10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

SPARTANS UNITE!, movie gathering la!

hairyLGS
post Mar 14 2007, 03:27 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Mar 14 2007, 03:21 PM)
Ooh. Butler as the Comedian eh?

And excellent screenie of Roscharch.

Can't wait! But how the hell they gonna squeeze all that wit and story into a movie?
I'm thinking the same thing... Watchmen was more of serialize TV Series than a movie... there are so many plots involved!!!

I mean, the origin of Dr. Manhattan, The Comedian, Nite Owl, Ozymandias... that's a lot to digest... I just hope they don't mess it up... but with Snyder in the reign... maybe a Trilogy...? Chuckle..
Diazepam
post Mar 15 2007, 09:39 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 14 2007, 02:45 PM)
It's a movie based on a retelling of history, adapted and modernized by the pages of Frank Miller's work in 300 The Graphic Novel. The author takes his own liberties when describing what's Persian and what's Greek. Take it as that, simple. In fact, modern Persians and Greeks would be grateful that people are intrigued to know the retelling of their ancient history, rather than it remained within the dust-laden confines of a forgotten section in a library. Sure, it is hyper-realized, it is stylized , and it is changed, it is a freaking ADAPTATION of history retold. It has gone through time, nobody but the real participants of the battle would really know what happened there. All we have to rely on are scriptures and stories retold, and stories retold have the effect being exaggerated and altered to suit the context of the storyteller and the period of time it's being retold. Not a surprise that modern storytellers like Frank Miller tells this story as it is now in "300", im sure his intentions are for the audience to remember the main gist of the battle and the reasons why it is fought. It's sad that the audience nowadays are more readily tie things to politics and nitpicking small details than reflecting on the real message the movie wants to put across.
So how is it a 'retelling of history' when the portrayal of a particular culture is wrong?

It is a comic adaptation. And the storyline of the comic itself (like all graphic novels and comics) is really based very loosely on actual facts, with a heavy dose of fact-twisting in play (I am an avid comic/graphic novel reader myself).

People are incensed with the movie not because of what they are wearing, as your earlier example, but rather the portrayal of a particular mindset that wasn't true.

As to your assertion that it is not political - modern propaganda machines are far more subtle than your typical Stalinistic efforts.

I am now in a position where I deal daily with older teens, and I can safely say that a mindset bred on Hollywood movies and MTV doesn't really add much to the grey matter, nor do they possess the capability of separating the impression gained on a certain topic in the movies, from actual fact.

One can identify that a particular movie isn't actually factual, but the deeper psychological effect that takes root is harder to identify and it most often results in shaping one's idea of a certain topic - isn't that what propaganda is all about?

Additionally, as someone who is fortunate enough to be in the know of certain political agendas, I can most certainly say that EVERYTHING is political (not only in ours). A tool is a tool, regardless of whether it is a movie shown to the public. Taking entertainment as just that, is a fallacy.

You can disagree all you want, which you will doubtlessly do in the next few posts, but until I see sociological, psychological and political studies/reports that tell me differently, I will be inclined to hold a contrarian view to yours.

Have a nice day.
zio
post Mar 15 2007, 10:09 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Everything can be considered political but on which side the movie will lean towards depends on the perspective that you are looking at.

Calling 300 a pro-American agenda is one narrow way of looking at it, because it can be easily swung the other way around as well.

And until a study tells me that a significant amount of people who watched the movie noticed a political agenda, I'll also stand by that this movie for all intent and purposes was pure entertainment value.
Diazepam
post Mar 15 2007, 10:55 AM

289 posts

I did not call 300 pro-American.

In case you missed it, my post was a broadbrush sweep in general. It could be pro-Middle Eastern, pro-Singaporean, pro-Malaysian - whatever.

And good then, we'll agree to disagree.
zio
post Mar 15 2007, 11:11 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Dont we always agree do disagree? biggrin.gif

Thats what make discussions so good tongue.gif

ps: I do know you were making a general brush sweep but the majority of the critics have been going on about how the movie pro-american..
PrivateJohn
post Mar 15 2007, 11:19 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Mar 14 2007, 02:24 PM)
By the way, i think this is the most off-topic conversation in the 360 that has bypassed the mods tongue.gif
Ok, i gona give myself an excuse...make it two.

1st - It's something to do with xb360 community...going for movie.
2nd - Spartan!!! Spartan..somehow it's related to Master Chief in Halo...spartan too!!!

Anyway regarding the anti-300 thingy, i think it's lame. With movie like The Da Vinci Code...you can say it's anti-christ or anti-allthingamerican??? So when is this pro-xxx gona end? It's just a fictional movie...

Those politician need to shut up and do their job as a professional politician, not comedian.
matty
post Mar 15 2007, 12:00 PM

347 posts

SPARTAN rulez........ gonna watch it again this weekend. too bad about the censorship. they shoudn't hav any censorship in it coz its a 18sx rating only adult allow so why with the stupid censorship. hehehe... smile.gif
zio
post Mar 15 2007, 12:21 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

What censorship? Raunchy scenes that does nothing for the movie? Haha dont worry, you won't miss a thing.
matty
post Mar 15 2007, 12:31 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Mar 15 2007, 12:21 PM)
What censorship? Raunchy scenes that does nothing for the movie? Haha dont worry, you won't miss a thing.
aiya.. u spoil everything for me d la.... sad.gif
SUSleenaz
post Mar 15 2007, 12:34 PM

29 posts

any updated for movie gathering??
perhaps watch for 2nd,3rd.4th times
tongue.gif
hairyLGS
post Mar 15 2007, 02:45 PM

209 posts

I can never understand what is there to argue when "300" is a good movie and it ends there...

The movie wasn't even made for Propaganda purpose (as today's newspaper The Star pointed out how Iran was angry at the movie where the Spartans are not even Americans at all and they don't even know it's based on a graphic novel/comic book miniseries) but truely was made because Zack Snyder was a fan of Frank Miller (read his interview in IGN)...

Hollywood is there to entertain and also to rake our cash cows into their bank accounts. But propaganda? Isn't that far-fetch? During the 1940s, many movies were made into propaganda because of government intervention... in today's standard, what propaganda is there?

I feel to argue points of who is right or who is wrong is getting too deep into a movie like "300" whereby this movie is based on Frank Miller's version of his comic book mini-series. Not even about the history behind the 300 Spartans... comic book, fiction...

I fear later when Watchmen is shown here in Malaysia... more Propaganda will be involve... geez...
Lord_Ashe
post Mar 15 2007, 02:49 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Hairy: When Watchmen is shown here (if ever) I suppose who eats the chillies will feel hot eh?
stringfellow
post Mar 15 2007, 02:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Hahahahah, i dont even have to come in here for other to rebuke your post, dear Diazepam. Zio, HairyLGS and even our mod PJ said it best. Those in power would so much dearly wants to politicize everything, movies included. If mankind are so easily swayed by taking whatever being portrayed on the silver screen as the ultimate truth, rather than interpretation of it, then i give up with mankind. If we as human has come to that low, we shouldnt even be appointed the caretaker of this world and kill ourselves already.

Fancy a little story? Try living in North Korea and see how "retelling of history" takes a whole different meaning there, all for the sake of your precious politics and propaganda. What's happening in this movie is the the very lightest of tainting of the truth, the only reason why propagandist like you marked it as important is because it is a popular medium of telling a story, market a product, spread your messages across, political notwithstanding.

So, if you fancy everything to be POLITICAL and laced with CONSPIRACY, then feel free to to think as such. I go to my movies for entertainment, not listening to mass public rallies to sway my political standing, if i have any. Which is why i loathe politics in all its form, it is inherently dirty, even those who meant to do good. It is like choosing between two lesser evils.

Have fun at your movies, im sure our next summer movies like Spider-Man 3, Pirates of Caribbean 3, or even poor Shrek 3 will get politicized by you every time you step into that cinema hall. Me? I just wanna enjoy Spider-Man beating the crap outta Sandman, Captain Jack Sparrow's faceoff with SaoFeng, and Shrek finding King Arthur in these movies. Zero political agendas, maximum enjoyment. Sorry if that sound a little shallow, but i treat my movies as such, unless they are laden with meanings and messages worth pondering for. Pity that you cant enjoy the movie "as it is" and had to insert whatever political angles you care to debate in it. Enjoy! laugh.gif

Added on March 15, 2007, 3:07 pmSimply put, try exit polls. You do know what those are right?

Exit polls are a survey of how the audience react about a certain movie after it has been screened. That way, you get their most earnest opinion about the movie, since their mind are still fresh with the thoughts and messages they get from the movie.

The simplest for of exit polls/surveys you can get is going out with your bunch of friends. Ask them what they think of the movie. Do they IMMEDIATELY think of the American/Iraq/Iran and tie them to specific groups in the movie, or are they only thinking as such, when avid propagandist like you bring them up. I can bet my entire console collection plus their games here, that they would think more of the action set-pieces in the movie, and next about the message the movie brought across, which is valor, honor and freedom. Once that comes to mind, then only people like you will bring politics into the equation, when there are no such intentions.

The war in the Middle East is fading from our thoughts, we think little of it when it comes to our daily lives. It is people like you who would like to bring those convoluted crap back into our faces, when things like these are the matters that divides peace-loving people like us.

I dont see anything remotely political in the movie, other than a bunch of people fighting for their freedom from oppression of a bigger bunch of people. If you read more into that, then i suggest you exercise that brain power on something more worthwhile, rather than hatching endless political skews.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 15 2007, 03:34 PM
hairyLGS
post Mar 15 2007, 03:21 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Mar 15 2007, 02:49 PM)
Hairy: When Watchmen is shown here (if ever) I suppose who eats the chillies will feel hot eh?
Kekekeke... I think the arguement will be "who's politically correct on this movie version" between movie-goers and fans of Watchmen...

Lord_Ashe
post Mar 15 2007, 03:29 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Hairy: LOL. I'm so afraid for Watchmen...there's so much to butcher!
HKNP
post Mar 15 2007, 03:50 PM

481 posts

watched it yesterday night,
great movie and it brings back a lot of memories on other's movie as well..

let me name some:

Starwar - Darth Vader.
Lord of the Ring - Stalker

ahah Lionaides .... jo are not my son... hahhaha (heavy breathing)
stringfellow
post Mar 15 2007, 03:53 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Glad you enjoyed it HKNP. Meant to be enjoyed that way too, i reckon.
zio
post Mar 15 2007, 04:35 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Watchmen shall not be butchered!!!! There is like a hardcover collection sitting there in Mid Valley..so tempting...
Diazepam
post Mar 15 2007, 04:47 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 15 2007, 02:58 PM)
Hahahahah, i dont even have to come in here for other to rebuke your post, dear Diazepam.
'Rebuke' my post? You're joking, right?

What's happening in this movie is the the very lightest of tainting of the truth, the only reason why propagandist like you marked it as important is because it is a popular medium of telling a story, market a product, spread your messages across, political notwithstanding.
Are we resorting to name-calling now?

Is it an assumption on your part or do you have concrete proof of my role as a 'propagandist'? I don't believe we've even had any sort of internet communication prior to this.

So, if you fancy everything to be POLITICAL and laced with CONSPIRACY, then feel free to to think as such.
Yes, I have already said that I WILL hold a contrarian view to yours.

Have fun at your movies, im sure our next summer movies like Spider-Man 3, Pirates of Caribbean 3, or even poor Shrek 3 will get politicized by you every time you step into that cinema hall. Me? I just wanna enjoy Spider-Man beating the crap outta Sandman, Captain Jack Sparrow's faceoff with SaoFeng, and Shrek finding King Arthur in these movies. Zero political agendas, maximum enjoyment. Sorry if that sound a little shallow, but i treat my movies as such, unless they are laden with meanings and messages worth pondering for. Pity that you cant enjoy the movie "as it is" and had to insert whatever political angles you care to debate in it. Enjoy! laugh.gif
Again, I am unable to understand how you can assume so much with so little information about me.

Do they IMMEDIATELY think of the American/Iraq/Iran and tie them to specific groups in the movie,
Yes, to have them not equate it to politics is the general intention.

or are they only thinking as such, when avid propagandist like you bring them up.
Yet again.

Once that comes to mind, then only people like you will bring politics into the equation, when there are no such intentions.
I did not bring politics to anything, did I? I was responding to your post that was already laden with politics.

It is people like you who would like to bring those convoluted crap back into our faces, when things like these are the matters that divides peace-loving people like us.
And yet again. Do you even know me? Who ARE people like 'me'?

If you read more into that, then i suggest you exercise that brain power on something more worthwhile, rather than hatching endless political skews.
And you know that I don't because? And you know I 'hatch endless political skews' because?

---

It is pretty obvious that you are unable to have a civil discussion with a divergence of opinions without resorting to an infantile need to name-call and to assume based on a shallow intepretation of what have been posted.

As a 'peace-loving people', do you not find that neutrality is needed? Should you have any problems comprehending my earlier post, may I suggest that you read it again with an open mind - and not one tainted with your own personal bias.

I specifically said to YOU that you will doubtlessly disagree and that you will attempt to reply precisely because of the kind of response that was forthcoming - I have read your other posts in this forum. If I was as confident about the others' inability to hold a civil discussion, I would have addressed it to everyone - which I didn't. Nor did I feel that no one else would post replies to my post.

Unlike you, I do not feel the need to lambast every single reply that are polar opposites of mine, so please do note that I have mostly chosen to question/reply you on statements that have been directed towards me at a personal level, which I feel should have been unnecessary, given your self-admitted bias towards 'peace'.

Once again, have a nice day. nod.gif
Hitman190
post Mar 15 2007, 05:03 PM

589 posts

Wei Wei

Peace brothers!! icon_rolleyes.gif

We Play together remember?? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

That sounded very ghey indeed... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hitman190: Mar 15 2007, 05:03 PM

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top