126 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

SUSkockroach
post May 18 2010, 01:36 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ May 16 2010, 03:33 AM)
Dear all sifu, need advice and suggestion in my draft itinerary below, kindly point out for any place of interest, nice food that I missed out. Need your help as I'm currently on working trip @ Qatar hence no time for me to plan thoroughly. Thank you.

27th June 2010
Depart from KL @ 0950h, reach Taoyuan @ 1450h, reach hotel, unpack, refresh @ 1700h
Visit
1. Shilin night market
2. Ximending
Eat
1. Shilin night market food stall, refer kampungboy blog
2. 阿宗面线, 成都杨桃冰
Hotel
1. 台北常民宿集 @ http://taipeihostel.blogspot.com/
2. CityInn @ http://www.cityinn.com.tw/

28th June 2010
Depart to Hualian @ 0800h
Visit
1. Dolphin & whale tour (1st priority, any recommendation?)
2. Taroko, Chinsui cliff, 9洞 (2nd priority)
Eat
1. Need recommendation, anything special?
Hotel
1. Need recommendation, stay in Hualian or back to Taipei?

29th June 2010
Visit
1. Morning, Taipei 101, Newyork Newyork, Chiang Kai Sek memorial
2. Evening, Danshui, Lover’s bridge, Fisherman’s wharf
3. Night, Beitou
Eat
1. Need recommendation, anything special?
Hotel
1. Beitou (need recommendation, hotel with hotspring?)

30th June 2010
Visit
1. Longshan Temple
2. Wufenpu
3. Raohe Street night market
Eat
1. Tripod King 鼎王麻辣锅
Hotel
1. 薇阁汽车旅馆 @ http://www.we-go.com.tw/dazhi/index.aspx

1st July 2010
Visit, Eat
1. Fu Hang Dou Jiang 阜杭豆漿
2. Taiwan Story Land 台灣故事館
3. Ah Sui Sai Pork’s Trotter 阿水獅豬腳大王
4. 688 Beef Noodles 牛爸爸牛肉麵
5. 101
6. Shin Kong Mitsukoshi
7. New York New York
8. Shida Night Market
Hotel
3. 台北常民宿集 @ http://taipeihostel.blogspot.com/
4. CityInn @ http://www.cityinn.com.tw/

2nd July 2010
Depart from Taoyuan @ 1540h
Any recommendation for the morning??
Any one? Need help here. Thanks
maru
post May 18 2010, 11:30 AM

1,191 posts

Hi guys/gals,

just wondering what is the average price for taiwan return ticket? i saw air asia doin promo now but end up rm660 including tax

any experience ?
stimix
post May 18 2010, 11:46 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

My flight cost me RM780 to/fro. AA real promo, somone got it for ~RM400 b4 but not easy to get. Avg AA is ~ RM800.
limbrian
post May 18 2010, 12:21 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 18 2010, 11:46 AM)
My flight cost me RM780 to/fro. AA real promo, somone got it for ~RM400 b4 but not easy to get. Avg AA is ~ RM800.
I used 2 hours time to book promo ticket with RM313 from 6 - 12 April. rclxms.gif
lhongwuh
post May 18 2010, 12:24 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ May 17 2010, 08:13 PM)
I'm trying to book the express train tickets from Taipei to Hualien. However, from the schedule on the website, it shows:

自強  1082  山  彰化 至 花蓮  17:02  19:12  2小時10分  逢週日行駛。太魯閣號,不發售無座票。 
自強  1069  --  樹林 至 花蓮  17:40  19:46  2小時6分  逢週五至日行駛。太魯閣號,不發售無座票。 

Did you guys board the train to Hualien from Taipei in Taipei Main Terminal or other train stations (彰化 and 樹林)? From the schedule above, it's just the boarding location that is different?
i board from 瑞芳 to 花莲 as it's in my plan, then 花莲 to 台北
u can board any place ma...just follow ur plan la...

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 17 2010, 10:34 PM)
hi, my estimated arrival time is 6/6, 11.30pm.....will the money changer open?

coz we only bring USD to taiwan....
yes, open.
soonx
post May 18 2010, 12:25 PM

93 posts

Finally i booked tix to Taipei for RM250 / person at the end of feb2011. hurray ! smile.gif
limbrian
post May 18 2010, 02:37 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(soonx @ May 18 2010, 12:25 PM)
Finally i booked tix to Taipei for RM250 / person at the end of feb2011. hurray ! smile.gif
wow.. what is your one way rate? coz i only got the cheapest with RM74..

HotChocolate
post May 19 2010, 01:03 AM

452 posts

Any good 麻辣火锅 (ma la huo go) to intro?
phlagos
post May 19 2010, 06:22 PM

25 posts

Hi guys/gals, need some help here.

I m going to taiwan on 17th June till 25th June. (9 Days 7 Night)

My flight will reach Taoyuan airport around 10.30pm 17th June , few more hours it will be 18th June already.

Is there any nice hotel with good rate to stay at Taipei. I checked the GocityInn, its full sad.gif, if no choice i have to stay at Xi Men Ding. As i read online, Xi Men Ding night market is closed around 10.30pm, there won't be anything to eat or see when i reach there.
So i would really like to stay at hotel near the Taipei Main Station.

I want to go to Taoyuan Window On China themepark the next day when i reach Taipei. Wondering, how to manage all those hotel booking as i trip is
i got 7 days of travelling there.

Places i will be going is :
- Taipei Area (2~3 days)
- Taoyuan Window On China ( Spend 1 night at the theme park hotel there),
- Keelung area, Yehliu , Jinguashi, Jiufen ( Maybe spend 1 night at the jiufen inn or B&B , i saw the pics its very nice)

Now the big problem is; should i reserve 7 Night at Taipei / Xi Men Ding Hotel and travel to the other county of taiwan like Keelung

or

I keep switching hotel after few days..... I m afraid of the inconvenience of carrying luggage and other items if i visit other places and keep switching hotels.

Any nice suggestion from you guys/gals who faced this situation before.

stimix
post May 19 2010, 07:00 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For 7Days..U should reserve 1 day to Hualien Taroko.

Xi Meng Ding is not nite market. It's just yuppies shops wth some legal/illegal sellers on bicycle-carts beside & on the roads surrounding that area...More shops than those "Chow kwai"
phlagos
post May 19 2010, 07:43 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 19 2010, 07:00 PM)
For 7Days..U should reserve 1 day to Hualien Taroko.

Xi Meng Ding is not nite market. It's just yuppies shops wth some legal/illegal sellers on bicycle-carts beside & on the roads surrounding that area...More shops than those "Chow kwai"
Finally booked hotel smile.gif

For the Hualien , Taroko area , roughly how much is the transport fee and entrance?

This post has been edited by phlagos: May 20 2010, 01:03 PM
McCabePlace
post May 20 2010, 01:14 PM

QUOTE(Argiope @ May 17 2010, 08:13 PM)
I'm trying to book the express train tickets from Taipei to Hualien. However, from the schedule on the website, it shows:

自強  1082  山  彰化 至 花蓮  17:02  19:12  2小時10分  逢週日行駛。太魯閣號,不發售無座票。 
自強  1069  --  樹林 至 花蓮  17:40  19:46  2小時6分  逢週五至日行駛。太魯閣號,不發售無座票。 

Did you guys board the train to Hualien from Taipei in Taipei Main Terminal or other train stations (彰化 and 樹林)? From the schedule above, it's just the boarding location that is different?
That's the origin point of that train number. So long at the website you choose Taipei, they will quote you the correct fare from Taipei to Hualien. Cannot board at any point, coz ticket will print as from Taipei and not Shulin for 1069 coz you chose Taipei. The fare is different from different stations.

McCabePlace
post May 20 2010, 01:22 PM

QUOTE(phlagos @ May 19 2010, 07:43 PM)
Finally booked hotel smile.gif

For the Hualien , Taroko area , roughly how much is  the transport fee and entrance?
Tarako no need entrance fee one.

The only expense (excluding food and shopping, if any) is your tour which is either those day tour group by bus (approx NT700 to NT750/pax) or your hired cab, which can range from NT2,200 to NT3,500 depending on where you found the driver/places you want to go.

I stayed all days in Taipei and no problem with that coz travelling in Taiwan is so convenient. I lazy to pack and unpack coz got old folks and toddler in my group of 6. The express train from Taipei to Hualien is NTD794 return for adult when I went in early April 2010.

This post has been edited by McCabePlace: May 20 2010, 01:23 PM
McCabePlace
post May 20 2010, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(kockroach @ May 18 2010, 01:36 AM)
Any one? Need help here. Thanks
Don't think you can fit the dolphin tour and tarako in one day for 28th June.
make87
post May 20 2010, 01:40 PM

684 posts

there are many hotel near the Taipei Main Station, like cityinn , he jia huan etc depend on your demand, it is convenient when travel around taipei city and get a hotel near the train station.

(Keelung area, Yehliu) one area , (Jinguashi, Jiufen) another area , you wont have time to travel both in same day, only can choose one of it.

if choose (Keelung area, Yehliu) , can go 渔人码头also, nearby, can travel back taipei city for accomodation by 捷运

if choose (Jinguashi, Jiufen) , better get a 民宿 in jiufen, cheap & nice ^^

1 day to Hualien Taroko ? just the transportation would waste you half day to go there . . . . . better get at lease 2 days or 3days if you want a full trip to there. Nice place, highly advisable to choose this place. accommodation cheap also.

sunnyboy
post May 20 2010, 02:06 PM

1,446 posts

me booked taipeihostel for all my 6days trip.

hope the location convenience for me.

me priority for this trip is to makan, some sight seeing and little bit of shopping...can anyone help suggest?

btw, there's a catch, my wife she just pregnant for 17weeks on that period (6/6 till 12/6) dun think walk too much will be suitable for her...

This post has been edited by sunnyboy: May 20 2010, 02:08 PM
stimix
post May 20 2010, 02:08 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well, Taroko is just nice within 5hrs sight seeing & another 5 hrs of travelling to/fro why can't..I had relaxing traveling to Taroko..2hrs by Taroko express & 3.5hrs by normal train bck to Taipei...

Added on May 20, 2010, 2:11 pmThe Shangdao MRT station is just within 200M out from the hostel. But for food surrounding the hostel abit difficult. U have to walk further on the opposite side ~ Mc D area & further at the back lane for food. Otherwise, just take the MRT every nite to Xi Meng Ding..haha only 2 stations away..

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 20 2010, 02:06 PM)
me booked taipeihostel for all my 6days trip.

hope the location convenience for me.

me priority for this trip is to makan, some sight seeing and little bit of shopping...can anyone help suggest?

btw, there's a catch, my wife she just pregnant for 17weeks on that period (6/6 till 12/6) dun think walk too much will be suitable for her...
This post has been edited by stimix: May 20 2010, 02:11 PM
andrewlim8
post May 20 2010, 05:19 PM

29 posts

just came back from taipei.

just remind u all, better dun put valuable goods in your luggage, when we reached taipei, 3 of our luggage bags' lock got broken, n something was missing. i believed those LCCT guys were doing that.

must inform all of your friends.

This post has been edited by andrewlim8: May 20 2010, 05:29 PM
phlagos
post May 20 2010, 07:46 PM

25 posts

Hi guys/gals, me again ahahaha.

Any1 here know the way to TaoYuan Window On China Theme Park?

I saw on some forum , there are 2 ways:

First Option: Board the MRT train to Jing-an MRT Station and transfer to the bus outside Jing-an MRT Station (last pick-up stop). The same bus departing Songshan Airport will stop at Jing-an MRT Station for pick-ups. Fare: NT$220 (return) Travel time: About 1 hr

Second Option: Board railway trains from Taipei to Jhongli (also spelled Chungli).

At the front of Jhongli Railway Station (中坜火车站), board Hsinchu buses direct to Window On China. Purchase bus ticket from the ticket machine placed outside the bus station office. Fare: NT$49 Travel time: About 50 mins. Bus frequency: Every 30 mins

I will be staying at Xi Men Ding area. Which way is cost efficient or convenient for me. Another thing confusion for me is the transport in taiwan.

They got TRA, MRT/TRTS , train, railway...... o_0 many different lines.

Added on May 20, 2010, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(make87 @ May 20 2010, 01:40 PM)
there are many hotel near the Taipei Main Station, like cityinn , he jia huan etc depend on your  demand, it is convenient when travel around taipei city and get a hotel near the train station.

(Keelung area, Yehliu) one area , (Jinguashi, Jiufen) another area , you wont have time to travel both in same day, only can choose one of it.

if choose (Keelung area, Yehliu) , can go 渔人码头also, nearby, can travel back taipei city for accomodation by 捷运

if choose (Jinguashi, Jiufen) , better get a 民宿 in jiufen, cheap & nice ^^

1 day to Hualien Taroko ? just the transportation would waste you half day to go there . . . . . better get at lease 2 days or 3days if you want a full trip to there. Nice place, highly advisable to choose this place. accommodation cheap also.
Hi make87, i have taken your suggestion into consideration.

I have booked 1 night 民宿 stay at Jiufen, i wanna see the wonderful night view there.

So 1 day is for Jinguashi (morning - afternoon) + Jiufen ( Afternoon - overnight).

The next morning, i want to go to Keelung - Yehliu area and Danshui 渔人码头 , is Jiufen nearby those area after i have stayed a night at Jiufen?

Added on May 20, 2010, 9:37 pm
QUOTE(McCabePlace @ May 20 2010, 01:22 PM)
Tarako no need entrance fee one.

The only expense (excluding food and shopping, if any) is your tour which is either those day tour group by bus (approx NT700 to NT750/pax) or your hired cab, which can range from NT2,200 to NT3,500 depending on where you found the driver/places you want to go.

I stayed all days in Taipei and no problem with that coz travelling in Taiwan is so convenient.  I lazy to pack and unpack coz got old folks and toddler in my group of 6.  The express train from Taipei to Hualien is NTD794 return for adult when I went in early April 2010.
Taroko gorge is a nice place, but it kind of eats up a lot of time and money alone for visiting there. i m still considering, low on budget x_x

Added on May 21, 2010, 7:29 pm

Wanna update some info here:

I just redempted some nice item at Wisma Goldhill, Jln Raja Chulan.

For people travelling to Taiwan within June , they have a Promotion, they gave either :

Easy Card NT50

or

Theme Park Entrance Ticket for all the theme park in Taiwan ( Yes, Including Window On China, for Doraemon)<--- more worth than the easy card.

The Window On China Theme Park showcasing doraemon stuff will last till January 2011, so better go there to see it within this year.

This post has been edited by phlagos: May 21 2010, 07:29 PM
dylan88
post May 24 2010, 03:15 AM

27 posts

HEY GUYS~

need recommendation on the dining at Taipei! will be going at 2nd june to 9th june.

Any MUST TRY foods or restaurant at taipei? can sifus recommend to me ?

Help needed here.I have done planning my itinerary. Just the dining part.

Thanks for any help~

126 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:40 AM