some mobos allowed to change this settings at the moment; mostly high end as far as I know: X370 based XD

Nevertheless, thanks for AMD for releasing Ryzen as it makes PC building more sophisticated and fun again!

rclxms.gif
goldfries
post May 10 2017, 03:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

But I've been using Ryzen setup for more than 2 months now leh, very stable. What else people want? smile.gif
imbibug
post May 10 2017, 08:23 PM

1,699 posts

(Quality of mobo, Gigabyte (4+3 with onsemi) > Asus (4+2 with onsemi) > Biostar (4+3 with sinosem) > MSI (4+2 with nicosem) > ASROCK (3+3 with nicosem, commonly better VRM give u better temp and stability when OC under high volt, still not recommended for OC 24/7 under 1.4v with ryzen 7 + B350 mobo, commonly give u about 100'c on vrm, got possibility toast ur mobo after long time run.)
I'm quite sure the Asus VRM uses better mosfets that are more efficient than Gigabyte which is using mediocre/low end mosfets, similar in quality with MSI in their B350 mb's. Asrock may only have 3 power phases for the cpu but it doubled up all the components so the VRM will probably run alot cooler which is important since heat seems to be an issue for 6/8 core builds.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0214sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:56 PM