Review Xiaomi Mijia Dashcam

TSblurjoey
post Nov 8 2017, 09:23 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Nov 8 2017, 04:12 PM)
Hi blurjoey,

I noticed that this Mi Dash Cam app is still in beta version? If I want to use this alternative app, do I need to uninstall the MiHome? TQ
No need to install the Mihome. Can have both together. Mihome have other products.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 9 2017, 12:50 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Nov 9 2017, 12:10 PM)
Anyone here use the wifi to transfer the video? Its super slow for me! I think less than 1mb/s.
Never tried. Only used for streaming on the phone. I usually take out the card for faster access to the videos.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 15 2017, 03:05 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha_Itachi1991 @ Nov 15 2017, 02:03 PM)
is this memory card suitable to be used with the dashcam? I have 1 that i bought 1 year ago but havent used before... when i tried using it with the dashcam, after 30 mins of recording, its will prompt an error message stating the memory card is not detected/rqst to reformat...

https://www.lazada.com.my/kingston-64gb-mic...sc=MSsE&rb=1067
Never tested with Kingston before.

But am using Samsung Evo Plus which is good.

Here is cheap in Lazada
https://www.lazada.com.my/samsung-64gb-100m...r-11934699.html
TSblurjoey
post Nov 16 2017, 12:14 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Nov 15 2017, 10:43 PM)
number plate can see clearly? daytime & night?
Yes, very clearly when the car has stopped moving laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

There are videos for you to watch on the 1st post.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 16 2017, 12:16 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha_Itachi1991 @ Nov 15 2017, 07:23 PM)
samsung evo plus is definitely the card i will buy if i need to since most ppl recommended it but I was just wondering if there is any issue with this kingston (compatibality or the card faulty) since i keep getting error message... afaik the only requirement is that the memory card should be class 10 for it to be compatible for dashcam right?
I haven't seen anyone had any issues with Kingston card yet or no one has tried. Maybe you want to buy and try Kingston? Do let us know the results.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 18 2017, 12:10 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Alastor @ Nov 17 2017, 10:48 PM)
how much does it cost?
Less than rm200...
TSblurjoey
post Nov 20 2017, 01:52 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Nov 19 2017, 01:35 PM)
blurjoey Some questions before getting it...

1. any image stabilization?
2. how quick is the release?
3. able to use as normal action camera? got on and off button if used outdoor outside car?
4. Can charge with computer or phone charger?
5. When park under hot sun do you leave it inside?
6. Got english firmware already? or can flash eng firmware?
7. Can off the G-sensor?
8. Able to select crop video on mijia before download the section to phone?
9. any Yi vs Mijia smarkdown review yet?
10. any good reason to go for Yi instead of Mijia? kopipeng
11. is it a real problem unable to see number plat in Mijia as reported by siong612 earlier?

hope you guys can help clearing some doubts which later can serves as FAQ.  icon_rolleyes.gif
1. Last checked, no dashcams have IS feature.
2. You mean release from the mount? Actually depends on you laugh.gif
3. It's a dashcam. Not action cam. But yes can use the dashcam outside of the vehicle to record maybe for about 5-10 minutes as the lithium battery is only 240mAh. There is a power button for you to turn on and off the dashcam.
4. Yes.
5. I usually never take down my dashcams. No matter it's capacitor or lithium dashcams.
6. Not yet. Maybe in the future, Mijia will release an English firmware.
7. Did you go thru my review? There is a picture on my blog that I've translated for the menus on the Mijia dashcam including the Gsensor settings. I did mention more translated menus screenshots on my blog. Yes, you can off the Gsensor.
8. Nope. Only able to download the 1-minute video to your phone. Think most smartphones can do video cropping if not mistaken. I prefer taking down the microSD and use my computer more. But I do have an OTG microSD card reader in my car.
9. I'm sure on post #1, I've got put some Mijia Dashcam VS Yi Dashcam videos that I did. Anyway, I got some asking me to do new VS videos for Mijia dashcam vs Yi Dashcam King Edition (aka Ultra) vs SJ Dash. Maybe after my Vicovation Opia1 and ThinkWare F800 Pro review first.
10. Yi Dashcam is 2 years old specs. Unless you're talking about the new Yi Dashcam King Edition (aka Ultra). Then maybe that King Edition as the I saw some advantages over the Mijia Dashcam.
11. Well, usually no dashcam can capture license plate clearly at night while moving fast. Unless you have an accident, then cars usually will slow down and you can capture the license plates clearly.

Hope I answered all your questions sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 20 2017, 01:53 AM
TSblurjoey
post Nov 20 2017, 01:04 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(MsPopcorn @ Nov 20 2017, 10:55 AM)
saw your thread about the XiaoYi Ultra.. how's the voice command? what instructions you can use ya?
There are only 2 commands to do the following: 1. Record emergency video 2. Take photo

Tried a few times, was working good.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 20 2017, 02:23 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(MsPopcorn @ Nov 20 2017, 02:09 PM)
i see...

so sad, i just ordered the Mijia Dashcam until now i saw your XiaoYi Ultra  cry.gif
Both are good dashcams laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Nov 20 2017, 04:17 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(cs17 @ Nov 20 2017, 02:38 PM)
Not sure as not much review from buyers?
TSblurjoey
post Nov 21 2017, 10:40 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(cs17 @ Nov 21 2017, 10:27 AM)
U get from who bro?mind to share?hav any link on it?
I got my King Edition from kopiPeng

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4351085

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 21 2017, 10:42 AM
TSblurjoey
post Nov 21 2017, 10:00 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(MsPopcorn @ Nov 21 2017, 06:09 PM)
anyone able to install front n rear using mijia? wondering hows the installation look like.. biggrin.gif
Depends on car... Mijia a bit too big for rear though laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Nov 23 2017, 10:45 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(uncle wong @ Nov 23 2017, 08:12 PM)
After updated to new software, no loop recording and there is no setting option for loop recording.
Btw, i am using mi home app because using iphone.
Anybody can confirm? Thank
All these while don't have loop recording option. It's stuck on 2 minutes loop.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 24 2017, 10:40 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(uncle wong @ Nov 24 2017, 06:39 AM)
Yes but mine now continuous recording.
In Mi Home app, my video length 30mins.
This is weird.
Do a factory reset and see
TSblurjoey
post Dec 8 2017, 09:36 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Dec 8 2017, 12:19 AM)
Are this 2 good deal?
Yup... I use Samsung Evo Plus a lot in my testings...
TSblurjoey
post Dec 8 2017, 10:21 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(lucky_gal88 @ Dec 8 2017, 04:44 PM)
How long can it last for one time charge?
5-15 minutes maybe... This a dashcam and not meant to be used without external power supply...
TSblurjoey
post Feb 1 2018, 10:42 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Feb 1 2018, 08:53 AM)
Just updated mine to 1.0.13... now with English interface!
Yup finally with english interface... Yi King Edition going backward and removed the english interface with latest fw...
TSblurjoey
post Feb 1 2018, 11:38 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(MsPopcorn @ Feb 1 2018, 01:33 PM)
hi, guys..

any idea why iphone couldnt connect to dashcam?

i tried, and there is a permission request appear in dashcam and when i click 'allow' then my phone disconnected from pairing.. weird
Did you set the region as China?
TSblurjoey
post Feb 2 2018, 09:51 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Feb 2 2018, 08:05 AM)
hi

want to ask how much is mijia? & can it long lasting under sun light??
any reliable shop or link can provide?
btw, 32gb can recorder for how many day? i planing to recorder when i drive to office or drive back.
each way took 45min, so pigi balik is around 1.30 hour perday,
Tq
It's about US53.99 (RM210+-) in Gearbest.

There are lots of sellers online selling also. Local shops not sure.

You mean how long will the battery last in our hot weather? This depends on the lithium battery inside. Maybe a year or more or less or 6 months?

32GB can record about 3+- hours of drive video. If you need to keep longer, get a 64GB which can record about 6+- hours.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 2 2018, 09:56 AM
TSblurjoey
post Feb 2 2018, 09:55 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(MsPopcorn @ Feb 2 2018, 09:51 AM)
u mean in the phone app? yes..because i'm using the app for the cctv as well
Try a factory reset of the Mijia dashcam then try to connect to the Mi Home app again.

If not, try this Mi Dash Cam app...

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mi-dash-cam...1324981254?mt=8

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:57 PM