4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

LYN Toyota Avanza Owners V2, Discussions, Talks, Sharing

zeng
post May 23 2020, 01:05 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(apizoHAFEEZ @ May 22 2020, 10:27 PM)
Good to know, I never thought of that gearing ratio. Thanks for the reminder. But since 1.3 has gearing ratio of 5.571:1 compared to 5.125:1 in the 1.5 variant, it should mean that the car should run at similar efficiency with the 1.3 variant with more pickup. Correct me if I'm wrong.
More pickup torque , yes .

Similar efficiency , no if by efficiency you mean to say fuel consumption .

In other words, under typical light to medium load operating conditions having a modified 1.5L engine in a 1.3L chassis is less efficient with higher fuel consumption in your context ,
when compared against unmodified original 1.3L or 1.5L engine/chassis combo respectively .

This post has been edited by zeng: May 23 2020, 01:07 PM
zeng
post Jul 28 2020, 11:18 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jul 28 2020, 04:00 AM)
333k++ still power ? recently feel low power after 100km/h, not sure how to improve it, asked few workshop, they say go for overhaul, but I don't think so will improve alot. Thinking any part old already need to change ?
Their suggestions of overhaul is stupid and dumb , IMHO .
These are fake 'experts' .
TS, give fuel injector treatments a try if you are not already using BHP fuels .

This post has been edited by zeng: Jul 28 2020, 11:19 AM
zeng
post Aug 2 2020, 09:42 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Aug 2 2020, 01:11 PM)
Tried fuel injector treatments, i feel like it just a gimmick.
Btw, I 'm maintaining full synthetic + ron97 all the time.

Can do partial overhaul but not full overhaul. But need to find some expert to do it, if go normal workshop, he sure tell you to change all wear n tear  rclxms.gif
My Avanza is 307K km now .
Engine no makan engine oil with 5W40 (I dont use xW30) , yours consume engine oil or not ?
At 40 psi tyre pressure, with BHP RON 95 (not 97 ) my fuel consumption is 13km plus /L traveling outstation to and fro KL/Malacca by PLUS .
Travel to office at KL Sentral by Federal Highway before 6.45 and not much jam and returns by Bangsar NPE to home and internal Subang Jaya trips to local shops/supermarkets/visits friends overall can get 11 -12 or 12.5 km/L .
When I got 10 km/L 12 months ago , the car was starting and driving in normal form ,no signs of problem with pick up etc . Only consumption drops to 10 km/L . then,
Replace cheapo normal sparks (after 3 to 4 years usage of some 65K km plus) and found spark plugs gap was as big as 3 mm (pening kepala ) .
Still no improvement .
Send back workshop for check by computer found O2 voltage out of spec. Replace Denso O2 sensor then can get back above fuel consumption figures which I'm very happy till todate .
Pick up , power etc has always been no problem and good IMO .
I have 15k to 17k km oil change intervals .

Can your car behave like mine above ? If no , what are the difference in xxx km/L or no power or makan minyak engine ??

I ask so many questions is because I don't believe your car requires top/major overhaul if no kuat makan minyak engine (indicating your valve seals and piston ring sets are good and ok) .

Bad fuel consumption (caused by not using BHP or spark plugs , OS sensor, distributor system, injector a bit dirty etc ) or drop in pick up performance (loose makan minyak engine and low tyre pressure at 31/35 psi etc ). All these likely doesn't require overhauls IMO .

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 2 2020, 09:48 PM
zeng
post Aug 3 2020, 12:16 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Aug 2 2020, 11:18 PM)
Send back workshop for check by computer found O2 voltage out of spec.

Where you did this ? I might need to check mine because I replaced a vacuum sensor in this year. Not sure is it affected the F/C.
My mechanic whatsapp me photo showing OS sensor voltage was out of spec , (due to time lag ) by the time I whatsapp him to try clean and cuci the sensor if possible ( which I know it can be done by DIY guys , but time consuming a bit for mechanic and patience is required in cleaning works , which was ok for me ) , he told me he has ordered and the original parts delivered .
So I agree with part replacement charging me RM 180 as he said Denso parts not much cheaper than this .

Total labour cost RM 180 a lot other works like replace engine mountings, oil cooler seals etc replacements etc .

Mind asking why don't you get your workshop computer confirming O2 sensor voltage out to replace it there and then . Instead a vacuum sensor is replaced ?

PM you my contact .

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 3 2020, 12:22 AM
zeng
post Aug 3 2020, 08:51 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ Aug 3 2020, 07:52 PM)
during mco i also start the car every 3 or 4 days, but battery also kong.
maybe battery already not good condition.
It would have helped a lot once every 3 to 4 days of MCO, start and drive around kind of aimlessly for about 20 minutes to 'exercise' the engine system including electricals .
zeng
post Sep 26 2020, 07:50 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Sep 25 2020, 03:29 PM)
I already got it yesterday and tested, it works. But hard to set it up initially as usual china manual is crap.

This is the steps after you download the app:-

1) setup account name etc and car details if u using for several cars
2) start engine, plug it in. It will update the firmware.
3) after update, turn off engine unplug, turn off app. redo it all again. it will detect now.
4) vehicle detect, will keep on running. let it run for like 1-2mins, then turn off engine. the data will appear showing what scan done. if got problem it will show an error on that item.

This what I bought. See the review, u can see my snap shot of the vehicle detection scan read out.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10050013324....65184c4dsMJgSH
Can this tool detect ATF temperature and Engine Oil temperature ? Likely not right ?
zeng
post Nov 1 2020, 09:26 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Oct 31 2020, 03:39 PM)
did a heavy part replacement effort for my avanza 2008 recently. Changed front and rear abs (kyb excel), change new front lower arms and links, cleaned the engine bottom tray, changed the front brake cylinders, pads, and pins. Sort of solved my lari alignment case and makan tayar case for the left front tyre. However, still pending to install extra camber screws and replace the steering rack bush.

Question: any reliable aftermarket steering rack bush that is not rubber-made?
Mind sharing the before & after alignment screenshots of an Avanza if you have any ?

It has been difficult to seek out the factory specs .
zeng
post Nov 3 2020, 10:19 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Nov 3 2020, 09:10 AM)
what do u mean by extra camber screws?
I think he/she is meant to say camber screws are required (as parts replacement and its purchase) to rectify an out-of-spec camber angle readings after 'repairing' the steering/suspension system .

No, camber screw replacements is not always a scam , as is often quoted here in F&F , not suggesting all or most tyre wheel alignment shops are honest .

This post has been edited by zeng: Nov 3 2020, 10:20 AM
zeng
post Nov 5 2020, 01:03 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Nov 5 2020, 08:50 AM)
ya, camber screws replacement is a scam.

Mostly because worn bushes and worn joints giving the camber alignment problem.
Yes, you are quite right in suggesting an elephant feels like or is similar to a tree trunk .

But an elephant is not a tree trunk .

Google is your professor .
zeng
post Nov 18 2020, 04:40 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Nov 18 2020, 07:15 AM)
ok. mean half way face lift got changes. cause the 1st time I change out the front shocks, I did it myself at fren workshop or rather the staff went for lunch I couldn't wait so I did it...hahah....mine adjustable chamber screws, mine is 2011 avanza.
Your adjustable camber screws could have been 'after market' and not OEM that came originally with the car ?

This post has been edited by zeng: Nov 18 2020, 04:40 PM
zeng
post Nov 26 2020, 09:12 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Nov 26 2020, 07:17 AM)
Anyone tried AISINS oil and ATF? saw on shopee today.....price quite attractive with the discounts and rebate....
I'm quite impressed with the performance of a 12,000 km Blotter Spot Test of Aisin PAO plus Ester version of engine oil , which are available in 5W30 and 5W40 viscosity grades .

Aisin PAO plus Ester claims to be a low/mid-SaPS oil whilst the non-PAO version does not and is not .

The non-PAO Aisin 5W30 blotter spot tests at higher mileage are reasonably ok and good too , IMHO .

No clue on its ATF though , where I personally prefer to Toyota Type IV or Mobil 3309 for now .

This post has been edited by zeng: Nov 26 2020, 09:16 AM
zeng
post Nov 27 2020, 07:06 PM

1,810 posts

Do your manual provide for 0W20 ?

It sounds new to me ....
zeng
post Dec 1 2020, 08:38 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Nov 30 2020, 03:23 PM)
Old car better use min W40.

Still waiting for CMCO to be over. Long list of repairs. Headache. This I service on the 2nd Feb until now only used 5k km mileage....hahahaha...think I should wait till next Feb 2021 for service. Pointless to even used fully synthetic oil. Think semi also good enough....hahaha
Repairs or defects like what ?

Isn't Avanza quite robust , which I'm super happy with ?
zeng
post Dec 15 2020, 07:40 PM

1,810 posts

My Avanza 1.3L front tyres has uneven cupping wear , aka heel and toe uneven wear , on the inner side of the front tyres .

Mechanic checks saying front shock absorbers and absorber links require replacement , including rear absorber set .

Somewhere in this thread , folks have been recommending KYB RS Ultra for front and rear .

What's the fair parts price for 4 if I let mechanic sources and supplies them ?

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 15 2020, 07:41 PM
zeng
post Dec 16 2020, 01:40 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Dec 16 2020, 10:59 AM)
Yup, absorber ko. Better change, improves braking too. Remember to change the front top absorber rubber mount together.

If u are in KL, suggest you go buy from Jln Ipoh, Kayabar dealer. You go check my pass posting, I did post price for front and rear.
SM MECHANICAL (M) SDN BHD

No. 92 & 94, Jalan Ipoh 51200 Kuala Lumpur
Tel : 03-40412344
www.smmech.com
www.facebook.com/SMMmalaysia

If you other state, then

Other state agents

This morning I drove wife avanza 2nd gen. More comfort but a bit bouncy. Not a stable as mine with RS Ultra. Next time when I take over will put in RS Ultra. As for power, weird shit, like got delay, think due to the eco feature. Avanza 1st gen, you floor it, it goes straight no delay.
Oops , just return from Pandamaran Workshop .
Full set RS Ultra costs me RM670 .
Add in Front absorber link X2 , tie rod end X2 , anti-roll bar bush and lower arm assy X2 .
All in RM 1750 . sweat.gif

Note: The changed out lower arm set is said to be original set from Toyota .
zeng
post Dec 21 2020, 10:40 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(hjack @ Dec 20 2020, 10:03 AM)
Any feedback after the change?
Much firmer ride , stable steady in straight ahead driving and quieter/comfort ride .
Problem is alignment is out especially in taking corners .
zeng
post Dec 31 2020, 08:25 PM

1,810 posts

I don't feel the current gen Avanza spring as soft .

But whether it is as stiff as first gen spring, IDK ?
zeng
post Jan 4 2021, 08:15 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Dec 16 2020, 01:40 PM)
Oops , just return from Pandamaran Workshop .
Full set RS Ultra costs me RM670 .
Add in Front absorber link X2 , tie rod end X2 , anti-roll bar bush and lower arm assy X2 .
All in RM 1750 .  sweat.gif

Note: The changed out lower arm set is said to be original set from Toyota .
After spending on the RM1750 , a wheel alignment was subsequently done (at RM30) with front cambers and front toes all within OEM specs and green in colour .
However , the Avanza is still pulling left on straight ahead highway driving and less than ideal steering during cornering into right hand side .
Can you kind folks here advise what else can I do with pulling left and kindly share your opinion and experience on your Avanza handling and ride over here ?
Sharing alignment screenshots of any vehicle alignment jobs are welcome for discussion and 'troubleshooting' in above .

This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 4 2021, 08:17 PM
zeng
post Jan 6 2021, 06:27 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Jan 6 2021, 11:26 AM)
installation went wrong or alignment not done properly. I have encounter shitty alignment done. that is why I always go back to same shop if they done it properly.
I think suspension parts replacement were done correctly , as alignment shop has no complaint against poor workmanship in parts installation and I felt driving ok and normal except slight pulling left and steering wheel a bit unsteady when taking right cornering at quite 'fast' speed .

Alignment job is in a way done right (conditionally) with front toes and front camber angles all within vehicle specs and green-coloured .

Inspite of toes and camber in green mark readings which means within specs , I still encounter pulling left problem as I was trying to describe in detail in the alignment thread . Trying to seek expert inputs to find out more about solutions by realignment or readjustment .......

Do you all feel Avanza (1.3 or 1.5L ) fast cornering into right hand side or left hand side corners at 'fast' speed ( of 60-90 km/hr) but the steering wheel behaves firm and steady or it is a bit unstable/unsteady ? What is your user experience ?

This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 6 2021, 06:34 PM
zeng
post Jan 6 2021, 07:00 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 6 2021, 06:54 PM)
inspect all front & back wheel from beside. are they in center of fender
You mean measure with tape ? Measure point A (where?) to point B (where?) ?
This is in relation to spring stiffness ????? or you mean alignment thing ?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1122sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:03 AM