9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Christian girl and Buddhist guy rship

illogical_silver
post Mar 1 2018, 02:18 PM

56 posts

the moment when ppl say more spiritual or holier than others... then it's totally out of context alrdy... others might think it"s okay to give such statement that"s for them to play the judgement card.

https://www.desiringgod.org/interviews/what...ily-spiritually

authority might be too strong in this context but so i'll just say its about recognition ... of cos women can be the leader that's nothing wrong about it... well like i say it;s just my point of view that christian female wants their husband to lead the family according to their ideal.... which is not wrong as well

about the last point i think well if they think its okay to use God like this then it's their choice... i won't go beyond that
popopi
post Mar 1 2018, 02:21 PM

1,197 posts

Christian always wins in the end... doesn't matter the girl or the boy side..
Buddhist will let u go become christian...

Cheers...
skylee18
post Mar 1 2018, 02:22 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(michael2727 @ Apr 3 2017, 11:22 PM)
Hi guys, would like to seek advises regarding interfaith rship.
We clicked quite well these few months but have yet to get tgt. The only concern is diff in religion.
I do go church with her, but might not convert to Christian in the future.
She did say she hope she can have the her future partner can have same faith with her. and her mom might not like it too.
Any thoughts on this?
be a free thinker instead....don't attach with anything or else headache
MeToo
post Mar 1 2018, 02:25 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Mar 1 2018, 02:21 PM)

Cheers...
Cause one religion is more tolerant then the other...

Go figure...
murphyckf
post Mar 1 2018, 02:26 PM

68 posts

Cheers...
Not exactly true, I have a seen a faithful catholic girl married a taoist man and followed him to worship his gods. Happily married with 3 children. Both of them wins, not religion.
marcford1979
post Mar 1 2018, 02:51 PM

i still dont know why...U LIVE BECAUSE OF RELIGION OR RELIGION LIVE BECAUSE OF U FELLAS?

some people fight for religion(die hard fans i suppose), but did the religion fight for u?? YES they make u fight each other.

"MINE IS BETTER U SHOULD FOLLOW ME...URS IS CRAP NOT LOGIC"
"U BURN JOSS PAPERS, U THINK THEY CAN RECEIVE?"
example shit of arguement.

for me its just a matter of individual believes. just a GUIDE for u to walk past ur life. all lebih kurang..dont be too obsess la...

i did dump a rich catholic girl many many years ago. just few months...shes already acting like a preacher..this and that..talk about future children must be all catholic. bla bla bla..actually i got no issue if the children to be catholic or whatsoever...but i dont like the way of forcing and commanding...need or not oh diu...

i say stay where u r, dont convert either u r buddhist or catholic or christian or what ever. if u can betray once, u can betray twice and u can betray anything and everyone in the future. be a man of ur own believe. believe what u want to believe.
if one loves u he or she will accept the whole package of urself

u think what...buy a proton wira, dont like the bumper tukar bomper, dont like the bonet change to carbon fibre ar? dun like the engine sumbat masuk 4G63 ar?
da heck...
SkyeTan
post Mar 3 2018, 05:55 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(michael2727 @ Apr 3 2017, 11:22 PM)
Hi guys, would like to seek advises regarding interfaith rship.
We clicked quite well these few months but have yet to get tgt. The only concern is diff in religion.
I do go church with her, but might not convert to Christian in the future.
She did say she hope she can have the her future partner can have same faith with her. and her mom might not like it too.
Any thoughts on this?
I will share two stories relevant to this issue: one of which happened to me; and the other to my good friend. Both stories have vastly different outcomes.

My story:
I fell in love with my secondary school friend quite a few years ago. From what I know, she is a convert due to a certain incident that happened to her mom, so her faith towards Christianity is pretty strong. I pursued her whole-heartedly for 1 year and things are looking better, I can tell she's into me as well from our interactions. I was even ready to convert for her sake (I know, some may say this is not the right thing to do). But one Friday night (yes, it had to be a Friday cos it's after Church Service) she told me about the story their church shared about a Christian woman who was prepared to marry a non-Christian man (much like our case). The church shared about how the man promised the woman that he will not make her do something that is unapproved by her religion (ie praying to ancestors etc); but went 180 and asked the woman to pray to his ancestors during their wedding day in the wedding car. She (my target) mentioned that she does not want to put herself in a position whereby she will be made to betray her God; and so she wanted us to remain as best friends (we're too close to remain normal friends). In my perspective, there was genuinely nothing more that I can do, so I agreed to it and we remained close friends. But deep within, I know one thing: her love for God far outweighs her love for me.

TLDR: so if you're gonna push forward with your feelings for her, be mentally prepared. The difference between Buddhist and Christians are really huge, and you must be prepared to live with them if you wanna be serious. Otherwise, when it crumbles (and hopefully your case will not end the same way as mine) you'll have the mental strength to live on.

My friend's story:
My friend (the guy) is a free-thinker; and her girlfriend is a rather faithful Christian-born. But I guess the girl is probably not as hardcore as my target cos at least they are together for 5-6 years during their college days. Somehow, my friend managed to break a compromise between them and they ended up married and being happy with each other's company. Funny thing is, my friend openly told his girlfriend that he will never convert because he never believed in anything religious-related. Together (me, my friend, his girlfriend, and my other friends) we've discussed my situation (the target dumping me part) countless times and I think by doing this, we've somehow managed to show to my friend's girlfriend the guy's perspective in these kinda relationship statuses; and somehow, I'd like to think that this helped her agree to the compromise they made with each other.

TLDR: Ultimately, I think it all depends on your target and her faith towards Christianity in general.

TTLDR: if you do wanna go ahead; I can tell you it will not be an easy path. Pretty much nothing that you do can truly satisfy your partner's expectations as you will be facing not only her, but her family, your family, and her fellow church-mates. Tough times ahead, and I wished you all the best.
delon85
post Mar 3 2018, 05:59 PM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

Cheers...
Because Buddhism isn't religion but a way of life
yungkit14
post Mar 4 2018, 11:12 AM

850 posts

QUOTE(delon85 @ Mar 3 2018, 05:59 PM)
Because Buddhism isn't religion but a way of life
and its a philoshophy ,it was never a religion ,these folks will never understand us hence they convert thier religion because they fail to understand
86400seconds
post Mar 4 2018, 06:44 PM

39 posts

how many mixed up buddhist and taoist and even folks religions
wondernoob
post Mar 5 2018, 12:11 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Project_Engineer @ Mar 5 2018, 09:20 AM)
Thank you for the sharing. My gf is christian (faithful, but not very hard-core type) and i am a free-thinker/atheist. I am ok to do the marriage in christian-style in the future (marriage being held in church), after all i don't really mind any marriage customs; but I hardly see myself to be a christian.

A question: can a guy who is not a christian marry a christian girl in the church and say "i ok, i steady" after the pastor say the infamous "Wilt thou have this woman to thy wedded wife, to live together after God’s ordinance in the holy estate of Matrimony? Wilt thou love her, comfort her, honour, and keep her, in sickness and in health; and, forsaking all other, keep thee only unto her, so long as ye both shall live?"
You will likely be required to be baptised as a Christian beforehand, saying 'i ok i steady' is very easy.
MakNok
post Mar 5 2018, 12:25 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(yezhi @ Apr 18 2017, 12:03 PM)
my bf is christian, im a buddhist. getting married soon and didn't come up with the must be with same religion partner. but i'm ok to convert to christian.

but if i'm not willing to convert, i will try to discuss with my partner before break up. maybe she will accept your decision?
ok..like this
ask your boyfriend to convert to buddhist instead...bring him to temple.

see if your boyfriend willing or not for out of love.....

so far i rarely see Buddhist say other must convert so that they can get married.
it mostly and always happen to christian..

then why the huhuhaha over Muslim when doing the same thing?

bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by MakNok: Mar 5 2018, 12:25 PM
yungkit14
post Mar 5 2018, 01:54 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(Project_Engineer @ Mar 5 2018, 09:20 AM)
Thank you for the sharing. My gf is christian (faithful, but not very hard-core type) and i am a free-thinker/atheist. I am ok to do the marriage in christian-style in the future (marriage being held in church), after all i don't really mind any marriage customs; but I hardly see myself to be a christian.

A question: can a guy who is not a christian marry a christian girl in the church and say "i ok, i steady" after the pastor say the infamous "Wilt thou have this woman to thy wedded wife, to live together after God’s ordinance in the holy estate of Matrimony? Wilt thou love her, comfort her, honour, and keep her, in sickness and in health; and, forsaking all other, keep thee only unto her, so long as ye both shall live?"
you wait when funeral time ,then the needle starts in smile.gif smile.gif
Malta
post Mar 5 2018, 02:04 PM

29 posts

Everytime when there's discussion about religion, for sure the topic will have many pages and many TLDR comments. Headache.

TS, what I can say is, in conclusion, Christian is not a very complicated religion unlike the other that requires you must convert if wanna get married. If partner is a Christian, it really depends la.. some are hardcore, tell you die die must convert, some are softcore, but inside them they quietly want a same religion partner.

If your partner don't mind, good. If your partner is softcore type, then you really have to decide soon whether to convert or move on. After all, after convert, you still can do or eat anything you want. But if for me, I'm a Buddhist, I would feel sorry for my own religion because that's the religion I've been following since birth.

My own experience is, my ex is a Christian and she is the softcore type. No major problem actually, I even follow them to church every Sunday. It's just that her family side is quite hardcore. Sometimes being around with them, although friendly, but sometimes a bit over the line.

Example like they are too 'bangga' (proud) with themselves. Everytime when there's a gathering, they keep mentioning their surname and say "That's how we (insert surname) do it, yeah!". Sometimes give hints that the other religion is not that great. Me being the non-Christian among them, felt left out.

Lastly, we have broken up and that was many years ago. Now her bf is a Christian too and they are getting married soon. Good for her and myself. She found her happiness and I can start afresh. "Old one didn't go, new one won't come in".
yungkit14
post Mar 5 2018, 03:24 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(Project_Engineer @ Mar 5 2018, 02:19 PM)
hmm what will happen during funeral for non-christian husband and christian wife? let say during funeral the son need to take candle and pay respect to the passed-away, but the son already converted to christian during the marriage. then cannot take candle. this is a very sad scenario.
its ok thats why i said you wait
86400seconds
post Mar 5 2018, 03:45 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Project_Engineer @ Mar 5 2018, 02:16 PM)
why need baptise before marry in church? if not baptise then the pastor cannot ask the holy question? how they know i already baptise or not? got recording system?

hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
do you wanna lie through a wedding?
then it won't last
Yggdrasil
post Mar 5 2018, 09:03 PM

2,210 posts

why need baptise before marry in church?
To be married in church usually you either one of them has to be Christian. Christians generally oppose mix marriages but Catholic Christians have been more open to it. They have been allowing a marriage between a Catholic and non-Catholic (athiest, Buddhist, Muslim etc) but it has to be consented by the local bishop. The condition is that the non-Catholic partner has to agree to try his/her best to allow and raise the children in church and must not oppose the religion. But the mass is also non-sacramental and a full mass will not be held on the wedding day. It is only a wedding ceremony.

if not baptise then the pastor cannot ask the holy question?
If you are not baptised, you are not considered Christian. Usually the pastor will not allow mix marriages but this differs according to the church and denomination.

how they know i already baptise or not? got recording system?
When a person is baptised, they receive a baptismal certificate which is proof that one is Christian. I heard that the Vatican has a complete list of the names of all Catholics around the world.

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Mar 5 2018, 09:07 PM
melz84
post Mar 5 2018, 09:42 PM

1,603 posts

QUOTE(Project_Engineer @ Mar 5 2018, 09:37 PM)
thanks mate. now i know more about christian marriage. if converting to christian is unavoidable for the marriage to proceed, then i can convert back after the marriage procedure is over. do you have any idea about de-baptise?
conversion is not a much.. it's about mutual respect..
i'm against force conversion.
i know someone gurl = christian guy = buddhist. the guy's mother is those bomoh .. gurl's mother is a devoted christian .. ok je.. no issue
marriage is between the partners. you don't marry into religion. sweat.gif

mr.anutta
post Mar 5 2018, 09:50 PM

49 posts

bros..would like to share. please spend some time to digest

Beyond Belief

cheers!
illogical_silver
post Mar 5 2018, 10:25 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Project_Engineer @ Mar 5 2018, 09:37 PM)
thanks mate. now i know more about christian marriage. if converting to christian is unavoidable for the marriage to proceed, then i can convert back after the marriage procedure is over. do you have any idea about de-baptise?
there's no such thing as de-baptise as far as i concern... I wouldnt even say that you are baptised based on the scenario you talking about here

i think you are imagining it like a muslim ceremony? it doesnt work that way

Baptism is an sign of obedience and acceptance and a declaration but all these have to come from within.

You could fall out of faith after baptism, etc but that's just between you and God. But if you just fake through baptism then can the baptism considered valid? how to convert back when you wasnt even converted at the first place..if you get what i mean.

This post has been edited by illogical_silver: Mar 5 2018, 10:27 PM

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0180sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:38 AM