Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson P1i

d@odao
post Nov 4 2007, 12:30 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Nov 4 2007, 04:48 AM)
it is already been on SEUS since last week for GW1 and GW2 CDA
yup, that is correct. to check your firmware, go to Menu > More > Information. check the version for organizer.
latest one is R6F41 while R6E30 and R6D23 is the old one
for other CDA normally u have to wait for weeks to months for SE to fully update the locale.
i couldn't wait that long and therefore i uses XS++ to change my CDA to GW1 and continue update happily ever after.
also, i seen that XS++ is able to flash the CDA to HK CDA. and i think by doing that would enable the chinese fonts and writing support.
does the GW1 also have malay language for predictive text?...
although this is not important, just curious only...

what version of XS++ u using?...
fx_53_xt
post Nov 4 2007, 12:57 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Nov 4 2007, 10:39 AM)
thx fx_53, u really a pro. What's CDA? I think mine is CDA then, the firmware is R6E30, when i checked the update, it said none. What's XS? What's GW? Which one is the best? Should I change too? Why is it better to change?
CDA is a region number code that SE define for different region(location) or branding(O2, vodafone etc). you can check your CDA code from Menu > More > Information and under CDA, the number after the backslash is your CDA code. check the code against the one provided here http://uiq3.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/CDA/P1i to know which region your phone belongs to.

When SE release a firmware, they usually release it for GW1, GW2 and GW3 first, which stands for Generic World 1, Generic World 2 and Generic World 3.(if your CDA number after the backslash is 1,2 or 3, then they belongs to Generic World). SE after that need to make some very minor modification to the firmware (normally regional settings) to suit to different region. When you update using SEUS, it first check the CDA of your phone, and check whether the firmware has been released for your phone. From what i see on the wiki, currently only Generic World 1,2, and 3 enjoys the latest R6F41 firmware.

there are few techniques to flash to the latest firmware regardless ur CDA :
1) Fooling SEUS : look for someone who has GW1 CDA, then copy his blob_fs folder under SEUS installation directory to your PC. Compare the size of the file one by one (exact bytes) to your own blob_fs directory. once you found the matching size of the file, rename the new file to be the same as the one in your own blob_fs directory and overwrite them. Then proceed to execute SEUS. by overwriting using GW1's file, you fools SEUS into thinking your phone is GW1 and thus gives you the latest firmware regardless the CDA.

2) using davinci : google around for davinci, pay some money to get the unlocking software and proceed to modify the CDA of your phone.

3) XS++ (IMHO, free and most reliable) : visit the link here : http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?showtopic=6805
Download XS++ from the link above. and then follow the step below :
i) tick smartphone connect
ii) press connect
iii) turn off your phone, remove and put back the battery, connect the USB cable while holding C button.
iv) select GDFS and press backup GDFS
v) unplug the USB cable
vi) restart XS++ (not necessarily but i found my XS++ to be error without restarting it)
vii) turn off your phone, remove and put back the battery, connect the USB cable while holding C button.
viii) select the CDA version that you want from the drop down menu and execute.
ix) disconnect and restart the phone.
x) you should now be enjoying the new CDA and proceed to SEUS to get the latest firmware.

*note : Although you may revert it to your original CDA whenever you want,there are still slight chances that you VOID your warranty by doing any of the hack mentioned above.

*note2 : phones that were bricked from SEUS update is covers by warranty while XS++ is a third part software and therefore if you bricked the phone while using XS++, it might considered warranty voided as well.
d@odao
post Nov 4 2007, 01:00 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

updating firmware GW1 now...
fx_53_xt
post Nov 4 2007, 01:02 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Nov 4 2007, 12:30 PM)
does the GW1 also have malay language for predictive text?...
although this is not important, just curious only...

what version of XS++ u using?...
yes, it has malay language for predictive text.
i'm using V3.0 beta

btw, here's a video of the successful conversion of P1i into W960 firmware, enjoy:

d@odao
post Nov 4 2007, 01:12 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

ya..mine also v3 beta...just a few more minutes to completion...
fx_53_xt
post Nov 4 2007, 01:44 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Nov 4 2007, 01:12 PM)
ya..mine also v3 beta...just a few more minutes to completion...
should be done by now?
how's the new firmware?
d@odao
post Nov 4 2007, 01:52 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

yes, is done...need to do full testing...
but, it is really fast on the menu and transition...cool...
lovehewit
post Nov 4 2007, 02:28 PM

135 posts

Wow sound complicated, i bought this phone with a 3 years warranty, I think I better keep my current firmware. sad.gif have to wait then. fx-53, u really cool!
fx_53_xt
post Nov 4 2007, 03:26 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Nov 4 2007, 01:52 PM)
yes, is done...need to do full testing...
but, it is really fast on the menu and transition...cool...
somehow the sliding for list browsing has been gone for transition.
guess SE realize that they might as well disable it if cannot make it smooth.LOL

Wow sound complicated, i bought this phone with a 3 years warranty, I think I better keep my current firmware. sad.gif have to wait then. fx-53, u really cool!

yo bro, how come you got 3 years warranty? you bought from SenQ?
btw, if you don't want to risk the warranty, you can try the first method by changing the SEUS blob_fs file. by changing that you did not hacked anything inside the phone and it is all relying on SEUS. but this method require some luck though

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Nov 4 2007, 03:31 PM
lovehewit
post Nov 4 2007, 04:46 PM

135 posts

I bought from Maxicom, they r offering 3 years warranty. There's another company but i forgot the name. Only this 2 comp. offering such warranty in Malaysia.
d@odao
post Nov 4 2007, 04:57 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Nov 4 2007, 03:26 PM)
somehow the sliding for list browsing has been gone for transition.
guess SE realize that they might as well disable it if cannot make it smooth.LOL
yo bro, how come you got 3 years warranty? you bought from SenQ?
btw, if you don't want to risk the warranty, you can try the first method by changing the SEUS blob_fs file. by changing that you did not hacked anything inside the phone and it is all relying on SEUS. but this method require some luck though
the sliding for list browsing no more transition?...
ehh...can give example which area is that...i go try it out... hmm.gif
trowachin
post Nov 4 2007, 05:38 PM

39 posts

helo everyone, another P1i user here. hee hee...

just.. updated the phone to GW1 with latest firmware. thanks to fx_53 for your information.

phone runs fast, not yet test other applications yet, but very ma fan is everything pops back to just like new condition....

sigh, all my previous installed programmes...
d@odao
post Nov 4 2007, 05:46 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

laugh.gif..u should have done a backup 1st lor...
i just restore them after flash...is back to how it is... smile.gif
tropiccana
post Nov 4 2007, 05:55 PM

24 posts

my p1i CDA is 162024/95 R3A which could not found any in the list. does anyone know where the region for this phone is??

is there any other risk except the warranty issue when changing the CDA?

Thx!
chikanot
post Nov 4 2007, 11:28 PM

274 posts

*SnuffyKL

I got all the icon from the net, currently not wif my laptop so no URL for those icon. Will get back to you once I'm home.

*fx_53

Good information dude. Will try to update my P1i wif the first method as I am afraid to void the warranty. Any news on the software in using the front camera?

btw I'm going to spore this week to buy the martin field screen protector and some other stuff for the handphone. Anybody want anything for their handphone? thinking to buy from doml.

cheers

aliex87
post Nov 4 2007, 11:56 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(chikanot @ Nov 4 2007, 11:28 PM)
*SnuffyKL

I got all the icon from the net, currently not wif my laptop so no URL for those icon. Will get back to you once I'm home.

*fx_53

Good information dude. Will try to update my P1i wif the first method as I am afraid to void the warranty. Any news on the software in using the front camera?

btw I'm going to spore this week to buy the martin field screen protector and some other stuff for the handphone. Anybody want anything for their handphone? thinking to buy from doml.

cheers
can order to you the mf screen protector for p1i?? i really need one now.. notworthy.gif ..my location is in kl....what's "other stuff" for the phone?? drool.gif drool.gif
karlcheong
post Nov 5 2007, 12:20 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(tropiccana @ Nov 4 2007, 05:55 PM)
my p1i CDA is 162024/95 R3A which could not found any in the list. does anyone know where the region for this phone is??

Thx!
162024/95 is Trade Singapore Chinese Ver

It may cause your phone unable to turn on if incorrect method used.

chikanot

I want the icons as well please please.... tongue.gif url

fx_53_xt
post Nov 5 2007, 12:35 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Nov 4 2007, 04:57 PM)
the sliding for list browsing no more transition?...
ehh...can give example which area is that...i go try it out... hmm.gif
all the menu in list mode no longer has transition. try that out. previously when transition was on when you scroll down the list the highlighting bar moved but now even with transition on they just jumped instead of moving.

QUOTE(tropiccana @ Nov 4 2007, 05:55 PM)

Thx!
your CDA is Singapore APAC chinese version.
other than warranty, you gotta make sure there's no power interruption, no accidentally unplugged the USB cable etc action that will interrupt the communication. everything else should goes fine if followed the step properly.

so far i haven't seen anyone bricked their phone by using XS++
aliex87
post Nov 5 2007, 07:23 AM

376 posts

owh nevermind....just found out that from doml website can direct order....i just order one set of MF screen protector for my upcoming p1i!! hurray!! rm47 including shipping thou.......i want to fix the screen protector once i got the phone......will be asking p1i's sifooss alot of questions after this!! cool.gif cool.gif
kenji82
post Nov 5 2007, 08:43 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Nov 5 2007, 07:23 AM)
owh nevermind....just found out that from doml website can direct order....i just order one set of MF screen protector for my upcoming p1i!! hurray!! rm47 including shipping thou.......i want to fix the screen protector once i got the phone......will be asking p1i's sifooss alot of questions after this!!  cool.gif  cool.gif
hi aliex87,

mind to share the website url? wanna get MF screen protector before i get my p1i. thanks

86 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:09 AM