9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Christian girl and Buddhist guy rship

miyakochan89
post Feb 26 2018, 03:02 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Wah, reminded me of a guy i dated last time, after a few dates, brought me to church. When the pastor/father/preacher (sorry, I really don't know whoever that person talking in front is called, no offense to anyone) asked if you could feel God, please raise your hand, everyone raised, I just kept quiet and didn't do anything. At the end of the entire church thing, he told me he was disappointed in me cause I didn't embrace God. After that I straight away cabut from this person far far far far.

I don't despise the religion, have nothing against Christianity or others, but if you are using religion to judge another, then there's a problem.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Feb 26 2018, 03:05 PM
yungkit14
post Feb 26 2018, 09:47 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 18 2017, 12:56 PM)
"shophouses" one i think are mostly protestants but as my experience tells me, protestants are the more liberal ones. Catholics on the other hand are more, aggressive because they are still very much obliged to the old testaments of the bible.

heck, they still issue out abstinence cards XD

like, really? abstinence?
so why nobody control these shophouses cunts tho, my family got destroyed by these cucks
yungkit14
post Feb 26 2018, 09:50 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 26 2018, 03:02 PM)
Wah, reminded me of a guy i dated last time, after a few dates, brought me to church. When the pastor/father/preacher (sorry, I really don't know whoever that person talking in front is called, no offense to anyone) asked if you could feel God, please raise your hand, everyone raised, I just kept quiet and didn't do anything. At the end of the entire church thing, he told me he was disappointed in me cause I didn't embrace God. After that I straight away cabut from this person far far far far.

I don't despise the religion, have nothing against Christianity or others, but if you are using religion to judge another, then there's a problem.
those you go one are they some rented kopitiam or real stone church?
miyakochan89
post Feb 26 2018, 10:16 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Feb 26 2018, 09:50 PM)
those you go one are they some rented kopitiam or real stone church?
Real, and super famous church.
yungkit14
post Feb 26 2018, 10:36 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 26 2018, 10:16 PM)
then its must be his gang of people lo
jasontantenghuat
post Feb 27 2018, 09:20 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 26 2018, 10:16 PM)
Something tells me it is either the church in Sunway, Bukit Jalil, or Jalan 222. grin.gif grin.gif grin.gif
shaniandras2787
post Feb 27 2018, 10:56 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Feb 26 2018, 02:42 PM)
Marrying and converting their partners is one of the ways that Christianity is spread. I see that you say you go to the Church during Christmas...your GF reciprocates by going to Buddhist Temple during Wesak?

Just curious, because "big family dinner" is a family reunion rather than an event with religious theme. "going to church during Christmas" is in that religion ballpark.
Your understanding is a bit...... misinterpreted. This is not the way that Christianity was meant to gain exposure. The original plan was by way of gospel and that's it but I cannot blame you because in our history books, it was repeated many times that religion was spread through interracial marriages. Everyone just need to note the difference, that's all. Traditionally, wives take after their husbands.

People get married because they want to live together forever and converting was just a piece of convenience. The main objective of marriage is not conversion or "get more members".

This is something I see that most people got confused alot. They think that they have a duty to convert their spouse because they are obliged by their religion. This is wrong and their marriage should fail.

QUOTE(calodin @ Feb 26 2018, 02:42 PM)

Just curious, because "big family dinner" is a family reunion rather than an event with religious theme. "going to church during Christmas" is in that religion ballpark.
You my friend, perhaps is one of the few people that got the concept right. Race and Religion is separate. Adopting Christianity doesn't mean you give up being Chinese and vice versa. Chinese New Year is celebrated by Chinese so if you are a Chinese then you celebrate it. It's not called "Buddhist New Year" or "Taoist New Year" -.-

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 26 2018, 03:02 PM)

This guy clearly has issues.

QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Feb 26 2018, 09:47 PM)
so why nobody control these shophouses cunts tho, my family got destroyed by these cucks
what form of "controls" you are referring to and how did these people destroyed your family o_O?

miyakochan89
post Feb 27 2018, 11:05 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Feb 27 2018, 09:20 AM)
Something tells me it is either the church in Sunway, Bukit Jalil, or Jalan 222. grin.gif  grin.gif  grin.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 27 2018, 10:56 AM)
Your understanding is a bit...... misinterpreted. This is not the way that Christianity was meant to gain exposure. The original plan was by way of gospel and that's it but I cannot blame you because in our history books, it was repeated many times that religion was spread through interracial marriages. Everyone just need to note the difference, that's all. Traditionally, wives take after their husbands.

People get married because they want to live together forever and converting was just a piece of convenience. The main objective of marriage is not conversion or "get more members".

This is something I see that most people got confused alot. They think that they have a duty to convert their spouse because they are obliged by their religion. This is wrong and their marriage should fail.
You my friend, perhaps is one of the few people that got the concept right. Race and Religion is separate. Adopting Christianity doesn't mean you give up being Chinese and vice versa. Chinese New Year is celebrated by Chinese so if you are a Chinese then you celebrate it. It's not called "Buddhist New Year" or "Taoist New Year" -.-
This guy clearly has issues.
what form of "controls" you are referring to and how did these people destroyed your family o_O?
Indeed, unfortunately I also know a few people who have had my fair share of experience, both girls and guys.
So sometimes it just makes me wonder....

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Feb 27 2018, 11:05 AM
Yggdrasil
post Feb 27 2018, 11:12 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Feb 27 2018, 09:20 AM)
Something tells me it is either the church in Sunway, Bukit Jalil, or Jalan 222. :grin:  :grin:  :grin:
Which one? I'm interested to know too
yungkit14
post Feb 27 2018, 11:31 AM

850 posts

[/quote]
like regulating brain wash activity ?
by giving no respect at my grandpa funeral
shaniandras2787
post Feb 27 2018, 12:07 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 27 2018, 11:05 AM)
Indeed, unfortunately I also know a few people who have had my fair share of experience, both girls and guys.
So sometimes it just makes me wonder....
Honestly, I don't really blame people who are frightened by the radical approach advanced by some Christians. Heck, I have been a Christian since birth and I cannot accept that.

I guess Christians have lost their way since the inception of the religion or perhaps they are so caught up with the fact that more members under their wing means the higher chance of them getting into Heaven but they have totally neglected the fact that for every individual that they scare away, they have created an indefinite fear in those people to shun away from Christianity forever.

That I think constitute to a bigger sin than to not spread the gospel at all.

Then again, I attribute the fault of all these "aggressive marketing" methods to the pastors/leaders of the church who constantly preached on the fact that members need to get members in order to "glorify God" but the ugly truth behind all these seemingly "holy purpose" is that with more members, the revenue of the church would inevitably increase because of the monthly tithes and weekly offerings.

I cannot sway myself away from the fact that these pastors/leaders also have a personal agenda and they are using the members to facilitate it.

miyakochan89
post Feb 27 2018, 12:19 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 27 2018, 12:07 PM)
Honestly, I don't really blame people who are frightened by the radical approach advanced by some Christians. Heck, I have been a Christian since birth and I cannot accept that.

I guess Christians have lost their way since the inception of the religion or perhaps they are so caught up with the fact that more members under their wing means the higher chance of them getting into Heaven but they have totally neglected the fact that for every individual that they scare away, they have created an indefinite fear in those people to shun away from Christianity forever.

Then again, I attribute the fault of all these "aggressive marketing" methods to the pastors/leaders of the church who constantly preached on the fact that members need to get members in order to "glorify God" but the ugly truth behind all these seemingly "holy purpose" is that with more members, the revenue of the church would inevitably increase because of the monthly tithes and weekly offerings.

I cannot sway myself away from the fact that these pastors/leaders also have a personal agenda and they are using the members to facilitate it.
Well, I have to say that this is the first time that I come across a Christian that is able to see that there are certain "flaws" and "personal agendas" involved. It's just the way the world works or human nature, like how not all religious figures are that holy as well they portray themselves to be. Power & money are both very huge huge huge temptations.
yungkit14
post Feb 27 2018, 12:42 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 27 2018, 12:07 PM)

i am sure there is some sort of way to control these stupid radical carrots no ?
shaniandras2787
post Feb 27 2018, 04:16 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Feb 27 2018, 12:42 PM)
i am sure there is some sort of way  to control these stupid radical carrots no ?
Not even the Vatican has the power to prevent rampant child molestation cases involving priests.

Besides, protestants are people who hate to be controlled. They are called "protestants" for a reason.

No leaders of a congregation wants to be submitted under an absolute power which little that people know, it is on this ground that so many individuals "claimed" to have gotten the "calling" to start a brand new congregation of a different "brand".

As far as I know from the Bible, there is only one "brand" of Christianity (if you will) unless of course God already meant from the very beginning of time to have His people separated by brands (which cannot be the case).

Besides, there is this "lack" of leadership anyway.

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Feb 27 2018, 04:23 PM
spilocke
post Feb 27 2018, 06:32 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 27 2018, 12:19 PM)
Well, I have to say that this is the first time that I come across a Christian that is able to see that there are certain "flaws" and "personal agendas" involved. It's just the way the world works or human nature, like how not all religious figures are that holy as well they portray themselves to be. Power & money are both very huge huge huge temptations.
Right on!
colemi
post Feb 28 2018, 09:22 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(teeyao888 @ Apr 4 2017, 10:05 AM)
Hey There

Don't feel so down because of the difference of religion in your relationship. I am for one, a strong Christian since birth and now I have a wife which is a Buddhist, and let me give you our story so that you have a better point of view.

During my dating days with my girlfriend (which is now wife), her parents also didn't really like me because I was a Christian, as they are afraid that I might convert her to Christianity and all. But after our 6 years of dating, I manage to show her parents that converting her to Christian was not my intention, and I do respect all religion, so she is free to do whatever she wants and I am free to go church every Sunday and sometimes she does follow me to church as well.

After some time, her parents decided to finally accept me for who I am, and even allowing her daughter to follow me to church on Sundays as well, as long as I do no affect her religion ways and vice versa hers to me, I think we are doing fine.

Fast forward to now, my wife is 3 months pregnant, and the religion of the kids would most probably be Christian, because she said so herself, this is her exact words "next time the baby come out I wan bring the baby to church every Sunday to join the toddler's class so the baby can make friends".

So I do believe that religion  is really how to approach it, I mean as long as you do not affect your gf's Christianity, I think it should be fine, and yes the Bible does say do not be unequally yoke, do take note that Bible is a guide and word from God. For example, your dad tell you "eh son, don't go eat that orange, cause the orange spoil already, later you get stomach ache". But you don't care and went on to eat the orange and you get stomach, does that mean your dad don't love you and don't care about you anymore? No right. haha

Anyway, good luck in your relationship.
Nearly have the same situation as you just that my wife is christian and myself a Buddhist then now a freethinker but my son is a christian when born but up to him to choose when he is old enough to decide on his own.

This post has been edited by colemi: Feb 28 2018, 09:22 AM
jasontantenghuat
post Feb 28 2018, 09:56 AM

337 posts

[quote=Yggdrasil,Feb 27 2018, 11:12 AM]
Which one? I'm interested to know too

[/quote]
There are not many big churches in that area whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

[quote=yungkit14,Feb 27 2018, 11:31 AM]

[/quote]

[/quote]
That's sad to hear. One of my college mates went through the same thing.
His grandfather was a Buddhist, and most of the family were Buddhists. When his granddad passed on, the Catholic aunty (who happens to be the oldest daughter) wanted to do a full Catholic / Christian funeral, but of course the rest of the family did not agree.

So during his funeral, she actually bad mouthed the Buddhist practices out loud. What she didn't realise is her actions, more or less got her kicked out of heaven laugh.gif
yungkit14
post Feb 28 2018, 10:08 AM

850 posts

[quote=jasontantenghuat,Feb 28 2018, 09:56 AM]
There are not many big churches in that area whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

[/quote]
That's sad to hear. One of my college mates went through the same thing.
His grandfather was a Buddhist, and most of the family were Buddhists. When his granddad passed on, the Catholic aunty (who happens to be the oldest daughter) wanted to do a full Catholic / Christian funeral, but of course the rest of the family did not agree.

So during his funeral, she actually bad mouthed the Buddhist practices out loud. What she didn't realise is her actions, more or less got her kicked out of heaven laugh.gif

[/quote]
the taoist help us instead and force them take joss stick i still remember him
illogical_silver
post Feb 28 2018, 08:24 PM

56 posts

looking at the interesting title and going through all the comments going on triggers me to give in my 2 cents instead of remaining as a mere reader in this forum.

i'm expressing my point of view as a protestant christian guy.

First i wanna clear things up from the previous comments:
Jehovahs' witnesses is not considered christian but rather a cult so don't confuse us christians (catholic or protestant) with them.

2nd on why i think most christian girl insisted on a christian partner in comparison to christian guy...just my personal opinion:
in a marriage, who is the head of the family? It is not merely an ego thing but it also means to lead the spirituality and ensure wellbeing of the family and protect the family.

as for the guy who is asking the question:
is about will both of you see the relationship as equal
for each side have to ask what are you willing to do for the others instead of what others will do for you...same goes to the girl...

This post has been edited by illogical_silver: Feb 28 2018, 08:44 PM
Yggdrasil
post Mar 1 2018, 12:44 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(illogical_silver @ Feb 28 2018, 08:24 PM)

in a marriage, who is the head of the family?
Just because Abrahamic religions (Judaism, Christianity and Islam) and some cultures (such as China) follow patriarchy does not mean that males are always the head of the family.

QUOTE(illogical_silver @ Feb 28 2018, 08:24 PM)

It is not merely an ego thing but it also means to lead the spirituality and ensure wellbeing of the family and protect the family.

I do not understand what do you mean by ego. Males leading spirituality that is acceptable but how to you measure if one is more spiritual than the other? Serve more in church? Tithe more? This is one of the problem in Christian circles. The need for males to 'act' more spiritual. I've even encountered Christian males trying to woo Christian girls by saying "God spoke to me and told me to ask you out". The irony is that they say this to non-Christian girls too.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0256sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:37 AM