Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson P1i

youngkies
post Apr 23 2007, 11:58 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

P700 is something below P990 but better than M600, so I think nothing much can be expected to match the great P990 too.

Apart of that, although it lacks HSDPA or Quad band, however, not all of us need it really. In addition that will just jack up the price of the phone if included, and that will made it rivalling the P990i instead of some mid-range abt rm2.5k (casual yet powerful phone).

With 3.2 mp, this phone will be an attraction to those user who wanted some more social, multimedia, fun phone + bonus of being smart at sometime unlike p990i which never get into the mind of people looking for multimedia/casual phone but serious, business user.
Saigo
post Apr 23 2007, 12:05 PM

Traveller
635 posts

Can anyone tell me what's the difference between the M series and the P series, or are both essentially the same? Strange that the successor to M600 is P700.
TSpanasonic88
post Apr 23 2007, 12:13 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Apr 23 2007, 11:58 AM)
P700 is something below P990 but better than M600, so I think nothing much can be expected to match the great P990 too.

Apart of that, although it lacks HSDPA or Quad band, however, not all of us need it really. In addition that will just jack up the price of the phone if included, and that will made it rivalling the P990i instead of some mid-range abt rm2.5k (casual yet powerful phone).

With 3.2 mp, this phone will be an attraction to those user who wanted some more social, multimedia, fun phone + bonus of being smart at sometime unlike p990i  which never get into the mind of people looking for multimedia/casual phone but serious, business user.
well said nod.gif

QUOTE(Saigo @ Apr 23 2007, 12:05 PM)
Can anyone tell me what's the difference between the M series and the P series, or are both essentially the same? Strange that the successor to M600 is P700.
no idea why P & M

just knowing they are classified under "Smartphones" category.

p/s: probably M = smartphone with no camera? rolleyes.gif

sunauto
post Apr 23 2007, 06:22 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

P & M? Easy lah, P = Perempuan and M = Male drool.gif That means P700i was designed for the pretty ladies out there.

Hmm ..... BST-40? New battery? Extra capacity? I guess as long as it spots a higher capacity, that is a welcomed addition because for P990i, the standard BST-33 is a big mismatch because it couldn't provide enough juice to last even a day with moderate usage.

Hopefully, the P700i is more stable than the P990i, I'll consider getting this one if it is miles better than my current P990i. My current phone is too sluggish for my liking. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 23 2007, 12:13 PM)
well said  nod.gif
no idea why P & M

just knowing they are classified under "Smartphones" category.

p/s: probably M = smartphone with no camera?  rolleyes.gif
SUSMike3300
post Apr 23 2007, 06:27 PM

6,866 posts

Man, the red light is so freaking cool. Dig it!
shockk
post Apr 23 2007, 07:34 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

wow. Wifi with 3.2MP camera. if this phone is for real, damn. can't wait for it. drool.gif
pengster
post Apr 23 2007, 09:19 PM

eVoWeiâ„¢
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Sony Ericsson @ Apr 21 2007, 11:57 AM)
There are a whole ton of pics posted at
http://www.esato.com/board/viewtopic.php?t...39095&start=570

Go there to see, but you have to login. The fella has the proto.

The conofirmed specs are:

3.2mp Autofocus Camera, + Macro
edit: bands gsm 900 1800 1900 umts
with Flash
M2 Memory slot
160mb built in memory
WIFi
Jogdial
3g
Touchscreen
UIQ 3 - looks more updated than P990i
Silver metal casing on front, and on back
Red numbering, white alphabets
Red/black stylus
Strap holder on left side of phone
BST-40 battery
FM Radio

A few other points:

Size comparison and weight, very light device
thinner than the P990i
slightly thicker than the M600i/W950i
Thinner than the W810i
as shown in the pics
not bad for a jam packed device.
Its soooooooooo beautiful! Now I have to hold back my PS3 purchase and get this instead. tongue.gif
oooohhhhhh sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet drool.gif

i am so getting this phone when it comes here.dont care about the HSDPA or GPS.that will be from the N95 laugh.gif

I sincerely hope SE do not stop here, and really work hard and keep the P series alive and kicking, and in the next couple of months, name us a true successor for P990i. The P700 seems to lack some very important specs, such as HSDPA (at least 3.6Mbps), QUAD Band, 2.8" - 3" TFT LCD touch sensitive screen (with fast screen refresh rate and one that is comparable to P910i when view under sunlight!!!), TI OMAP 330Mhz CPU or higher, hardware accelerated video recorder (able to record videos in at least 320 x 240 in full 30 fps MP4 and stereo AAC audio) and audio recorder and viewer, 3D OpenGL ES support, FULL QWERTY keyboard that is larger than current P990i and spaced slightly wider like the Treo (to really challenge BB and NK E61/E61i series for email and messaging), animated themes and wallpapers, and oh, PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT MAKE THE SCREEN SO DEEP BENEATH THE FRAME, SUCH AS CURRENT P990i, cos it is impossible to tap on the sides of the screen with our fingers.

when the successor the the P990i comes out with all that features above and a >3.2mp camera with AF,it'll be the best all rounder phone perhaps? biggrin.gif all features throwned in a phone.sweet.
Saigo
post Apr 23 2007, 10:21 PM

Traveller
635 posts

Hehe I don't really need HSDPA, never really used it, so this phone would be just ideal.
TSpanasonic88
post Apr 23 2007, 10:26 PM

37,028 posts

SE P700i specs are good enough

i bet the sales would be better than the M600i & even the P990i rolleyes.gif
iRonTech
post Apr 24 2007, 08:15 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

P700 nice? or M610 nice? tongue.gif

[attachmentid=222097][attachmentid=222098][attachmentid=222099][attachmentid=222100][attachmentid=222101][attachmentid=222102]
sunauto
post Apr 24 2007, 11:28 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I wonder whether the P700i has a touchscreen keyboard like the P990i. It will be faster to use that than the built in keyboard.
TSpanasonic88
post Apr 24 2007, 11:39 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 24 2007, 11:28 AM)
I wonder whether the P700i has a touchscreen keyboard like the P990i. It will be faster to use that than the built in keyboard.
they should be a touch screen keyboard
even the very 1st gen UIQ SE P800 also has that
dun see any reason why they would wan to remove it

M600i no touchscreen keyboard?

worst still, i believe there will be a software for that
just like ppc nod.gif
Saigo
post Apr 24 2007, 05:44 PM

Traveller
635 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 24 2007, 11:28 AM)
I've never once used the touchscreen keyboard.. I think the built-in keyboard is way faster :P
sonyclie77
post Apr 24 2007, 06:50 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 24 2007, 11:39 AM)
M600i no touchscreen keyboard?
Virtual keyboard?

Yeah. All UIQ based devices has virtual keyboard. smile.gif
pmsoo
post Apr 28 2007, 01:41 AM

374 posts

hhmm the silver lining frame looks kinda odd sweat.gif

do you think the battery life would remain as strong as m600i? it was 7 hours talk time.. with greater spec and wifi, would they upped the battery life?

kapitan
post Apr 28 2007, 10:00 AM

2,205 posts

Even though the camera and wifi look tempting, but I think adding these 2 not only adds weight n thickness, it also make the price blast past 2k I think.

I like M600i for it being a PDA and lightweight (lighter than Xda2 Mini).
sunauto
post May 7 2007, 08:34 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Saigo @ Apr 24 2007, 05:44 PM)
I've never once used the touchscreen keyboard.. I think the built-in keyboard is way faster tongue.gif
The touchscreen keyboard is faster if you're used to it and handwriting recognition is even much faster if you have mastered on how to use it. Touchscreen keyboard should have for P700i but as for handwriting recognition, I'm not too sure of it unless the official specs are out.
limyusiong
post May 7 2007, 09:38 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Apr 28 2007, 10:00 AM)
Even though the camera and wifi look tempting, but I think adding these 2 not only adds weight n thickness, it also make the price blast past 2k I think.

absolutely agree, LIGHT........
hypermax
post May 7 2007, 11:06 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Apr 28 2007, 10:00 AM)

Not to mention about the battery life....
1zR4eL
post May 9 2007, 02:44 AM

1,852 posts

the phone already official but the name is se p1i though

86 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:49 AM