65 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Investment RYAN & MIHO @ SECTION 13 PJ [OWNERS' THREAD], When A Boy Fell In Love With A Girl

stevenkkh
post Apr 19 2018, 10:57 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Apr 19 2018, 10:43 AM)
empatTan leasehold investor sifu
Oic, anyway, all the question will come to is this leasehold property that you cannot use for long term staying like max 10 years but rather throw once gain price which is the fastest as possible.

The only thing attracted me is the location and price as anything within this neighborhood and freehold will be over affordability to me. Tropicana Gardens is the worst, leasehold and the price is way too killing for a million over for 900 sqft.

For landed, you need to go far up till Rawang, where 650K - 700K above to get one double storey freehold landed.

Sounds to me which is working around BU, the question is like do I want to enjoy for now buying property nearer to me even leasehold due to affordability, live life to fullest or I want to suffer all this long travelling till Sg Buloh, Rawang to get a freehold landed for the sake of a stable investment and good return in the future.

This post has been edited by stevenkkh: Apr 19 2018, 10:58 AM
stevenkkh
post Apr 19 2018, 11:06 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Apr 19 2018, 10:54 AM)
If you're thinking of saving the property for your cucu cicit then only landed should apply for LH/FH. For condo it does not apply. Have you seen a 99 year old condo? Also, even FH you don't own the land in condo.

Perception wise, yes FH condo is more valuable. Practical wise, no difference.
This is not only about leaving to the next generation but on the money you invested especially on your retirement period and more more question to think when it is about money return as so far most of us said maybe after 20-30 years, the condo is not valuable anymore or even the time the value will be depreciating. By the way, I know what is leasehold definition and everyone here know what happen when you fail to renew. Maybe we should just leave out all this discussion on the condo is not liveable in 50-90 years time, near impossible to renew and not sample cases as this is all just no answer to this question yet. By the way, sorry for bombarded this property forum with this discussion as I am really concern on the returns of my investment although I like the location very much.

So far, I have only seen an example of like 30 years condo posted by one of us here which is freehold and on sale for the land only.

What do you mean by FH condo is more valuable? Valuable than RM condo? RM condo is definitely more pricier than FH and this is PJ, sorry Kepong folks, I believe PJ area seems to be more pricier than Kepong area.

This post has been edited by stevenkkh: Apr 19 2018, 11:22 AM
ameliorate
post Apr 19 2018, 11:21 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(stevenkkh @ Apr 19 2018, 11:06 AM)
This is not only about leaving to the next generation but on the money you invested especially on your retirement period and more more question to think when it is about money return.

What do you mean by FH condo is more valuable? Valuable than RM condo? RM condo is definitely more pricier than FH and this is PJ, sorry Kepong folks, I believe PJ area seems to be more pricier than Kepong area.
You buying to stay or invest? You just over analyse. Condo's don't last more than 60 years. Would you even want to stay in a 100 year old condo? Even if you have problem selling/renew after 99 years, so what. You have already get your money's worth.

"Perception" is what make FH condo more valuable. It does not make a difference to me if it's LH or FH (for condo). Landed is different.
jeansandcorduroy
post Apr 19 2018, 11:28 AM

165 posts

I have to say reading this thread getting hijacked by a discussion on whether apartments on leasehold can be renewed at profit is quite annoying.

Ryan & Miho is one of the areas I am eyeing and I check Lowyat to find out anything about the property that you won't find by just asking agents. For example, I wouldn't have learned that there are so many apartments being built on Jln Universiti at the same time if not for Lowyat.

Can we just agree that at this moment, leasehold renewal of apartments is all theory because no apartment has reached that point in Malaysia.
aaron1717
post Apr 19 2018, 11:29 AM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

QUOTE(stevenkkh @ Apr 19 2018, 10:57 AM)
Oic, anyway, all the question will come to is this leasehold property that you cannot use for long term staying like max 10 years but rather throw once gain price which is the fastest as possible.

The only thing attracted me is the location and price as anything within this neighborhood and freehold will be over affordability to me. Tropicana Gardens is the worst, leasehold and the price is way too killing for a million over for 900 sqft.

For landed, you need to go far up till Rawang, where 650K - 700K above to get one double storey freehold landed.

Sounds to me which is working around BU, the question is like do I want to enjoy for now buying property nearer to me even leasehold due to affordability, live life to fullest or I want to suffer all this long travelling till Sg Buloh, Rawang to get a freehold landed for the sake of a stable investment and good return in the future.
elmina, denai alam u can get new freehold landed around that price... not exactly very far from subang PJ though with their direct access to guthrie...

but then for own stay... what means to you currently is the most important... lh and fh may not be that important to them as its something far away into the future especially condos... alot of ppl will upgrade from their initial condo.... and also alot of lh projects actually still selling out as long as the location is right with pricing that suit the lh tag....
stevenkkh
post Apr 19 2018, 11:35 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Apr 19 2018, 11:21 AM)
You buying to stay or invest? You just over analyse. Condo's don't last more than 60 years. Would you even want to stay in a 100 year old condo? Even if you have problem selling/renew after 99 years, so what. You have already get your money's worth.

"Perception" is what make FH condo more valuable. It does not make a difference to me if it's LH or FH (for condo). Landed is different.
Ownstaying.

Over analyze? It is better to be over analyze and understand what you are buying with the issue you will be encountering in later stage than buy now and worry later. It is not about whether you can last 99 years only but more like after 15-20 years, you might plan to sell or even mortgage the unit, at that time, all this question will be throwing back to you. So far, I feel all sounded like leasehold is buy and stay forever there, it is not investment and selling is way no no after 20 years I said.

By the way, the people buying also will think the same thing. Assuming buying leasehold as renting a condo for 99 years where the condo actually can only use for 50-60 years? This is a crazy idea to me as if you think in such way when you buying a leasehold property, better rent as much more cheaper than this and why even bother to buy in the first place if you really think in such concept.

If use this renting concept for leasehold property, worst when you said most probably can use for 60 years. This means by 20 years for this unit, the property price of this unit like for now is RM600k example, in 2040, it should be lower than this.

This post has been edited by stevenkkh: Apr 19 2018, 11:39 AM
stevenkkh
post Apr 19 2018, 11:51 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(jeansandcorduroy @ Apr 19 2018, 11:28 AM)
I have to say reading this thread getting hijacked by a discussion on whether apartments on leasehold can be renewed at profit is quite annoying. 

Ryan &  Miho is one of the areas I am eyeing and I check Lowyat to find out anything about the property that you won't find by just asking agents.  For example, I wouldn't have learned that there are so many apartments being built on Jln Universiti at the same time if not for Lowyat. 

Can we just agree that at this moment,  leasehold renewal of apartments is all theory because no apartment has reached that point in Malaysia.
Yes, sorry, I will just stop here as I have my understanding on the leasehold issue for this property already and by the way,my question is more towards knowing the growth of this property let said for after 20 years time as all this renewal question will be on the card especially on this neighborhood which is mostly on leasehold.

This post has been edited by stevenkkh: Apr 19 2018, 11:54 AM
ameliorate
post Apr 19 2018, 11:55 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(stevenkkh @ Apr 19 2018, 11:35 AM)
Ownstaying.

Over analyze? It is better to be over analyze and understand what you are buying with the issue you will be encountering in later stage than buy now and worry later. It is not about whether you can last 99 years only but more like after 15-20 years, you might plan to sell or even mortgage the unit, at that time, all this question will be throwing back to you. So far, I feel all sounded like leasehold is buy and stay forever there, it is not investment and selling is way no no after 20 years I said.

By the way, the people buying also will think the same thing.  Assuming buying leasehold as renting a condo for 99 years where the condo actually can only use for 50-60 years? This is a crazy idea to me as if you think in such way when you buying a leasehold property, better rent as much more cheaper than this and why even bother to buy in the first place if you really think in such concept.

If use this renting concept for leasehold property, worst when you said most probably can use for 60 years. This means by 20 years for this unit, the property price of this unit like for now is RM600k example, in 2040, it should be lower than this.
Then don't buy this condo. You worry this, worry that. You have this concept that buying property must appreciate over time. So many doubts just look for another property, it's a buyer market out there. If like you said after 20 years, you can only resell for 400k, so what? You have stayed there for 20 years. If you rent, you get nothing back.
A.B.D.
post Apr 19 2018, 11:55 AM

2,365 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Apr 19 2018, 11:21 AM)

as our country gets older, more cases like below will appear, and the well located buildings will be targeted because there is bigger earning potential for the developer. current technology allows for 50-60 storeys residential now or even higher. a developer can make A LOT OF MONEY by buying over old, well located 20 storey condo. in the below case the building is still in very good condition because of quality residents. still developers are offering to buy over to redevelop. in the scenario of a building becoming dilapidated, if the location is good, naturally developers will offer the landowners, simply because people need to make money. this applies to well located lh condo also, but i don't know enough to say whether lh status is a deterrent to developers and whether decades old lh will fetch a much lower land price than fh in the same location.

https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-ne...se-sale-delayed

The 19-storey Desa Kudalari was developed by Tan & Tan Developments Bhd on 7.35 acres of freehold land, featuring 186 units.

CBRE-WTW deputy managing director Danny Yeo noted that the last transacted price in the project stood at RM1,250 psf in a sale done in 2015. The firm noted that prices in nearby projects stood at RM3,573 psf.

Based on CBRE-WTW’s calculations, the RM1,250 psf transacted price works out to a land price of RM960 psf. This is a far cry from what unit owners could receive from the en masse sale, based on the indicative value of RM2,000 to RM3,500 psf.

30+yrs old condo sold for 1.25k psf in 2015. i wonder how much a 30+ yrs lh condo here can sell?

and if owners finally choose a bidder and sell off as land, the profit is much higher than selling as condo unit.

let's say somehow you inherited a freehold KL pre war 99 years old strata residential building, it is in crap condition and low quality tenants. Are you telling me no difference to you if the land status was LH and your lease is ending in 6 months, can sell to who and for how much?

this could be your cucu cicit, even buying in pj who knows could be status of kl in 99 years. maybe pj better than kl city by then?

This post has been edited by A.B.D.: Apr 19 2018, 12:01 PM
A.B.D.
post Apr 19 2018, 11:57 AM

2,365 posts

QUOTE(jeansandcorduroy @ Apr 19 2018, 11:28 AM)

Ryan &  Miho is one of the areas I am eyeing and I check Lowyat to find out anything about the property that you won't find by just asking agents.  For example, I wouldn't have learned that there are so many apartments being built on Jln Universiti at the same time if not for Lowyat. 

Can we just agree that at this moment,  leasehold renewal of apartments is all theory because no apartment has reached that point in Malaysia.
oops sorry X1000 for hijack blush.gif
ameliorate
post Apr 19 2018, 12:08 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(A.B.D. @ Apr 19 2018, 11:55 AM)
as our country gets older, more cases like below will appear, and the well located buildings will be targeted because there is bigger earning potential for the developer. current technology allows for 50-60 storeys residential now or even higher. a developer can make A LOT OF MONEY can make by buying over old, well located 20 storey condo. in the below case the building is still in very good condition because of quality residents. still developers are offering to buy over to redevelop. in the scenario of a building becoming dilapidated, if the location is good, naturally developers will offer the landowners, simply because people need to make money. this applies to well located lh condo also, but i don't know enough to say whether lh status is a deterrent to developers and whether decades old lh will fetch a much lower land price than fh in the same location.

https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-ne...se-sale-delayed

The 19-storey Desa Kudalari was developed by Tan & Tan Developments Bhd on 7.35 acres of freehold land, featuring 186 units.

CBRE-WTW deputy managing director Danny Yeo noted that the last transacted price in the project stood at RM1,250 psf in a sale done in 2015. The firm noted that prices in nearby projects stood at RM3,573 psf.

Based on CBRE-WTW’s calculations, the RM1,250 psf transacted price works out to a land price of RM960 psf. This is a far cry from what unit owners could receive from the en masse sale, based on the indicative value of RM2,000 to RM3,500 psf.

30+yrs old condo sold for 1.25k psf in 2015. i wonder how much a 30+ yrs lh condo here can sell?

and if owners finally choose a bidder and sell off as land, the profit is much higher than selling as condo unit.

let's say somehow you inherited a freehold KL pre war 99 years old strata residential building, it is in crap condition and low quality tenants. Are you telling me no difference to you if the land status was LH and your lease is ending in 6 months, can sell to who and for how much?

this could be your cucu cicit, pj could be status of kl in 99 years. maybe pj better than kl city?
True that, there is a difference I agree. However, the horizon of 99 years belong to your cucu cicit already, me and you is no more. They just inherit it from you so perhaps they can earn more or less from the sale. You still do not 'lose' anything. Why so chap cheuk? Your cucu cicit have their own life also, don't need to depend on your inheritance to survive (an example only).

The concept I keep hearing is that, resale value is most important. This is like car discussion. You have utilized the property to put a roof over your head, that is why you bought it. Resale value is secondary.

Anyway, sorry to hijack this thread. Just that this discussion is interesting to me. Will stop now.

stevenkkh
post Apr 19 2018, 12:16 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Apr 19 2018, 11:55 AM)
Then don't buy this condo. You worry this, worry that. You have this concept that buying property must appreciate over time. So many doubts just look for another property, it's a buyer market out there. If like you said after 20 years, you can only resell for 400k, so what? You have stayed there for 20 years. If you rent, you get nothing back.
Sorry guy, one more time to answer this as I feel really funny when I see this response.

FYI, the loan most probably for 30 years, if let's said after 20 years, your property reduced from RM600K to RM400k, so all RM400K will be use to repay your loan and even worst is you need to topup to repaying finish the loan if the amount is not enough to cover your loan.

Sorry, this applicable for those taking loan only and if you cash loaded for cash buy, so this might no longer applicable to you as RM200k++ losses to you is nothing over 20 years which you assume as rental for that unit.

icemanfx
post Apr 19 2018, 12:50 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(stevenkkh @ Apr 19 2018, 11:35 AM)
Ownstaying.

By the way, the people buying also will think the same thing.  Assuming buying leasehold as renting a condo for 99 years where the condo actually can only use for 50-60 years? This is a crazy idea to me as if you think in such way when you buying a leasehold property, better rent as much more cheaper than this and why even bother to buy in the first place if you really think in such concept.

There is a difference between nominal price and real price. to maintain the real price, nominal price need to appreciate at inflation rate and loan interest incurred. hence, current price of $600k need not to be lowered to loss $.

BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 19 2018, 12:56 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Apr 19 2018, 11:29 AM)
elmina, denai alam u can get new freehold landed around that price... not exactly very far from subang PJ though with their direct access to guthrie...

but then for own stay... what means to you currently is the most important... lh and fh may not be that important to them as its something far away into the future especially condos... alot of ppl will upgrade from their initial condo.... and also alot of lh projects actually still selling out as long as the location is right with pricing that suit the lh tag....
even peejay you can still get FH condo or service apartments lah..........

dont need to sound like end of the world........

ameliorate
post Apr 19 2018, 01:08 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(stevenkkh @ Apr 19 2018, 12:16 PM)
Sorry guy, one more time to answer this as I feel really funny when I see this response.

FYI, the loan most probably for 30 years, if let's said after 20 years, your property reduced from RM600K to RM400k, so all RM400K will be use to repay your loan and even worst is you need to topup to repaying finish the loan if the amount is not enough to cover your loan.

Sorry, this applicable for those taking loan only and if you cash loaded for cash buy, so this might no longer applicable to you as RM200k++ losses to you is nothing over 20 years which you assume as rental for that unit.
I also cannot resist, apologies.

Then you sell after 30 years lo. 200k is not losses, stop thinking like that. You have been staying there for 20 years, you paid for that privilege. This is not stock market where there is no physical thing changing hands.
BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 19 2018, 01:14 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(stevenkkh @ Apr 19 2018, 12:16 PM)

this is where your mistake is...

whether loan or cash.....there will always be value on your cash. Your cash can work harder than you if you know how to work your cash. cash is not something idle just sit under your pillow.
aaron1717
post Apr 19 2018, 01:18 PM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 19 2018, 12:56 PM)
even peejay you can still get FH condo or service apartments lah..........

dont need to sound like end of the world........
no la... something have to be trade off for every project one... haha... just that i feel lh or fh should not be the main thing that stop u from getting your dream home... haha
A.B.D.
post Apr 19 2018, 01:18 PM

2,365 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Apr 19 2018, 12:08 PM)
True that, there is a difference I agree. However, the horizon of 99 years belong to your cucu cicit already, me and you is no more. They just inherit it from you so perhaps they can earn more or less from the sale. You still do not 'lose' anything. Why so chap cheuk? Your cucu cicit have their own life also, don't need to depend on your inheritance to survive (an example only).

The concept I keep hearing is that, resale value is most important. This is like car discussion. You have utilized the property to put a roof over your head, that is why you bought it. Resale value is secondary.

Anyway, sorry to hijack this thread. Just that this discussion is interesting to me. Will stop now.
haiya, don't say nothing for you and all for cucu cicit. nobody needs to give cucu cicit fully paid up, let them pay also.

don't forget lh or fh has a difference, when you want to refinance for cash to enjoy later rclxm9.gif

the example condo i showed you, in 1980s how many ringgit psf he buy, surely not RM1,250 psf transacted price in 2015. since fh, he has no countdown clock, no change to his land share ownership status from 1980s.

i think he can refinance for much more cash than lh condo with much shorter lease than when bought in 1980s, if the bank agree to refinance.

same concept with fh landed, many decades later can still refinance a lot more than what you paid for the house. you see it's not all for cucu cicit we can also enjoy a bit.

apologies still off topic will get back on topic... blush.gif

This post has been edited by A.B.D.: Apr 19 2018, 01:23 PM
BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 19 2018, 02:06 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Apr 19 2018, 01:18 PM)
no la... something have to be trade off for every project one... haha... just that i feel lh or fh should not be the main thing that stop u from getting your dream home... haha
where FH in a particular state is not for the privileage few, why settled for LH for ownstay?

I don't mind LH for investment, but never for ownstay.

anywhere for me personally, nothing is for ownstay. Property is inventory. When price is good, sell.
stevenkkh
post Apr 19 2018, 02:24 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 19 2018, 02:06 PM)
where FH in a particular state is not for the privileage few, why settled for LH for ownstay?

I don't mind LH for investment, but never for ownstay.

anywhere for me personally, nothing is for ownstay. Property is inventory. When price is good, sell.
Yes, agree with you as for me, even ownstay, I won't be staying there forever and definitely not going to like this if my return is 0 or worst even to negative.

Hope this on topic, in reality, I am interested to know the price growth on this property due to that status of LH. Any healthy price growth prospect here instead of just stay here forever or for rental purpose?

So far, what I see from the discussion here, the price growth for maybe after 15 - 20 years, it is uncertainty and most of the opinion that is not in optimistic way for this property.

This post has been edited by stevenkkh: Apr 19 2018, 02:25 PM

65 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:45 AM